Author Topic: Middle age adventure or foolish foley ?  (Read 20248 times)

Offline b1

Re: Middle age adventure or foolish foley ?
« Reply #75 on: August 15, 2017, 01:40:44 PM »
You my friend are certifiable ! And that makes me.....

I suggest we invest a thoroughly modern classic like an '87 Celica and do a sensible and safe drive to Perth on the October long weekend
« Last Edit: August 15, 2017, 01:44:48 PM by b1 »
The first 50 years of my childhood have been the hardest

« Reply #76 on: August 15, 2017, 05:37:27 PM »
l knew a few blokes that did buy a Hillman Minx for a few hundred . They proceeded to drive it to it around for 1 month , then  to Perth sold it for train tickets back to Melb . They also had  :cheers:$ for the trip home  :cup:
« Last Edit: August 15, 2017, 08:32:39 PM by speewa158 »

Offline raider

« Reply #77 on: August 15, 2017, 07:43:14 PM »
l knew a few blokes that did buy a Hillman Minx for a few hundred . They proceeded to drive it to it around for 1 month , then sold it for train tickets back to Melb . They also had  :cheers:$ for the trip home  :cup:
One of my mates bought a Hillman Hunter wagon that we used to cruise around in. He took it down to Rosebud one christmas and we used to go down the back beaches and would end up doing doughies in the carparks while bystanders would be pi$$ing themselves laughing. After he got home it seized somehow and they reckon they put oil in it, pulled the plugs out and he towed it around the block a few times with his XB Interceptor and it freed up and all good again. I will post a photo once I find the photo album hidden in our junk room.
Don't live a life of going-to-do's and die with nothing done

« Reply #78 on: August 15, 2017, 08:31:34 PM »
Oil Rings are really over rated  :-*                             :cheers:

« Reply #79 on: August 16, 2017, 08:49:34 AM »
Back around 1987 I bought an old 1970 Cortina 1600 auto, for $350.00 with about 11 months rego. I broke an exhaust manifold once, rally driving it down a quarry, so a quick trip to the local unfenced dump, and picked up a better manifold, plus another full exhaust system. I used to regularly pick up bits and pieces off the old wrecks at the dump, to improve mine, until one day someone started nosing around my Corty for bits. I used to keep a closer eye on it after that. When the auto started sounding a it rough, I picked up a full manual gearbox, and all the bits and pieces, clutch etc to convert mine to manual, but the auto never died, so I never did the conversion. It sounded like too big a job anyway. For about 3 years I drove it to work and back every day, and it would sit on 100kph no worries. Drove it everywhere, and never babied it in the slightest. Scrub bashing, mud rallying. Taught my young bloke to drive in it when he was 14. (mrs wasn't too pleased about that) Edit: actually considering he was born in July 76, he must have been a bit younger  ;D

When I got posted away, I decided to sell it, and chucked $350.00 on it expecting to get knocked down to at least $200. But I ended up selling it for the $350, and threw in about another half a car of spares, including the full manual system. But it only had about 3 months of rego on it at the time. The bloke who bought it was going to put it in demo derbies, or stock car races or something.

That thing was bulletproof.

Back in the early '80's, I had an even older (1968?) one in Malaysia, but it was a Pommy one, 1600, manual, and in fairly good condition. The wiring shorted out somewhere near the tail lights one day, and melted all the way to the front (over the door arches), taking out a stack of other wiring under the dash, when it started to burn. Ended up rewiring almost the complete car. But that car was a beast too, and took us all around different areas of Malaysia including a short (one week) foray into Thailand.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2017, 08:51:35 AM by Troopy_03 »
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

Offline b1

« Reply #80 on: August 16, 2017, 12:34:52 PM »
Love it. Maybe we need a new thread  "tell us about you adventures...." but speewa would probably fill it up  ;D

In 1983 I had a Morris Major Elite. It was  POS I bought for $200 and we had a lot of fun in it. I can't remember why, but the aforementioned mate removed the muffler it was LOUD ! We painted with acrylic house paint it what would be described today as a graffiti attack - we were ahead of our time  ;D
« Last Edit: August 16, 2017, 12:43:23 PM by b1 »

« Reply #81 on: August 16, 2017, 01:00:36 PM »
First car for $400 was a Hillman Super Minx painted by me with the Hoover vacuum cleaner which had a spray gun attachment.  I had extras my mates only dreamed of, disc brakes, heater, radio  ;D ;D ;D. Total chic mobile, not  >:(

Offline shanegtr

• Offroad80s
« Reply #82 on: August 16, 2017, 01:48:16 PM »
I'd love to have a mate give me a call for this sort of adventure - I'd be in without a second thought. But knowing my mates I'd get a quick f*** off response if I asked them to join me on a trip like this.

Online Bird

« Reply #83 on: August 16, 2017, 01:49:14 PM »
Quote from: shanegtr
I'd love to have a mate give me a call for this sort of adventure

Offline b1

« Reply #84 on: August 16, 2017, 01:49:45 PM »
Maybe the new thread should be Sh!tboxe5 I have owned.

Here's the Morrie

Offline b1

« Reply #85 on: August 16, 2017, 02:03:31 PM »
Most photos in the trip report are of my mate (Flying Deck). He has had a Bongo afflication for a long time. This was my 21st over 30 years ago. Bongos haven't improved with age IMHO but my mate has ;D

Online Bird

« Reply #86 on: August 16, 2017, 02:05:47 PM »
One of the local boys had a Stout.. took it out the harbour in one of those long lost summers in the 80's..
we had fun

Offline b1

« Reply #87 on: August 16, 2017, 02:26:03 PM »
One of the local boys had a Stout.. took it out the harbour in one of those long lost summers in the 80's..
we had fun

Is that boat harbor when there used to be sand dunes ?

« Reply #88 on: August 16, 2017, 03:40:51 PM »
Most photos in the trip report are of my mate (Flying Deck). He has had a Bongo afflication for a long time. This was my 21st over 30 years ago. Bongos haven't improved with age IMHO but my mate has ;D

Hey, is that Bazza Mackenzie?  ;D
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.
The following users thanked this post: NandK

« Reply #89 on: August 16, 2017, 08:13:13 PM »
Uhhhhh that's Barrington   to you  :cheers:

Offline flying.deck

« Reply #90 on: August 16, 2017, 08:38:06 PM »

Correction - that was MY 21st. And thanks for the ?back-handed? compliment.

The following users thanked this post: b1

Online Bird

« Reply #91 on: August 16, 2017, 10:03:41 PM »
Is that boat harbor when there used to be sand dunes ?
Correct.... twas my backyard for 40 odd years..
My olds have some picture slides of the dunes when they moved out there in the 60's... the dunes were mammoth.. bigger than these

« Reply #92 on: August 17, 2017, 09:17:03 AM »
Here's the Morrie

Good to see you got dressed up or the photo! :D >:D

Offline flying.deck

Middle age adventure or foolish foley ?
« Reply #93 on: August 19, 2017, 02:51:29 PM »
Bongo finds new home in Sydney. Thanks b1 u r a tops co-pilot

Post mortem begins. That green stuff just keeps escaping!

Online Bird

« Reply #94 on: August 19, 2017, 02:57:52 PM »
replace the donk.. go with the custom 6 Rotor rotary :D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k3t3VcEIB-Q

Offline b1

« Reply #95 on: August 19, 2017, 03:39:41 PM »
Post mortem begins. That green stuff just keeps escaping!

More heater hose ?

« Reply #96 on: August 20, 2017, 07:32:57 AM »
ls way to find out what it is ,,, taste it  >:D >:D >:D >:D :cheers:

Offline NewieCamper

« Reply #97 on: August 20, 2017, 08:41:33 AM »
It's probably bug guts. The speeds they were travelling I wouldn't be surprised if the bug splatter got everywhere.  ;D

Offline flying.deck

Middle age adventure or foolish foley ?
« Reply #98 on: August 20, 2017, 12:32:08 PM »
More heater hose ?
Looks like the water pump base gasket which come pre-installed.

SIK0 not starting :( electrical problem I think.

Replaced dodgy throttle cable. Will do rad flush if I can get SIK0 running.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2017, 12:33:57 PM by flying.deck »

« Reply #99 on: August 20, 2017, 01:35:33 PM »
It's probably bug guts. The speeds they were travelling I wouldn't be surprised if the bug splatter got everywhere.  ;D
At the speed the car traveled the bugs could have landed had a rest and then jumped off again.  Unless they were Kamikaze grasshoppers.