Author Topic: Masters Sale  (Read 49492 times)

Offline corndog

Re: Masters Sale
« Reply #50 on: August 28, 2016, 01:31:10 PM »
The Mitre Ten near me has closed down. They didn't often have what I was looking for. Just up the road is Bunnings and Masters. They hung in there longer than I expected.

« Reply #51 on: August 28, 2016, 02:55:37 PM »
For those out of town if anybody can post prices it could save a trip down to only get 10% off  :cheers:
I am assuming most of the discount amounts will be on their website, but I may be wrong.

« Reply #52 on: August 28, 2016, 07:29:08 PM »
I called into the Heatherbrea Masters today, and didn't see a lot of discounted stuff. They had a few tables with some side show trinkets on supposedly discounted to 60%, but that's about it. I did see the LED Lenser L7 torches that they used to have for about $40.00 have gone up to $56.00 though.. so if they do start having "Massive Clearance Discounts" I might just be a little bit wary.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

« Reply #53 on: August 28, 2016, 08:27:38 PM »
Geeeeez Do You Reckon   the price might GO UP to be discounted to a reasonable  " Sale Price "      ??? ??? ??? or what .

There aint no free lunch out there      ;D                        :cheers:

scrapsD40

Masters Sale
« Reply #54 on: August 28, 2016, 08:29:40 PM »
Geeeeez Do You Reckon   the price might GO UP to be discounted to a reasonable  " Sale Price "      ??? ??? ??? or what .
Well they are called Masters..............maybe masters of deception

Online Bird

« Reply #55 on: August 28, 2016, 08:36:43 PM »
Quote from: Troopy_03
I did see the LED Lenser L7 torches that they used to have for about $40.00 have gone up to $56.00 though.. so if they do start having "Massive Clearance Discounts" I might just be a little bit wary.
I was right... same as 4wd Show Specials :D :D :D

« Reply #56 on: August 28, 2016, 08:40:52 PM »
Well they are called Masters..............maybe masters of deception

But then again it might be a last gasp attempt  to save the Woolies Brand as   ,,,,,reality . ???

OR Not                 Sadly                              :cheers:               

Offline grmas1

« Reply #57 on: August 28, 2016, 08:44:25 PM »
Have heard major brands are buying back stock to avoid their brands being dumped into the market at reduced cost's

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

Grant

2014 Toyota FJ Cruiser
2015 Mars Camper Surveyor

« Reply #58 on: August 28, 2016, 08:52:35 PM »
That's a Win/Win              ,  l think           ??? :cheers:
The following users thanked this post: ibrew09

Offline Rbush90

« Reply #59 on: August 28, 2016, 09:51:22 PM »
according to the local rag, the fire sale starts tomorrow. 29/8 and is supposed to be the "biggest fire sale Australia has ever seen".

« Reply #60 on: August 28, 2016, 09:55:07 PM »

There aint no free lunch out there      ;D                        :cheers:
I read in the Couriermail that Masters has engaged the services on a US outfit that specialises to maximizing the returns for companies attempting to stage "fire sales".....   

So the above and other comments fit perfectly their current modus operandi. .....

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

« Reply #61 on: August 28, 2016, 10:12:22 PM »
I read in the Couriermail that Masters has engaged the services on a US outfit that specialises to maximizing the returns for companies attempting to stage "fire sales".....   

So the above and other comments fit perfectly their current modus operandi. .....

That would fit in. I was there yesterday and it was interesting to see certain stock (large toolboxes ) that were clearly set out and promoted like it was a clearance item but it wasn't a cent off

« Reply #62 on: August 29, 2016, 06:04:52 AM »
If you want real big savings, then we need everyone to avoid going there for the next few months to buy supposed items at a "big saving". This will leave them with heaps of stock to move in a small time frame instead of the 3 months they have up their sleeve currently, and then they'd have to slash the prices big time. Unfortunately that won't happen, the media has already got people in a frenzy thinking it will be at give away prices, so heaps will flock there today so others don't beat them to it, and pay more then they could do if they stayed away for another month or two.

« Reply #63 on: August 29, 2016, 06:31:01 AM »
Sheep have never been BIG thinkers      :-*                           :cheers:

Online Bird

« Reply #64 on: August 29, 2016, 09:55:09 AM »
If you want real big savings, then we need everyone to avoid going there for the next few months to buy supposed items at a "big saving". This will leave them with heaps of stock to move in a small time frame instead of the 3 months they have up their sleeve currently, and then they'd have to slash the prices big time.
agree!

Offline Joff

• "This is my Custom User Title"
« Reply #65 on: August 29, 2016, 10:23:44 AM »
The wife and I did a bit of an impromptu Bunnings/Masters crawl on Saturday morning. it's a bit hard to explain how and why this happened but it has to do with forgetfulness, nurseries and sausage sizzles but anyhoot, we hit 3 Bunnings and 2 Masters. (Marsden Park B&M, Penrith North B, St Mary's M, McGraths Hill B)

Bunnings is better! no doubt. It just seems to have a better feel. Prices were comparable but Bunnings has that decade of familiarity about it. There is nothing about Masters that is new or compelling that would make someone, like me at least, change. I remember back when Bunnings first opened in my area - McGraths Hill. I tried not to go there preferring to support the little local guys of which there were 4 or 5 but eventually convenience, range, prices etc etc got me. I can't see any compelling reason why I would change to Masters and I can see why the whole thing never grew legs

Masters did have some sale items out with big yellow posters but it's all just the junky stuff. None of he better stuff seemed to be 'on sale'. Maybe there will be a time when good stuff will be had for cheap but it will be a very brief window and you will have to be on your game to be part of it.
HDJ-105 full dresser plus modded Allterrain and NO BLING

Offline Raym

« Reply #66 on: August 29, 2016, 06:36:50 PM »
Went to Masters today to get a couple of sleepers & the car park was packed. Most cars I have seen in there since it opened.
Maybe it is just a very clever marketing strategy. I imagine the other big players will take a hit for a couple of months.

Large promotion signs declared 10 to 30% discounts.

Offline Banjo16

• The road less travelled
« Reply #67 on: August 29, 2016, 06:45:22 PM »
Comparing the 2 I couldn't find anyone at masters who had much knowledge about what they sold,much better at Bunnings.
Don

PB Challenger
Jayco Starcraft OB

« Reply #68 on: August 29, 2016, 07:49:46 PM »
Comparing the 2 I couldn't find anyone at masters who had much knowledge about what they sold,much better at Bumblings
Fixed it for you      :cup:

« Reply #69 on: August 29, 2016, 08:47:03 PM »
Comparing the 2 I couldn't find anyone at masters who had much knowledge about what they sold,much better at Bunnings.
glad you get help at Bunnings, because on one of my last visits there I had to wait in line at the tool shop whilst some lady tried to buy a brickies string line from them, but the Bunnings person was trying to send them to the craft area for other string instead. The poor lady had no idea what she needed to get, her husband had sent her down there, but the useless Bunnings person had no idea what she was after even though it was obvious to someone with a half an idea with the description of what it was for that the lady was giving. I stayed out of the conversation as I wanted the staff member to sort it out and not look like an idiot, but eventually I got sick of waiting and told the lady what she needed to buy. I basically avoid staff members there, after 25 years in the building industry I find it's usually easier to not deal with the staff there myself.

Offline heath74

« Reply #70 on: August 29, 2016, 09:47:30 PM »
Agree rumpig, but have found the masters staff even worse!

« Reply #71 on: August 29, 2016, 11:42:09 PM »
I stayed out of the conversation as I wanted the staff member to sort it out and not look like an idiot, but eventually I got sick of waiting and told the lady what she needed to buy. I basically avoid staff members there, after 25 years in the building industry I find it's usually easier to not deal with the staff there myself.

I have been in this situation a few times but sometimes the advice is just so bad I can't help myself, I also stopped counting after about 20 the amount of time's other customers in bunnings have asked me for help, and no I don't work there or wear a red shirt. Since Masters opened it hasn't been as bad as they must have picked up their customer service with some competition, will be interesting to see what happens when they close.

« Reply #72 on: August 30, 2016, 03:58:48 AM »
Reckon we are in for a Brave New World when Bumblings has the show to themselves  :cheers:

« Reply #73 on: August 30, 2016, 06:52:07 AM »
Reckon we are in for a Brave New World when Bumblings has the show to themselves  :cheers:

Oh yeah, just watch the prices go up, and up, and up.  They've won the war now watch them celebrate  ;D

« Reply #74 on: August 30, 2016, 08:24:03 AM »
I get the irates with the Bunnings "ex-spurts" too. You go in there to buy something, ask someone where they are kept, then they proceed to try and tell you need something entirely different. I know what I want, and I know why I need that, and I don't have time to stand there and explain to them why they have no idea of what they are talking about. And as for being helpful, I went in to buy 20 lengths of PVC electrical conduit, to make some hoops to put mesh over some raised garden beds I built. I asked the resident "font of all knowledge" if he had some packing tape so I could bundle them together and he says no mate, just grab them and take them up the front counter, they might have some. If you've ever tried to pick up 20 lengths of conduit, you'll know how stupid his suggestion was. So I just dumped them on the floor, in the middle of the aisle, walked over to the leccy tape shelf, grabbed a roll and taped up the bundle, then threw the remains of the roll back on the shelf in front of him. He then asks "do you need a hand with that?"  >:( I replied, no mate, I think I've got it sorted.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.