Poll

OK, so do you have a pair, and if not, why not?

Yep, got 'em, love 'em
Yep, got 'em, not what I expected
No, too expensive
No, would if I could, maybe at a lower price
No, just don't need them at any price

Author Topic: Maxtrax - again. Please give me your opinion  (Read 26648 times)

Maxtrax - again. Please give me your opinion
« on: April 25, 2012, 08:22:04 PM »
I was looking at these today at the Rosehill 4x4 Show. Well made, well presented. I was wondering how popular they are, and what people think of them.

Offline MDSimpson

• 2007 Jayco Flamingo Outback follows the 2008 Prado
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2012, 08:22:43 PM »
I noticed at the show ARB were selling mk1 Maxtrax.
But anyone going offload, should carry a set. Especially if alone. They are a great self recovery tool.

2007 Jayco Flamingo Outback follows the 2008 D4D Prado. Lets get out there...

Re: Maxtrax - again. Please give me your opinion
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2012, 08:23:04 PM »
OK for sand or if you don't have a winch

Offline Hutch

« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2012, 08:27:42 PM »
Great peace of kit, have had two for over 5 years only named to use them a few times but definitely needed and got me out of strife.

Hutch- 2012 Prado 150, some TJM Kit.
Hutch-2012 Prado V6 with some TJM kit - looking for a CT to drag behind.

Offline goingdh

« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2012, 08:38:18 PM »
Ticked the not what I expected, only because I've had them for a year now, and not had to use them so yet to see how they stand up. Gives me some piece of mind though
'07 76 series cruiser - Complete Campsite Jabiru XT 16'
mod'd '94 Hilux Surf
Suz DRZ400

Offline stevenbowden

« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2012, 08:46:53 PM »
Had a set for a couple of years.  Only used them once and very glad I had them, so now I won't leave home without them if there is any chance of getting dirty.

25th Ann Ed Pajero, ARB Bullbar, GME TX3440 UHF ,Sandgrabbers, Raw 4x4 Suspension, Airtec snorkel, TJM IBS Dual Battery System, BushSkinz Intercooler/Sump/Transmission/Transfer Bash Plates and Side Steps, LRA 58lts Aux Tank, 17" ROH RTX with Bridgestone D694LT's + AORC Quantum!

Offline nick 08

« Reply #6 on: April 25, 2012, 08:58:02 PM »
Had our set of 4 for 3 yrs and have had good workout mostly sand. They only work well on A/T and chunkier tyres any hwy tyres and they just spin wearing down the knobs.
Each yr we have taken them to Fraser and only used them once ourselves but about a dozen times on overloaded cruisers and patrols.  ;D
If your only doing beach work they work awesome  :cup: and they go all our trips now

Nick
08 Triton GLX R with all the gear
Trackabout Deluxe tourer camper

Offline Jaysea

• To go where I have never been
    • My 4WD Site
« Reply #7 on: April 25, 2012, 09:00:01 PM »
Have a set and used them on Fraser island. We were on a side track late in arvo and no traffic. Made job much easier. Was surprised how well they worked.
Jaysea

2012 Prado GXL + Adventure Camper

My build: http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=17776.0
My photos & travels: www.lensontheroad.com
My facebook: http://tinyurl.com/k2haolg

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #8 on: April 25, 2012, 09:03:25 PM »
Son inlaw has them,,, recons there the bee's knee's............  never tried em myself..

Keep an eye on supercheap auto, when they have there 20+% of sales..

BHG

Offline wiseone

« Reply #9 on: April 25, 2012, 09:04:45 PM »
Have used them in Sand (helping others) and they work well.

Have also used them in the High Country on slippery muddy tracks and they worked very well again. They allowed for slow and controlled progress getting one vehicle that was half off the track in sloppy mud back up. We also had other vehicles having problems getting over a water run off that pulled them in to the bank as it was slippery and had the wrong camber and the MaxTrax worked a treat again.

A plus is that they took no real setup like a winch and very quick.

I do have a winch and in certain situations the Maxtrax wouldn't work but in any recovery slow, steady and safe has positives and it's an option in the bag of tricks.  There's also situations that a winch can't be used.

They are what they are, a traction aid.

Thumbs up from me! ;D
« Last Edit: April 25, 2012, 09:07:29 PM by wiseone »

« Reply #10 on: April 25, 2012, 09:11:14 PM »
for sand recoveries i reckon they are fantastic, never used mine in mud yet (as i hate the stuff so avoid it like the plague...lol), but have used Maxtraxs (mine and friends ones) for literally dozens of recoveries in the sand and would use them any day over a snatch strap.
i bought mine secondhand (used by previous owner once) at a realistic price, personally i'd struggle to pay full RRP for them, but if i was bogged with the tide coming in, RRP would be cheap IMHO  ;)

« Reply #11 on: April 25, 2012, 09:59:47 PM »

I can only see a use in sand !! But could be wrong.

Never had a reason to buy them.

« Reply #12 on: April 25, 2012, 10:05:16 PM »
Their website says good for mud too and possibly as ramps for quads etc.

Offline RWS

« Reply #13 on: April 25, 2012, 10:15:26 PM »
As others have said great for sand recoveries...not sure about mud, I think the biggest problem would be retrieving them after they disappear.

Offline Disco4Guy

« Reply #14 on: April 25, 2012, 10:17:26 PM »
If you're sand/beach driving, get'em!  They saved my ass twice on the Robe Beaches over easter.
Land Rover Discovery4 SDV6
Mountain Trail Campers Evolution

« Reply #15 on: April 25, 2012, 10:18:07 PM »
There is so many accessories these days it sort of takes the fun out of 4wd driving.

Great if you use them otherwise a waste of money.

They would be useless on the otl.

« Reply #16 on: April 25, 2012, 10:22:13 PM »

Watching All 4 Adventure ... they have multiple sets ... and buy another set every show!   ;D  We bought a set.  Haven't had to use them yet, as we haven't been anywhere that they would be useful.  I say, better to have it and not need it than need it and not have it.  The BF thinks we'd only use them on sand and only when towing the CT.  The boys on A4A seem to use them for all sorts of terrain ... but mostly muddy holes and they seem to work well.  They've also used about 1000 of them to make a harder track for a heavy vehicle over some soft edges to turn it around.

Offline stevenbowden

« Reply #17 on: April 25, 2012, 10:29:36 PM »
The only time I have used mine on myself was in mud.  Have used them a couple of times on sand for other people.

25th Ann Ed Pajero, ARB Bullbar, GME TX3440 UHF ,Sandgrabbers, Raw 4x4 Suspension, Airtec snorkel, TJM IBS Dual Battery System, BushSkinz Intercooler/Sump/Transmission/Transfer Bash Plates and Side Steps, LRA 58lts Aux Tank, 17" ROH RTX with Bridgestone D694LT's + AORC Quantum!

Offline oldblade

• Porsche it's broken again
« Reply #18 on: April 25, 2012, 10:36:36 PM »
I have the bushranger tracks as they are much smaller and the bag makes a good winch dampener
http://www.bushranger.com.au/sandtrack.php#.T5fvmhBhiK0

Offline Tjupurula

« Reply #19 on: April 25, 2012, 11:27:15 PM »
Their website says good for mud too and possibly as ramps for quads etc.

Sorry BigJules, I have used them once in mud, and could not recover them.  I got one out but broke it, didn't bother with the other one.  They would be well worthwhile for sandy areas, but not for mud, they just sink.

Offline CJ1177

« Reply #20 on: April 25, 2012, 11:28:49 PM »
I tried using my set on Fraser Island, but they didn’t work so well for me as I was on my belly & had the Jayco in tow.
The wheels just spun & wouldn’t grip enough to drive out :-[ & yes I dug out the sand from all 6 wheels. They did grab hold of the tyre & pull them down into the sand but then the wheels would just spin, even at idle >:(

Don’t get me wrong I can see their potential they just didn’t work for me in that situation.

As for the question about retrieval, I tied a length of rope on to each one & attached them to the rear of the trailer so I wouldn't have to stop again in the soft sand to retrieve them or walk a long way back to then dig them out.

« Reply #21 on: April 26, 2012, 12:07:01 AM »
As for the question about retrieval, I tied a length of rope on to each one & attached them to the rear of the trailer so I wouldn't have to stop again in the soft sand to retrieve them or walk a long way back to then dig them out.

Now that's a Top Tip!  Squirreling that one into the dark recesses of my mind for future reference.

Offline Pipeliner

• I'm too old to rough it!
« Reply #22 on: April 26, 2012, 07:26:21 AM »
I tried using my set on Fraser Island, but they didn’t work so well for me as I was on my belly & had the Jayco in tow.
The wheels just spun & wouldn’t grip enough to drive out :-[ & yes I dug out the sand from all 6 wheels. They did grab hold of the tyre & pull them down into the sand but then the wheels would just spin, even at idle >:(

Don’t get me wrong I can see their potential they just didn’t work for me in that situation.

If you were on your belly, digging the sand from under the wheels wouldn't be much use unless you dug out the sand from under the chassis/floor pan before trying to drive out.

I've got two sets (one was a present) and have used them on sand two or three times - never travel on sand without them.
Camping is great as long as the mattress is inner spring!

« Reply #23 on: April 26, 2012, 08:06:31 AM »
We bought the Ridge Rider recovery tracks instead of the Max Trax, at only $60 I figured I'd give them a go, a mate reckons they work as well as the Max Trax, I hope they do, because the Max Trax work really well.

« Reply #24 on: April 26, 2012, 08:18:12 AM »
Have never seen the need and the price they ask for moulded plastic, they can stay where they are, in the shop. This doesn't mean they don't work, it's just a case of if we add every piece of recovery equipment designed to your vehicle then you would have no room left for important stuff like beer. I prefer my post hole shovel as it has several purposes and not just recovery. I have got along no problem for many years without them so see no reason to buy them. The $300 odd dollars could go towards something else a little more important, IMO.....

I think many get them cause they look flash.......