Author Topic: First Aid supplies?  (Read 13714 times)

Re: First Aid supplies?
« Reply #25 on: May 26, 2015, 11:40:21 PM »
Basically, I want to re-stock our first aid kit as we've had the items in it for quite some time now.  We're planning a trip to the top-end in 2018, for about 6-8 months, and hope to stay in some of the remoter areas for a month or so at a time...and I'm accident-prone.

I don't do it on purpose; but take me out of my natural environment and I start to have accidents - I learnt fairly early on that a good knife is a sharp knife, as it does less damage...sort of! At least the cut heals more neatly.  Oh and hot things and I aren't good together.  I blame my eyes for not judging distances/depth for that problem; it couldn't possibly be because I'm clumsy.  ???

So really, what I need to know first, is would I be better to put the first aid kit together closer to the time we're leaving?  Taking into consideration use by dates and all that sort of stuff, as I don't know just how long "sterile until opened" actually is.

Jan
xxxx

« Reply #26 on: May 27, 2015, 09:37:08 AM »
Basically, I want to re-stock our first aid kit as we've had the items in it for quite some time now.  We're planning a trip to the top-end in 2018, for about 6-8 months, and hope to stay in some of the remoter areas for a month or so at a time...and I'm accident-prone.

I don't do it on purpose; but take me out of my natural environment and I start to have accidents - I learnt fairly early on that a good knife is a sharp knife, as it does less damage...sort of! At least the cut heals more neatly.  Oh and hot things and I aren't good together.  I blame my eyes for not judging distances/depth for that problem; it couldn't possibly be because I'm clumsy.  ???

So really, what I need to know first, is would I be better to put the first aid kit together closer to the time we're leaving?  Taking into consideration use by dates and all that sort of stuff, as I don't know just how long "sterile until opened" actually is.

Jan
xxxx
if its out of date now and you renew your stock now it will be out of date again by the trip... so do it now and do it again 2 weeks before you leave...

« Reply #27 on: May 27, 2015, 12:39:32 PM »
When she says out of date, she really means by 10-20 yrs out of date.

« Reply #28 on: May 27, 2015, 01:00:45 PM »
When she says out of date, she really means by 10-20 yrs out of date.
LOL! mines about 2 yrs out, and Im concerned ;)

« Reply #29 on: May 27, 2015, 02:09:53 PM »
most of the usual stuff has been used and needs restocking, the other stuff you really use and really don't want to be in the situation you have to use is still sealed up the same as when the kits were bought

« Reply #30 on: May 27, 2015, 10:16:34 PM »
I've actually gone through and discarded the open packs. So I'm left with dressings that have "sterile until open" on them, and about half the world's supply of triangular bandages I reckon.

It may be overkill, but I plan to get a set of air splints to take with us.  I've had a broken leg and it wasn't pleasant for the time it took to get me to hospital.  It's not something I want to be spending time with again, if it arises.  I know you can use all sorts of things to use as splints, my dad was fanatical about keeping his first aid courses up-to-date and teaching us whatever he learnt, but sticks and lengths of rope or belts aren't all that comfy on not-broken limbs, let alone broken ones....

Now here's a question for the more medically-minded in relation to the air splints - can they be used with a Compound Fracture.  I only ask because when I broke my leg, there was only the skin keeping the bone inside the leg.  IF the bone is sticking out can I pad it?  I'd have to pad it, wouldn't I, because there'd be bleeding...and can an air splint still be used in that situation?

Possibly, I have too much time to think.   :-[

Jan
xxxx
« Last Edit: May 27, 2015, 11:13:39 PM by alnjan »

« Reply #31 on: May 27, 2015, 10:26:27 PM »
Anything compound you would need to dress. The problem with an air splint is the alignment has to reasonably good or you are manipulating the fracture and risk further injury.
The following users thanked this post: alnjan

« Reply #32 on: May 27, 2015, 11:11:47 PM »
thank you for that.  might have to re-think things a bit I reckon.

jan
xxxx
« Last Edit: May 27, 2015, 11:14:06 PM by alnjan »

Offline Patr80l

« Reply #33 on: May 28, 2015, 05:45:42 PM »
I agree with plusnq.   Any open wound needs to be covered.   Infection is a nasty complication of a compound (ie open) fracture that is very difficult to clear once established.
Other than that, all cases are different.   Sometimes an air splint will be best, sometimes a SAM splint or improvised splint will be required.   Air splints are bulky and you tend to need a different one for each body part.   I reckon a leg and/or half leg would be handy but you can probably improvise or use a SAM splint for the upper limb.
40, 80, GU, Touareg, GU, Touareg, 200

« Reply #34 on: May 30, 2015, 10:09:52 PM »
I've been doing more research into the Air Splints and talked to one of our local Ambo drivers, ex, admittedly, but he's only been out of the job for a couple of years.  He said the Ambulance Service removed all their Air Splints and he personally, doesn't recommend them.  What he did strongly recommend was Waxed Cardboard Splints.  He said they're easy to use, fold flat for storage, and don't cause complications - apparently the pressure in the Air Splints will vary depending on the temperature, that they can cause all kinds of problems, including Compartment Syndrome - which can lead to death.  So I'm going to get a couple of the Waxed Cardboard Splints and hope we don't have an occasion to ever use them.  But at under $10 each, they're a lot more affordable than the undesirable Air Splint.   This is a link in case anyone is interested in checking them out -

https://shop.parasol.com.au/search/node/?x=0&y=0&keys=splints

Oh, and he also suggested putting in a box of condoms.  No joking!  He said they're really useful for carrying things, including about 2 litres of water per condom.  Something to consider.

Jan
xxxx

Offline DSzuke

« Reply #35 on: May 31, 2015, 07:35:49 AM »
Cardboard are definitely the way to go. Very versatile and can easily be cut down to accommodate different sizes and fractures.

If money is no object... google "CT-6". It is primarily for femur fractures (which are particularly painful!) but can be utilised for other fractures as well.

I try to only include things that have a dual purpose in my first aid kit.... now you've given me an excuse to pack condoms!

« Reply #36 on: June 12, 2015, 09:43:06 PM »
My new supplies have arrived.

« Reply #37 on: June 12, 2015, 09:59:04 PM »

My new supplies have arrived.
I can't see any snake oil?

« Reply #38 on: June 13, 2015, 03:30:52 PM »
Mate, you probably sell the stuff, where can I get some?

First Aid supplies?
« Reply #39 on: June 13, 2015, 03:42:31 PM »
Mate, you probably sell the stuff, where can I get some?
http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&alt=web&id=310876745547&globalID=EBAY-AU
« Last Edit: June 13, 2015, 03:44:07 PM by scarpsD40 »

« Reply #40 on: September 17, 2019, 10:49:04 AM »
So its time to refresh the first aid kits again.

Anyone got good places for supplies these days ???

« Reply #41 on: September 17, 2019, 12:28:27 PM »
So its time to refresh the first aid kits again.

Anyone got good places for supplies these days ???
Get a list of what you need and go into a chemist. Cheap as

« Reply #42 on: September 17, 2019, 01:39:16 PM »
Yep, get yourself a decent sized tackle box or sewing box, and go to Chemist Warehouse.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #43 on: September 17, 2019, 01:47:21 PM »
I go to Chemist Warehouse for most restocking and use specialist suppliers for the more exotic stuff like splints etc.

First Aid supplies?
« Reply #44 on: September 17, 2019, 05:53:03 PM »
I find it’s a good habit to grab a couple of things for the first aid kits whenever I’m in the chemist getting normal everyday things.

I just chuck all of these randomly collected bits and pieces into the emergency drawer that’s in our hallway at home.
Then when I’m packing for a decent trip I just bring the travel kit into the house and restock as required.

Now I just have to remember that I have more then enough various sized clear plastic patches.... ;)
There was a period when I must have grabbed a handful of them every time I went and bought a packet of panadol. The emergency drawer is overflowing with those things now... ;D

Offline Brij

« Reply #45 on: September 21, 2019, 07:26:44 AM »
I have to maintain about 8 depot and workshop kits, and about 100 small kits that we carry in all ou trucks and vehicles. It's amazing what has a use by date on it.

I use this mob https://www.1staidkits.com.au/product-category/specials/

Prices are about as cheap as i can find and can do mail order, although I generally pre order and pick up on a trip past his little shop front.
Small family business and always helpful with practical advice as the owner is also a trainer and does first aid duties at events as well.
NX Pajero
NJ Pajero (semi retired  to firewood harvesting duties)
Home made camper

« Reply #46 on: September 21, 2019, 12:44:36 PM »
Quote from: Brij
It's amazing what has a use by date on it.
Couldnt agree more... how does a still sealed up bandage expire?

Offline lloydus67

« Reply #47 on: September 21, 2019, 01:44:21 PM »
I couldn’t agree more. However from a liability side of things, as a small business owner I remove all expired first aid items from the work and van kits, but they go straight into my personal kits for the home and 4by

« Reply #48 on: September 21, 2019, 02:21:48 PM »

Not just bandages
http://www.usmedicine.com/agencies/department-of-defense-dod/dodfda-program-seeks-to-extend-lives-of-expired-medications/

Offline Brij

« Reply #49 on: September 21, 2019, 11:01:08 PM »
I couldn’t agree more. However from a liability side of things, as a small business owner I remove all expired first aid items from the work and van kits, but they go straight into my personal kits for the home and 4by

I do the same  ;D
NX Pajero
NJ Pajero (semi retired  to firewood harvesting duties)
Home made camper