Author Topic: Passes and Permits for Crowdy Bay National Park  (Read 9075 times)

Passes and Permits for Crowdy Bay National Park
« on: October 06, 2009, 05:03:33 PM »
On top of the camping fees for Crowdy Bay National Park I have also read that a daily vehicle permit is required to be in the park itself.  As well as this do we require a Beach Permit if we want to do a little beach driving.  I thought I read that the Taree Shire hand these out (with a fee of course) if you think these are necessary, where should we try and get these from.

Can any locals give us a little more info on these vehicle permits and passes.

Offline barnray

• "The Road to my Horizon"
  • The Start Of My Trailer
Re: Passes and Permits for Crowdy Bay National Park
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2009, 05:22:10 PM »
You need to go up to Diamond Head to the Office to pay site fees.Barney

« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2009, 05:38:13 PM »
You need to go up to Diamond Head to the Office to pay site fees.Barney

Can we get the Vehicle Passes at Diamond Head as well?  Do you know anything about the vehicle beach passes?

Offline Laith

• Campers are like girlfriends... I like to check out everyone else's
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2009, 05:57:19 PM »
You cant get a beach permit at the on site office. They don't police it either.

You can get them at Harrington - Ritchies Bait & Tackle as well as Dunbogan - Dunbogan Boat Shed. A seven day permit costs $22.50.

I have never worried about one. Been on there a few times though. Seen plenty of vehicles on the beach fishing ect and never seen a sticker/pass on the windscreen.

Offline barnray

• "The Road to my Horizon"
  • The Start Of My Trailer
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2009, 05:58:43 PM »
Give Port Council a ring, I am pretty sure my permit covers me to about half way down Crowdy Beach. I will check and let you know. Barnray

http://www.kempsey.nsw.gov.au/pdfs/beachpermit_inside_map.pdf
The map in the above link indicates that Hastings control about half the beach south of Diamond Head.B
« Last Edit: October 06, 2009, 06:37:27 PM by barnray »

« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2009, 06:02:11 PM »
I don't want to have to rely on getting anything from Harrington, as at this stage we could be arriving very late on Friday night. >:(  Hope I can make some arrangements to get away earlier :D, but this would involve leaving number one daughter behind for the weekend. :'(

Offline Laith

« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2009, 06:13:24 PM »
I think it is classed a Hastings council not Taree as I first thought. So you would need to get it from Dunbogan boat shed not Harrington.

Dunbogan would only be a 20 min drive from Kylie's. (Guesstimate).

If it is Hastings shire it would cost $25.00 for a year pass.

« Reply #7 on: October 07, 2009, 08:27:25 AM »
are we talking about the national park pass? i thought that Crowdy was covered under the parks pass?

dan

« Reply #8 on: October 07, 2009, 08:53:56 AM »
Your National Parks pass will cover your vehicle, which is $7 per day otherwise.

Camping fees apply
  • Adult=$10 Per Night
    Children=$5 Per Night (aged 5-15 years, children under 5 are free)
    Vehicle=$7 Per Day (if you don't have Sparks & Wildfires pass)
Facilities
  • Toilets
    Pit or composting toilets are available
    Cold showers are provided on site
    No drinking water onsite - bring your own water   
    No Picnic tables or shelters are provided on site
    There are rubbish bins provided on site

« Reply #9 on: October 07, 2009, 09:22:23 AM »
then there is the beach pass on top of this ? if we choose to purchase that of course.  ;D

dan

« Reply #10 on: October 07, 2009, 10:17:19 AM »
then there is the beach pass on top of this ? if we choose to purchase that of course.  ;D

dan

Yep, thats correct....best bet would be to ask them at Diamond Head when paying for the site and gauge their reaction.....you may get an idea as to how hard they police it ..

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #11 on: October 11, 2009, 04:43:00 PM »
When I was at Harrington in April I purchased a beach pass from the Caravan Park.  I can't recall what it cost me but it was around the $20 mark and they only issued it for the time I was at Harrington as I am going to be at Harrington over xmas I would like it to cover form now till then.  I am going to ring the council tomorrow and inquire about the pass and will post information when I know it.

« Reply #12 on: October 11, 2009, 05:57:08 PM »
Do those that have been before think we will need a pass??? I usually dont go much on rules and follow them even less.
Darren

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #13 on: October 11, 2009, 07:00:56 PM »
I would reckon you would get away without having a pass on the beach.  If I get one I am thinking more about the need to have it for xmas because I am sure that is when it will be policed and I hate paying money to the government for no good reason... :)

« Reply #14 on: October 11, 2009, 07:04:23 PM »
Ok
 Thanks for that
Darren

« Reply #15 on: October 12, 2009, 08:14:49 AM »
I have thought about this some more (ouch). Maybe whan the local athorities get wind there is nearly 30 myswag wierdo's turning up they may come down for a look
Ill just wait and see
Darren

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #16 on: October 12, 2009, 08:56:55 AM »
Just spoke to the bait shop.  You can get a 7 day pass for $22.50 or a yearly pass for $45.00.

Obviously for most the $22.50 is the option.

I also got my National Parks vehicle pass today.  Decided to buy a yearly pass because it would cost me $28 for four days and given I will be back up there for xmas it was a no brainer really.... :laugh:
« Last Edit: October 12, 2009, 05:01:54 PM by NewcastleKnight »

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #17 on: October 21, 2009, 08:27:19 PM »
If I don't come up via Harrington is there anywhere to get a beach pass??

Offline Laith

« Reply #18 on: October 21, 2009, 08:33:51 PM »
Yeah. Dunbogan boat shed.

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #19 on: October 21, 2009, 08:38:39 PM »
Thanks Laith, I might come up that way.

Offline Laith

« Reply #20 on: October 21, 2009, 08:45:09 PM »
Would definently be a lot quicker heading there from the camp site mate. Im gona get one as well due to all the talk on the forum. I'll prob go for a drive Friday and get it.

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #21 on: October 21, 2009, 08:50:32 PM »
Would definently be a lot quicker heading there from the camp site mate. Im gona get one as well due to all the talk on the forum. I'll prob go for a drive Friday and get it.

Okay, if I don't go through Harrington I will tag along with you on Friday and grab one.

Offline Laith

« Reply #22 on: October 21, 2009, 08:51:45 PM »
No worries.