Author Topic: New members  (Read 4335 times)

Offline damessa

• Aussie Swag Hard Floor Camper
    • Exploring Oz in Style
New members
« on: September 25, 2013, 07:11:51 PM »

Just wanted to introduce ourselves.  We've been a member for a little while but haven't been active as were still researching which camper trailer to buy etc.  We live in the Gold Coast Hinterland on a little property of 5acres filled with the usual menagerie of animals - horses, 4 dogs, cat, chooks, goat etc etc.

After what seems like forever researching, we are finally in a position to start fulfilling the dream. 

We have recently put a deposit on an Aussie Swag Ultra D and now we have the nailbiting wait until it's finished.  In the meantime, we are in the process of modifying the Ute - a Mazda BT50 Freestyle Cab Chassis (2009). 

As I am a professional photographer, I will be taking photographs of the build as it happens to post to our blog.  I also want to post about the mods we are doing to the Ute. 

Our long term goal is the big lap over a 12month + period, however, with Damian still working, that won't be possible until 2019 but we are planning on smaller trips over that time. 

I'd love it if you want to check out our blog and subscribe by email.  There's a few posts on there (I only started it last week) but will be posting regularly with the build of the trailer and the mods to the ute.

The blog site is:  http://www.letstravelaustralia.wordpress.com

Anyhoo, thought I'd introduce ourselves so here goes:

Damian is a long-term military man currently serving in Canungra and soon to be posted to Enoggera.  He is an engineer and has loads and loads of experience in 4WD and up in the northern country and aboriginal communities.

Like I said, I am a professional photographer, with 2 lines of business - a portrait business (newborn/pregnancy/family) and a fine art business as well.  Presently, I am also studying a Bachelor of Photography with the Qld College of Art and nearing the end of my 2nd year. I photograph using digital and film and develop my own film and make prints as well.  I have no experience with 4WD but that's ok - Damian is with me  :D

We are a blended family and all our children are grown and flown the nest so only fur kids left. 

Looking forward to meeting people at various meets and hearing from people via email or post. 

Damian and Vanessa
www.exploringozinstyle.com

Re: New members
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2013, 07:20:00 PM »
Welcome to myswag Damian and Vanessa, lot's of good ideas here to help you spend $ ;D

BTW my old man had a Bronica although I think he wished it was a Hasselblad.

« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2013, 07:25:37 PM »
Welcome Damian and Vanessa
You will have fun here
Brett B

Offline damessa

• Exploring Oz in Style
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2013, 07:54:57 PM »
Thanks for the welcome  :D

Yes, I love Brian the Bronica, but I also wish he was a Hasselblad - but, he is a beauty and I use it as much as I can.  Though we haven't got our CT yet, we are hoping to take a run down to Nymboida for the day on Saturday to say hi and meet a few people.  I hope thats ok?

« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2013, 07:58:29 PM »
Though we haven't got our CT yet, we are hoping to take a run down to Nymboida for the day on Saturday to say hi and meet a few people.  I hope thats ok?

The more the merrier, just keep your grog secure from speewa :laugh:

« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2013, 08:00:54 PM »
G'day Damian and Vanessa and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

Offline damessa

• Exploring Oz in Style
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2013, 08:02:25 PM »

Nice to be welcomed so warmly  :D

Hopefully we will meet on Saturday.

Offline Steinzy

• 1980's Jayco Dove
    • LJ Hooker Mermaid Beach
« Reply #7 on: September 25, 2013, 10:50:28 PM »
Welcome to another fellow Gold Coaster
Steinzy

Offline Garfish

• Mini Marlin
  • Have fun and enjoy
« Reply #8 on: September 26, 2013, 05:51:40 AM »
Welcome, as the others have said plenty of opportunities to research mods on here, 

« Reply #9 on: September 26, 2013, 06:04:09 AM »

« Reply #10 on: September 26, 2013, 06:08:25 AM »
G'day and welcome.
Congrats on the camper. Top unit  :cup:
I will defiantly be checking out your blog also. ;D

« Reply #11 on: September 26, 2013, 08:42:30 AM »
Welcome Damian & Vanessa,

Good choice with your new CT,
Have fun when it arrives.

« Reply #12 on: September 26, 2013, 09:37:13 AM »
Hi Damien and Vanessa. Welcome to MySwag. Looking forward to seeing your pics and mods.

Offline damessa

• Exploring Oz in Style
« Reply #13 on: September 26, 2013, 04:22:18 PM »
Update:

We have found someone who kindly offered to housesit and pet sit for us so we are heading down to the National Meet tomorrow and staying for 2 nights though we will be tenting it this time.

Really looking forward to meeting you all there.

« Reply #14 on: September 30, 2013, 09:59:08 AM »
Hi Damian and Vanessa,

Welcome to the friendliest place on the web.

I am so envious that you managed to get to the National Meet, from my excperience meeting swaggers directly is even better than chatting to them online.

You will love the Aussie Swag, a wonderful piece of gear you ahve there. Look foward to following it's progress through your blog.

Offline damessa

• Exploring Oz in Style
« Reply #15 on: September 30, 2013, 10:41:15 AM »
Hiya Bunyip

We had a blast at the National Meet and I'm so pleased we looked at the forum last week instead of this week or I would have missed it  ;D

I took some photos during the weekend and am in the process of editing and writing a post for my blog.  Will post a link here once it's done (hopefully today). 

We saw Scott from Aussie Swag and had a chat with him as well.

Thanks for the welcome.