Author Topic: Am I looking for a camper that doesn't exist?  (Read 6262 times)

Offline mnemonix

Am I looking for a camper that doesn't exist?
« on: September 28, 2011, 08:26:15 AM »
Hey Guys,
I've been browsing the forum for months now as part of my search for my first camper trailer.
However I need to reassess the criteria I have set, as it seems my ideal camper doesn't exist.

I had envisioned:
- Light weight/small footprint (I tow with a 1.6l 4wd and am never more than 1+1 persons).
- Solid offroad capability (Beach, desert, dunes, cape, high country etc).
- Rear folding soft floor (So I can set up on a single lane track if broken down & to maximise fit in caravan park bays).
- Access on the drivers side (Tow vehicle is set up with sunshade, fridge etc on this side of ute).
- Fast setup. I have camped in oztrail/GIC campers that can be made sleepable in just a couple of minutes.

Other likeable features I have seen while browsing include:
- Drivers side slide out stainless kitchen.
- Fold down tailgate acts as a step for easier bed access.

Am I chasing a non existant unicorn?
With a budget of ~$15k new.

-Mark.

Re: Am I looking for a camper that doesn't exist?
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2011, 08:33:46 AM »
G'day Mark,
the Oztrail 8 is a rearfold soft floor that has doors on both sides.
stick it on your own trailer.

Cheers Mike

morgansmall

« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2011, 09:11:06 AM »
Your choice of soft floor rear folds is limited (I know, I looked for a long time), but try these for value:

Redrock campers in Melbourne.

Outback campers in Albury (I think, and they have agents) - they have a number of rear fold models and they're all under about $16k I think.

Also try Great Aussie Campers in Sydney - I saw them at a show and was impressed - they were happy to discuss anything, though they do make an off the shelf rear-fold anyway.

For $15k you should get something new in a base model or maybe with a couple of add-ons.  When I was looking I found you'd see a nicely priced camper but by the time you add on the $ for all the bits you want (which you'd think were standard), you're up to $20k easily.

Hope that helps a bit..

Offline muntersdad

« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2011, 09:16:21 AM »
I'm a happy Outback Sturt owner,
Check out their range here  http://www.outbackcampers.com.au/canvas-camper-trailers.asp,
cheers Gary
2011 Landcruiser Altitude

« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2011, 09:18:19 AM »
Will be interested to see what you find.  My 'Go Go Weekender' uses a small Oztrail side fold and isn't very 'off road', but I pull it no probs with my 2.5 litre 4 cyl manual Outback.

Offline toad

« Reply #5 on: September 28, 2011, 09:32:45 AM »
 Ever looked at the small Cub campers? Hard floor I know, but worth considering in my opinion.
Gary
2009 Cruiser 200 TTD
2007 Navara D40 2.5TD - wife's shopping trolley
2014 AOR Quantum

« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2011, 09:51:34 AM »
Ever looked at the small Cub campers? Hard floor I know, but worth considering in my opinion.

CUB JUNIOR, they weigh 160kg.

OR KAMPAROO, these are about 400kg
The Kamparoo Weekender combines the lightweight benefits of the Kamparoo range with the added bonus of space for up to 4 people. Easily towed by small to medium-sized vehicles and even 4WDs (when optioned up with the Transcontinental Pack). The Weekender erects in seconds using our famous Ezy-Wind system.

Other inclusions and options are:

Lift-up bed with storage space
1 x 4.5kg gas bottle
Awning with sewn-in front wall
1 x 240v internal power
1 x 12v internal power
Roll-out stainless steel kitchen

Kamparoo Weekender closed
60L water tank and hand pump at kitchen
Leaf spring suspension
External locker door
Can be optioned with Transcontinental Pack for outback touring
Off-road model available

« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2011, 09:58:41 AM »
Follow me campers has a soft floor rear fold.
http://followmecampers.com.au/camper-models/the-blackwood/

« Reply #8 on: September 28, 2011, 10:07:37 AM »
You want everything to open on the drivers side, which is into traffic for most people and nearly all trailers.. Im not even sure if its legal... Someone mentioned about illegal trailers being imported into AU and sold in Qld that all happens on the drivers side.

Look for something made overseas and imported to AU.

« Reply #9 on: September 28, 2011, 10:08:57 AM »
Good point Lost, don't think you can buy an Ozzie made trailer that way.
Which makes absolutely sense.
Just change over the awning to the passanger side.

Offline mnemonix

« Reply #10 on: September 28, 2011, 10:12:46 AM »
I have looked at the oztrail on a custom trailer so far. Will suss out the other soft floors linked above.

I had pictured the cubs as being outside the budget. Will need to look into those further.
As for the drivers side access, I can't see this being an issue as it will never be used/opened on a road side. I wasn't aware of any legalities with this. Personally I'll take common sense before law on this issue.

« Reply #11 on: September 28, 2011, 11:01:41 AM »
You want everything to open on the drivers side, which is into traffic for most people and nearly all trailers.. Im not even sure if its legal... Someone mentioned about illegal trailers being imported into AU and sold in Qld that all happens on the drivers side.

Look for something made overseas and imported to AU.

The Allterrain camper tents open to the drivers side, there are a few soft floor campers where the tent opens to the drivers side, why is there an issue with things opening to the drivers side??

Offline yorkie

« Reply #12 on: September 28, 2011, 11:37:41 AM »
my vintage complete campsite opens drivers side, no issue there ;)
those cubs are cool, but the morris towing is even cooler.  8)
smile and wave boys..... :)

« Reply #13 on: September 28, 2011, 11:44:03 AM »
Quote from: Redback
The Allterrain camper tents open to the drivers side, there are a few soft floor campers where the tent opens to the drivers side, why is there an issue with things opening to the drivers side??
OP is looking for a rear fold, not side fold, but wants kitchen and stuff to slide out on the drivers side as I read it. Isnt that where traffic and Shit is in Aussie?

Offline Crosslander

« Reply #14 on: September 28, 2011, 11:48:32 AM »
I could be wrong but  think the LH / RH thing relates more to caravans than camper trailers - you wouldn't expect for a camper to be set up on the side of the road where as a caravan is quite likely to stop and have people entering it road side.

Offline mnemonix

« Reply #15 on: September 28, 2011, 11:50:08 AM »
I don't know about you, but I don't go camping on the side of the road. Most places I go tend to not have roads. At most a named track.

Can mostly rule out the Cub camper options. Only the Kamparoo Daintree, Daintree LE & Brumby models are spec'd as "offroad" models, with dry weights from 610-740Kg, they're towards the heavier side of what I'd prefer. Plus even used prices appear to be close to $20k.

« Reply #16 on: September 28, 2011, 11:53:53 AM »
Other likeable features I have seen while browsing include:
- Drivers side slide out stainless kitchen.
-Mark.

In this instance I'd say YES you won't find it. 

Why?  Passenger side is the most favourable due to the side of the road we drive on here for starters, as well as all caravan parks going with passenger side access as well for the concrete slab (if that's what you are after ... you'd have to drive in and this would be inconvenient as there wouldn't be enough room to get your car out again). 

Also, I'd reckon it's a safety thing.  You won't be able to pull off the road enough (in some cases) to get into your kitchen without being run down by cars / trucks / fast moving kangaroos.

There would have to be some Goverment Ruling I'd imagine, but you might be able to build such a drivers side beast??

« Reply #17 on: September 28, 2011, 12:01:22 PM »
What about a POD trailer, I am not sure if they do a rear fold though

« Reply #18 on: September 28, 2011, 12:02:18 PM »
Quote from: mnemonix
I don't know about you, but I don't go camping on the side of the road. Most places I go tend to not have roads. At most a named track.

Maybe Im not explaining it clear enough. You need to think further than yourself.
These companies are making trailers for 1000's of other people.
What 1000's of other people want is what they design their trailers for.

... Most people dont camp on the road, most people camp off the road.  but most people stop on the side of the road for lunch, or a coffee, or sanga, or drinks for kids and stuff.
Its not just the camping that is the issue, it is while travelling.

Maybe look at the section here and build your own.. dozens and dozens of people doing it as they cannot find exactly what they are looking for either.

http://podtrailer.com.au/products_pod.html try the pod as mentioned.
I'll leave it there
« Last Edit: September 28, 2011, 12:08:40 PM by Lost »

« Reply #19 on: September 28, 2011, 12:25:26 PM »
I came in late, and agree with most of the replies.

As fro drivers side slide out kitchen, you'd have to build it or order it that way, if anyone would do it. Some soft floor campers open to the drivers side, but none of the hard floor campers are set up that way. Just move the awning on the 4wby.

« Reply #20 on: September 28, 2011, 02:30:56 PM »

Can mostly rule out the Cub camper options. Only the Kamparoo Daintree, Daintree LE & Brumby models are spec'd as "offroad" models, with dry weights from 610-740Kg, they're towards the heavier side of what I'd prefer. Plus even used prices appear to be close to $20k.

The weekender with the "transcontinental pack" is classed as offroad, or are you want full offroad?

OK found this on campertrailer.org

2009 Bushman Off Road

first registered april 2009
as new condition

$8,800

includes

queen size bed
full access to trailer storage even when set up
end opening
5 x 3 metre annex plus ropes, poles, pegs
full set of walls & floor for annex including 4x large fly screened openings
clear 'Poly’ windows for rainy days
additional 4 x 2.5 metre awning
internal fitted stainless steel shelf
4.5 litre gas bottle mounted on trailer
80 litre water tank
new Sunraysia spare tyre
mounting for extra spare for car/trailer
utility box in draw bar
heavy duty bike rack (2 bikes) welded to draw bar

http://www.campertrailers.org/camper_trader591.htm

« Last Edit: September 28, 2011, 02:38:44 PM by Redback »

Offline hargs

« Reply #21 on: September 28, 2011, 04:26:31 PM »
Were can I get on of those retro red chairs ????
Life is to short not to...............

« Reply #22 on: September 28, 2011, 04:37:50 PM »
Were can I get on of those retro red chairs ????
Rays have em

« Reply #23 on: September 28, 2011, 07:07:40 PM »
Wife has a chair like that, comfortable for reclining and snoozing, not so good for just sitting. Good quality, but heavy and bulky.