Author Topic: Bathurst 2018..... watching it or brushing it?  (Read 9412 times)

Bathurst 2018..... watching it or brushing it?
« on: October 04, 2018, 06:56:55 AM »
I'm got a mate running his 63 Mercury Comet in the Touring Car Masters, so i'll check out how Al goes etc.

I'll watch the shootout on Saturday afternoon, but on Sunday, we're taking the Fleetwood on a run to Helidon for this.
RockStock 2018 is being held on Sunday 7th October in the Helidon area from 10am till 3pm.
Come, enjoy, sing and dance along to the Rock and Roll hit songs of the '50s and '60s, including Elvis, Cliff Richard and Bill Haley, just to name a few of the classics that will be played live by frontline band 'Salt'

After that, i can be home in time to see the final 10 laps and with my imagination, I can invent the rest of the racing activities I've missed easy.  ;D

Re: Bathurst 2018..... watching it or brushing it?
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2018, 07:13:34 AM »
I'll be watching............it's a tradition for me.

Saturday is being dedicated to sorting out where stuff will live in the new caravan camper (with the telecast on in the background) but there will be a stop work in time for the shootout. Sunday is a no-go for any chores. BBQ bacon and egg brekky before the race, BBQ ribs and wings for lunch, some grazing style nibbles throughout the day, and a few sherbets in the afternoon. The big screen in the bar is in just the right position so I can sit in the spa and see the race, as well as admire our new toy in the back yard ;D No doubt a few mates will wander by to check on my welfare  ;D

« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2018, 07:19:33 AM »
Bathurst Sunday
Cool the  :cheers: Heat the food & bring me another  :cheers: Might have to have 2 Beer Wenches as its going to be a huge task  .     >:D >:D        Wouldn't miss it  :cup:

« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2018, 07:35:51 AM »
Saturday set the new little Engel up beside the lounge ... Coldies prawns n nibbles in place ... Set the recorder for the Shoot out then off to work ...
Sunday will be a rough start due to late home from work and start of daylight savings .. Bacon n eggs brekky and settle in for the days telecast ..
Might even rig up a funnel and hose for the pit stops  ;D ;D  " Kidding " .   :-\

« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2018, 08:13:25 AM »
I presume the forecast for heavy rain will also include the Bathurst area, if so I will enjoy the highlights.  :cheers:

« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2018, 09:10:40 AM »
Definitely watching, no way I'm missing it. :cheers:

Offline Inland_Sailor

« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2018, 09:19:21 AM »
It's become so booorrrrriiiing!!!!
Supercars rules have made it slowly worse and worse!!!
If we could turn back time to the Production cars or similar and have various manufacturers and classes and the races within the race, it would great. That kept your interest up as you watched who was where overall and within the classes, always with the possibility of a giant killer coming through from the lesser classes and taking out the race!
I think the best days was in the Group A era, with all the different sized cars and powertrains, multiple manufacturers, and the mix of international and local drivers. [Oh, one other thing, start the race at 9:00 like it once did, instead of nearly dam nearly lunch time]

« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2018, 09:44:54 AM »
Quote from: Inland_Sailor
It's become so booorrrrriiiing!!!!
Supercars rules have made it slowly worse and worse!!!
I didnt think that was possible ???

« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2018, 10:14:46 AM »
Cant go back in time, the cars are so much more reliable, faster and more controllable than they were, that takes a lot of the what ifs out of the race. They go by finish time not start time for TV, the later starts just go to show how much faster and more reliable the cars are these days. First one I've missed in a lot of years so it should be interesting sitting in front if the TV

« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2018, 10:46:03 AM »
Never miss it, I hope this years race has a bit more action than last year.

« Reply #10 on: October 04, 2018, 10:47:24 AM »
47th year straight of watching it on TV, except 2003 when was there....  Have every race program from 71 onwards.   :cheers:

« Reply #11 on: October 04, 2018, 10:48:25 AM »

Yeah another punch up in the cutting would be a ripper.....   :cup:

« Reply #12 on: October 04, 2018, 10:50:59 AM »
Yeah another punch up in the cutting would be a ripper.....   :cup:

Or a 888 car running up the arse of someone on mountain straight on lap 1  >:D

Or a 888 car hitting forest elbow wall in morning warm up  :angel:

The following users thanked this post: archer63

« Reply #13 on: October 04, 2018, 11:10:14 AM »
Wow Bathurst is still on these days??

Is it on free to air?

Thanks to pay TV (which I refuse to pay for) I had forgotten that V8s racing still existed.
Bathurst weekend used to be the only Sunday in the whole year that I parked my arse on the couch for so many hours.

If it’s not on free to air I won’t be watching this year sadly.

« Reply #14 on: October 04, 2018, 12:33:18 PM »
Wow Bathurst is still on these days??

Is it on free to air?

Thanks to pay TV (which I refuse to pay for) I had forgotten that V8s racing still existed.
Bathurst weekend used to be the only Sunday in the whole year that I parked my arse on the couch for so many hours.

If it’s not on free to air I won’t be watching this year sadly.

Channel 10 are telecasting all day Sunday (with adverts of course), Foxtel (channel 506) is supposed to be ad break free, and if you have a new 4k box, channel 444 will be in 4k definition and 100% ad free (according to their website) - https://www.supercars.com/tv-schedule/

"Supercars and Foxtel will broadcast the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 in 4K, making the sport the first in Australia to be televised in the highest possible resolution available in the country.

Offering four times the detail of HD, the 4K broadcast of the Great Race will be available to Foxtel subscribers with the Sports HD pack on Foxtel’s dedicated 4K channel (Channel 444).

This year will also see the race broadcast ad-break free for the first time, on both the 4K and regular Fox Sports 506 channels.
"

Also, most years with foxtel you can push the red button and select your own view (usually 4 separate channels, each with specific coverage - 1 for in-car, 1 for chopper, 1 for pits, and one for roof camera's), but I cant find anything about that for this year ?
« Last Edit: October 04, 2018, 12:47:47 PM by Spada »

« Reply #15 on: October 04, 2018, 12:40:55 PM »
Thanks mate.

Looks like us plebs even get to watch the shoot out, bonus...

If it wasn’t for this thread and one supercheap auto ad last night I seriously wouldn’t have known the race was on this weekend.

In years gone by I used to get super pumped up and book my day on the couch weeks before the event. Not these days.

I hope they’re making a lot of money with that pay tv deal and can justify all of the former fans like me having no interest in the sport anymore. 

« Reply #16 on: October 04, 2018, 12:44:58 PM »
I'll be doing what I do every year, ignore it.

My best mate has a whole weekend thing at his house, multiple TV's, laptops feeding from team sites etc.... His better half goes away for the weekend and the 'boys' move in. Way too much for my tiring old body to put up with now.

« Reply #17 on: October 04, 2018, 12:57:58 PM »
With over a months rain predicted in the next few days up that way i would say there will be plenty of action this year

« Reply #18 on: October 04, 2018, 12:59:51 PM »
I'll be doing what I do every year, ignore it.

My best mate has a whole weekend thing at his house, multiple TV's, laptops feeding from team sites etc.... His better half goes away for the weekend and the 'boys' move in. Way too much for my tiring old body to put up with now.
What snoozing on the couch

« Reply #19 on: October 04, 2018, 01:01:11 PM »
With over a months rain predicted in the next few days up that way i would say there will be plenty of action this year

I've been hoping for some rain but besides today it looks like a fine sunny weekend if the forecast is accurate.

« Reply #20 on: October 04, 2018, 01:07:16 PM »
I've been hoping for some rain but besides today it looks like a fine sunny weekend if the forecast is accurate.
Not sure, i was only going off the news this morning and we all know how accurate that can be

Offline avotrol

« Reply #21 on: October 04, 2018, 02:27:44 PM »
As always, if not at the mountain I watch it with mates, along with our ministers of war and finance. Watching it this time.

Last year we were up Cape York, so made sure we made it to a Cooktown caravan park on the Saturday and watched it there in the camp kitchen with other blokes coming and going the whole day. Even turned my mobile phone into a remote control to mute the adds so I didn't have to get up as the actual remote was chained to the TV  ;D
GU Patrol with home away from home.

« Reply #22 on: October 04, 2018, 03:26:52 PM »
What snoozing on the couch

Only if I can get away with it. SWMBO no doubt has other ideas.
Maybe I should put it on the tele, say I am watching it and have a snooze.

« Reply #23 on: October 05, 2018, 02:46:06 PM »
Come Sunday In will be watching .

I am an ignorant bastard on Bathurst Day , don,t answer the phone and don,t go to the door if someone comes around . >:(

« Reply #24 on: October 05, 2018, 03:26:42 PM »
I was gunna drop up for the day too... stuff ya Duggie, i'll stay home now.