Author Topic: Nissan Navara - Is this a reasonable buy????  (Read 3893 times)

Offline ldsparrow

• www.1yearoff.com.au
Nissan Navara - Is this a reasonable buy????
« on: March 05, 2011, 03:38:45 PM »

I know I have been asking a few questions lately and not responding to anyone else's, but this is quite a steep learning process for us as we prepare for our trip and we do appreciate everyones feedback on our other questions, so I hope you dont mind but I do have another question for this weekend...

We went and had a look at a 2006 Nissan Navara today (3 litre Diesel) and was looking for advice as to whether this was a reasonable buy or not. Its got a 126 litre long range tank, snorkel, canopy, cruise control and bull bar as extras, has 137k kms on the clock, and the tyres are in pretty good nick. The previous owners were an older couple who towed a 14 foot caravan around Australia a couple of times, and they traded it in to get a Ford Ranger. There are quite a few scratches etc on it, but that isnt bothering us to much as we will be putting plenty on ourselves. The asking price is $27k, havent started to negotiate on that as yet though as am waiting until Monday to see what they will trade in our current car for. The below photo is the actual car.

Any advice as always is much appreciated.

Blog: www.1yearoff.com.au

Racer

Re: Nissan Navara - Is this a reasonable buy????
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2011, 03:42:54 PM »
G'day Sparrow, they are selling the D22 Navara brand new for 30K. It is the 2.5l engine....not as strong as the 3L. I can't comment to much about them as I have only driven one a couple of times. They will regret the Ford Ranger purchase.

Offline ldsparrow

• www.1yearoff.com.au
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2011, 03:59:31 PM »
Hi Racer,

Yeh I did see that, but then by the time we add all of the accessories onto it ready for our trip it will be over our budget.
Blog: www.1yearoff.com.au

Offline sadie

« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2011, 05:41:32 PM »
Hey Sparrow, there's a very nice D40 in the Classifieds section on here for sale. ;)

Offline Fivid

« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2011, 06:43:16 PM »
If you think it is the right thing for you then that is the main box ticked.  Any vehicle purchase is subject to opinions and personal preference and personal needs or allegiances always effect them.  Navaras are pretty reliable vehicles from all accounts.  The way i look at any purchase, specially second hand purchases is that if I am happy at the time, if something else looks better down the track or someone says you made a wrong choice, just remind yourself that at the time, with the available options, you made the choice that best suited you at the time.  If you have doubts now and go ahead with a purchase, it will be hard to justify your decision even to yourself...
http://www.trailtrack4x4.com/

Offline crispy

« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2011, 07:48:29 PM »
Hi a mate of mine has just bought the latest model or 2010 he paid 38,000.00 for it ,it didnt have a bull bar nor a canopy nor a long range fuel tank or a snorkel it was just your run of the mill deisel navara ,it may pay for you to

1 get the auto industry :nrma,raa ,racq to inspect and give report

2 locate the navara owners forum on the net and get advice from them as they own and run these vehicles

remember whatever problems are found they can be used to your advantage when negotiating the final price for this vehicle ,i have an r50 pathfinder and had a gq patrol so i am a bit biast towards nissan but i think you are making a good descision cheers crispy  ;D

Offline Pete the Pirate

« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2011, 08:59:17 AM »
G'day Sparrow, they are selling the D22 Navara brand new for 30K. It is the 2.5l engine....not as strong as the 3L. I can't comment to much about them as I have only driven one a couple of times. They will regret the Ford Ranger purchase.
Curious as to what you mean by "..not as strong as the 3L".  I have experience with both the 3L in the D22 and the 2.5L in the D40.....gotta say my preference is very much for the 2.5L much more power and torque.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2011, 09:01:12 AM by Pete the Pirate »
Kanga Big Red DL Campertrailer
Nissan Navara D40 with lots of fruit

Racer

« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2011, 10:52:52 AM »
Pete, uncover that other eye mate...bloody pirates.. ;D

The D40 2.5L (140kw) and D22 2.5L (98kw), both put out different power. The old D22 3L put out around 116kw from memory.

Offline Yoda42

• Beagle kisses don't grow hair
    • Travels With Beagles Blog
« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2011, 11:49:32 AM »
Check out Redbook - it's saying between $22,400 and $25,200 for that model and year. What you're looking at has high k's for its age, but it also has the accessories, and has been worked hard towing.

Make sure it has a complete service history, you should be able to get it for $25k or under. As long as it's had oil and filter changes at the correct intervals (5,000km for oil, 10,000km for filter) it should be no dramas. If you test drive it, put it in 5th gear and see if it's noisy, seeing though its been towing for a fair bit, and drive it with the radio OFF!

The 3L D22 came out with 110kw and 314Nm of torque. We have a 2005 DX with 120,000km on the clock (heavily modified :cup:) and are very happy with it. What you're looking at is a bit flasher out of the box with carpet and electric windows and mirrors, so you should be happy with it too if you go ahead with it.

Yoda.
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo, 2 beagles & an Lifestyle Reconn
http://travelswithbeagles.blogspot.com

« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2011, 06:49:09 PM »
I have an 06 D22 Navara with all the goodies that one has plus more.
I reckon it is a good price for one of the best vehicles Ive owned.
Thats about what they are going for here (if you find one) without any modifications...
Bill and Bill
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

Offline hairymick

• 2010 Nissan Navara D22, 2005 Kimberly Escape
« Reply #10 on: March 07, 2011, 09:31:12 AM »
I have a 2010 D22 with the 2.5 engine.

I have only done about 7 thousand K in her yet but just can't fault the thing.

Re the price, I paid just a shade under 37K for mine with a steel bullbar, tow bar, cruize control and snorkel. A new canopy costs around 2.5k.

Depending on the service history, I think the price is probably about right.
Mick

Offline morgue

« Reply #11 on: March 07, 2011, 06:44:17 PM »
Agreed with most from this post, one question...auto or manual?
We have Navara's at work, drove one on and off, not bad.
You said that it has towed a 14ft van around Oz, so it has done some work, a 14ft van about 1000kg to 1500kg depending on options of the van and what was loaded in the Navara. That being so, get 4x4 specialist mechanic to check the clutch, gearbox and associated drivetrain.
The mechanic you will need for the inspection would be a 4x4 specialist, not a car mechanic...an experienced 4 x 4 bloke who knows the ropes.
Then go by their report on the vehicle and haggle away....but don't fall in love with the thing, its got some bells and whilstles, looks nice, but it is still a 4x4 with ks on the clock and there are others around in the market place as well.

Good luck.

Offline V8100

« Reply #12 on: March 07, 2011, 07:58:39 PM »
WAs in the same situation a couple of months back and ended up going brand new. Yes the 2.5l is down on kw a little but realistically it doesnt really bother me tows my 1.2t camper a breeze better than my v6 paj did it.  Imho 3 years factory warranty is worth every cent of the extra few grand. Also if you are financing intrest rates are less on a new vehicle so you may end up paying less in the end.

I got it with tow pack tinted windows snorkel and mats was $31 750 drive away.  I have also driven the 3l a little and really I ccant tell the difference.

Eddy

http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=11180.0 
2010 Navara d22(gone)
2004 jayco swan
2003 V8 cruiser