Author Topic: Brand new caravan totalled in M1 rollover  (Read 17806 times)

Offline Tezza1974

• Hilux SR5 D4D & Lifestlye Podium CT
Re: Brand new caravan totalled in M1 rollover
« Reply #25 on: January 08, 2011, 02:20:57 PM »

Check out what they had for 30 mins.  Best 30 mins ever I reckon!!!!

http://www.newagecaravans.com.au/new-age-caravans/the-jewel.html

Thanks for the gallery link.....that certainly is new age in style etc etc
Looking for that perfect place somewhere between Peace & Quiet

Offline Pete the Pirate

« Reply #26 on: January 08, 2011, 03:33:55 PM »
This ain't going to be pretty, good to see no one was injured, a dual cab to pull a van of that size, without proper wait over the rear axle on the dual cab...askin for trouble at speed, ie over 80kph.
 There is going to be some serious finger pointing, egos, lawyers..man.... this is going to get nasty...
Towing a decent van of this weight and size say 2000kg, that is some serious weight being pulled behind an unloaded dual cab, talking about having a tiger by the tail.

I think that the dual cab would have to be unladen (or at least partially unladen) to be able to tow this caravan.  Depends entirely on the ball download really.....as this must be subtracted from the max weight of vehicle towing capacity.  eg my D40 has a download range in the hand book of 80-300kg......but as this increases the weight carried in the vehicle must be reduced....hope that makes sense.
Kanga Big Red DL Campertrailer
Nissan Navara D40 with lots of fruit

« Reply #27 on: January 08, 2011, 05:20:37 PM »
Bugger, looked nice I some how think thats only the start of it

Offline RW

• ross
« Reply #28 on: January 08, 2011, 06:01:42 PM »
I jst looked at the link that Kit put up and in the gallery the tow tug is a ute!

Offline morgue

« Reply #29 on: January 08, 2011, 06:18:51 PM »
I think that the dual cab would have to be unladen (or at least partially unladen) to be able to tow this caravan.  Depends entirely on the ball download really.....as this must be subtracted from the max weight of vehicle towing capacity.  eg my D40 has a download range in the hand book of 80-300kg......but as this increases the weight carried in the vehicle must be reduced....hope that makes sense.

Agreed.
There is the scale balance with rates from the tow vehicle to the trailer that is being towed...what you have on one side you have to subtract on the other side to balance up braking and steering dynamics of the overall combination. 

Offline DAZnBEC

• THE MIGHTY MODCON!
« Reply #30 on: January 08, 2011, 09:49:28 PM »
I would be gutted to say the least. But I wouldn't tow a van like that with a Ford Ranger!

They are very lucky to walk away.

On a brighter side, a very modern looking van.

Dazza

Offline Tezza1974

« Reply #31 on: January 09, 2011, 07:15:10 PM »
I am no caravan guru but i didnt notice the anti sway bars connected to the tow hitch or the remains there of......I would have thought a van that size would surely need those bars connected

« Reply #32 on: January 18, 2011, 08:13:37 AM »
I am no caravan guru but i didnt notice the anti sway bars connected to the tow hitch or the remains there of......I would have thought a van that size would surely need those bars connected

Yep you are partly right there, there is part there-of a weight distribution hitch still hanging from the coupling but no bars from the hitch to the drawer bar or the bar hangers on the drawer bar.

« Reply #33 on: January 18, 2011, 08:41:03 AM »
Part of the blame needs to be pointed at the dealer and their delivery methods.  It is pointless selling someone a caravan and not teaching them about it, including correct loading and weight distribution.  The ball weight should have been measured prior to delivery to ensure the customer is fully aware of how this can effect stability.

I noticed in the article that the salesman was on scene within minutes.  I wonder if this was to ensure no liability could be passed to them.

« Reply #34 on: January 18, 2011, 10:50:46 AM »
On the same thinking, I just drove beside a brand new tandem Jurgens (going by the number plate and how clean the unit was) towed by a Terracan CRD with no weight distribution hitch, sway bars etc. The thing was wandering all over the road and the owner was having a fun time trying to keep it in his lane. It was obviously too big to be towed safely by the Terracan however the sticker on the towbar said he could tow it so he did. Who owns the liability to that?

Offline BradandPeta

• I have a friend's with Jayco's ... I need new ones
« Reply #35 on: January 18, 2011, 11:25:18 AM »
Can't see it mentioned in this thread but I wouldn't be surprised if the caravan dealer rang and said his van was ready, and he hadn't had his trailer controller fitted to the car yet but he thought he might be able to pick it up with out it and sneak home .......

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #36 on: January 18, 2011, 07:24:04 PM »
Very sad indeed, but  what the FXXX were they thinking ,

Regardless of what the specs or salesman say that car is just to small to SAFELY tow that van .

I see so much of this that it is surprising we don't see more accidents like this.

I see commodores towing 30 foot boats doing the sway down the road.

All it takes is one sharp directional change ,sometimes to avoid other road users or animals and boom it's all over I saw it happen once right before my eyes .they swerved to miss a roo and it was 1 left,1 right & over she went .(should have had a steel bar as thats why he swerved.)

But a valuable reminder to all who tow .

Glad they are ok .
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline Tezza1974

« Reply #37 on: January 19, 2011, 08:06:33 PM »
Yep you are partly right there, there is part there-of a weight distribution hitch still hanging from the coupling but no bars from the hitch to the drawer bar or the bar hangers on the drawer bar.

Howdy Bushman,

if you go into the website of the newspaper article and have a look at the photos you will actually see the box lying on the road that the sway bars come in....if memory serves with the salesman / manager of the caravan co standing there with the proud owner ( my neighbour is caravanner & he pointed it out to me) and also he said when he picked his up all he wanted to do was get going but his caravan suppliers would let him out the gates until the had hitch up the van and connected the sway bars did a test drive around the block made sure the braking etc was all in check....my mate reckons it took like almost 3 hours they were that particular...but in this case i dont think they did that handover at all with this fella...anyways ity owuld be great to know the full outcome

TK

Offline Juggs

« Reply #38 on: January 19, 2011, 08:41:30 PM »
and thi ssi why all vehicles towing something should be put across the rta weigh bridges

id say 20% of all box trailers would get defected or done for dodgy serial nos

« Reply #40 on: March 06, 2011, 09:07:07 PM »
The spare wheels look ok

Offline jimsiron

• 2010 Challenger LS manual, 2011 Discovery OB
« Reply #41 on: March 06, 2011, 09:13:09 PM »
Check the gross weight as stated in advert on a twin cab ute!!!!
regards
Jimsiron

Offline Jon

• Bringing rain to every campsite
« Reply #42 on: March 07, 2011, 05:53:31 AM »
"Renovators Delight"
I got a sweater for Xmas, really wanted a moaner or screamer.

« Reply #43 on: March 07, 2011, 02:38:00 PM »
The spare wheels look ok

They're the only part of the caravan not to have touched the road ;D

Offline SKEMPIE

« Reply #44 on: March 07, 2011, 04:03:09 PM »
Ahh, The gvm on mannheim fowles state over 3tonne !!!! WTF Ford ranger towing capacity 3t ??? Looks like insurance company might have a get out of jail free card ..

Offline morgue

« Reply #45 on: March 07, 2011, 04:52:41 PM »
Ahh, The gvm on mannheim fowles state over 3tonne !!!! WTF Ford ranger towing capacity 3t ??? Looks like insurance company might have a get out of jail free card ..

Ford Ranger 4x2 can tow 3 tonne, provided have 1/.Heavy duty tow kit and wait for it....2/. load leveling device..... Hope the load leveling device was attached and working ?????????
or  Insurance Company 1    Owner 0  and  Solicitors/ Hangers on $$$$$$$$$$$$

Taken fron Ford Ranger Towing Specs

..Accessories - Towing and Carrying
Ranger 4X2 XL Single Cab Chassis   Ranger 4X2 XL Single Cab Chassis Hi-Rider   Ranger 4X2 XL Single Cab Pick-Up   Ranger 4X2 XL Super Cab Chassis Hi-Rider
Bedliner   -   -   -   -
Towpack - standard 1,800kg   A   A   A   A
Towpack - heavy duty 2,250kg (including load levelling kit)   A   -   A   -
Towpack - heavy duty 3,000kg (including load levelling kit)   -   A   -   A

Offline crispy

« Reply #46 on: March 07, 2011, 05:03:50 PM »
saw this on another forum a while ago (poca) someone on there said he wascut of trying to change lanes ,as i said before thank the good man they are okay apart from being shaken up ,ali and glass can be repaired lives cant ,still a Shitty way to start your dream hope it all turns out ok for them
crispy ;D