Author Topic: Sick and tired..But made it  (Read 6173 times)

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
Sick and tired..But made it
« on: June 21, 2012, 05:10:48 PM »

We left bris on tues morning all good and everything was going fine ,until we got to about Gladstone and I started to feel a bit off, we stopped for a feed at a road stop and I could not eat so I waited in the car while Lara and the boys ate.

Then we headed off and made it as far as Rocky before I redlined, in the space of 2 hrs I had gone from fine to layer out in cold sweats and shivers. trying to work out what the fxxx I had eaten as I was sure I had food poisoning .

Against my wife's wishes we headed off the next morning and I had raging temp and a ripper sore throat, I started taking nurofen and paracetamol ever 2 hrs . I made it far as Mackay and my wife had to take over a I was going downhill. I slept in the car for a few hrs and woke up worse again I now had 2 golf balls under my chin.

We made it to my uncles place in Townsville where he had the beers chilled and all excited about having a few, to his disappointment I showered and went to bed. My wife had to have a wine on my behalf.

Today Lara had seen enough and made a booking at a doctors in cairns and it seems I have acute tonsillitis and a secondary throat infection...???? Never had before in my life, so I am layed up at the coconut palms pumping pills like a junky.

For all of you that have had tonsillitis I now can sympathize with you, it,s no B/S , it really knocks you around as I am discovering.

So a day and half more of bed rest and fingers crossed I'm all good.

We are in Villa 9 at coconuts,

I hope everyone else's travels have been safe and less eventfull.

See you ll on sat

Jet :D

RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Re: Sick and tired..But made it
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2012, 05:15:50 PM »
struth dude, but get it all out of the way early before you get up to the top, it would suck beign there and feelin like that.

PS... thanks for the drinkies.... ;)
« Last Edit: June 21, 2012, 05:19:01 PM by Lost »

Offline Brett

• MySwag.org - The Off-road Camper Trailer forum
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2012, 05:17:07 PM »
Get Well Mate... I find killing it off with some Bundy always helps  :cheers:

Offline richee

« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2012, 05:18:01 PM »
Once the Antibiotics kick you will start to feel a whole lot better
2007 NS DiD GLX Pajero
2010 Jayco Eagle

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #4 on: June 21, 2012, 05:22:19 PM »
Once the Antibiotics kick you will start to feel a whole lot better

Thank fxxx for that I,m not the worlds toughest bloke but I ain't no sook either and this thing has floored me , the antibiotics look like they are sized for horses so that can only be a good thing.

RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #5 on: June 21, 2012, 05:26:30 PM »
struth dude, but get it all out of the way early before you get up to the top, it would suck beign there and feelin like that.

PS... thanks for the drinkies.... ;)

To true mate I must get better ,I must get better, doc was a true champ I told him I was off to the cape and first thing he says is " now doubling the dose to finish them quicker will not help but after all the symptoms are gone a few cold ones will be fine even though you have a 10 day course"

Now that's what I wanted to hear.

All good on the coldies I had to get inventive  :D

Jet :cheers:
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

« Reply #6 on: June 21, 2012, 05:27:35 PM »
Gee mate, that is no good, hope all goes well..

« Reply #7 on: June 21, 2012, 05:34:15 PM »
Theo

Mate I have a great first aid kit and dying to use it so I will operate tomorrow.

Just reading up on the procedure now so make sure you are really intoxicated  ;D

« Reply #8 on: June 21, 2012, 05:35:48 PM »
Hope all goes well, once you get up top you will be fine.

:cheers: Hutchie

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #9 on: June 21, 2012, 05:47:32 PM »
Theo

Mate I have a great first aid kit and dying to use it so I will operate tomorrow.

Just reading up on the procedure now so make sure you are really intoxicated  ;D

Doctor did say I may have to have them taken out, seeing as I dont have private health cover .i might need to take you up on the offer, you offer the Jaynt Patel premium policy don't you.LOL. >:D

I,d have let him cut them out on the spot if it was an instant fix ,I haven't eaten in 3 days but I could easily last another 30 without food..at least that's what Lara says.

RV POWER SOLUTIONS

« Reply #10 on: June 21, 2012, 05:55:39 PM »
Theo

search you tube for a walk through of the operation and away you go...i recommend using an pad over a phone but either or....good luck Theo

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #11 on: June 21, 2012, 05:59:31 PM »
I knew you guys would make me feel better  :D :D first laugh I,ve had in days  :cup:

RV POWER SOLUTIONS

« Reply #12 on: June 21, 2012, 06:10:23 PM »
Not good jetcrew.. Take care and enjoy the tablets..... >:D

« Reply #13 on: June 21, 2012, 06:19:29 PM »
Hope all goes well.
Take your time and recover.

« Reply #14 on: June 21, 2012, 06:48:58 PM »
When I first started reading this I thought you had hit the can's early and hard ........ lol ...... Hope you get better for the rest of the trip :cheers:

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
« Reply #15 on: June 21, 2012, 06:51:53 PM »
, the antibiotics look like they are sized for horses so that can only be a good thing.Jet :D

Are you sure you are supposed to swallow them if they are that big .... Maybe they go somewhere else ? ? ?

And that's one job that I know Lara won't help you with .... :laugh:

" OWZITGAARN ? "

« Reply #16 on: June 21, 2012, 06:55:41 PM »
Hope you feel better soon Theo. I used to get that often and it's not nice, but antibiotics will knock it over. As soon as you can turn your head again you'll be good to go.

I had the full carby replacement so no more tonsils, and I think my oldest daughter will be next.

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #17 on: June 21, 2012, 07:04:59 PM »
Hope you feel better soon Theo. I used to get that often and it's not nice, but antibiotics will knock it over. As soon as you can turn your head again you'll be good to go.

I had the full carby replacement so no more tonsils, and I think my oldest daughter will be next.

Is it contagious ?  I tell you what I am seriously going to think about getting thm removed as the doc reckons it will keep re occurring every time I am tired and stressed, I said "mate I,m married with kids "and he laughed and said "get Em out then hey"

Did you get them out as an adult?.

And your spot on about the head being sized in place ;D

RV POWER SOLUTIONS

« Reply #18 on: June 21, 2012, 07:12:47 PM »
Theo, you need to see Dr Stone ( of the Ginger wine fame). Guaranteed to fix coughs, colds , scabby bum holes & acute tonsillitis as well. Remember Roughy?? He's been on it for years, never pick him for being 37 would ya !! ;D
Get well mate so you can enjoy the trip with the family & the Swaggers. If not, Doc McGirr will take right proper care of you.... :cheers:

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #19 on: June 21, 2012, 07:17:28 PM »

Get well mate so you can enjoy the trip with the family & the Swaggers. If not, Doc McGirr will take right proper care of you.... :cheers:

Now  there's an incentive to get better hey LOL  :D

I think he uses some wierd tantric methods for curing all kinds of things  ;D

RV POWER SOLUTIONS

« Reply #20 on: June 21, 2012, 07:30:26 PM »
Hmmm, you better check his glove box for shrunken heads & voodoo dolls too mate. :cheers:

« Reply #21 on: June 21, 2012, 07:48:08 PM »
I had the works. Removed my tonsils and adenoids, cut away the roof of my mouth and half way down my throat as well as porting, jetting and polishing my nasal passages. To be honest it was pretty awful to get all that done but it helped. I haven't had such bad throat infections since and can breath more easily. I still snore like the sounds of the Serengeti, but hey, I'm asleep.

Don't rush into it, but if you get it again removal of the tonsils is worth considering.

My poor daughter has tonsils do enlarged they seem to almost block her throat.

Offline jgrant

« Reply #22 on: June 21, 2012, 07:50:29 PM »
My sympathy to your wife jetcrew - my husband developed acute tonsillitis as we stepped off the plane from Sydney in Adelaide. He deteriorated rapidly just as you described (its actually uncanny!). I thought he had 'man flu' so dosed him up on cold & flu tabs, nurofen etc. An early morning visit to hospital when finally his airway was obstructed really put a dampener on the romantic weekend we had planned! They gave him some good treatment and off I drove, from Adelaide to Barossa while he was comatosed in the passenger seat. I just kept saying to myself "the meds will kick in soon, the meds will kick in soon", but no.... as we waited to check in to our hotel his breathing became obstructed again... off we went to the local hospital - it was a little bit like Fawlty Towers! They wanted to admit him to hospital, but bless his cotton socks, he declined, stating "nah... my wife will look after me". Right! He was basically given the strongest pain meds that can be administed as an out-patient and sent home in my care. I had to set my alarm every 2 hours to CHECK HE WAS STILL BREATHING (!!!!!) and administer medication 4hrly.... Anyhoo, my visit to Barossa resulted in 2 hospital presentations and all I could drink was 1/2 glass of wine in case I had to take him back to the hospital in the wee small hours! Made it back to Sydney airport where, upon embarking on the 2hr drive home he started coughing and accidentally vomited through the car. Needless to say, this trip will not make my 'most romantic' list.
Again, my sympathies to your wife! And because I am not a totally cold hearted witch, I hope you're feeling better too!  :D
Always planning my next adventure.

Offline richee

« Reply #23 on: June 22, 2012, 06:40:38 AM »
Did you get them out as an adult?.

I have had tonsillitis once about 10 years ago just as you described and never had a problem since.

I would wait and see if you get it again and then have the op.

Theo, I hope your feeling better today
2007 NS DiD GLX Pajero
2010 Jayco Eagle

« Reply #24 on: June 22, 2012, 08:41:35 AM »
Yep Bundy and Antibiotics.....
Won't make you better, but you won't care.... ;D