Author Topic: Toyota announce FJ Cruiser for Oz  (Read 12420 times)

Toyota announce FJ Cruiser for Oz
« on: March 11, 2010, 10:10:27 AM »
Here is the link to the full story, Drive, but in summary Toyota have suggested that the FJ Cruiser will be in Australia by the end of 2010.

Engines and gearboxes are not confirmed. Anyone interested?

As this model has sold well in the US, ARB already has a full rnage of accessories for them, plus the massive US aftermarket could offer some cool bits n pieces.

Offline Damo

Re: Toyota announce FJ Cruiser for Oz
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2010, 10:19:20 AM »
I work for an accessories manufacturer and we have just started designing parts for this vehicle. It supprises me, as I would be thinking it will be pretty expensive for a three door.

Damo.

05 Hilux, Customline Deluxe Offroad Camper

Offline tcf

« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2010, 10:24:20 AM »
looks...hrmm....interesting at best IMO. Looks like a mini (with white roof), jacked up with a touch of awkwardness included.

Nevertheless if its on a Prado chassis im sure it would be ok offroad.

The suicide doors are a funny option, i only ever thought they were ok in utes were you wanted full access to the rear space cab area. This idea seems confused in a wagon.

Im sure it will appeal to some people, just not me.

Interesting about the aftermarket guys already designing for it. I guess its a certainty then.
makin' the most of it

07 JKU Wrangler CRD
07 OzTrail Home-job CT

« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2010, 10:35:51 AM »
I would be thinking it will be pretty expensive for a three door.

Pretty sure its a five door wagon Damo, albeit that two of them are suicide doors.

Is it built on Prado chassis? Not the new chassis certainly.  Being made only for the US market there has been no need or demand for a diesel engine, which would be key to any success in our Australian market.

I've always thought it a quirky but interesting vehicle, and seemingly it is capable offroad. The availability of accessories is one major upside I reckon, plus that there is such a huge number of these in the US, so cool mods will be available.

« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2010, 10:40:55 AM »
If it turns out to be highly priced ( being a Toyota, almost a certainty !! ) then the 70 series would be my logical choice.....pity I can't squeeze my legs into one.....suppose thats what you get for using a 70's era body !!

« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2010, 10:48:26 AM »
suppose thats what you get for using a 70's era body !!

Is that you or Toyota with the 70's era body Gronk?

True, Toyota is Japanese for "costs and arm and a leg", one suspects they'd be positioning this under the 70 and Prado, above Rav and Kluger, wiht offroad capability.  Competition would be Pathfinder, Challenger, Jeep maybe.

Offline tcf

« Reply #6 on: March 11, 2010, 11:02:19 AM »

Is it built on Prado chassis? Not the new chassis certainly.

It says Prado platform, which basically means same chassis and change your top hat to suit, the americans are well known for liking the ugly top hat designs. I agree it would be the old prado underbody.

Its an interesting rig and the aftermarket kit would make it look tougher. Still i'd rather a prado for probably similar coin.
makin' the most of it

07 JKU Wrangler CRD
07 OzTrail Home-job CT

Offline Darcy7

• The plumage doesn't enter into it.....!
    • RVeeThereYet.com
« Reply #7 on: March 11, 2010, 11:15:47 AM »
Not sure you could quite call it Toyota's answer to the Hummer but it is a pretty funky car none-the-less.  They're everywhere in the Middle East and we saw heaps on a recent trip to Egypt and Jordan.

Price will be an issue but like all Toyotas, that doesn't seem to hurt their sales figures too much...!

Visit our blog at WWW.RVeeThereYet.com

Offline Damo

« Reply #8 on: March 11, 2010, 01:10:04 PM »
Bigjules, you are right my mistake we are just starting this development as of Tuesday the CAD didn't show the rear doors.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2010, 01:15:09 PM by Damo »

05 Hilux, Customline Deluxe Offroad Camper

Offline Pipeliner

• I'm too old to rough it!
« Reply #9 on: March 11, 2010, 01:41:38 PM »
I think it's the sort of design where you can't open the rear doors unless the front door is open, which means it's not really a 5 door - the rear doors merely give extra width to the front doors.
Camping is great as long as the mattress is inner spring!

Offline AKB

« Reply #10 on: March 11, 2010, 03:04:50 PM »
Friends of ours who live in Dubai have had one for the last 18months and they love it.  Only problem is getting adults in and out of the back seats

« Reply #11 on: March 11, 2010, 04:10:36 PM »
It looks like a Jeep has jumped a Mini and this is the result....Tooooo round. Bound to be those that will like the looks of it...most likely they already own Jeeps. ;D

Offline Brett

• MySwag.org - The Off-road Camper Trailer forum
« Reply #12 on: March 11, 2010, 04:28:50 PM »
I recon they look awesome! But I also love the H3, only they released the H3 Alpha with the v8 here...

I will be checking them out when they hit Aussie soil!

This would look the part parked beside the 79 series in my carport.

Plus there are 1000's of accessories already available for them.

Offline tcf

« Reply #13 on: March 11, 2010, 04:42:59 PM »
i am changing my mind that they look ok based on the pics Brett just posted. The camo one looks sweet apart from the camo pattern, would love to see one like that in black
makin' the most of it

07 JKU Wrangler CRD
07 OzTrail Home-job CT

« Reply #14 on: March 11, 2010, 05:49:34 PM »
Like the 40 series, which is the spiritual parent of this, there are so many examples of FJs with real flare.

I love my 100 with all the ARB gear, but there are three others in my area just like it. Do a Google image search and be blown away.

Offline Stoo

« Reply #15 on: March 11, 2010, 06:30:36 PM »
I love Landcruisers, 40 series, 55 series, 60 series, 70 series, 80 series, 105 series. All downhill from there IMO ( 100, 200 ). Prados are no Landcruiser, and those FJ thingos are just yucky I say!
 >:(

Offline Duchess

• "Its not as hard as you think, you know."
« Reply #16 on: March 11, 2010, 09:34:11 PM »
We had a 40 series and I loved it...I've been thinking about another but I could be really tempted to have one of these as I love the look of them too.

Is there a soft top version?  ;D

"I've got one job on this ship. It's stupid but I'm going to do it!"

www.duchessandthedukeontour.blogspot.com.au

« Reply #17 on: March 12, 2010, 08:11:40 AM »
I was looking at these on the web about a year or more age, since then the yanks have obviously come out with the full range of goodies for them, we have been looking for a while for an upgrade but couldn't find anything we liked.....................I like the FJ with all the fruit and lift kit fitted  ;D .
If indeed Toyota does bring them out here then we / I will be seriously tempted, by then we won't have kids in the back so the size and door configuration could suit us down to the ground.
This means I have a bit more homework to do now,      oh well,   quiet day at work anyway.
Guess we will have to wait and check out price and availability when the time comes ( goes back the the www to check out V6 SUPER CHARGED options )  >:D
« Last Edit: March 12, 2010, 08:21:51 AM by jk »

Offline Pipeliner

• I'm too old to rough it!
« Reply #18 on: March 12, 2010, 10:17:14 AM »
It looks like a Jeep has jumped a Mini and this is the result....Tooooo round. Bound to be those that will like the looks of it...most likely they already own Jeeps. ;D

Insults, insults - compared to the beautifully proportioned curves of a KJ Jeep (see signature picture below) the new FJ Toyo is a heap of junk!
Camping is great as long as the mattress is inner spring!

« Reply #19 on: December 03, 2010, 03:32:16 AM »
Will take a bit to grow on me, but i would have one  ;D

Offline kiva

« Reply #20 on: December 03, 2010, 05:19:42 AM »
I had a look inside one of these a few weeks ago. Personally I'd find the rear a bit of a squeeze for the kids seats and the boot area would be tight for a fridge + gear.

For a one/two person fun-mobile they could be good; especially when kitted out.

LandCruiser GXL 105 Series. Complete Campsite Exodus 14.

« Reply #21 on: December 03, 2010, 05:56:28 AM »
Bring it out , show them the Tojo badge & the devotees will flock , fizzing at the bung to get one . :cheers:

Offline Jon

• Bringing rain to every campsite
« Reply #22 on: December 03, 2010, 06:44:20 AM »
Passing resemblance anyone?
I got a sweater for Xmas, really wanted a moaner or screamer.

Offline schmik

« Reply #23 on: December 03, 2010, 07:12:41 AM »
I have a mate in the USA who states that they are cheap, no frills cars for young people. No carpets, no luxury. Cheap and practical. I believe he said they are approx $20k - 25k USD.

In Aus?....place your bets.
I think $46,990

mike

Offline kiva

« Reply #24 on: December 09, 2010, 03:25:35 PM »
Here is a photo shoot of the vehicle (the only one in Oz!) at the TLCC property a few weeks ago -

http://www.cnet.com.au/toyota-fj-cruiser-2011-339307346.htm

LandCruiser GXL 105 Series. Complete Campsite Exodus 14.