General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bird on October 02, 2016, 08:56:54 AM

Title: AFL Season 2017
Post by: Bird on October 02, 2016, 08:56:54 AM
171 days to go  :'( seems so far away
https://days.to/23-march/2017
Title: Re: AFL Season 2017
Post by: DannyG on October 02, 2016, 09:09:22 AM
Go Tiges, we will be at year 37 of our 5 year plan, cant wait  ;D
Post by: Bird on October 02, 2016, 09:09:59 AM
Quote from: DannyG
Go Tiges, we will be at year 37 of our 5 year plan, cant wait  ;D
:cup: and it still wont be the coaches fault... :cup:
Post by: DannyG on October 02, 2016, 09:14:06 AM
:cup: and it still wont be the coaches fault... :cup:

We will get away to another mediocre start and softwick will be gone by mid season if he is lucky enough to last that long......yes another wasted year :(
Post by: Bird on October 02, 2016, 09:16:41 AM
yes another wasted year :(
if that happens it will be a wasted 5 years at least... unless you can coax Bevo to move in...
Post by: DannyG on October 02, 2016, 09:18:25 AM
if that happens it will be a wasted 5 years at least... unless you can coax Bevo to move in...

bomber thompson will be our next coach.....heard it here first ;)
Post by: Swannie on October 02, 2016, 09:36:59 AM
I don't care if the dogs never win another game again

Post by: Bird on October 02, 2016, 10:01:07 AM

This doggy says
(https://media2.giphy.com/media/Kn3roXcgFmVIk/200.gif)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TL7xrE9EYd4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TL7xrE9EYd4)

Im shocked you can move this early in the day!
Post by: macca on October 02, 2016, 05:22:00 PM

Yeah in a couple of months it will be " can we go back to back" then what about a threepete,  then you can get out of the way and give my Bombers a go

Post by: Trevdeb on October 04, 2016, 07:40:38 PM
Looking at club memberships today magpies 2015 /75000, 2016 / 55000, maybe a change of coach for us, we need Bomber Thomson
Post by: Bird on October 07, 2016, 02:22:56 PM
Ding Dong sticks with the hounds.
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/afl-trades-2016-lin-jong-sticks-with-western-bulldogs-20161007-grxdgu.html (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/afl-trades-2016-lin-jong-sticks-with-western-bulldogs-20161007-grxdgu.html)

Not surprising, other 2 are 15 yrs away from a flag.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on October 07, 2016, 02:27:19 PM
Does this mean I can lock the 2016 thread as the season is over  >:D

Post by: Bird on October 17, 2016, 11:15:00 AM
Cant believe Lewis is leaving the Hawks....

WTF is going on down there at hawkland?

Lewis to become a Demon

Repeating the news from Sam McClure that Jordan Lewis is on his way to Melbourne on a three-year deal. All that remains is for Melbourne and Hawthorn to hash out the trade details.

The clubs will meet later today to work out a trade. It's believed Melbourne will be offering the Hawks a late pick in exchange for the premiership star, similar to the pick the Hawks received from West Coast for Sam Mitchell.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/afl-trade-period-2016-live-coverage-day-six-20161016-gs3iok.html (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/afl-trade-period-2016-live-coverage-day-six-20161016-gs3iok.html)
Post by: DannyG on October 17, 2016, 11:40:53 AM

Its because Vickery has signed up LOL
Post by: Bird on October 17, 2016, 12:05:16 PM
Its because Vickery has signed up LOL

That makes no sense either! Maybe I never saw Vickery play enough, but didn't seem that great to me ???
Post by: DannyG on October 17, 2016, 12:15:54 PM
That makes no sense either! Maybe I never saw Vickery play enough, but didn't seem that great to me ???

We are glad to get rid of him, but no doubt clarko saw something in him. He is a pretty good kick and it doesnt look like roughy is coming back soon.
Post by: Swannie on October 17, 2016, 01:51:22 PM

he cracked it when hawthorn flagged he move on like mitchell
Post by: Bigfish on October 17, 2016, 03:53:52 PM
Clarkson and the board are no mugs.  Half the bloody coaches in AFL come from Hawthorn stck. Mitchell will have 1 more year then go coaching. Lewis may be good for three. These lads have nothing else to prove at Hawthorn and can go to another club where their experience will be invaluable. Different club may also reinvigorate them. Not that they were shabby anyways. Hawks will be planning for the future and hopefully Roughy will be part of it in 2017. Whatever decisions and moves the hawks make for 2017 you can bet your left knacker they will be at the top end of the ladder again...

Go Hawks   :cup:
Post by: Bird on October 17, 2016, 03:58:02 PM
Quote from: Bigfish
Different club may also reinvigorate them. Not that they were shabby anyways.
Mitchell and Lewis 1st and 2nd in best and fairest?? how much more do you want to invigorate them?  ;D ;) ;)

Peter Crimmins Medal Top 10
1. Sam Mitchell – 170 votes
2. Jordan Lewis – 157 votes
3. Shaun Burgoyne – 156 votes

... hopefully Roughy will be part of it in 2017.
That would be awesome.
Post by: Bird on October 18, 2016, 04:00:28 PM
doesn't look right.

(http://www.theage.com.au/content/dam/images/g/s/4/u/w/h/image.related.articleLeadwide.620x349.gs4v3p.png/1476761308452.jpg)
Post by: scrapsD40 on October 19, 2016, 02:36:13 PM
Hmm, did we see this one coming?
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161019/ffb285bc48074f4324e8f063d6f4b120.png)
Post by: Bird on October 19, 2016, 02:50:14 PM
Quote from: scrapsD40
Hmm, did we see this one coming?
long ago...
Post by: DannyG on October 19, 2016, 03:05:25 PM
Obviously wants a premiership.................. >:D
Post by: Bird on October 19, 2016, 03:12:52 PM
Obviously wants a premiership.................. >:D
Obviously a moron.......... :P
Post by: DannyG on October 19, 2016, 04:05:07 PM
Obviously a moron.......... :P

And another champion coming our way..........anyone would be better than Hampson........maybe not a better girlfriend but a better player ;)

http://www.zerohanger.com/done-deal-swans-ruckman-joins-richmond-8226/ (http://www.zerohanger.com/done-deal-swans-ruckman-joins-richmond-8226/)
Post by: Bird on October 19, 2016, 07:39:23 PM
Yea but no team will do as good next week as we will at the trade table!!!!

Post by: DannyG on October 19, 2016, 07:51:35 PM
Yea but no team will do as good next week as we will at the trade table!!!!

Especially Adelaide getting Gibbs ;)
Post by: Bird on October 19, 2016, 07:56:08 PM
Especially Adelaide getting Gibbs ;)
Most players take a squirt of water... not him.. at least we wont need to send out a runner with a makeup mirror every 10 mins now.
Post by: DannyG on October 19, 2016, 09:41:14 PM
Most players take a squirt of water... not him.. at least we wont need to send out a runner with a makeup mirror every 10 mins now.

and that man bun..............lol
Post by: Bird on October 20, 2016, 07:41:05 AM
and that man bun..............lol
(https://pics.onsizzle.com/itsok-to-tell-a-guy-with-a-man-bun-that-hes-3179543.png)

(https://s3.amazonaws.com/theoatmeal-img/comics/manbun/manbun.png)
Post by: Bird on October 20, 2016, 09:33:55 PM
AFL Trades 2016:
a) Blues handcuff Bryce Gibbs,
b) Hawks grab Jaeger O'Meara

a - Why bother keeping a player that doesn't want to be there.. its like some dude at work that's resigned and just wasting everyones time.
b - with his injury history.. good luck.
Post by: Bird on October 24, 2016, 01:32:10 PM
149 days to go!!!!!!!!

THE ROUND ONE FIXTURE

Thursday, March 23
 Carlton v Richmond, MCG

Friday, March 24
 Collingwood v Western Bulldogs, MCG

Saturday, March 25
 Sydney Swans v Port Adelaide, SCG
 North Melbourne v West Coast, Etihad Stadium
 Gold Coast v Brisbane Lions, Metricon Stadium
 Essendon v Hawthorn, MCG

Sunday, March 26
 Adelaide v Greater Western Sydney, Adelaide Oval
 St Kilda v Melbourne, Etihad Stadium
 Fremantle v Geelong, Domain Stadium
Post by: Bird on October 26, 2016, 08:10:09 PM
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/gold-coast-captain-and-excat-gary-ablett-requested-a-trade-back-to-geelong-20161026-gsbdsn.html (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/gold-coast-captain-and-excat-gary-ablett-requested-a-trade-back-to-geelong-20161026-gsbdsn.html)
sadly no ablett no win for Cold Ghost

but I think hes too broken to be taken serious anymore.. they should have taken what was on offer...
Post by: Bird on December 04, 2016, 02:22:11 PM
108 days until round 1!!!!

oops...
http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/afl/afl-news/port-adelaide-afl-player-linked-with-hitrun-luxury-vehicle-smash-20161203-gt3grf.html (http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/afl/afl-news/port-adelaide-afl-player-linked-with-hitrun-luxury-vehicle-smash-20161203-gt3grf.html)
Post by: scrapsD40 on December 04, 2016, 05:56:17 PM
James Brayshaw leaving AFL footie show to be replaced by mr I have no personality - Craig Hutchinson.

FFS this can only be so it goes backward and give Eddie a way to bring Mr I'll cheat with my best mates wife back into the host position

Anyone interested in a bet that Garry Lyons is coming back in the new year?
Post by: Bird on December 04, 2016, 06:02:12 PM
Quote from: scrapsD40
James Brayshaw leaving AFL footie show to be replaced by mr I have no personality - Craig Hutchinson.
I thought I was the only one who thought this...
Post by: scrapsD40 on December 04, 2016, 08:07:13 PM
I thought I was the only one who thought this...
If you go by facewastebook, thousands are thinking the same
Post by: Swannie on December 05, 2016, 01:56:22 PM
Bird you should have a crack at hosting, your view points would be awesome!!

Post by: Bird on December 05, 2016, 02:41:58 PM

****in love to.. you got contacts... make it happen
Post by: GeoffA on December 05, 2016, 02:44:24 PM

....and he's so photogenic too... ;D
Post by: Bird on December 07, 2016, 07:33:16 AM
 :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/jarryd-rougheads-complete-response-to-cancer-treatment-20161206-gt53xu.html

Jarryd Roughead has delivered the words everyone in football has longed to hear - the Hawthorn full forward is "cancer free".

The drug treatments have worked, the tumours have gone, the lumps have disappeared and the popular four time premiership player has been told he can return to full training, playing and a normal life.
Post by: Bigfish on December 09, 2016, 05:51:07 PM
Looking at club memberships today magpies 2015 /75000, 2016 / 55000, maybe a change of coach for us, we need Bomber Thomson

Collingwood board said that to lift the image of the Collingwood club it would prefer it if its members had more than 50% of their teeth...Hence the drop in numbers...
Post by: Bigfish on December 09, 2016, 05:52:06 PM
Go Hawks...good news about Roughie...  Clarksons magic will once again be on display in 2017... :cheers:
Post by: Bird on December 11, 2016, 06:29:43 PM
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/fremantle-dockers/exdocker-colin-sylvia-in-hospital-after-breaking-neck-in-balcony-fall-20161211-gt8joa.html (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/fremantle-dockers/exdocker-colin-sylvia-in-hospital-after-breaking-neck-in-balcony-fall-20161211-gt8joa.html)
Post by: tracker on December 12, 2016, 04:55:31 AM

Sun's and Bomers play a pre season match here in Mackay in Feburary.....might go and have a captain cook.......!!!!!

Post by: ScarpsD40 on January 04, 2017, 02:51:09 PM
Had to happen, although I don't mind watching them on a good day(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170104/b0abe2043462b4442d1b96a2277f971c.jpg)
Post by: Bird on January 04, 2017, 03:01:24 PM
Had to happen, although I don't mind watching them on a good day
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170104/b0abe2043462b4442d1b96a2277f971c.jpg)
I see nothing changed with the sign :P
Post by: Bird on January 05, 2017, 05:47:23 PM
Dank strikes again???

Former AFL champion and Essendon coach James Hird is believed to be in hospital after suffering a health scare, reportedly an overdose.

Although officials are refusing to comment, Fairfax Media understands an ambulance was called to his address in Toorak just after 10pm on Wednesday.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/james-haird-rushed-to-hospital-20170105-gtm8u8.html (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/james-hird-rushed-to-hospital-20170105-gtm8u8.html)
Post by: Snapman007 on January 07, 2017, 05:39:56 PM
He'd have to be a big part of it. We hear very little about that flog on the news up here. Shot in the face was the last. Go swim with Harold ya bottom feeder.

Danks eulogy; He had a huge impact on many people's lives.

Can't wait for his tell all book though.
Post by: ScarpsD40 on January 19, 2017, 03:51:14 PM
..(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170119/1a7317afafdac1dcf12c12f13dd80a81.jpg)
Post by: Bird on January 19, 2017, 03:57:44 PM
..(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170119/1a7317afafdac1dcf12c12f13dd80a81.jpg)
problem is they would still miss the 8
Post by: ScarpsD40 on January 19, 2017, 04:29:05 PM
problem is they would still miss the 8
Dunno, I've seen the team and reckon they could actually beat the guys
Post by: ScarpsD40 on January 25, 2017, 04:44:15 PM
I still don't mind Freemantle(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170125/40b1f81b2a4c596e35dee9f143feb5fe.jpg)
Post by: Bird on January 25, 2017, 05:10:40 PM
56 days and a few hours until round 1... :D :D ;D
Post by: ScarpsD40 on January 31, 2017, 07:57:34 PM
Absolute flog. Before the end of the year he'll be back on the footy show and brownless will be gone. Big Ed is behind conducting the orchestra

https://www.zerohanger.com/lyon-reveals-apologised-brownless-received-no-response-9352/
Post by: GGV8Cruza on February 03, 2017, 08:27:05 PM
Hope you watched the first game of the season tonight Bird, your mob even got up and won

Post by: Bird on February 04, 2017, 09:03:16 AM
Quote from: GGV8Cruza
Hope you watched the first game of the season tonight Bird, your mob even got up and won

your kiddin... the whole thing is a PC farce.
Post by: ScarpsD40 on February 11, 2017, 06:31:43 PM
Carlton could be in the top 8 this year(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170211/ca678edaba5b92627d2076966f1e4999.jpg)
Post by: Bird on February 15, 2017, 05:18:09 PM
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/hawthorn-name-skipper-jarryd-roughead-and-recruit-jaeger-omeara-in-preseason-game-against-geelong-20170215-gudge9.html (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/hawthorn-name-skipper-jarryd-roughead-and-recruit-jaeger-omeara-in-preseason-game-against-geelong-20170215-gudge9.html)

Roughy to be captain and to play Friday Night  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

(http://www.theage.com.au/content/dam/images/g/u/d/g/k/x/image.related.articleLeadwide.620x349.gudge9.png/1487135313931.jpg)
Post by: Bird on February 22, 2017, 11:16:11 AM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C5LOF8rUkAAr_in.jpg)
Post by: Bird on February 24, 2017, 08:32:53 AM
So is this time on Joke Watt's career?
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/melbourne-demons-overlook-jack-watts-again-for-the-who-gives-a-Shit-cup-game-20170223-gujp9o.html (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/melbourne-demons-overlook-jack-watts-again-for-jlt-community-preseason-game-20170223-gujp9o.html)
Post by: Bird on March 04, 2017, 04:52:15 PM
We wont even make the ladder this season... time to find another team to support for the next 5 years.
Post by: DannyG on March 04, 2017, 07:15:13 PM
We wont even make the ladder this season... time to find another team to support for the next 5 years.

Richmond? We can celebrate our round 1 loss together....oh wait...... ;)
Post by: 3rd time lucky on March 04, 2017, 07:38:14 PM
Lmao jump on board with me 😉😉...😂😂😂😂😂😂😂
You know which team.
I suspect hell will freeze over first. ...but had to ask.
🍻 Nigel
Post by: Snapman007 on March 04, 2017, 09:07:36 PM
Don't be weak, if you change you can't go back.
On the other hand, come support the Bombers, you've got the disappointment thing down pat.
Post by: Bird on March 06, 2017, 09:25:06 PM
Quote from: Snapman007
Don't be weak, if you change you can't go back.
why?

On the other hand, come support the Bombers, you've got the disappointment thing down pat.
Hmmm that or stand in a fire with paceman's faith or eat a B double of rat poison... decisions decisions...
Post by: ScarpsD40 on March 07, 2017, 04:37:40 PM
https://www.triplem.com.au/sport/afl/news/tac-give-geelong-the-flick/(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170307/e74b97f999857a0c2b485f74ddbc14f7.jpg)
Post by: 3rd time lucky on March 09, 2017, 08:15:32 PM
Just checked the AFL website broadcast guide for the opening round - it shows for Brisbane that Ess v Haw game will be on 7mate whilst the Lions v Suns will be on 7........un fkn likely lol
Post by: Bird on March 09, 2017, 08:26:14 PM
Quote from: 3rd time
Just checked the AFL website broadcast guide for the opening round - it shows for Brisbane that Ess v Haw game will be on 7mate whilst the Lions v Suns will be on 7
sounds fair to me.... a massacre on the dodgy channel, and a 4th grade game on the other
Post by: 3rd time lucky on March 09, 2017, 08:31:47 PM
sounds fair to me.... a massacre on the dodgy channel, and a 4th grade game on the other
;D :cup: :cheers:
I was actually more referring to the possibility that 7 would give us banana benders 2 games at the same time...
I find no fault with your assessment of the relative merits of both games ..
N
Post by: Bird on March 09, 2017, 08:32:59 PM
;D :cup: :cheers:
I was actually more referring to the possibility that 7 would give us banana benders 2 games at the same time...
I find no fault with your assessment of the relative merits of both games ..
N
Foxtel will have all the Victorian games... its all about the money these days :(
Post by: 3rd time lucky on March 09, 2017, 08:36:33 PM
I have a Telstra mobile so get my choice there - can watch the massacres dished up to my druggie team on the "small screen"...lol...
Hmm one of these days I must get out of this pessimistic headspace and start enjoying footy again...maybe start following Carlton....lol
Post by: Bird on March 09, 2017, 08:41:39 PM
I have a Telstra mobile so get my choice there - can watch the massacres dished up to my druggie team on the "small screen"...lol...
Hmm one of these days I must get out of this pessimistic headspace and start enjoying footy again...maybe start following Carlton....lol
hey we will win this year.....something not even your stoners could do..

we'll win the spoon  :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: 3rd time lucky on March 09, 2017, 08:51:40 PM
hey we will win this year.....something not even your stoners could do..

we'll win the spoon  :cup: :cup: :cup:
By my google search the bumblers have 5 - 1907, 1918, 1921, 1932, 2016 to Blues 4 - 2015,2006,2005,2002.....lol St Kilda 26 - not gonna list the years but needless to say they have sewn up the 5peat of wooden spoons at least twice...may the Lord pity their supporters souls for ever.
Post by: kylarama on March 09, 2017, 09:34:40 PM

..lol St Kilda 26

Their trophy cabinet is the kitchen drawer.  Second from the top....

Post by: Bird on March 10, 2017, 07:35:11 AM
must admit I'm not a fan of the direction the game is taking at moment with the handball at all costs style...  itslike watchin a bunch of u10s playing hot potato...
bring back the kick.
Post by: ScarpsD40 on March 22, 2017, 10:24:40 AM
West Coke Eagles luckily have cleaned up their act in this decade
Post by: Bird on March 22, 2017, 12:28:37 PM
I dont know what your referring to?

(http://i84.photobucket.com/albums/k7/jordanshelton/Cousins.jpg)
(http://i153.photobucket.com/albums/s215/Dikko1/ice_age_ver311.jpg)

(http://i1121.photobucket.com/albums/l520/chrisraff9/RossBird_zps4yirbr4x.jpg)
Post by: Sir Campalot on March 22, 2017, 05:07:01 PM
I thought the 2017 season was about to start. Rehashing old news clearly acceptable for sports journos.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Post by: 3rd time lucky on March 22, 2017, 06:44:41 PM
I thought the 2017 season was about to start. Rehashing old news clearly acceptable for sports journos.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
Lost Bird is NOT a journo..at least not as far as I am aware??...lol
No harm done. He pokes fun at everyone, but is harshest on his own mob first, and that approach cannot be faulted.
Harmless fun. All good.
Nigel
Post by: Bird on March 22, 2017, 06:50:39 PM
Quote from: Sir Campalot

All's fair with drug taking parasites I say :D specially when *everyone* knew they took it, but the "game" is more important.. asshats did donuts about it, yet look at the James' Junkies and how they got bolloxed... which they deserve ;D ;D

That's why its still news.

FWIW,
The Spoon - Us... apparently Dud Thomas is in our best 100 players.
First Coach to go - Hardwick by round 8
Second Coach - Buckley.

Top 4 for the Big Show - GWS Hawks Cats Swans
9th - Tigers

Biggest dissapointment - like last yr Norf Melb.
First Season Ending injury: Abblett - no Abblett no Cold Ghost so second last for them.
Post by: Bird on March 23, 2017, 07:14:54 PM
takin the tigers by 75 was genius!

Nathan Brown said on radio this morning theres $250,000 so far bet on tonights game... 230,000 of it on the tigers LMAO!
Post by: feisty on March 23, 2017, 07:47:58 PM
Carlton is doing well....

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on March 23, 2017, 07:50:10 PM
Quote from: feisty
Carlton is doing well....
if Dud Thomas can get a game, our season is ****ed. Watching him, he has less clue than a polar bear would have on the field.
Post by: speewa158 on March 23, 2017, 08:18:20 PM
ls this AFL  Crap over yet or is this going to go on into next week  ??? ::) ::)     :o
Post by: ScarpsD40 on March 24, 2017, 04:39:05 PM
Man, everyone's come out of the woodwork in Melbourne for tonight's game.
Thought these statues were credible
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170324/95d18d68d0636388ff5a9c9ab786f899.jpg)
Also name this AFL player
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170324/ea5622c4061cfc4acdd3a1bc7e340fc3.jpg)

Footnote:
It's astounding, time is fleeting
Madness takes its toll
But listen closely, not for very much longer
Post by: Bird on March 24, 2017, 08:01:01 PM
The dogs are tryin to be too cute and fancy... they will get their arses handed to them if they don't start taking the duds serious
Post by: Swannie on March 24, 2017, 08:50:15 PM
Dogs will be fine just giving the pies hope before they start actually playing
Post by: ScarpsD40 on March 24, 2017, 09:12:30 PM
Uh oh

Footnote:
It's astounding, time is fleeting
Madness takes its toll
But listen closely, not for very much longer
Post by: Swannie on March 24, 2017, 09:58:03 PM
WHO LET THE DOGS OUT
Post by: GeoffA on March 25, 2017, 07:22:05 AM
The Magpie crowd were actually semi-civilised.....

Post by: Bird on March 25, 2017, 08:42:29 AM
Quote from: GeoffA
The Magpie crowd were actually semi-civilised.....

I nearly cried laughin at Joffa when Clunk for the first time in years - kicked straight LMAO
http://www.sportingnews.com/au/afl/news/watch-joffa-angry-as-travis-cloke-kicks-booming-goal-on-bulldogs-debut/fbt6zkdiorbt1pmzxaz0gadq4 (http://www.sportingnews.com/au/afl/news/watch-joffa-angry-as-travis-cloke-kicks-booming-goal-on-bulldogs-debut/fbt6zkdiorbt1pmzxaz0gadq4)

(http://images.performgroup.com/di/library/sportal_com_au/79/fb/joffa-cloke_yz28h25525xg1tv5a99g5v3c1.jpg)
Post by: kylarama on March 25, 2017, 09:15:58 AM

I nearly cried laughin at Joffa when Clunk for the first time in years - kicked straight LMAO

Even being a pies fan, I did giggle watching that. They should have done a split screen with Eddie.

Cloke was always going to kick that goal. You'd back him everytime outside of 50.
It's the 20m out directly in front that go out of bounds.....

Speaking of goal kickers. Plugger back at the Swans as a kicking coach.
He looks slimmer and younger than when he played.

Post by: kylarama on March 25, 2017, 09:17:34 AM
Also great to see Bob Murphy out there shaking off the rust and showing the old boys still got it.

Post by: Bird on March 25, 2017, 09:20:45 AM
Quote from: kylarama
Speaking of goal kickers. Plugger back at the Swans as a kicking coach.
He looks slimmer and younger than when he played.
yea crazy change aint it.. but he is into greyhounds now, so is probably broke :D
 he almost looks sick and drawn out to me.
(https://media.apnarm.net.au/media/images/2017/03/15/b88642991z1_20170315164123_000ge3i08n52-0-a9qxa6xdj4wpbr5jwn2_t620.jpg)
Post by: kylarama on March 25, 2017, 09:27:34 AM
He's always had greyhounds, even when playing.  I know an ex St Kilda player through my wife who played with him. Plugger had coach Darrel Baldock convinced he was doing a 10km walk everyday with his dogs as exercise.

Never bother telling Doc that he had a walking machine for the dogs and he'd sit in a chair reading the form guide.

Post by: tracker on March 25, 2017, 12:40:16 PM

Goooooo The Lions in the womens grand final to-day......... :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

Post by: Black Diamond on March 25, 2017, 12:49:11 PM
WHO LET THE DOGS OUT
The Umpires did  :P
Post by: feisty on March 25, 2017, 09:35:04 PM
Nice game by the cheetahs tonight

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on March 26, 2017, 03:52:58 PM
Quote from: Black Diamond
The Umpires did  :P
can anyone explain how the hawks dude in 3rd gave a free kick for out on full, when somehow he missed the ball with his foot and it miraculously went 40 mtrs behind him out on full - when he was facing and trying to kick forward ??? ??? ??? wouldn't logic say it came off the foot of the stoner who was trying to kick towards his goal?
Looks like the druggos are going to get it easy this season with the draw and umpires... I guess the AFL feel they need all the help they can get..
Post by: 3rd time lucky on March 26, 2017, 04:41:30 PM
Time to get the violins out for the so called flag favourite.
Post by: 3rd time lucky on March 26, 2017, 04:45:08 PM
can anyone explain how the hawks dude in 3rd gave a free kick for out on full, when somehow he missed the ball with his foot and it miraculously went 40 mtrs behind him out on full - when he was facing and trying to kick forward ??? ??? ??? wouldn't logic say it came off the foot of the stoner who was trying to kick towards his goal?
Looks like the druggos are going to get it easy this season with the draw and umpires... I guess the AFL feel they need all the help they can get..
Not disagreeing with ya, but 1 incident didn't cost Hawks.the game. They always start slow. As for my mob, 1 win means little other than that they wont finish with 0 points. Thats about all i am prepared to read into it or say.
Post by: Bird on March 27, 2017, 07:16:26 AM
Quote from: 3rd time lucky
Not disagreeing with ya, but 1 incident didn't cost Hawks.the game. They always start slow. As for my mob, 1 win means little other than that they wont finish with 0 points. Thats about all i am prepared to read into it or say.
there were plenty of examples like it though at critical times of the game...
Post by: Bird on March 28, 2017, 02:22:39 PM
Life finally caught up with him

http://www.theage.com.au/wa-news/ben-cousins-sentenced-to-one-year-in-jail-over-stalking-drug-possession-20170328-gv84sb.html (http://www.theage.com.au/wa-news/ben-cousins-sentenced-to-one-year-in-jail-over-stalking-drug-possession-20170328-gv84sb.html)
Fallen AFL star Ben Cousins will spend 12 months behind bars after being sentenced at Perth Magistrates Court on Tuesday.

The court heard the AFL Player's Association had offered to partly fund Cousins' rehabilitation if he avoided a jail term on Tuesday, with his former club the West Coast Eagles also offering him a job if he could get clean.
Post by: lukeycat on March 28, 2017, 03:56:01 PM
Life finally caught up with him

http://www.theage.com.au/wa-news/ben-cousins-sentenced-to-one-year-in-jail-over-stalking-drug-possession-20170328-gv84sb.html (http://www.theage.com.au/wa-news/ben-cousins-sentenced-to-one-year-in-jail-over-stalking-drug-possession-20170328-gv84sb.html)
Fallen AFL star Ben Cousins will spend 12 months behind bars after being sentenced at Perth Magistrates Court on Tuesday.

The court heard the AFL Player's Association had offered to partly fund Cousins' rehabilitation if he avoided a jail term on Tuesday, with his former club the West Coast Eagles also offering him a job if he could get clean.

It's sad but I reckon he will never be clean he enjoys being off his chops too much.

Post by: 3rd time lucky on March 28, 2017, 04:35:01 PM
there were plenty of examples like it though at critical times of the game...
Must have been watching a different game....lol....I spose that's the 1 eye bigotry in me rearing its ugly head. I never want to see the truth...
Nigel
Post by: Swannie on March 31, 2017, 09:25:44 PM
WHO LET THE DOGS OUT
Post by: Bird on April 02, 2017, 03:58:53 PM
Few big injuries already this weekend
punctured lung, broken jaw, broken leg :o
Post by: Snapman007 on April 02, 2017, 06:15:44 PM
But the Nrl folk call it a girls sport.😄
Post by: Bird on April 04, 2017, 12:48:27 PM
The era of stupidity grows

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/north-melbourne-kangaroos-offer-giants-josh-kelly-nineyear-9-million-deal-says-exafl-executive-brian-waldron-20170404-gvd33t.html (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/north-melbourne-kangaroos-offer-giants-josh-kelly-nineyear-9-million-deal-says-exafl-executive-brian-waldron-20170404-gvd33t.html)

North Melbourne Kangaroos offer Giants Josh Kelly nine-year $9 million deal, says ex-AFL executive Brian Waldron

North Melbourne have made a Buddy Franklin, Tom Boyd-type nine-year $9 million contract offer for Greater Western Sydney midfielder Josh Kelly, according to former AFL club executive Brian Waldron.

Fairfax Media has confirmed that there is a nine-year contract on the table for Kelly.
Post by: Bird on April 08, 2017, 01:10:32 PM
Swans never stood a chance against the umps... too any of them
Post by: Snapman007 on April 08, 2017, 04:01:13 PM
Swans never stood a chance against the umps... too any of them

That's "Play On".
Post by: Bird on April 08, 2017, 05:01:26 PM
That's "Play On".
and all the complaining during the week on radio n tele about west coast getting the advantage at home with the umps worked... but they weren't at home!
Post by: Bird on April 08, 2017, 05:43:42 PM
and only second 1/4 and demons getting robbed by umps that bad that 1 eye David King even mentioned it live on tele!!!!!
Post by: Bird on April 09, 2017, 07:16:21 PM
... the hawks... WTF?

The Blues did it piss easy, but I tipped them to lose by 10.................. goals.
Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 09, 2017, 07:20:17 PM
... the hawks... WTF?

The Blues did it piss easy, but I tipped them to lose by 10.................. goals.
Post by: kylarama on April 09, 2017, 07:40:52 PM

... the hawks... WTF?

And bottom of the ladder to boot, with the Tigers 2nd.

Supporters will have to stand on their heads when looking at the ladder to feel normal.

Add to it last year's grand finalists also winless.

Previous history has shown, teams that start zip and 3 don't make the finals.

Still unlikely both Swans and Hawks will miss, but......

Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 09, 2017, 07:43:35 PM
The crows ignored history to win the flag from outside the top 4. Just saying....😆
Post by: Swannie on April 09, 2017, 08:11:39 PM
The crows ignored history to win the flag from outside the topn4. Just saying....😆

And so did the dogs 😀
Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 09, 2017, 10:11:03 PM
And so did the dogs 😀
Yes but the difference is that I HATE the fkn crows.....lol
🍻Nigel
PS Sorry about your loss to Dockers. I dont like hearing their abominal song.
Post by: BigGUWesty on April 10, 2017, 05:41:35 AM
Carn the crows.....

Sent from my SM-G800Y using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on April 10, 2017, 09:07:13 AM
PS Sorry about your loss to Dockers. I dont like hearing their abominal song.

just on that some clubs have ufckin horrible club songs, heard some of the non regular ones on weekend...
Post by: Bird on April 13, 2017, 10:35:03 PM
amazing to watch the umpires crumble everytime the WA crowd make any sort of noise.

i cant see any team in history winning over there again.
Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 14, 2017, 09:59:38 AM
amazing to watch the umpires crumble everytime the WA crowd make any sort of noise.

i cant see any team in history winning over there again.
The WA crowd r about as close to a fanatical English premier league soccer crowd as you can get in Australia. Ref most probably get bashed if make too many calls against home team. Sort of like cricket umpires in Pakistan.
Post by: Swannie on April 14, 2017, 06:56:30 PM
WHO LET THE DOGS OUT
Post by: Bird on April 14, 2017, 07:04:23 PM
WHO LET THE DOGS OUT
Diver Thomas did LMAO
Post by: Swannie on April 14, 2017, 07:19:23 PM
Diver Thomas did LMAO

Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 16, 2017, 08:42:09 AM
First time ever to the Adelaide Oval. Long way to travel from home to watch red and black disaster, but watching a top 2 team play supremely under perfect conditions is a rare treat. Crows were simply sensational. Ridiculous as it sounds, the score line flatters the Bombers and they played really well. Would have matched probably 15 of the other 16 teams yet were powerless against a truly awesome side in A1 form....and no I am NOT a crows convert 😂
Post by: Bird on April 16, 2017, 09:37:34 AM
3rd man up rule = biggest BIGGEST ****up in the history of any sport.
Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 16, 2017, 10:18:17 AM
3rd man up rule = biggest BIGGEST ****up in the history of any sport.
Agree x infinity
Post by: Bird on April 21, 2017, 08:34:20 PM
Did we not hear the siren to start the game?

Spoon is ours. Priority picks.. a new coach
Post by: Black Diamond on April 21, 2017, 08:41:25 PM
Did we not hear the siren to start the game?

Spoon is ours. Priority picks.. a new coach
Lmao the Blues still haven't recovered from the Salary cap scandal days  :cheers:
Post by: Bird on April 21, 2017, 10:50:37 PM
Lmao the Blues still haven't recovered from the Salary cap scandal days  :cheers:
I think it was solely down to Operation Malthouse.. where he was sent in to destroy the club.
Post by: kylarama on April 21, 2017, 11:01:29 PM
In Bolton's defence, he had something like 7 teenagers playing.

Post by: Bird on April 22, 2017, 12:55:58 AM
In Bolton's defence, he had something like 7 teenagers playing.
that was the most insipid game in 20 years from any club.
not even going close to scoring in the 3rd?
over 70 inside 50's difference?

if that's anything close to our worst, let alone best , we wont win another game this year.
Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 23, 2017, 03:00:36 AM
Bird, it could be far worse - you could be a Lions supporter. How do you lose a game after being up by 50pts? Ispose u could argue that at least they got 50 ahead....aah its redefining the term "choking".
Post by: GeoffA on April 23, 2017, 08:17:19 AM
Bird, it could be far worse - you could be a Lions supporter. How do you lose a game after being up by 50pts? Ispose u could argue that at least they got 50 ahead....aah its redefining the term "choking".

That's a bit harsh. Brisbane played OK. They'll win a few this year. Bevo woke the Dogs up at half time....
Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 23, 2017, 09:38:18 AM
That's a bit harsh. Brisbane played OK. They'll win a few this year. Bevo woke the Dogs up at half time....
Harsh but fair, in my book at least. As the Bris coach said after the Bombers game honourable losses are no longer acceptable.
Post by: Chris. on April 23, 2017, 09:43:18 AM
I've tried so often to get into the AFL, tried watching what are deemed 'must watch' games etc. I just don't get it, there doesn't seem to be another sport on Earth that is so unsettled... if it isn't racism its drugs & 'sports science' issues, or the constant annual rule changes, issues with 'flooding', alledged poor umpiring, managers of football clubs also running the media (conflict of interest much?), attempts at taking the sport international (like that's going to work), non-Victorian teams playing interstate every second weekend as opposed to the likes of Collingwood/Carlton/Hawthorn etc. who play at the MCG most weeks (& they say its a national competition LOL), many teams in severe financial hardship due to unfair broadcast rights... the list goes on. I love sport, love watching all forms of cricket, the EPL, occasional games of Rugby League, a bit of tennis & golf here & there.... the AFL just seems to be a forever screw up yet its fans just seem to accept the constant failures & unfairness/inequality of the competition?
Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 23, 2017, 10:20:21 AM
I've tried so often to get into the AFL, tried watching what are deemed 'must watch' games etc. I just don't get it, there doesn't seem to be another sport on Earth that is so unsettled... if it isn't racism its drugs & 'sports science' issues, or the constant annual rule changes, issues with 'flooding', alledged poor umpiring, managers of football clubs also running the media (conflict of interest much?), attempts at taking the sport international (like that's going to work), non-Victorian teams playing interstate every second weekend as opposed to the likes of Collingwood/Carlton/Hawthorn etc. who play at the MCG most weeks (& they say its a national competition LOL), many teams in severe financial hardship due to unfair broadcast rights... the list goes on. I love sport, love watching all forms of cricket, the EPL, occasional games of Rugby League, a bit of tennis & golf here & there.... the AFL just seems to be a forever screw up yet its fans just seem to accept the constant failures & unfairness/inequality of the competition?
And the NRL doesn't have most of these issues?  From where I sit it's more a case that you are in an AFL state.  Try NSW or QLD - trust me, the rugby league comp has just as many woes,. At least AFL fans actually attend their games, NRL is still played in suburban grounds in front of 5-10k on a Friday nite. What a joke.
Nope, Aussie Rules still reigns supreme in Australia. And this IS an AFL thread after all...lol
Post by: Chris. on April 23, 2017, 10:41:07 AM
And the NRL doesn't have most of these issues?  From where I sit it's more a case that you are in an AFL state.  Try NSW or QLD - trust me, the rugby league comp has just as many woes,. At least AFL fans actually attend their games, NRL is still played in suburban grounds in front of 5-10k on a Friday nite. What a joke.
Nope, Aussie Rules still reigns supreme in Australia.

I imagine the NRL has similar issues, as you rightly said, living in Adelaide I just don't hear about them, it's all AFL in the news here. The AFL markets itself as a national comp having teams from most states, from a non-Victorian perspective it seems pretty hypocritical that the bias is steeped so in favour towards the teams that play in Victoria. Take the EPL (or any other sporting codes) for example, every team plays every other team home & away, its a very level playing field. Would that not be the way to run a national competition? How often do Collingwood travel interstate this year? How can a president of a club (Maguire & Brayshaw) also have such a prominent media profile? Would it not be prudent to not have an ever-evolving/ever-changing rule book? Then there's the drug issues in the sport, from the WC Eagles a decade ago through to all the Essendon saga recently with individual cases in between... pretty amateur stuff poorly handled by the AFL administration, no?

And this IS an AFL thread after all...lol

I'm talking AFL here :)
Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 23, 2017, 10:46:46 AM
I imagine the NRL has similar issues, as you rightly said, living in Adelaide I just don't hear about them, it's all AFL in the news here. The AFL markets itself as a national comp having teams from most states, from a non-Victorian perspective it seems pretty hypocritical that the bias is steeped so in favour towards the teams that play in Victoria. Take the EPL (or any other sporting codes) for example, every team plays every other team home & away, its a very level playing field. Would that not be the way to run a national competition? How often do Collingwood travel interstate this year? How can a president of a club (Maguire & Brayshaw) also have such a prominent media profile? Would it not be prudent to not have an ever-evolving/ever-changing rule book? Then there's the drug issues in the sport, from the WC Eagles a decade ago through to all the Essendon saga recently with individual cases in between... pretty amateur stuff poorly handled by the AFL administration, no?

I'm talking AFL here :)
Yes, and you compared it to other sports as if to say it was worse in some way. At least that's how I interpreted your post. Was merely saying that, IMO only, I don't think it's any worse (or better lol) than any other high profile sport covered by media these days.
All of your other points are mirrored in the NRL. There have been salary cap breaches, drug issues, rape cases and assault etc...and yes the inequality in terms of travel etc exists - its eastern states only, though the only thing NRL does NOT proclaim to be, and I grant you that you are correct in this assessment, is that it is a national comp.  Melbourne are the only team outside of NSW/QLD since the failed Super League experiment.
Post by: Chris. on April 23, 2017, 11:04:29 AM
Yes, and you compared it to other sports as if to say it was worse in some way. At least that's how I interpreted your post. Was merely saying that, IMO only, I don't think it's any worse (or better lol) than any other high profile sport covered by media these days.

Yeah that's my point mate, the reason why I just don't get the AFL is for all the reasons I explained that do make it different to most other high profile sports (exclude NRL here)... the ever changing rules, the fact that there is no equality in the scheduling, the fact that presidents have such a profile in the media, the way the drugs & rape cases are handled... all so very wrong... there's probably more in the list but its Sunday morning & I had a big night last night :D

Compare the AFL to the EPL (which is where it seems the AFL coaches go to try & improve themselves/their clubs), the EPL is very consistent & run professionally when compared to the AFL, there are no ongoing rule changes every single year where they try to improve something, only to change it again as they screwed up & there is equality in the scheduling of the games. You don't find Sir Alex Ferguson managing Man Utd whilst also appearing on Fox to commentate on an Arsenal vs Man City game.
Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 23, 2017, 11:11:57 AM
No argument, you make well considered and vaild observations. In AFL's defence, I reckon that off field dramas aside its a far superior product to 20 or 30 years ago - the majority of the rule changes (abominable 3rd man up ruck rule excluded) have been.very good. I dont like Eddie (no devoted Qlder does) but Brayshaw no longer reigns at North. Inequality in match schedule - yes its rough, and tough, but teams know it and could always say "no x deal, we're out". Imagine the outrage at AFL headqtrs (and Ch 7/Foxtel)...lol
Post by: Chris. on April 23, 2017, 11:27:01 AM
That's true, it has evolved in the past 20 odd years. Regarding Maguire, I read somewhere recently where his Millionaire show has run its course, apparently people are finally getting tired of him. There is a god!!
Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 23, 2017, 12:06:18 PM
... Regarding Maguire, I read somewhere recently where his Millionaire show has run its course, apparently people are finally getting tired of him. There is a god!!
Amen
Post by: GeoffA on April 23, 2017, 12:11:42 PM
.... from a non-Victorian perspective it seems pretty hypocritical that the bias is steeped so in favour towards the teams that play in Victoria......

Chris, I'm sure the Vic clubs would argue otherwise. The generous conditions awarded to non-Vic clubs is a constant sticking point. In any event, 10 of the 18 AFL teams are based in Victoria.....

Post by: Chris. on April 23, 2017, 12:40:10 PM
Chris, I'm sure the Vic clubs would argue otherwise. The generous conditions awarded to non-Vic clubs is a constant sticking point. In any event, 10 of the 18 AFL teams are based in Victoria.....

And therein lies the problem Geoff, until the "Victoria vs the rest of the country" issue is gone (& it never will be so my point is mute LOL) it'll never be an equal, truly 'National' competition, will it? The way things stand this year, putting aside all the financial assistance/bonuses interstate teams (why are they even called that when its a national comp?) have been given previously, there are 18 teams playing in the AFL & only the 'interstate' teams travel every second week or thereabouts. Hardly a 'National' competition is it? Collingwood, Essendon & Carlton, & probably the others too, only travel outside of Victoria 5 times this year, yet there are 8 interstate (there's that word again) teams, why don't they travel 8 times a year, playing less games in Victoria (that last question is rhetorical by the way, we both know why)?
Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 23, 2017, 12:52:32 PM
And therein lies the problem Geoff, until the "Victoria vs the rest of the country" issue is gone (& it never will be so my point is mute LOL) it'll never be an equal, truly 'National' competition, will it? The way things stand this year, putting aside all the financial assistance/bonuses interstate teams (why are they even called that when its a national comp?) have been given previously, there are 18 teams playing in the AFL & only the 'interstate' teams travel every second week or thereabouts. Hardly a 'National' competition is it? Collingwood, Essendon & Carlton, & probably the others too, only travel outside of Victoria 5 times this year, yet there are 8 interstate (there's that word again) teams, why don't they travel 8 times a year, playing less games in Victoria (that last question is rhetorical by the way, we both know why)?
Lol. Rhetorical issues aside, there is nothing to discuss here.  Ask any of the "interstate" sides if they would rather not exist.......It's the greatest ball code in the country, and lets all agree on that.  Everything in life could always be better, but it also could be a hell of a lot worse.  Love the sport and enjoy it, or ignore it.  Finding fault with it achieves little, unless you wish to share a grievance over a particular aspect.  But belittling the sport altogether does not add to the forum, or life in general.  Don't like it?  Then don't watch, and don't read forum discussion topics on the matter.  We are here to discuss the merits of this game and the individual clubs, not whether it should even exist.
Case closed.
Bring on ANZAC day  :cheers:
Nigel
Post by: GeoffA on April 23, 2017, 01:01:16 PM
Brisbane, Sydney, Adelaide and West Coast have all won multiple flags.
Several Vic based clubs have not got close to 1 since the introduction of the "National Comp".
Where is the bias??

Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 23, 2017, 01:34:07 PM
Brisbane, Sydney, Adelaide and West Coast have all won multiple flags.
Several Vic based clubs have not got close to 1 since the introduction of the "National Comp".
Where is the bias??

Come on..Fitzroy got 3...x 1/2 I guess  ;D
Richmond, St Kilda and Demons are the 3 obvious stand outs - who else? When did Port & Freo join? Maybe after Carlton 95.
Melbourne and Richmond would be the 2 worst, and yet even Blues played a GF in 99 & Melb in 2000.
My conclusion - closet Tigers fan. Ha.
Post by: GeoffA on April 23, 2017, 04:36:00 PM
My conclusion - closet Tigers fan. Ha.

Miles off... :-*
Post by: Bird on April 23, 2017, 08:17:40 PM
I cannot understand the rules anymore.. Its just way beyond me.

either that or the umpires are just beyond ****ed.
Post by: Ragman on April 23, 2017, 09:50:55 PM

either that or the umpires are just beyond ****ed.

do you find it ironic that the umpires are sponsored by OPSM? guy who signed up that deal probably in South America or such.

on the other hand maybe the umpires are confused about the rules as the we are LOL
Post by: Bird on April 23, 2017, 11:27:43 PM
do you find it ironic that the umpires are sponsored by OPSM? guy who signed up that deal probably in South America or such.

on the other hand maybe the umpires are confused about the rules as the we are LOL
I actually think when I need my next glasses I'll go to the tip before I went to OPSM... if the umps have been there for a checkup and can **** up simple rules like a push in the back 10ft from the ump then OPSM isn't worth pissing on.
Post by: Ragman on April 24, 2017, 12:04:03 AM
I get my specs from the red dot store LOL.
Post by: Chris. on April 24, 2017, 05:36:08 AM

You're not alone there, it appears that they make a new set at the start of each season  :cheers:
Post by: Bird on April 24, 2017, 12:06:27 PM
Quote from: Chris
You're not alone there, it appears that they make a new set at the start of each season  :cheers:
Even so, the interpretation changes minute by minute.
whats paid at the start of the game, is ignored totally by 1/2 time...
Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 24, 2017, 06:57:42 PM
In the suns crows game, a suns player had contested for the ball in the goal square and fell over. He was on the ground on his back 1m from goal with a crows player bearing down on him. Forced the ball thru then was pinged - FFS thats not why the deliberate rule was introduced.  One of the worst decisions ive witnessed (at least for a week anyways)
Post by: Black Diamond on April 24, 2017, 07:25:48 PM

Post by: Bird on April 25, 2017, 05:17:36 PM
I stand by this statement... incorrect disposal was insane the last few days..

today its.. ??? ??? ???
Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 25, 2017, 07:35:20 PM
3rd quarter there were some "questionable " calls, thats for sure.
I'm happy to take the win.
Post by: Bird on April 25, 2017, 07:57:12 PM
3rd quarter there were some "questionable " calls, thats for sure.
I'm happy to take the win.
watching a game consisting of 2 Shit teams and the only game on tele today makes you want to punch yourself in the face everytime you realise your celebrating a great goal by either a ****in failed drug cheat or a toothless dead Shit... life is harsh.. and the TV is very sore.

surely has to be end of Nath..
(https://scontent-sjc2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/18157485_807653902728272_7389139375029523590_n.jpg?oh=e38bc0892f5b074c37ae3a9c5407ae5a&oe=5993F6A1)

oh and
(https://scontent-sjc2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/18033418_1294895753969174_4197286448482341994_n.jpg?oh=f4c8af821a46538d8bfcc1b0ae766702&oe=597CE545)
Post by: Bird on April 25, 2017, 08:12:42 PM
this one was inexcusable.. "if I got it wrong sorry"??? its ok, it only cost them a game.
Sadly there aren't enough umpires to drop them when they are pure Shit.

(https://scontent-sjc2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/18057902_10155367623412249_2883695871186598483_n.jpg?oh=daa0899cab969ed6c324dfdf2f88385f&oe=598A2F0E)

(https://scontent-sjc2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/18057678_1293691594089590_8005934100411065797_n.jpg?oh=e04be814fd665c7937f01cdf94ab4322&oe=5976F7AE)
Post by: 03GV on April 25, 2017, 09:02:45 PM
watching a game consisting of 2 Shit teams and the only game on tele today makes you want to punch yourself in the face everytime you realise your celebrating a great goal by either a ****in failed drug cheat or a toothless dead Shit... life is harsh.. and the TV is very sore.

surely has to be end of Nath..
(https://scontent-sjc2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/18157485_807653902728272_7389139375029523590_n.jpg?oh=e38bc0892f5b074c37ae3a9c5407ae5a&oe=5993F6A1)

oh and
(https://scontent-sjc2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/18033418_1294895753969174_4197286448482341994_n.jpg?oh=f4c8af821a46538d8bfcc1b0ae766702&oe=597CE545)

Shit team, your a carlton supporter arent you ? What a laugh! Possibly one of the worst performingteams for the last decade! And richmond are leaving you behind!
Post by: macca on April 25, 2017, 09:28:09 PM
Bombers and Storm, lifes good

Post by: Bird on April 25, 2017, 09:53:39 PM
Quote from: 03GV
Shit team, your a carlton supporter arent you ? What a laugh! Possibly one of the worst performingteams for the last decade! And richmond are leaving you behind!
but at least I admit my team is Shit...

I'd be rubbing my sausage..  ;D
(https://scontent-sjc2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/18010160_1297195167072566_894507624345354959_n.jpg?oh=3edd480f74e10ff3d35b999f54cf742b&oe=597AAE09)
Post by: 03GV on April 25, 2017, 10:36:57 PM
Hahahaha ;D
Post by: xcvator on April 28, 2017, 10:20:50 PM
 >:( >:( Just wondering htf can an umpire class a kick "as delibrate oob " when it bonces 20 metres inside the boundary amd opposition player deliberatly let it go over the boundary for a freby.

Ive seen this happen now about 4 times thid season with different teams. sorry afl/vfl whatever you call yourself now you've lost me again, dumn arse administraters that can't leave well enough alone  >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(
Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 29, 2017, 08:11:04 AM
>:( >:( Just wondering htf can an umpire class a kick "as delibrate oob " when it bonces 20 metres inside the boundary amd opposition player deliberatly let it go over the boundary for a freby.

Ive seen this happen now about 4 times thid season with different teams. sorry afl/vfl whatever you call yourself now you've lost me again, dumn arse administraters that can't leave well enough alone  >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(
Bingo. Know exact decision u refer to - nothing short of f*#king ludicrous.  There seems to be an obsession in umpiring to go looking for, and pay, free kicks.  That's not the spirit of the game.  Free kicks are there to discourage negative and dangerous play, not penalise players for contesting and trying.  Soft free kicks are why northern rugby league followers can never get into Aussie Rules, and its easy to understand when u see rubbish paid like the incident in question here.
Game loses every time an ump does this stupid sh#t - it must stop. AFL never wants to end up like the farce that is Rugby Union - a game where the result is heavily influenced by how whistle happy the ref is.  Virtually every ball contest in that sport is ended by a whistle for an infringement of some description. Boring.
Ignoring that, and other mind numbing calls, the game was awesome IMO and despite negative pessimists who belittle GWS and what has been given to them, they play an exciting brand of footy, and I gladly have jumped on the bandwagon to support them as my 2nd team.
Still love the sport.
Go Bombers !!
Post by: GeoffA on April 29, 2017, 08:22:00 AM
Some of the inconsistencies are a bit confusing, and some of the recent rule changes are ridiculous.
eg It's verboten to place hands on shoulders when going for a mark, but it's OK to knee in the back of the head ???

Contact below the knee will attract a penalty. How long before they ban the smother??

Post by: GeoffA on April 29, 2017, 08:58:38 AM
"Coward punch" by Greene..... >:( >:(

He's had enough warnings. Multiple weeks holiday is in order, but they'll go soft on him...
Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 29, 2017, 09:33:19 AM

He's had enough warnings. Multiple weeks holiday is in order, but they'll go soft on him...
Approaching protected species status a la N Riewoldt
Post by: Bird on April 29, 2017, 11:24:19 AM

The GWS and Cold Ghost players know they are protected as the AFL *NEEDS* them to be successful..
They could stab someone on the field andbthey'd get 50 not give 50.

as for the rules.... players, fans, coaches, commentators have no clue anymore... I think they need to go back to 1 umpire on the field... then there is no difference in ruling from one end of the ground to the other.. and agree they are so focused on looking for something to blow their whistle for.
Post by: Swannie on April 29, 2017, 01:43:42 PM
Was a good game last night first time the dogs have played this year with any glimpses of last year. Don't care about the rules as long as it's consistent even if it's deemed wrong from interpretation just keep it consistent
Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 29, 2017, 01:52:23 PM
Was a good game last night first time the dogs have played this year with any glimpses of last year. Don't care about the rules as long as it's consistent even if it's deemed wrong from interpretation just keep it consistent
Greg, this will only be true until a game is lost due to inept umpiring against your (or any other) side.  You WILL care then...lol
Let's just hope it never comes to that.  And yes your side should have won, how often does wasteful kicking in front of goal cost teams?  Every year the same discussion arises.  You see out on the full set shots for goal, yet how often when upfield does a player miss a target player downfield by that margin from a mark ie set shot??
Post by: Swannie on April 29, 2017, 01:55:09 PM
Let's be clear as a bulldogs supporter and never in my wildest dreams thinking I'll see them win a flag I don't car if the never win another game 😀
Post by: 3rd time lucky on April 29, 2017, 02:06:06 PM
Let's be clear as a bulldogs supporter and never in my wildest dreams thinking I'll see them win a flag I don't car if the never win another game 😀
Last Bombers win was 2000...may as well be 2000 years ago for all it counts. 
Yes, bask in it, but always thirst for more - greed is good, or so says Gordon Gecko... ;D
Post by: Bird on April 29, 2017, 03:06:35 PM
Quote from: Swannie
Don't care about the rules as long as it's consistent even if it's deemed wrong from interpretation just keep it consistent
you must have been to the Gin bar again if you ever think that can or would happen...  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

I think the umpires are trying to get their faces on tele more than anything else.. trying to become bigger than the game.
Post by: Bird on April 29, 2017, 03:53:52 PM
Hawks??? WTF?????
Post by: Bird on April 29, 2017, 04:34:14 PM
Swans ??? WTF WTF WTMFF???

Well looks like I'll get 1 this week :(
Post by: kylarama on April 29, 2017, 05:15:33 PM

Hawks??? WTF?????

No doubt Jeff Kennett will be calling for the immediate sacking of Clarko...

Sam Mitchell and Jordan Lewis must be roaring with laughter.

Post by: Bird on April 29, 2017, 06:59:51 PM

No doubt Jeff Kennett will be calling for the immediate sacking of Clarko...

Sam Mitchell and Jordan Lewis must be roaring with laughter.

(http://www.theage.com.au/content/dam/images/g/u/u/w/l/g/image.related.articleLeadwide.620x349.guuwlo.png/1489102672062.jpg)
Post by: Hairs on April 29, 2017, 07:11:59 PM
:-[ :-[ :-[ :-[

What's going on     ?????
 :'(
Post by: Bird on April 29, 2017, 07:45:19 PM
apparently even the swans cheer leaders have been sacked
(http://images.memes.com/meme/700095)
Post by: lukeycat on May 01, 2017, 03:09:48 PM

Well looks like I'll get 1 this week :(
I've got a system being a blues supporter with tipping you should try lol I always tip against them then if they loose I'm happy as I tipped correctly and if they win I'm happy as the wins don't happen that often hahahaha.

Post by: Bird on May 04, 2017, 03:31:37 PM
(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-I1SxhKpSLXY/WQqwJhmtu-I/AAAAAAAAAJA/HlsxqK-PxrU1koIZkThGuRQnl2nI6DY-QCL0B/h478/2017-05-03.jpg)

(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-Ayw0ZGgFYr4/WQqyAC1-4BI/AAAAAAAAAJQ/1wdRxotcam0JeuYo-FcbR_Nlb_M-9tdBgCL0B/h1600/2017-05-03.jpg)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t31.0-8/18209099_1308279722630777_8979089554627904942_o.jpg?oh=b014cc1f1d939f397074183afdf9e8ec&oe=5977071C)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/18194936_1304933492965400_1163590577785818376_n.jpg?oh=be7dd5dacd2f73e80b6122e49fa0e819&oe=597CA17F)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t31.0-8/18192523_853199938161942_5105481100841192993_o.jpg?oh=66012a1e9745a537f3124158ea76801b&oe=59BAE0C4)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/18195064_1304164636375619_2881103849657635598_n.jpg?oh=670594359548c93222a8f197cc0e8bcd&oe=59BFB57F)
Post by: Swannie on May 04, 2017, 03:32:17 PM
Slow day at work today Bird ?
Post by: Bird on May 06, 2017, 02:59:59 PM
crows first 1/4 ??? ??? ??? What the ****?
TEN GOALS to NORT?

Then its ok, Nort will find a way to fall apart in the 4th
Post by: Bird on May 06, 2017, 04:39:24 PM
hahahahhahahahhahahahah the wobblers LMAO LMAO LMAO LMAO LMAO
Post by: Black Diamond on May 06, 2017, 06:00:58 PM
hahahahhahahahhahahahah the wobblers LMAO LMAO LMAO LMAO LMAO
The Blooose did it just for you mate :cheers:
Post by: Bird on May 06, 2017, 09:54:07 PM
50 seconds to go.. dogs...
this is a great game

but
Post by: Swannie on May 06, 2017, 09:56:24 PM
WHO LET THE DOGS OUT
Post by: Bird on May 06, 2017, 10:00:20 PM
9th looks a certainty for Tiggers this year :D :D :D
Post by: GeoffA on May 06, 2017, 10:27:37 PM
WHO LET THE DOGS OUT

Very hard to watch though....
Post by: Swannie on May 06, 2017, 10:33:47 PM
Very hard to watch though....
Certainly ugly wins this year but to win 5 already and not be anywhere near their most damaging is a good sign. They will fire later in the year when they need to
Post by: macca on May 08, 2017, 04:33:56 PM
RIP Lou  Richards one of the good guys of Aussie rules

Post by: Bird on May 08, 2017, 04:35:13 PM
RIP Lou  Richards one of the good guys of Aussie rules

certainly an awesome voice of the past
(http://www.theage.com.au/content/dam/images/g/w/0/a/n/h/image.related.articleLeadwide.620x349.gw0arl.png/1494224927697.jpg)
Post by: macca on May 08, 2017, 05:46:28 PM
Yep, run into him a couple of times when i had my van down the peninsula, you wouldn't have known he was a celebrity, was a real knock about bloke came across a bit different on screen. They were the good old days of sports TV with Case, Captain Blood, Louuy and the guy from Geelong who i cant remember his name (not bloody Sammy tho)

Post by: GeoffA on May 08, 2017, 05:49:59 PM
....and the guy from Geelong who i cant remember his name.....

That'd be Bob Davis, macca...
Post by: macca on May 08, 2017, 06:11:50 PM
Thanks Geoff, bloody old age my memory is getting that bad i just about have to look up the street directory to find my way home from work

Post by: 3rd time lucky on May 14, 2017, 06:58:55 PM
Bubble bursts on cue. 9th place looms.....lol
Post by: Bird on May 15, 2017, 12:04:10 PM
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/18403577_1318045714987511_3228383236650810240_n.jpg?oh=cf97d5cbbe6b5601f712f8d6832d6738&oe=59B2DCA3)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t31.0-8/18449578_1317229661735783_2263196851455646259_o.jpg?oh=d50fd80d3c1c24987d2483bec590f2bf&oe=59AB6650)

(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-wdGi-vzxNw4/WRkTpJC9ndI/AAAAAAAAAL8/XwT107PdGdYcD_jm6-VJhtLXIpcPaZSkQCL0B/h405/2017-05-14.jpg)
Post by: Bird on May 15, 2017, 03:14:30 PM
 :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/18425362_1319017251557024_2837865593949515123_n.jpg?oh=fbef4b5660c6442810814cb115ae4e6b&oe=59BAB244)
 :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Bird on June 02, 2017, 09:03:21 PM
Fawk the hawks were quality last night...
Post by: 3rd time lucky on June 02, 2017, 09:12:15 PM
Fawk the hawks were quality last night...
We havent seen the bumblers or your mob yet this weekend...lets reserve judgement on which team is lamest until at least Sunday eh??...please.....lol
Post by: 3rd time lucky on June 02, 2017, 09:15:17 PM
Tonight's game is a totally different affair. Without being biased one way or the other, it would be interesting, IMO at least, to see Cats get up. Add another dimension to what is rapidly becoming a 2 horse race between crows & GWS
Post by: Bird on June 03, 2017, 07:30:06 PM
We havent seen the bumblers or your mob yet this weekend...lets reserve judgement on which team is lamest until at least Sunday eh??...please.....lol
GWS never got off the pilot jet :D
Post by: 3rd time lucky on June 03, 2017, 07:32:05 PM
Brave effort. ....GWS too good tho. I picked them for premiers early on and stand by it.
Post by: Bird on June 03, 2017, 07:33:55 PM
Im more surprised that Toby Green is left unmarked or given some guppy every week.. that kid is so talented...
Post by: 3rd time lucky on June 04, 2017, 04:48:10 PM
Agreed. He is hard at the footy, generally doesn't play for free icks and makes sound decisions most of the time.
Post by: 3rd time lucky on June 17, 2017, 04:20:11 PM
Richmond continue on their eternal journey into the abyss of sporting suicide and wrist slitting.....how the f#$% did they lose that? Until they have a 100% clean out of both on and off field personnel they will always carry the legacy of loser mentality which has infested the place since i can ever remember (mid 80's )
Nigel
Post by: vern on June 17, 2017, 04:22:41 PM
Richmond continue on their eternal journey into the abyss of sporting suicide and wrist slitting.....how the f#$% did they lose that? Until they have a 100% clean out of both on and off field personnel they will always carry the legacy of loser mentality which has infested the place since i can ever remember (mid 80's )
Nigel
Their still 4th on the ladder, hardly call that a journey into the abyss!

Post by: 3rd time lucky on June 17, 2017, 04:58:26 PM
Their still 4th on the ladder, hardly call that a journey into the abyss!

Current position on ladder does not count for squat until round 23 - witness North last year.
Post by: vern on June 17, 2017, 05:02:49 PM
Means more than saying they are Shit and haven't changed since the mid 80's

Post by: Hairs on June 17, 2017, 05:17:50 PM
What a cracking game of Footy  :cup:
Go Bloods

Post by: 3rd time lucky on June 17, 2017, 05:20:34 PM
Means more than saying they are Shit and haven't changed since the mid 80's

Sums it up. Still sh#t and have not changed. Wish they would, for the greater good of the entire comp, but insipid efforts like the 2nd half today do not inspire confidence. Hardwick has haf an extended run, just like Buckley & B Scott, and like both of them he has done little. Time for another to try.
Post by: 3rd time lucky on June 17, 2017, 05:21:43 PM
What a cracking game of Footy  :cup:
Go Bloods

X2 on the last sentence.
Post by: Bird on June 17, 2017, 06:33:46 PM
Their not that bad... I reckon they could hold onto 9th by seasons end  :cup: :cup: :cup:

https://www.fanchants.com/football-songs/richmond-fc-chants/we-finished-9th-again/ (https://www.fanchants.com/football-songs/richmond-fc-chants/we-finished-9th-again/)
:cup: :cup: :cup:
(https://cdn.meme.am/cache/instances/folder399/500x/48702399/waldorf-and-statler-which-richmond-will-we-see-next-week-well-my-guess-is-the-one-thats-finishing-9t.jpg)
Post by: Bird on June 17, 2017, 10:24:17 PM
that was never in doubt.. :D
Post by: raider on June 18, 2017, 10:13:42 AM
I went to the Richmond game and I was actually laughing by the end. Couple of Richmond blokes in front of us going off their nut. I have learnt to block it out >:( and my 48 year old mate who died in 2010 of cancer was a mad swannie and we used to go to this game so he would have been pissing himself. Anyway, you could see it was going to happen and if it wasn't for Rance it would have been a whitewash in the end. If Richmond miss kicked it to the opposition once , they did it ten times - absolutely hopeless and most times with no pressure. Umpiring was so inconsistent for both teams too. Buddy copped so much grief from the crowd but managed to do a couple of key things near the end which drove the crowd even more crazy. Anyway,a good day out with friends, had a giant parmy at the Royal in Seymour on the way home and a number of beers and Jimmies too. Life goes on. :cheers:
Post by: vern on June 18, 2017, 10:19:03 AM
I went to the Richmond game and I was actually laughing by the end. Couple of Richmond blokes in front of us going off their nut. I have learnt to block it out >:( and my 48 year old mate who died in 2010 of cancer was a mad swannie and we used to go to this game so he would have been pissing himself. Anyway, you could see it was going to happen and if it wasn't for Rance it would have been a whitewash in the end. If Richmond miss kicked it to the opposition once , they did it ten times - absolutely hopeless and most times with no pressure. Umpiring was so inconsistent for both teams too. Buddy copped so much grief from the crowd but managed to do a couple of key things near the end which drove the crowd even more crazy. Anyway,a good day out with friends, had a giant parmy at the Royal in Seymour on the way home and a number of beers and Jimmies too. Life goes on. :cheers:
It was two completely different games! 1 half vs second half! Agree with you 100%

Post by: Bird on June 28, 2017, 04:45:04 PM
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t31.0-8/19452981_1361517270640355_2355441321392505049_o.jpg?oh=5028edf6dfeaf077d28a8aa34a99fef1&oe=5A1054DC)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/19424191_1358783600913722_416158392664773426_n.jpg?oh=516490e6a627fee4cf063052be235623&oe=59DF84DF)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/19430016_1359284327530316_3407623600231305562_n.jpg?oh=144cb7b055d2f7c0fe43a2dcc033374a&oe=59C90C64)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/19429870_1361694810622601_5085014858297635765_n.jpg?oh=7d76ffdf234dd762b6096e00944691f3&oe=59D23FDE)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/19248108_1357918834333532_7772858260255672194_n.jpg?oh=4cb92fb3eb576fa113bcf4a6883c5c3f&oe=5A10FBF7)
Post by: vern on June 28, 2017, 04:50:45 PM
I had to look the clayton oliver footage up! He should get 4 weeks for being piss weak

Post by: Bird on June 28, 2017, 04:52:58 PM
I had to look the clayton oliver footage up! He should get 4 weeks for being piss weak

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/19437527_1884711128454399_51150147117336694_n.jpg?oh=ad61919ac70a6e7a5a2dcb819aad7c62&oe=59CBC518)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/19554046_10214273081967536_5938902499034477027_n.jpg?oh=f8d40e55d884ce44f335347e12a51d61&oe=59D9414A)
Post by: vern on June 28, 2017, 04:54:36 PM
This forum (tapatalk version) so needs a like button

Post by: Bird on June 28, 2017, 04:58:41 PM
This forum (tapatalk version) so needs a like button

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/19260311_1880264408899071_1532400786784181299_n.jpg?oh=87c1cd5b4703676c8f9e418bb4ce626b&oe=59CBEB64)
Post by: vern on June 28, 2017, 05:05:44 PM
Thats low Bird! (Nearly 40 years tiger supporter here)

Post by: Bird on June 29, 2017, 08:53:34 PM
Basha got what he deserved...
now wait for the race card.
Post by: vern on June 29, 2017, 09:16:26 PM
Yeah lets hope that card doesn't come out

Post by: Kangaron on June 29, 2017, 10:50:11 PM
The AFL only appealed to try and avoid what is going to happen anyway.
He will get booed every time he goes near the ball.
Post by: GeoffA on June 30, 2017, 05:58:46 AM
It's not his fault......
Post by: Bird on June 30, 2017, 12:03:39 PM
The AFL only appealed to try and avoid what is going to happen anyway.
He will get booed every time he goes near the ball.
cant wait!!!
Post by: DannyG on June 30, 2017, 12:52:50 PM
Houli wont do the racist thing. He has copped a fair amount of the racist terrorist comments all through his career and he doesnt make a thing of it. He is not Goodsy ;)

I also dont think he will get boo'ed.....well sure he will next year at round 1 but when he returns I suspect quite the opposite, the Tiges faithful will cheer him everytime he gets the ball. It will be great to watch.
Go Tiges ;)

And for the record, they should have given him 4 weeks to begin with and knocked it back to 3 for good record.......most people would have accepted it then and saved all this money wasting tribunal and appeal.
Post by: vern on June 30, 2017, 02:42:41 PM
Agree 100% dannyg

Post by: Bird on June 30, 2017, 05:21:58 PM
Tried watching the new "Front Bar" footy show last night.. what an abortion .. only watched 10-15 mins and gave up.

But I cant stand that bimbo that knows jack Shit about footy with her prefabbed and prewritten questions given to her, or hutchy the bear on the other footy show either... :(
Disappointed really
Post by: Bird on June 30, 2017, 08:52:41 PM
Melb going to get absolutely destroyed.. and its only the 2nd.
Post by: DannyG on June 30, 2017, 09:03:52 PM
Melb going to get absolutely destroyed.. and its only the 2nd.

And I tipped them. Been telling the world all week that sydneys not as good as everyone thinks they are so Melbourne would win.............
Post by: Bird on June 30, 2017, 09:43:37 PM
so how many weeks you think hes going to get for that punch?? Bomber hooooooly got 4 for a backhander....
that was a straight left!!!
Post by: DannyG on June 30, 2017, 10:01:30 PM
so how many weeks you think hes going to get for that punch?? Bomber hooooooly got 4 for a backhander....
that was a straight left!!!

Has to be 6.
Post by: Bird on June 30, 2017, 10:02:37 PM
Has to be 6.
unless he gets a letter from the PM and some ****in idiot I have no idea who he is...
Post by: DannyG on June 30, 2017, 10:10:18 PM
unless he gets a letter from the PM and some ****in idiot I have no idea who he is...

lol yeh What was with that. Who cares what the prime minister and some tv person thinks of your character. Its fair enough to argue a persons past history or lack of in regards to biffo on the ground, but there is no need to bring in character references. Deal with the matter at hand or the defense might start bringing in ex wives to smear the players or mates uncles brothers who saw you shagging his married sister.
Post by: Bird on June 30, 2017, 10:13:51 PM
lol yeh What was with that.
his lawyer got them...

its getting uglier now... flogged.. and I only had Shitney by 25 :(
Post by: kylarama on July 05, 2017, 10:35:32 PM
AFL Diversity Manager (and Houli's character reference) cops 14 weeks, which now = life ban...

http://nfl.org.au/nfl-statement-on-ali-fahour-tribunal-hearing/

Post by: xcvator on July 06, 2017, 09:26:38 AM
AFL Diversity Manager (and Houli's character reference) cops 14 weeks, which now = life ban...

http://nfl.org.au/nfl-statement-on-ali-fahour-tribunal-hearing/ (http://nfl.org.au/nfl-statement-on-ali-fahour-tribunal-hearing/)

Sounds like they got that right  :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Bird on July 06, 2017, 09:35:21 AM
Quote from: xcvator
Sounds like they got that right  :cheers: :cheers:

agree... apparently he had a character reference from Basher LMAO!
he is -stepping down- from his position but they were saying on SEN just now that the AFL *may* find another position in the orginisation for him ??? ??? ???
Post by: vern on July 06, 2017, 09:43:37 AM
agree... apparently he had a character reference from Basher LMAO!
he is -stepping down- from his position but they were saying on SEN just now that the AFL *may* find another position in the orginisation for him ??? ??? ???
I thought the 'character  reference' was houli saying he was a good bloke on facebook and that was it

Post by: vern on July 06, 2017, 09:45:19 AM
Afl should get rid of him. May be hire his brother, am sure he needs something to do by now😉

Post by: Bird on July 06, 2017, 10:33:31 AM
Quote from: vern
I thought the 'character  reference' was houli saying he was a good bloke on facebook and that was it
isnt that a character reference???
Post by: vern on July 06, 2017, 12:12:04 PM
isnt that a character reference???
Don't know, do they use facebook comments at the tribunal?😧

Post by: Bird on July 06, 2017, 12:17:43 PM
Don't know, do they use facebook comments at the tribunal?😧

They use em against people when it suits em! Same in job interviews these days, some companies ask to see your foolbook page if its private.

and it just got worse for him
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/victoria-police-investigating-afl-diversity-manager-ali-fahour-punch-20170706-gx5qwz.html (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/victoria-police-investigating-afl-diversity-manager-ali-fahour-punch-20170706-gx5qwz.html)
Post by: vern on July 06, 2017, 12:41:13 PM
They use em against people when it suits em! Same in job interviews these days, some companies ask to see your foolbook page if its private.

and it just got worse for him
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/victoria-police-investigating-afl-diversity-manager-ali-fahour-punch-20170706-gx5qwz.html (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/victoria-police-investigating-afl-diversity-manager-ali-fahour-punch-20170706-gx5qwz.html)

Ahhh well i haven't been for a job interview in 23 years so i wouldn't know about that😉.

Yeah i did just see that, hope he gets what he deserves.
Hopefully the afl don't find another position for him as i read they might.
His brother can't even get him a good postie round anymore either😉

Post by: Bird on July 07, 2017, 02:44:33 PM
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/19748865_1370807146378034_6863147859901706828_n.jpg?oh=3b15540cf60530c56d419e3ef80e1505&oe=59D41352)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/19748457_1369850009807081_2899921393241098392_n.jpg?oh=f2cd5938d4e348d98efdc76788768921&oe=59CEE44F)
Post by: Bird on July 08, 2017, 10:46:27 AM
WHO LET THE DOGS OUT
i think you need to call them back...
season over :(
Post by: GeoffA on July 08, 2017, 11:21:00 AM
season over :(

Correct...
Post by: 3rd time lucky on July 08, 2017, 08:42:14 PM
Big half time scores tonight. Cats not unexpected,  96 still huge tho . ..more befitting of full time in recent years.
But Saints?? WTF? Richmond seemed hell bent on self destruction. 92-10 half time is beyond embarrassing.
Only thing worse was Bombers v Suns in the suns' 1st season when they had 90+ put on them in the 1st qtr.
Post by: Ragman on July 08, 2017, 09:43:33 PM
hows GWS draw 2 weeks in a row, whats the odds on that?
Post by: Bird on July 09, 2017, 04:30:56 PM
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/19756824_1373329366125812_7862965788365469179_n.jpg?oh=9f8add17e89128d1a93f85d2068bd4ef&oe=5A0D42EB)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/19958946_1372851812840234_1953522509007321609_n.jpg?oh=7398e2728fc54a92ae1f4ee39aab7925&oe=5A0C2D8B)
Tigers... LMAO!!!!!
I reckon 9th looks good :D

hahahahhaha
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t31.0-8/19787110_1372632642862151_842833880734355544_o.jpg?oh=fa34e0b6c869a7e1df380de06f93189c&oe=59FEC841)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/19665285_1372623332863082_8273466445328677380_n.jpg?oh=fcdc14fd1ad8f7b17d1336107a6e1ea5&oe=5A0D42F3)

ya think bux will get to the end of the year?
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t31.0-8/19667621_1372772756181473_382129868449610170_o.jpg?oh=40f3e839564e44090cfd8456e2deebcf&oe=59FF3B39)
Post by: Gazza00 on July 09, 2017, 04:43:12 PM
"Richmond seemed hell bent on self destruction"     ....     just like  their main sponsor   ;D
Post by: Bird on July 10, 2017, 03:10:58 PM
No suprise
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/hawthorn-champion-luke-hodge-announces-he-will-retire-at-the-end-of-2017-season-20170710-gx84jz.html (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/hawthorn-champion-luke-hodge-announces-he-will-retire-at-the-end-of-2017-season-20170710-gx84jz.html)

Great player...
Post by: vern on July 10, 2017, 03:22:44 PM
Ty Vickery does that to people, i'd leave too

Post by: 3rd time lucky on July 11, 2017, 05:18:13 PM
http://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/afl/magpies-tell-players-buckley-safe-for-now/ar-BBEd3Un?li=AA54yd&ocid=ientp (http://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/afl/magpies-tell-players-buckley-safe-for-now/ar-BBEd3Un?li=AA54yd&ocid=ientp)

Now that a club executive has said his position is safe we can start the count down to the announcement of his sacking.
Post by: Bird on July 12, 2017, 01:57:21 PM
http://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/afl/magpies-tell-players-buckley-safe-for-now/ar-BBEd3Un?li=AA54yd&ocid=ientp (http://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/afl/magpies-tell-players-buckley-safe-for-now/ar-BBEd3Un?li=AA54yd&ocid=ientp)

Now that a club executive has said his position is safe we can start the count down to the announcement of his sacking.
"full support of the board" Translated, hes packing his bags.

but the question is - who would wanna replace him - yea insane $$$ but no flag in 1 week and your sacked.
Post by: kylarama on July 12, 2017, 02:30:56 PM

"full support of the board" Translated, hes packing his bags.

Guarantee Bucks is coach until after the final round. Even if they announce that his contract his not being renewed, which is a given now.
McGuire won't allow it (remember he engineered this deal) and they didn't do it to Tony Shaw.

Achieves nothing punting a coach early. I can't remember the last time an interim coach was given a contract for the next season.

but the question is - who would wanna replace him - yea insane $$$ but no flag in 1 week and your sacked.

Hey, they're not Carlton!  Only 4 coaches in the last 30 years.

The talk is Paul Roos, but I wouldn't want him. He'd want a shed load to coach again, so his motivation for coaching is $$$'s, not the game.

Remember when St Kilda threw a million bucks at Blight to coach in the early 00's?  Got flicked after 6 rounds on full pay when the board realised he had zero interest...

Post by: DannyG on July 12, 2017, 02:36:59 PM
I am not a Collingwood supporter at all, in fact I cant stand them. As our great Captain Blood once said, I cant even watch black and white TV shows because of them, but I would keep Buckley.

I think it would be better for the club to show some true leadership and step up and say we are going to give him another year. Sacking him is the pussy way out of it.

I think he still has the support of the players and while that is the case give him the opportunity to build the side that he wanted. You cant build a team and win a premiership in 5 minutes.

Look at Richmond, we are well and truly into our 5 year premiership plan that Terry Wallace set out for us in 2005, its going great, he just meant 15 year plan thats all  ;D
Post by: Bird on July 12, 2017, 04:16:46 PM
Achieves nothing punting a coach early. I can't remember the last time an interim coach was given a contract for the next season.

I'd say it gives him time to see who he wants to keep or piss off at end of this season.

Hey, they're not Carlton!  Only 4 coaches in the last 30 years.
Malthouse must have had photos of someone and someone elses wife... most over rated coach ever.... but they kept him and kept him.. **** nose why the morons at Carlton fell for his bullShit sales story...

The talk is Paul Roos, but I wouldn't want him. He'd want a shed load to coach again, so his motivation for coaching is $$$'s, not the game.
Just cause he wants to empty Ed's bank account doesnt mean he doesnt have the passion or motivation to coach again...

But then again I always had Rodney Eade as a great coach.. hes fallen off teh ladded like nobody else in history.
Post by: Ragman on July 14, 2017, 11:11:03 PM
eh the Bombers are going good eh. got to love fast flowing footy.

but talking coaching, WTF with Simpson and the eagles, how about a plan B or C or D.

For crying out loud everybody knows you are going to kick it along the same boundary line every freaking time that's why large packs of opposition players are waiting there.

Never kick it to the fast running players standing all by themselves in the middle of the ground.

Simple Simpson is a moron.
Post by: Bird on July 17, 2017, 11:12:32 AM
is this the dumbest rule in the game?

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/19961235_1378387368953345_4021396272024390504_n.jpg?oh=b29464dc718f4371389184ddad726532&oe=5A007D21)
Post by: GeoffA on July 17, 2017, 01:15:02 PM
is this the dumbest rule in the game?

That's a hard one. Plenty of dumb rules these days....
Post by: Bird on July 17, 2017, 01:17:37 PM
That's a hard one. Plenty of dumb rules these days....
yea or open to individual interpretation by 20 different blind umpires...
holding the ball... some let it go for 10 seconds or more.. others blow the whistle after 1/1000th of a second and the bloke has 4 x 100kg players on him.. but then again they are happy if you pretend your MAKING AN EFFORT by squeezing the ball as tight as you can and play acting your trying to handball/release it...
Post by: GeoffA on July 17, 2017, 01:19:20 PM
..... others blow the whistle after 1/1000th of a second and the bloke has 4 x 100kg players on him......

That's the one that came to mind....

Also, the bloke on the bottom trying to make the play gets pinged when it gets dragged in under him by the tackler.... ::)
Post by: Bird on July 17, 2017, 01:24:08 PM
Also, the bloke on the bottom trying to make the play gets pinged when it gets dragged in under him by the tackler.... ::)
defies logic...
Post by: GeoffA on July 17, 2017, 01:25:49 PM
defies logic...

They should ping the tackler instead....
Post by: Bird on July 22, 2017, 04:38:34 PM
Gee.. umpire 25 did everything he could to help the cats last night... ****in disgraceful! the score flattered the cats in the end.

and Port Useless?? flogged by the duds?
Post by: Hairs on July 23, 2017, 07:10:01 AM
Another one down,  ;D
101-59
(http://www.clarencecoastpropertymaintenance.com.au/images/smilies/thumbsup.gif)
Post by: Bird on July 23, 2017, 11:35:36 AM
Quote from: Hairs
Another one down,  ;D
101-59
come on, it was only St Kilda!!! that's like beating the Lions :P
They don't play a real team until round 22.. talk about an easy run!!!!
Post by: Hairs on July 23, 2017, 12:13:27 PM
AHAHAHAHA,
An Easy Run.
Good on ya  :cheers:
Post by: Bigfish on July 23, 2017, 02:09:27 PM
Good to see Clarkson celebrate his 300th game as coach with a win over the wankers with anchors.... :cup:
Post by: Hairs on July 23, 2017, 03:36:42 PM
10 wins out of the last 11 games, all easy beats,  (http://www.clarencecoastpropertymaintenance.com.au/images/smilies/woohoo-dancing-banana-smiley-emoticon.gif)
Bring on the next 3 games (http://www.clarencecoastpropertymaintenance.com.au/images/smilies/potstiring.gif)
Post by: 3rd time lucky on July 25, 2017, 04:43:52 PM
And I thought the Lions were bad....
Post by: Bird on July 28, 2017, 02:11:01 PM
Silly season begins

http://www.theage.com.au/wa-news/west-coast-eagle-matt-priddis-set-to-make-stunning-retirement-announcement-20170728-gxkpce.html (http://www.theage.com.au/wa-news/west-coast-eagle-matt-priddis-set-to-make-stunning-retirement-announcement-20170728-gxkpce.html)
Post by: Bird on July 29, 2017, 03:38:14 PM
The wind in the North/duds game is awesome! ben brown from nearly the center circle!!
Post by: Bird on July 30, 2017, 03:42:19 PM
How awesome is it to watch the druggos go down like a $1.00 hooker :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: Bird on August 08, 2017, 10:09:50 AM
Couldn't see this coming...

Whose next.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/gold-coast-sack-coach-rodney-eade-20170807-gxreha.html
The first domino has fallen at Gold Coast with Rodney Eade removed as senior coach late Monday night.

Chief executive Mark Evans told Eade of the club's decision late on Monday evening after the conclusion of his football department review.

While it is yet to be confirmed by the club, Fairfax Media understands he is unlikely to coach this weekend against the Brisbane Lions.

An interim replacement for Eade hasn't been announced. Gold Coast's coaching panel consists of Andy Lovell, Matthew Primus, Dean Solomon, Ashley Prescott, Matthew Lappin, Max Rooke, Aaron Rogers and Stephen Daniel.

Solomon, the former Essendon premiership player, is the likely candidate to take over as interim head coach.

After spending three years as Collingwood's football and coaching strategist – a role that Mick Malthouse was supposed to fill but refused to do so – Eade accepted the role as Gold Coast coach in late 2014.

Post by: DannyG on August 08, 2017, 12:51:31 PM
Casboult to Tiges....cant blame him really  ;D

https://www.zerohanger.com/reports-casboult-close-agreeing-rival-offer-14567 (https://www.zerohanger.com/reports-casboult-close-agreeing-rival-offer-14567)
Post by: Bird on August 08, 2017, 12:53:37 PM
Casboult to Tiges....cant blame him really  ;D

https://www.zerohanger.com/reports-casboult-close-agreeing-rival-offer-14567 (https://www.zerohanger.com/reports-casboult-close-agreeing-rival-offer-14567)
yea was reading that.

Thank **** for that. Basically the tiggers are just getting Vickery back.
Post by: DannyG on August 08, 2017, 12:59:32 PM
yea was reading that.

Thank **** for that. Basically the tiggers are just getting Vickery back.

A new club and he will be a star.....look at Vickery, he has been a superstar...............for boxhill ;)
Post by: Bird on August 08, 2017, 01:12:43 PM
A new club and he will be a star.....look at Vickery, he has been a superstar...............for boxhill ;)
Hes better at his restaurant than on a field.
Post by: Bird on August 09, 2017, 11:13:54 AM
 :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/20597222_1399408790184536_9119108850513677330_n.jpg?oh=2a45fbf882291f37059347926d1cd59f&oe=5A27D021)
Post by: Bird on August 11, 2017, 09:25:11 PM
if the dogs lose blame 33... every kick hes done has gone straight to the opposition

and toby greene should get 6 weeks.
Post by: Swannie on August 11, 2017, 09:49:13 PM
if the dogs lose blame 33... every kick hes done has gone straight to the opposition

Young will be better for the lesson we got 6 of the back 8 that played in the GF in the stands injured
It's his 4th game his previous 3 have been outstanding
Post by: GeoffA on August 11, 2017, 09:51:13 PM

He's having a bad night. In a couple of years he'll be a star...

Way too light.....he's a serial mongrel.....(can't say what I really think of him)
Post by: vern on August 11, 2017, 09:57:05 PM
Greene is a dog! Does something like that every week. The way he kicked off makes it look pretty intentional

Post by: Hairs on August 12, 2017, 05:26:07 PM
Hey Bird,
Ok, That was a walk in the Park LOL.

Post by: Bird on August 12, 2017, 09:58:06 PM
Hey Bird,
Ok, That was a walk in the Park LOL.

Oooooooooooooooooooo it was freo.... I'd be proud
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/20664869_1406466402812108_2240866193623765953_n.jpg?oh=53d71d23d31a0013d407f589766b522d&oe=5A2A09E2)
Post by: Bird on August 12, 2017, 09:59:05 PM
Greene is a dog! Does something like that every week. The way he kicked off makes it look pretty intentional
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/20799167_1406376256154456_4531555589324527673_n.jpg?oh=5ca77c0016d817d3044616134270f5b9&oe=5A2E4D4A)
Post by: Gazza00 on August 13, 2017, 01:08:38 PM

Fremantle Dockers   5.9  39         :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[

Josh Kennedy  6.3   39                  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;

Post by: Bird on August 13, 2017, 01:42:21 PM
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t31.0-0/p480x480/20690056_1406237406168341_6232179380232776482_o.jpg?oh=9b2bbbafa24aa0175caa0a38139a142c&oe=59F34FC0)
Post by: Bird on August 14, 2017, 08:06:59 PM
Way too light.....he's a serial mongrel.....(can't say what I really think of him)
1500 fine.. shows how desperate the AFL are for them to succeed.. one of their new Shit teams anyway... Cold ghost are finished. 5 yrs and the AFL will pull the pin on the failure.
Post by: GeoffA on August 14, 2017, 08:10:17 PM
Redpath got 2 weeks for striking.
Probably fair enough, but it doesn't compare to what Greene did.
Greene knew where Dahlhaus was....IMO....
Post by: Bird on August 15, 2017, 01:11:02 PM
Greene knew where Dahlhaus was....IMO....

why else would his boot have gone out!?

Big season for retirements.. Another true champ hanging em up
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/western-bulldogs-bob-murphy-announces-afl-retirement-20170815-gxwc65.html (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/western-bulldogs-bob-murphy-announces-afl-retirement-20170815-gxwc65.html)
Post by: Bird on August 19, 2017, 04:24:01 PM
That's season over for the Doggys....
Post by: Bird on August 19, 2017, 09:58:40 PM
Well nobody will be getting 9 this week...
Post by: Bird on August 20, 2017, 10:33:50 AM
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/20914339_1412563388869076_4219580530430446495_n.jpg?oh=03e3062b4422e56cc16c2f714cad7908&oe=5A3842B2)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/20882512_1412760708849344_1254453641088666707_n.jpg?oh=153b9f10f549fa6094d9e6145a2e533c&oe=5A1F037B)

Post by: Bird on August 20, 2017, 09:20:12 PM
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/20914732_1413650828760332_3932850231489150965_n.jpg?oh=1d5d8c64b37dd47b1887962a82656ba9&oe=5A2091F9)
Post by: Bird on August 24, 2017, 05:06:03 PM
WTF?

A footballer in Queensland has been banned for 20 years after kicking an opposition player in the head during the semi-final between the Ipswich Eagles and Redcliffe Tigers in Ipswich.

The vision above shows an Ipswich player kick a helpless Redcliffe player in the head while he is lying on the ground. Tigers’ vice president Steve Brown told Quest Newspapers on Wednesday the player was concussed and still recovering from the incident.

Brown applauded the way in which the Tigers players reacted to the incident, and suggested it was great team spirit given they all checked up on their injured teammate.

“The player from the opposition … just kicked him in the head,” Brown said.

“Normally when something like that happens a fight breaks out but the players all rushed to check on their teammate. It was great team spirit.”

A spokesman for AFL Queensland said the player was reported on-field by the umpires, with the matter referred straight to the Tribunal.

“The reported player was immediately sent from the field under the red card system,” the spokesman said.

https://www.zerohanger.com/local-footballer-banned-20-years-15113/ (https://www.zerohanger.com/local-footballer-banned-20-years-15113/)
Post by: vern on August 24, 2017, 05:07:56 PM
Ex rugby player! Has to be

Post by: austastar on August 24, 2017, 05:39:55 PM
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/20914339_1412563388869076_4219580530430446495_n.jpg?oh=03e3062b4422e56cc16c2f714cad7908&oe=5A3842B2)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/20882512_1412760708849344_1254453641088666707_n.jpg?oh=153b9f10f549fa6094d9e6145a2e533c&oe=5A1F037B)
     Ros Kelly  (https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sports_rorts_affair) also blew huge grants.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on August 25, 2017, 03:28:16 PM
Should be a great game tonight with 5 big names retiring..

lookin forward to the telecast and them beating Shit out of each other :D
Post by: Bird on August 26, 2017, 08:03:01 PM
Did anyone else rub one out when toby green got smashed in the back just now???? Karma LMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!

hahahhahhahahahahahahahhaahha
Post by: vern on August 26, 2017, 08:05:37 PM
Hahahaha suffer to him

Post by: Rumpig on August 26, 2017, 08:47:19 PM
What a raging success story ALF is in Qld...Lions win the spoon, and Suns running 3rd last...lol
Post by: vern on August 26, 2017, 09:36:37 PM
Yes but do you remember when the lions were up the top for a long time? Thats just how the game rolls

Post by: Bird on August 26, 2017, 09:38:21 PM
Quote from: Rumpig
What a raging success story ALF is in Qld...Lions win the spoon, and Suns running 3rd last...lol

Nobody has succeeded on the cold ghost.. diveball, nrl, union, basketball... none of em.

Personally I think there are too many teams for the amount of top players around.. no point having 18 teams if only 15 are ever competitive.
Post by: Rumpig on August 26, 2017, 10:16:29 PM
Yes but do you remember when the lions were up the top for a long time? Thats just how the game rolls

on the back of all the concessions they got to try and win ground support in Qld...now that has ended look where the team has been the last how many years.
Post by: Bird on August 26, 2017, 11:07:40 PM
on the back of all the concessions they got to try and win ground support in Qld...now that has ended look where the team has been the last how many years.
theres no doubt that GC has been a failure.. but you find most interstate fans are fair weather fans.. if their team wins, they are behind them and all experts... like Sydney people.. Bne people were like that when the Lions were handed their trophies after so many years of fail... Same will happen again in 20 yrs when the Lions are competitive again, the fans will be waving flags, and all experts, 'never in doubt' and 'been behind them all the way'...
Post by: Rumpig on August 27, 2017, 07:42:44 AM
theres no doubt that GC has been a failure.. but you find most interstate fans are fair weather fans.. if their team wins, they are behind them and all experts... like Sydney people.. Bne people were like that when the Lions were handed their trophies after so many years of fail... Same will happen again in 20 yrs when the Lions are competitive again, the fans will be waving flags, and all experts, 'never in doubt' and 'been behind them all the way'...
i actually dhon't follow the game myself other then seeing some results in the nightly and morning news and none of my mates are fans of the game either, just find it funny that the ALF ploughed all the money into the game trying to steal supporters from league up here, and look where the 2 Qld teams are running. The game was always a 3rd runner to league and union up here, and now soccor is probably getting more popular then AFL and Union here...they need to lose atleast one Qld team, but need to leave one playing so all the Mexicans that have moved up here have something to attend to support their old home clubs.
Post by: vern on August 27, 2017, 07:49:45 AM
i actually dhon't follow the game myself other then seeing some results in the nightly and morning news and none of my mates are fans of the game either, just find it funny that the ALF ploughed all the money into the game trying to steal supporters from league up here, and look where the 2 Qld teams are running. The game was always a 3rd runner to league and union up here, and now soccor is probably getting more popular then AFL and Union here...they need to lose atleast one Qld team, but need to leave one playing so all the Mexicans that have moved up here have something to attend to support their old home clubs.
When i was up there recently, 80% of the supporters followed the interstate team, saying that, it is popular enougg in qld, its just your qld teams are Shit. Yes its not as popular as thugby up there, but it is an australian sport that is played over the whole country, unlike your beloved nrl.
It will in time be more appreciated up there, once (if) those teams pick up their game.

Post by: Rumpig on August 27, 2017, 08:03:34 AM
When i was up there recently, 80% of the supporters followed the interstate team, saying that, it is popular enougg in qld, its just your qld teams are Shit. Yes its not as popular as thugby up there, but it is an australian sport that is played over the whole country, unlike your beloved nrl.
It will in time be more appreciated up there, once (if) those teams pick up their game.

having lived in Brisbane all my life i have a pretty good idea of just how many supporters the game has here.....yes it has some supporters (most are blow ins escaping Shit weather from Southern states as you say), but it's never going to be "appreciated" like you Mexican lot think it will be. The only people i know whose kids play ALF here have their daughters playing the game, it's not a sport that will grow it's own junior supporter base which is what a sport needs to succeed like you talk about. If the team's improve you will likely get people jumping on the supporter band wagon, but the minute they start losing those people will abandon the game straight away (evident the past 5 years)...that's not "appreciating" the game at all.
Post by: GeoffA on August 27, 2017, 08:08:02 AM
It's like the Crusades.....converting Muslims to Christianity.....seemed like a good idea at the time.....

Post by: vern on August 27, 2017, 08:14:33 AM
having lived in Brisbane all my life i have a pretty good idea of just how many supporters the game has here.....yes it has some supporters (most are blow ins escaping Shit weather from Southern states as you say), but it's never going to be "appreciated" like you Mexican lot think it will be. The only people i know whose kids play ALF here have their daughters playing the game, it's not a sport that will grow it's own junior supporter base which is what a sport needs to succeed like you talk about. If the team's improve you will likely get people jumping on the supporter band wagon, but the minute they start losing those people will abandon the game straight away (evident the past 5 years)...that's not "appreciating" the game at all.
Yeah completely understand. We have just relocated to rugby country, and my kids play Afl, so i am involved in the club! Now we have recruited quite a few kids, that absolutely love playing, the get to see more if the ball and use the whole field, but they still have no idea about it because its rugby/soccer or nothing here. Parents are happy for the kids to play it and see how much they enjoy it, but because the parents don't know the game they show little interest. Its exactly the same with rugby in other states. Would good when both sports are recognised all over this country. 

Post by: Rumpig on August 27, 2017, 08:43:41 AM
What both sports need to realise is, they will never be what they want them to be over all the state's. Once Melbourne Storm start languishing down the bottom of the ladder, what little supporter base it has will quickly disappear (though i do hope they win the NRL this year)....Victoria always will be an ALF state, just as Qld will always be a NRL state. NRL should have stayed in WA, it had a chance of getting a foot hold over there, but that horse may have bolted now (maybe with the Force being punted the chance is still there). AFL should lose the Suns and have a team in Tassie or NT, both states will always be AFL state's and the game will thrive there IMO.
Post by: Bird on August 27, 2017, 12:46:20 PM
Quote from: Rumpig
AFL should lose the Suns and have a team in Tassie or NT,
I always thought Tassie was a given...
but now I'm not so sure .. again I don't think there is enough top level players to have every team competitive in 1 season.. it just seems lilke a round robin where teams are competitive for a couple of years ever 5-10 yrs..
Post by: Bird on August 27, 2017, 06:36:19 PM
you'll be crying if your a demons fan... season over.
Post by: Bird on August 28, 2017, 11:44:31 AM
its a great day for every other team in the competition :D :D :D

"Nathan Buckley will stay on as Collingwood coach, with the club set to announce it has re-signed him on a two-year deal."

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/collingwood-resign-nathan-buckley-as-coach-20170827-gy5d74.html (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/collingwood-resign-nathan-buckley-as-coach-20170827-gy5d74.html)
Post by: Bird on September 03, 2017, 03:55:36 PM
So Abblett plays 14 of 22 games and still wins best and fairest???

They really are that Shithouse that nobody could beat that?

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/gary-ablett-wins-gold-coast-suns-best-and-fairest-and-has-a-lot-to-think-about-over-the-coming-weeks-20170903-gy9oi0.html (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/gary-ablett-wins-gold-coast-suns-best-and-fairest-and-has-a-lot-to-think-about-over-the-coming-weeks-20170903-gy9oi0.html)
Post by: 03GV on September 03, 2017, 04:07:20 PM
Trying to make him feel bad when he goes back too Geelong  ;D
Post by: Bird on September 03, 2017, 04:09:07 PM
Quote from: 03GV
Trying to make him feel bad when he goes back too Geelong  ;D
honestly why would they want him? He keeps breaking like a landrover.
Post by: vern on September 03, 2017, 06:04:13 PM
honestly why would they want him? He keeps breaking like a landrover.
Don't you mean a nissota?

Post by: Bird on September 03, 2017, 06:12:38 PM
Don't you mean a nissota?
I could be wrong, but 9 out of 10 landrovers ever made are still on the road.... the other one made it home.

3 great games in the VFL this weekend..
Good to see the wobblers and druggo's get a the arse from the finals  :D
Post by: vern on September 03, 2017, 06:14:25 PM
I could be wrong, but 9 out of 10 landrovers ever made are still on the road.... the other one made it home.

3 great games in the VFL this weekend..
Good to see the wobblers and druggo's get a the arse from the finals  :D
Yes you could and you are wrong. But anyway. Tigers got up over collywobbles which is good

Post by: terravista on September 04, 2017, 09:25:18 AM
I watched some of the women's Vic vs Everyone else game on Saturday night.
Not much difference in the playing between the sexes except the men's shorts and tops are tighter. As for the rest it seems to be the same unending grovelling, clumsy grabs, knocking the ball anywhere, scruffy ineffective ball control and far too occasional butt slapping and high fives.
I don't know when Aussie Rules got the stage where there was 10% good play and the rest just boring scuffling, but I do wish it reverted to real skills the game used to be proud of.
I did notice Saturday night that the losing team must have studied thousands of hours of the Brisbane Lions to learn the way they played and copied them brilliantly.
Post by: vern on September 04, 2017, 09:27:17 AM
I watched some of the women's Vic vs Everyone else game on Saturday night.
Not much difference in the playing between the sexes except the men's shorts and tops are tighter. As for the rest it seems to be the same unending grovelling, clumsy grabs, knocking the ball anywhere, scruffy ineffective ball control and far too occasional butt slapping and high fives.
I don't know when Aussie Rules got the stage where there was 10% good play and the rest just boring scuffling, but I do wish it reverted to real skills the game used to be proud of.
I did notice Saturday night that the losing team must have studied thousands of hours of the Brisbane Lions to learn the way they played and copied them brilliantly.
Sounds to me that you were actually watching the thugby?

Post by: Bird on September 04, 2017, 10:41:09 AM
Quote from: terravista
It seemed to lose its way about 5-10 yrs ago when for some reason the overlords* demanded the game be FASTER and FASTER which turns much of the spectical into watching U12's play hot potato.. Just get rid of it at any cost *somewhere* and hope your team mate is nearby.

Somehow this is supposed to be a better TV spectical. cause TV is all that matters to the AFL which is now nothing more than a TV Production company.

Not so much scuffling, but more like the famous rugby union maul.. or again like watching U10's all chasing the ball everywhere instead of there being forwards in for forward 1/2 or 50.
Then penalise anyone who in any way shape or form kicks it, handpasses it, headbutts it out of bounds... Who'd be a defender these days.

Personally I love watching the classic matches of the 70-90's... so much better to watch.

*overlords = TV stations
Post by: terravista on September 04, 2017, 10:50:17 AM
Sounds to me that you were actually watching the thugby?

Nup. Definitely Aussie Rules. It does look like Rugby at times, but Rugby scrapping and rolling around on the ground has always been there.This newer version of Aussie Rules seems to concentrate far too much time scrabbling around on the ground in a big bunch, much like sixteen fat kids at a cake tasting stall with only 2 slices left at the Brunswick Markets. The skill qualities have dropped in the evolution of the game but the fitness level required has increased substantially. Back in the Dark Ages I played in a team with Kevin Sheedy and the current scrambling would have been laughed at.
Post by: terravista on September 04, 2017, 10:58:09 AM
FASTER and FASTER which turns much of the spectical into watching U12's play hot potato.. Just get rid of it at any cost *somewhere* and hope your team mate is nearby.
Personally I love watching the classic matches of the 70-90's... so much better to watch.
*overlords = TV stations

It would be interesting to see what percentage of tap outs or super fast handball/short passes went go the opposing team.
You see the tall suckers leap up at bounces and hit the ball any which way not knowing where who the hell can get to it.
Aussie Rules decades ago was about skill, now it appears to be tight short butt slapping.
Post by: Bird on September 04, 2017, 11:05:51 AM
Quote from: terravista
Aussie Rules decades ago was about skill, now it appears to be tight short butt slapping.
comes with no attention span.. 20/20 cricket.... rugby 7's... etc etc apparently everyone needs instant gratification now.
Post by: Kangaron on September 04, 2017, 05:06:05 PM

70's = https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NrgVpd3kAKg (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NrgVpd3kAKg)

80's = https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G2b3BBPLHPg&t=494s (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G2b3BBPLHPg&t=494s)

90's = https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9xTZjWXVX7U (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9xTZjWXVX7U)
Post by: prodigyrf on September 05, 2017, 04:56:35 PM
Time for the annual flutter and here's my normalised percentage form guide for the finals-

Adel   140.2
Syd    131.5
Port    130.3
GWS   118.3
Rich    116.2
Ess     111.8
Geel    111.2
WC     102.8

That's their true form for the season averaging out their double games which short of the teams playing each other twice home and away is the best measure you can come up with. Up until last season the ultimate Premier almost always came from one of the 2 teams that triumphed in Week 1 of the finals with 1v4 and 2v3 but perhaps the rest week before the finals begin gives Sydney the edge the Bulldogs needed to upset that axiom once again.
Post by: Bird on September 06, 2017, 11:26:58 AM
Bit better than the NRL :D :D :D

AFL confirm Grand Final entertainment
The AFL have confirmed international band The Killers will perform at the 2017 Grand Final, while local talent Dami Im will sing the national anthem.

Mike Brady will round out the entertainment once again, and will perform the famous Up There Cazaly.
As well as performing in the Pre-Game Show, The Killers will also host the Premiership Party, and perform in a free concert for fans after 6pm.

“People of the great country of Australia – let us inject our American rock and roll tunes into your sporting event, please! AFL here we come,” The Killers said in an official statement.

AFL CEO Gillon McLachlan said the entertainment would be enjoyed by a range of fans, with the Las Vegas band producing music for all ages.

“I’m so pleased that The Killers have agreed to play on that one day in September as fans of all ages enjoy their music,” McLachlan said.

Im will also be there on grand final day, as the 2016 Eurovision representative for Australia told the media she was honoured to be given the call-up.
Post by: Bird on September 07, 2017, 10:23:10 PM
GWS... hahahahahhahahahah
Post by: Hairs on September 09, 2017, 05:42:43 PM
83-22
At the big break
Still any ones game, the Bombers have the Swans in their sights, says a commentator.
 :cup: LMFAO
Post by: Hairs on September 09, 2017, 06:55:40 PM
121-56  :cup:
Post by: xcvator on September 09, 2017, 08:04:52 PM
83-22
At the big break
Still any ones game, the Bombers have the Swans in their sights, says a commentator.
 :cup: LMFAO

I think the swans took a dump on the sights  :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Bird on September 09, 2017, 08:15:44 PM
Druggos flogged... shows what happens when they dry out
Post by: Hairs on September 09, 2017, 08:42:20 PM

(http://www.clarencecoastpropertymaintenance.com.au/images/smilies/pmsl.gif)
Post by: Bird on September 09, 2017, 08:57:36 PM
next stop.. tigers getting flogged to bits and watching their fair weather fans crying :D
Post by: kylarama on September 09, 2017, 11:09:04 PM
Port V WCE was a great game to watch.

Wasn't following anyone in particular, but the look on Kochie's face after the siren was pretty sweet.

Post by: 03GV on September 09, 2017, 11:24:26 PM
next stop.. tigers getting flogged to bits and watching their fair weather fans crying :D

So hows your team fairing this year Bird?
Post by: DannyG on September 10, 2017, 07:45:03 AM

Even you would have to admit we are a going a bit better than last year ;D

Where did the Blues end up?? Bolts is getting plenty of praise now but he will be expected to make progress so lets see how much praise he is getting when there is none ;)
Post by: macca on September 10, 2017, 08:50:41 AM
From wooden spooners to playing in a final  in one season aint too bad, better restart than i had hoped for.

Go the blues, hahaha

Post by: Steffo1 on September 10, 2017, 09:06:14 AM
Bit better than the NRL :D :D :D

Mike Brady :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o
Post by: prodigyrf on September 10, 2017, 09:30:30 AM
So that adjusted percentage ranking was a good guide to week one apart from WC beating the odds and the smart money will put equal money on Adel and Richmond for the flag now but be nervous about Syd doing a Bulldogs. For we Port fans season percentage is all very well but the moral to the story is to kick enough goals to win enough games for a double chance week one  :'(

Watched 2 men in Dustin Martin and Charlie Dixon turn games on their own but alas the kicking boot deserted one of them when it was most needed and mad Monday it was. No cheap Premiership for the remaining likelys in Adel and Richmond as they always had to beat the other 3 top four sides (or any side like Syd coming through that can beat them) in order to hold up the cup.
Post by: Hairs on September 10, 2017, 11:59:32 AM
Post by: Bird on September 10, 2017, 01:28:08 PM
So hows your team fairing this year Bird?
exactly where I suggest they would be before the season started

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/21371348_1430975303694551_6617714393303627814_n.jpg?oh=b36066ea714db5dc7881340f0a5288b4&oe=5A1A8F53)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/21462920_1431304553661626_825119419119823102_n.jpg?oh=f382243c7bf34f8c8719c43bf85b5c99&oe=5A1E75C2)
Post by: Hairs on September 15, 2017, 08:53:52 PM
The Bloods are struggling against the 50/50's
:(
Post by: 03GV on September 15, 2017, 10:03:45 PM
Franklin who? Write geelong off at your own peril!
Post by: prodigyrf on September 15, 2017, 10:42:06 PM
No lack of effort from Sydney and they were still in it at quarter time but even then it looked like their ball handling skills had deserted them and it proved to be for the rest of the night. Buddy wasn't fit again and he must be left wondering about a fitness hoodoo at the business end of footy seasons.

Only 3 more Mad Mondays now before the ultimate contest  :cup:
Post by: Bird on September 16, 2017, 10:41:56 AM
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/21462884_1431998543592227_9146239686438785792_n.jpg?oh=4caa8cbeaa460e0cb4dcda69c32851e1&oe=5A12CAEE)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/21740613_1434661096659305_6089642175889248336_n.jpg?oh=2755304b849920cff008715212043ff1&oe=5A4D95FA)
Post by: 03GV on September 16, 2017, 02:03:52 PM
I love excuses, screen grabs and being second to the ball don't win games!
Post by: Bird on September 16, 2017, 02:35:16 PM
I love excuses, screen grabs and being second to the ball don't win games!
how good was your win last week???
Post by: 03GV on September 16, 2017, 05:00:41 PM
Win? We didn't win,we got flogged!  ;D
Post by: Bird on September 16, 2017, 08:19:45 PM
Game over
bye west joke.
Post by: prodigyrf on September 17, 2017, 10:16:52 AM
And then there were the top four as usual and history shows the ultimate Premier doesn't have an off game but wins all their games which puts the Crows and Richmond in the box seat now. You can go back to Brisbane losing to the Pies and coming back to knock them off in the GF but they did have 3 Brownlow Medallists running around in their midfield and I don't see that with the Giants or Cats but while they're still alive the dream lives.

Barrack with emotion but always bet with your head  :cup:
Post by: prodigyrf on September 18, 2017, 03:38:15 PM
I see the coaching rumour mill has started with Hinkley. He's a good coach like many but the message can get stale with the one group in 5 years so the GC job would make sense, particularly if Port can use the compo money to lure Clarko from Hawthorn which would be just as attractive to him given the respective state of the playing stocks.

As for contracts they're not worth the paper they're written on from either side when circumstances change dramatically-
https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/alastair-clarkson-signs-threeyear-contract-at-hawthorn/news-story/8e3d502588fd80f4e4f021ff8715ca23 (https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/alastair-clarkson-signs-threeyear-contract-at-hawthorn/news-story/8e3d502588fd80f4e4f021ff8715ca23)

A speculative one to watch out for but which club would be more attractive for a Clarko move if Hinkley leaves Port?
Post by: Bird on September 18, 2017, 03:47:18 PM
I see the coaching rumour mill has started with Hinkley. He's a good coach like many but the message can get stale with the one group in 5 years so the GC job would make sense, particularly if Port can use the compo money to lure Clarko from Hawthorn which would be just as attractive to him given the respective state of the playing stocks.

As for contracts they're not worth the paper they're written on from either side when circumstances change dramatically-
https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/alastair-clarkson-signs-threeyear-contract-at-hawthorn/news-story/8e3d502588fd80f4e4f021ff8715ca23 (https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/alastair-clarkson-signs-threeyear-contract-at-hawthorn/news-story/8e3d502588fd80f4e4f021ff8715ca23)

A speculative one to watch out for but which club would be more attractive for a Clarko move if Hinkley leaves Port?
he would be nuts to take it and insane not to..

Extra money will be good as coaching GC is a dead cert to kill anyones career..
And no Abblett no GC.. With Abblett supposed to be returning to Geelong (**** knows why they want a broken down player) theres no way they will win...
Post by: kylarama on September 18, 2017, 05:10:20 PM

Port can use the compo money to lure Clarko from Hawthorn

Thanks for the belly laugh

Not sure how Clarko would tolerate Kochie?

Sounds like the board will happily push Kochie to keep Ken.

Post by: Bird on September 18, 2017, 06:43:13 PM
So Caro is "reporting" 3 more years for Hinkley at Port - he laughed at it but said he is 100% staying ....

Caro's 'opinion' pieces are ****in annoying 
Post by: prodigyrf on September 18, 2017, 08:56:19 PM

Thanks for the belly laugh

Hinkley has a year to run and Clarko 2 so that would only cost Port one break year although if a coach is ready to take up another opportunity there's no point in clubs upping their contract offers as an inducement to stay. OTOH clubs have to honour payouts if they sack a coach still under contract and both sides of the equation know the rules of the game.

The changes I outlined are all speculative but not beyond Port management's capabilities if they're impatient with Hinkley and he sees a longer future with GC. Hawthorn would be the loser but that's because their coach faces a draft rebuilding period and Clarko might figure there's the possibility of a Premiership with Port. Simply put the planets only have to align for these sorts of sudden moves as the AFL is a very competitive business nowadays and everyone knows today's rooster is tomorrow's feather duster.
Post by: 03GV on September 18, 2017, 09:20:28 PM
Interesting you say this prodigyrf. Just today ports list was talked about on SEN and it doesn't bode well if they don't get in a gf next year or the year after. I didn't  realise how many oldies they have. Was actually gobsmacked that Robby gray was turning 30 next year!
Post by: prodigyrf on September 19, 2017, 01:45:18 AM
Well there'd be plenty of overtures to coaches like Clarkson this time of year, as there would be to a lesser extent for others like Hinkley. Now put yourself in Clarkson's shoes knowing it will be a few years to rebuild the Hawks via the draft. OTOH one or two of the overtures offer the opportunity to do like Blight did with the Crows, so where's the best bet, given he knows intimately the strengths and weaknesses of all the clubs and might figure which ones he could lift to a GF. I'm suggesting with the Hinkley rumours Port is an obvious choice (he has coaching ties to Adelaide with Central District and Port) but are there any others that fit the bill, bearing in mind you'd think the top 4 finishers coaching positions are out of the picture for next year.
Post by: Bigfish on September 19, 2017, 06:27:33 AM
Well there'd be plenty of overtures to coaches like Clarkson this time of year, as there would be to a lesser extent for others like Hinkley. Now put yourself in Clarkson's shoes knowing it will be a few years to rebuild the Hawks via the draft. OTOH one or two of the overtures offer the opportunity to do like Blight did with the Crows, so where's the best bet, given he knows intimately the strengths and weaknesses of all the clubs and might figure which ones he could lift to a GF. I'm suggesting with the Hinkley rumours Port is an obvious choice (he has coaching ties to Adelaide with Central District and Port) but are there any others that fit the bill, bearing in mind you'd think the top 4 finishers coaching positions are out of the picture for next year.

Clarko wouldn,t be able t work withe loud mouthed, hypocritical Kockhead. Clarko is already talking finals next year. He has a good run of younguns coming up and things look good for the next few years at Hawthorn. If they had of won a couple of early games there would be some worried teams in this years top 5  (hate the top 8 as the positions of 6,7 & 8 are only money making from AFL). Clarko doesn't need to win more grand finals! He is a proven mentor for many of the people who now sit on various coaching positions of many AFL clubs. He has the full backing of the greatest club in the last 40 years and I don't think money is an issue. I reckon he is the sort of bloke that relishes the challenge of building a team up and taking it to a grand final. Time will I suppose. Besides...Hinkleys signed for another 3 years...
Post by: prodigyrf on September 19, 2017, 11:45:54 AM
"If they had of won a couple of early games there would be some worried teams in this years top 5"

Ha! That statement when only one and a half wins separated the top 6 finishers and Melbourne missed out on the 8 with 12 wins, although to be fair to the Crows their last 2 games against Sydney and WC were dead rubbers with those 2 teams playing for their seasons. When it really mattered the Crows had the Giants wrapped up at half time and only had to go goal for goal after that to waltz into a Prelim. If only Port's Charlie Dixon had been watching the shot clock at the death knock against Geelong and not called to play on Port would have been Top 4 with the double chance, but then it was Ryder to Robbie Gray at the death knock that broke Saints fans hearts. If, if, if... :'(

As for- "(hate the top 8 as the positions of 6,7 & 8 are only money making from AFL). " it aint about the money but all about ensuring the team that holds up the Cup is the one that can beat the other 3 Top 4 contenders as we're witnessing now, or any team 5-8 that's good enough to come through them and snatch it.

Post by: Bigfish on September 19, 2017, 12:30:13 PM

The system is designed to give the top four teams an easier road to the Grand Final than the second four teams. The top four teams need to win only two finals to reach the Grand Final, while the second four teams need to win three. The two winning teams of the top four receive a bye in the second week of the playoff and then play at home in the third week, and the two losing teams play at home in the second week.  Why?  Why give the 5,6,7 & 8 teams a chance?  Lets introduce teams 9,10,11 & 12 as well. 

As I said...pure money making from the AFL.
Post by: Bird on September 19, 2017, 12:44:11 PM
It should be a final 5 but tv rights are more important

Week One
Qualification Final: 2nd vs 3rd
Elimination Final: 4th vs 5th
Bye: 1st

Week Two
Major Semi Final: 1st vs Winners of Qualification Final
Minor Semi Final: Losers of Qualification Final vs Winners of Elimination Final

Week Three
Preliminary Final: Losers of Major Semi Final vs Winners of Minor Semi Final
Bye: Winners of Major Semi Final

Week Four
Grand Final: Winners of Major Semi Final vs Winners of Preliminary Final
Post by: prodigyrf on September 21, 2017, 02:20:50 PM
Final 8 is set in stone as it means the ultimate winner must beat the other 3 top 4 finishers as the true test of the supreme team for the season, although it does give a chance to a 5-8 smoky like the Dogs that had been coming good and reached the finals with their best players on the park at last. Sydney had that opportunity this season after losing their first 6 games through key player injury and their record after that with their players back was 15/2 at 158% until last week's demise. Sorry Swans but you have to win 4 finals in a row to hold that Cup.

Now for the usual Prelims and they often turn out more tense struggles than the GF. Giants and Cats fans have to hope their teams can jump their much rested (rusty?) opponents early and silence their crowds or they'll be in trouble if they can't, although there'll be some serious introspection about the end of season rest week if it's a Cats/GWS Grand Final.

For some of we Mad Monday fans it was watching the Matildas vs Brazil and another superstar in Sam Kerr alongside some very talented team-mates who don't care if you ram home a great goal against them in the first minute, as they're fast approaching the skills and flair of the men's game and they know it. But here's the rub with women's soccer that can match the men for great entertainment and be rewarded accordingly with crowd and TV following. Women's AFL will never match the men's game, nor strut the world stage and so their player remuneration will be reflected accordingly. Right now many young athletic schoolgirls will be donning soccer gear and dreaming of big bucks and stardom and who could blame them for that? My bet is women's AFL will always be the poor country cousin henceforth.

Post by: Bird on September 22, 2017, 09:06:58 PM
Never in my life seen such biased umpires... yet geelong are getting smashed. shows the AFL Want no interstate team in the finals,,, bad for the wallet

funny brownie at 1/2 time saying the selwoods have been staging and the ump's fell for it

Post by: vern on September 22, 2017, 09:13:40 PM
I have seen a lot worse umpiring. Fact is geelong are just getting well and truly outplayed

Post by: Bird on September 22, 2017, 09:18:22 PM
and the felame expert at 1/2 time with a lovely new hair cut that looks like this

(http://i0.kym-cdn.com/entries/icons/facebook/000/000/774/lime-cat.jpg)
Post by: Bird on September 22, 2017, 09:51:55 PM
At least with McAvaney and BT - between them theres 2 eyes.
Post by: Bird on September 22, 2017, 10:35:34 PM
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/21616499_1442413312550750_486211851016463239_n.jpg?oh=c62dd442b92d2a5a8e5b693bd45a9c10&oe=5A5EADBD)
Post by: prodigyrf on September 23, 2017, 08:49:56 AM
So that was the Cats vs 50000 one eyed Crows supporters and only the rain intervening seemed to prevent a worse shellacking. Hard to see the Giants overcoming 90000 screaming Tiger fans unless they can get off to a blinder and stay well in front. At least the winner facing the Crows will have a more neutral crowd for the GF but Adelaide have one hand firmly on the mug now.
Post by: vern on September 23, 2017, 09:25:10 AM
So that was the Cats vs 50000 one eyed Crows supporters and only the rain intervening seemed to prevent a worse shellacking. Hard to see the Giants overcoming 90000 screaming Tiger fans unless they can get off to a blinder and stay well in front. At least the winner facing the Crows will have a more neutral crowd for the GF but Adelaide have one hand firmly on the mug now.
They did play well last night, they just seemed to have the ground covered! Cats forgot to turn up it seemed, still McAvaney still managed to crack a stiffy over Dangerfield even though he didn't get a lot of the ball.

Anyway, bring on the tigers! I picked the wrong year to move interstate

Post by: Bird on September 23, 2017, 09:40:15 AM
Quote from: prodigyrf
So that was 12 Dangerfields and 6 Selwods vs 50000 one eyed Crows supporters
fixed
Post by: Bird on September 23, 2017, 04:48:03 PM
Game over.
Post by: vern on September 23, 2017, 04:50:28 PM
Game over.
Haha i wish

Post by: Bird on September 23, 2017, 06:42:46 PM
Quote from: Bird
Game over.
I was right
Post by: vern on September 23, 2017, 06:48:11 PM
I was right
Stop it! Please, i'm about to have a heart attack!
Go tiges

Post by: Bird on September 23, 2017, 06:53:21 PM
Stop it! Please, i'm about to have a heart attack!
Go tiges
'its ok... when the crows win next week, you can relax :D and no cotchin who'll be warming the pine.
Post by: Bird on September 23, 2017, 06:57:44 PM
how ****in sickening are the commentators and their fanboi's... ****in mcavaney with anyone, and anyone with dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty.. ffs, its better with no sound.
Post by: vern on September 23, 2017, 07:05:28 PM
how ****in sickening are the commentators and their fanboi's... ****in mcavaney with anyone, and anyone with dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty dusty.. ffs, its better with no sound.
Its sickening, as much as i love dusty as a player.  Did the same with dangerfield

Post by: Bigfish on September 23, 2017, 07:13:59 PM

At least he,s not yelling Buddy, Buddy, Buddy
Post by: vern on September 23, 2017, 07:18:32 PM
At least he,s not yelling Buddy, Buddy, Buddy
Oh doesn't he want to suck buddy off! Duddy, he isn't that special anymore

Post by: GeoffA on September 23, 2017, 07:27:58 PM
Oh doesn't he want to suck buddy off! Duddy, he isn't that special anymore

Hasn't been the same since Morris burst his bubble in the GF last year....
Post by: Bird on September 23, 2017, 07:33:10 PM
they even managed to throw a danger danger danger danger  in there at one point...
Post by: vern on September 23, 2017, 07:36:06 PM
they even managed to throw a danger danger danger danger  in there at one point...
Haha. Now to try score some GF tickets!

Post by: Bird on September 23, 2017, 08:18:56 PM
Haha. Now to try score some GF tickets!
Why? Far better at home on the lounge where you can piss at will, eat free, drink as much as you like and theres leg room - and free
Post by: vern on September 23, 2017, 08:20:32 PM
Why? Far better at home on the lounge where you can piss at will, eat free, drink as much as you like and theres leg room - and free
Home is 1500km away in NRL territory, i would prefer to be with my own people

Post by: Bird on September 23, 2017, 08:25:11 PM
Sadly the AFL wont have the balls to suspend cochin (as much of a snipe as selwood is a diver) even though hes on 2 strikes...

They are always saying the head is a no go zone, and the opponent was gone for the last 3 and a 1/2 quarters
Post by: vern on September 23, 2017, 08:28:42 PM
Sadly the AFL wont have the balls to suspend cochin (as much of a snipe as selwood is a diver) even though hes on 2 strikes...

They are always saying the head is a no go zone, and the opponent was gone for the last 3 and a 1/2 quarters
Nah they were both going for the ball, just unfortunate, nothing really in it.
Coch played one hell of a game

Post by: kylarama on September 23, 2017, 10:55:47 PM

Sadly the AFL wont have the balls to suspend cochin

What did Coch do?  I didn't see anything worthy of a suspension.

What an awesome atmosphere!  Would have been deafening in the ground.

It's Tiger time this week.  Think Collingswood are big and feral.  Hold onto your hats!

Post by: prodigyrf on September 24, 2017, 12:20:04 AM
Well here we are with the only two undefeated finalists as usual that both beat the next best contender in GWS by 6 goals each and apparently it's the first time not one player has played in a GF since inception in 1898 and either both Sloane and Cochin won't play or they both will because it will be hard to justify only one of them missing out. I think wisely the Barry Hall common sense decision will prevail here and both incidents will be deemed purely accidental  :-* 
Post by: Bigfish on September 24, 2017, 06:13:02 AM
Well here we are with the only two undefeated finalists as usual that both beat the next best contender in GWS by 6 goals each and apparently it's the first time not one player has played in a GF since inception in 1898 and either both Sloane and Cochin won't play or they both will because it will be hard to justify only one of them missing out. I think wisely the Barry Hall common sense decision will prevail here and both incidents will be deemed purely accidental  :-*

To the average person it looked like an accidental knock with 2 players trying to win the ball. Common sense really when you have played 20+ games and this game is either do or die for your years efforts!  I expect hard football all the time. Hard and fair...this is what was shown by the 2 players on Sat night. However the nancy boys in the AFL will say that head contact was made and this is unacceptable. Cochin will get rubbed. If the AFL are really so concerned why are they not making helmets necessary?  By 2050 we have a game of kick to kick with all players dressed in head to toe protection and  with 5 minute quarters to lesson injury risk time! AFL and common sense will never come together for the betterment of the game.  Just hope adelaide get smashed in the GF....
Post by: prodigyrf on September 24, 2017, 09:04:30 AM
Well in fairness to the AFL, getting 2 teams to the GF where no players have played in one is a big tick for the draft and salary cap and on average your team will win a flag once every 18 years (perhaps Adelaide fans are due for disappointment after back to back in 97 and 98?). You're right about the AFL's modern interpretation and if the Tribunal were consistent with home and away both Sloane and Cochin would be spectators for the GF. As for helmets they're not saving American Gridiron players from long term brain injury problems so AFL players have to be mighty careful with sling tackles and head high stuff nowadays and err on the side of caution.

Did anyone else think when push came to shove in the 3rd quarter with both sides tiring and the inevitable mistakes creeping in it was 90000 screaming Tiges fans that gave their team the adrenalin to push on past the pain threshold and win the game? GWS are clearly up against it with their lack of fan base. In that regard the GF will be a better test with a neutral crowd. Given all the various club allocations and corporates no competing club can stack the stands so we'll see which remaining team is really the best now.
Post by: xcvator on September 24, 2017, 09:43:40 AM
Can somebody please explain just what the hell was going on with the umpiring last night ? It was so inconsistent at 1 stage I stopped watching the game for half of it, even the players were looking confused.
Post by: Bird on September 24, 2017, 09:45:24 AM
To the average person it looked like an accidental knock with 2 players trying to win the ball. Common sense really when you have played 20+ games and this game is either do or die for your years efforts!  I expect hard football all the time. Hard and fair...this is what was shown by the 2 players on Sat night. However the nancy boys in the AFL will say that head contact was made and this is unacceptable
... so this will be the new tactic in the AFL for 2018 - wipe out 4-5 players by 1/2 time and win the game.
He already has 2 strikes "fines" not suspensions hanging on his wall. hes a regular snipe under the banner of playing hard....
Post by: Bigfish on September 24, 2017, 10:11:16 AM
... so this will be the new tactic in the AFL for 2018 - wipe out 4-5 players by 1/2 time and win the game.
He already has 2 strikes "fines" not suspensions hanging on his wall. hes a regular snipe under the banner of playing hard....

Nothing to do with with sniping. If you haven't already watched the incident in slow motion ..do it.  Clearly shows that he was concentrating solely on the ball. Both players going for the football and going in hard. Commentators also state this whilst broadcasting.Exactly how quality players do it. Not one player tried to remonstrate..a sure sign that they saw the incident as a normal state of play.
Post by: lukeycat on September 24, 2017, 10:45:28 AM

I don't follow the tigs but  if Cotchin goes I'm going to stop watching AFL he attacked the footy and protected himself whilst doing so both players had there heads down low, if he goes Sloan has to as well which would be A real shame to what should be a pretty decent granny. I think Ellis is in more trouble than Cotchin and Sloan though that hit was a little crude.

Post by: Bird on September 24, 2017, 11:04:32 AM
Nothing to do with with sniping. If you haven't already watched the incident in slow motion ..do it.
They showed it about 5000000 times last night..... and the king of bashing people Dermy even said hes gone.

Quote from: lukeycat
I don't follow the tigs but  if Cotchin goes I'm going to stop watching AFL
They'll miss you :D

Lets be honest.. with the inconsistency of the match review panel, anything is possible..

Post by: lukeycat on September 24, 2017, 11:29:51 AM
They showed it about 5000000 times last night..... and the king of bashing people Dermy even said hes gone.

They'll miss you :D

Lets be honest.. with the inconsistency of the match review panel, anything is possible..

Hahaha yeh I'm sure the will notice me and chances are I'll still watch it. it's just really frustrating I've been umpiring footy the last 22 years including a couple of years doin TAC cup on dev list at VFL level. The AFL have changed the game so much in the last 5-10 years it's made it almost impossible to adjudicate. The match review panel seem to forget how quickly things happen on the field , the obvious snipes and bumps hits etc are very easy to adjudicate and the umpires more often than not make reports on the spot, the Cotchin incident wasn't even a free kick but when it's slowed down and played over and over again it becomes report by media and the actual context in which the event occurred is lost.

Post by: Bird on September 24, 2017, 11:39:57 AM
Quote from: lukeycat
The AFL have changed the game so much in the last 5-10 years it's made it almost impossible to adjudicate.
.. and to watch...

the Cotchin incident wasn't even a free kick but when it's slowed down and played over and over again it becomes report by media and the actual context in which the event occurred is lost.
. Apparently a lot of weight is in the Dr's report.. The fact that the bloke didn't know where he was at first crouched on ground, and then missed 3/4's of the game
then one week anything to do with the head is no go, but depends on who you are in the AFL... way too much
Post by: Bird on September 24, 2017, 06:00:36 PM
One rubbish  side down... one to go!!
 How good a coach is gary ayres... why is he not an afl coach.. port melb  have been up fer years. .
Post by: DannyG on September 24, 2017, 06:38:12 PM
One rubbish  side down... one to go!!
 How good a coach is gary ayres... why is he not an afl coach.. port melb  have been up fer years. .

So nasty towards us! But you are correct and thats why they are in the reserves....because they are the players who let us down in previous years.

As for our seniors side, it is a big ask taking on Adelaide in the GF but as a supporter I am very happy that we are now playing the type of footy that will keep us in contention for a long time to come and to make it all the way to the grand final after last year is still hard to comprehend.

How far are the Blues away from playing in GF??  ;D At least we have given ourselves the opportunity to win a premiership  :cup:

YELLOW AND BLACK  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Bird on September 24, 2017, 06:51:05 PM
How far are the Blues away from playing in GF??  ;D At least we have given ourselves the opportunity to win a premiership  :cup:
to be honest, I cant see one in the foreseeable future.. probably at the earliest 10-15 years and 4-5 coaches but at least I realise it :D

by the way.. what %age of Richmond fans were demanding your coaches head 12mths ago - inc some here, and were handing their memberships in ??? ??? ;D
Post by: DannyG on September 24, 2017, 07:04:32 PM
to be honest, I cant see one in the foreseeable future.. probably at the earliest 10-15 years and 4-5 coaches but at least I realise it :D

by the way.. what %age of Richmond fans were demanding your coaches head 12mths ago - inc some here, and were handing their memberships in ??? ??? ;D

LOL your being a bit harsh on the Blues mate I think they could easily be in contention within a year or 2 if they can get recruit well.

The amount of frustrated supporters has nothing to do with anything. Supporters of all clubs want to blame someone at some stage for poor performances. Look at Bucks, I said on here somewhere that they should keep him and give him another year, yet the rest of the world said he should be sacked. I pick the Pies to be in the top 4 next year.....which Ill hate because I hate them more than captain blood does. But itll show that supporters wanting the coach sacked means nothing, its whats happening within the confines of the clubs that really matters.

Richmonds resurgence this year is due to Neil Balme. Yes the new guys like Nankervous, Caddy, Prestia and Costanga has helped and so has having another year under the belts of Rioli and Butler but truth be known it is Balmy and our game style that is the key to getting us where we are. Oh and not playing those guys that lost todays VFL GF has helped. PRESURE PRESURE PRESURE........

GO TIGES..... ;D
Post by: Swannie on September 24, 2017, 07:59:16 PM
 The Tiges just need watch the dogs in last years GF, most thought the swans get up they just gotta believe
Post by: prodigyrf on September 25, 2017, 12:13:04 AM
The Tiges just need watch the dogs in last years GF, most thought the swans get up they just gotta believe

They'd have every right to believe Swannie given the level playing field between the contenders. Both have done everything right being undefeated and both beat GWS by 6 goals with home crowds and if anything the Tiges just got to practice their win on the big stage. The GF will be neutral fan territory (if Tiges fans can get their hands on more Melb based tickets being handed on Crows fans have had more time to get their hands on the interstate ones) and neither side has any experience on the big occasion bar both their coaches would you believe? If anything it's Adelaide's to lose finishing minor Premier but all it takes is a bit of misfortune with injury or missing the  goals and the other side gets that winning feeling.

From a non club supporter's point of view it looks like shaping up to be a cracker contest but either team can have a dirty one or a blinder and that's nothing to do with the occasion. A wise old coach explained that to me once. It's like this he said. You play on average 5 games of sport and 3 of them are a good hard day at the office for you personally. One of them you can't take a trick, fumbling and bumbling and it feels like you're running underground but the other one you've got the ball on a string and running a foot above it on cloud nine and that's the day you're in the best players. Then there's those days when all the planets align and the majority of the team is having a blinder or a shocker and/or vise versa with your opponents. When the sports Gods are smiling the team feels they could play another game straight after but when they're not they come off absolutely stuffed busting their guts running underground and chasing jumpers. That's a fine dividing line at AFL level but the capricious sports Gods are no respecters of mere mortals with their trivial special occasions and hype  >:D

Please pretty please oh great sports Gods smile on MY team just this once and I'll never ask another favour again.. promise.. cross my heart and hope to die  :cup:

For the rest of us we just want a good hard day at the office and may the best team win and as one pundit astutely noted that then comes down to the performance of the respective last half dozen selections for each side  :-\
Post by: Bird on September 25, 2017, 12:16:12 PM
Quote from: The Guru

... and I was right. The head is once again a free for all
Post by: lukeycat on September 25, 2017, 12:38:25 PM
... and I was right. The head is once again a free for all

I'm glad I can still watch the game, correct decision I think but that's not saying there haven't been a few during the year which were very similar which resulted in fines or suspensions.
Post by: Bigfish on September 25, 2017, 12:49:34 PM
Well there we are Cotchin free to play. 

MRP....    "The ball is loose between Cotchin and Shiel. Both players are seeking to win possession and are coming towards each other from right angles," the match review panel said in a statement.

"Cotchin moves down low and braces for contact as Shiel approaches to pick up the ball.

"It was the view of the panel that Cotchin was seeking to win possession as his line of direction was always towards the ball and not his opponent.

"The panel determined that Cotchin was seeking to contest the ball and therefore contact was not unreasonable in the circumstances. No further action was taken."

Exactly as it should have been!  Thank christ common sense prevailed.  Hope the tiges now beat crows by 1 point!!
Post by: Bird on September 25, 2017, 12:58:00 PM
I'm glad I can still watch the game, correct decision I think but that's not saying there haven't been a few during the year which were very similar which resulted in fines or suspensions.
There have been many less than that that have been suspended.. I guess nobody gets suspeneded for grand finals.. ask Bazza Hall.
Post by: vern on September 25, 2017, 01:01:58 PM
Have a good look at the footage, it wasn't suspension worthy.
Footage from behind doesn't look good, but frontal says it all, looks more like a heavy shoulder knock!

Post by: Bird on September 25, 2017, 01:10:07 PM
Have a good look at the footage, it wasn't suspension worthy.
Footage from behind doesn't look good, but frontal says it all, looks more like a heavy shoulder knock!
Except all year they have said 'hit the head, expect to be suspended'... concussion this concussion that.

But that WAS coming from the MRP.. worlds most inconsistant fools.

Im shocked Shiel wasnt suspended for headbutting Cochins shoulder
Post by: vern on September 25, 2017, 01:12:16 PM
Except all year they have said 'hit the head, expect to be suspended'... concussion this concussion that.

But that WAS coming from the MRP.. worlds most inconsistant fools.

Im shocked Shiel wasnt suspended for headbutting Cochins shoulder
Well Sheil does get next week off

Post by: DannyG on September 26, 2017, 11:39:12 AM
I suppose the brownlow count was rigged and Dusty shouldn't have been the winner??  >:D Bird? ;D
Post by: prodigyrf on September 26, 2017, 02:47:11 PM
Given the AFL's concern about the long term ramifications of concussion and the new ambulance chasing world we live in these blokes pretty well summed up the reasonable expectation with both Sloan and Cotchin-
http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/ted-richards-says-the-afls-obsession-with-outcomes-is-likely-to-hurt-trent-cotchins-bid-to-play-in-the-grand-final/news-story/af6da776446ed8031ffb2da94e44b5c9 (http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/ted-richards-says-the-afls-obsession-with-outcomes-is-likely-to-hurt-trent-cotchins-bid-to-play-in-the-grand-final/news-story/af6da776446ed8031ffb2da94e44b5c9)
http://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/afl/dylan-shiel-feels-cheated-by-system-says-mark-williams/ar-AAsq9QM (http://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/afl/dylan-shiel-feels-cheated-by-system-says-mark-williams/ar-AAsq9QM)
but being a GF it was a Barry Hall and/or safety in numbers  outcome for them both. In terms of intent I thought Sloan was more hangable than Cotchin but the outcome for the latter was worse and home and away season they'd both hang.

Byron Pickett was the turning point as was ruckman Matty Primus as they were both sacrificed for the new reality and winds of change, in Primus case because they clearly wanted the Natanui types in ruck.
Post by: Bigfish on September 26, 2017, 03:06:06 PM
Given the AFL's concern about the long term ramifications of concussion and the new ambulance chasing world we live in these blokes pretty well summed up the reasonable expectation with both Sloan and Cotchin-
http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/ted-richards-says-the-afls-obsession-with-outcomes-is-likely-to-hurt-trent-cotchins-bid-to-play-in-the-grand-final/news-story/af6da776446ed8031ffb2da94e44b5c9 (http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/ted-richards-says-the-afls-obsession-with-outcomes-is-likely-to-hurt-trent-cotchins-bid-to-play-in-the-grand-final/news-story/af6da776446ed8031ffb2da94e44b5c9)
http://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/afl/dylan-shiel-feels-cheated-by-system-says-mark-williams/ar-AAsq9QM (http://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/afl/dylan-shiel-feels-cheated-by-system-says-mark-williams/ar-AAsq9QM)
but being a GF it was a Barry Hall and/or safety in numbers  outcome for them both. In terms of intent I thought Sloan was more hangable than Cotchin but the outcome for the latter was worse and home and away season they'd both hang.

Someones talking Shite.........     "He [Shiel] feels cheated. I've talked to him," Williams said. "I feel for him ... completely cheated by the system ... Dylan had seven possessions, two shots on goal and to lose a player that's an All Australian in the first quarter, he came off and that was it."

The Giants denied Shiel was upset at the MRP decision, saying the players were only disappointed that they lost a preliminary final.   Even the Giants coach said there was nothing in it!!!

Byron Pickett was the turning point as was ruckman Matty Primus as they were both sacrificed for the new reality and winds of change, in Primus case because they clearly wanted the Natanui types in ruck.
Post by: prodigyrf on September 26, 2017, 03:13:34 PM
"The Giants denied Shiel was upset at the MRP decision, saying the players were only disappointed that they lost a preliminary final.   Even the Giants coach said there was nothing in it!!!"

Well they would say that now wouldn't they?
Post by: Bird on September 26, 2017, 04:44:51 PM
Quote from: prodigyrf
"The Giants denied Shiel was upset at the MRP decision, saying the players were only disappointed that they lost a preliminary final.   Even the Giants coach said there was nothing in it!!!"

Come on... why would Shiel be pissed off at missing 3/4's of the biggest game of his life and the bloke getting away with it ??? He'd be ****in over the moon.
Post by: Bigfish on September 26, 2017, 08:01:15 PM

No they wouldnt.  If they believed he was not done justice, like all clubs they would be broadcasting it!
Post by: Bird on September 26, 2017, 08:17:11 PM
I suppose the brownlow count was rigged and Dusty shouldn't have been the winner??  >:D Bird? ;D
The mark of the year was a joke... but I guess the name won him the award...
Post by: prodigyrf on September 26, 2017, 10:49:07 PM
No they wouldnt.  If they believed he was not done justice, like all clubs they would be broadcasting it!

Fair dinkum! Here's an AFL bloke just like Choco, freed from the yoke of the PC Yes men of the AFL with their fines and penalties for straying from the company line-
https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/swanny-brownlow-survival-guide-tips-for-duz-my-epic-trip-to-las-vegas/news-story/4921011e06d5e69e94578df2240e4378 (https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/swanny-brownlow-survival-guide-tips-for-duz-my-epic-trip-to-las-vegas/news-story/4921011e06d5e69e94578df2240e4378)

Then there's the last of the dinosaurs having the final word with up yours girlymen- “There could be Alastair Lynch style exit to my career.”
http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/barry-hall-caught-punching-opposition-player-in-queensland-afl-grand-final/news-story/4235647e3d565231d8340d27b343d649 (http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/barry-hall-caught-punching-opposition-player-in-queensland-afl-grand-final/news-story/4235647e3d565231d8340d27b343d649)
Post by: Bird on September 27, 2017, 10:05:48 AM

Now that you mention it, watching a replay at BD's of 360 last night how did Danger get zero brownlow votes in round 22, but got every radio/tv station top points ??? 34 touches, 2 goals and few assists... what a Shit game

The mark of the year was a joke... but I guess the name won him the award... Since its a popularity contest, not a genuine award theres no way on earth that a GWS GC or a smaller club player could ever win even if they took somethign like this
(http://www.memorabiliaonline.com.au/merchants/store9357/item_images/item-graphic-801-1.jpg)
Post by: DannyG on September 27, 2017, 10:58:49 AM
Now that you mention it, watching a replay at BD's of 360 last night how did Danger get zero brownlow votes in round 22, but got every radio/tv station top points ??? 34 touches, 2 goals and few assists... what a Shit game

The mark of the year was a joke... but I guess the name won him the award... Since its a popularity contest, not a genuine award theres no way on earth that a GWS GC or a smaller club player could ever win even if they took somethign like this
(http://www.memorabiliaonline.com.au/merchants/store9357/item_images/item-graphic-801-1.jpg)

The same thing happened to Dusty in the hawks game. He won every vote in every other system just like danger did in round 22 yet he didnt get a brownlow vote. We would need to ask the umpires the question why.

As for the mark of the century.......

None other than my home town hero im afraid ;D
Post by: Bird on September 27, 2017, 12:03:15 PM
Yea thats pretty special! ... but the way the system is now that mark would get 10 votes if he played for a small club. Again its nothing but a popularity contest..

Personally I didnt think anything of dunnyher's mark.. not even mark of the hour - I actually think he took better than that during the season more than once! In reality Howes mark blitzed it.  SEN reported tihs morning that it has cost Howe something like 40,000 in advertising/marketing and bonuses... so its not just some crap award.

Having said that I guess the wobbler supporters hadnt stolen enough phones to ring in and get Howe the award.. but it is a broken system
Post by: DannyG on September 27, 2017, 12:39:05 PM
Yea thats pretty special! ... but the way the system is now that mark would get 10 votes if he played for a small club. Again its nothing but a popularity contest..

Personally I didnt think anything of dunnyher's mark.. not even mark of the hour - I actually think he took better than that during the season more than once! In reality Howes mark blitzed it.  SEN reported tihs morning that it has cost Howe something like 40,000 in advertising/marketing and bonuses... so its not just some crap award.

Having said that I guess the wobbler supporters hadnt stolen enough phones to ring in and get Howe the award.. but it is a broken system

We agree on something footy related ;)

Yes it is a popularity vote. Imagine the greatest mark ever taken was by someone from GWS and he was against lesser marks from the big vic clubs.........same as goal of the year.

They need to appoint an unbiased panel of 'experts' to judge them.

Anyway, Mcgovern out for the Crows....GO TIGES
Post by: lukeycat on September 27, 2017, 08:09:18 PM
The same thing happened to Dusty in the hawks game. He won every vote in every other system just like danger did in round 22 yet he didnt get a brownlow vote. We would need to ask the umpires the question why.

As for the mark of the century.......

It happens the umps have to worry about so many different rule interpretations these days how can they really work out who was best in ground, I know I've walked off the ground a few times going hmmmm now who played well? Lol

Post by: Bird on September 27, 2017, 09:21:33 PM
Surely not ???
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/hawthorn-hawks-luke-hodge-considering-playing-with-brisbane-lions-20170927-gypyus.html (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/hawthorn-hawks-luke-hodge-considering-playing-with-brisbane-lions-20170927-gypyus.html)
Post by: lukeycat on September 28, 2017, 07:56:31 AM
Surely not ???
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/hawthorn-hawks-luke-hodge-considering-playing-with-brisbane-lions-20170927-gypyus.html (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/hawthorn-hawks-luke-hodge-considering-playing-with-brisbane-lions-20170927-gypyus.html)

I think you will find its a done deal.
Post by: Bigfish on September 28, 2017, 04:00:19 PM
Hodgey is a good mate of Fagans and like Sam Mitchell, he is thinking of coaching.  He would be a great asset to the Lions but the brown and yellow will always be in his blood.  Just check out how many clubs grab people who have been at the Hawks for a few years.  The Hawthorn F.C. run a great leadership program and are just so professional with its management...(don't mention Jeff Kennet though...lol )
Post by: Bird on September 30, 2017, 02:13:14 PM
lets hope for ump's with 2 eyes.. hope the AFL havent stuck their fingers in too deep... the tigers supporters will march from the G to the Westgate LMAO

lets also hope
(http://cdn0.theroar.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/Taylor-Walker-Adelaide-Crows-AFL-2015.jpg)

Edit: sadly the wish for impartial umpires fell on deaf ears and its only 1/2 time
Post by: Bigfish on September 30, 2017, 04:27:24 PM
lets hope for ump's with 2 eyes.. hope the AFL havent stuck their fingers in too deep... the tigers supporters will march from the G to the Westgate LMAO

lets also hope
(http://cdn0.theroar.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/Taylor-Walker-Adelaide-Crows-AFL-2015.jpg)

Edit: sadly the wish for impartial umpires fell on deaf ears and its only 1/2 time

you must be watching a different game than the one at the MCG...... :cheers:
Post by: Bigfish on September 30, 2017, 05:31:55 PM
Go tiges...
Post by: DannyG on September 30, 2017, 06:48:22 PM
Ill hardly mention it..............
Post by: GeoffA on September 30, 2017, 06:53:53 PM
Mention what??
Post by: Swannie on September 30, 2017, 06:55:40 PM
Dogs last year, tiges this year how awesome the only thing now if for the demons to grab one I then wn couple of years and the saints

Post by: GeoffA on September 30, 2017, 06:57:21 PM
I thought it was a great result, but it would have been nice if Adelaide turned up.....
Post by: Bigfish on September 30, 2017, 07:28:59 PM
Dogs last year, tiges this year how awesome the only thing now if for the demons to grab one I then wn couple of years and the saints

I,m with you...If the demons could get it next year I,d be a very happy chappy.  Love the Hawks BUT...Being a Hawks supporter (50 years), I,ve been very spoilt !!!!   would like the demons to win. Saints the year after...still pissed off withe saints/maggots game that saw the draw and Saints no good in the replay..
Post by: DannyG on September 30, 2017, 07:53:34 PM
Mention what??

Just the little win we had today ;D Bugger you made me mention it ;)
Post by: GeoffA on September 30, 2017, 08:00:07 PM
Just the little win we had today ;D Bugger you made me mention it ;)

Oh, did I do that??..... ;D ;D
Post by: Bigfish on September 30, 2017, 08:23:09 PM
If your a Tiger supporter you must love the guy...

DUSTIN Martin is like no other player we have seen, and on Saturday he achieved a feat no other player has in the history of the game.

The champion midfielder won the Norm Smith Medal and a premiership medallion just five days after he took home the Brownlow Medal.

His season has been described by Hawthorn legend Leigh Matthews as the greatest ever put together, and Saturday's masterful performance was the final chapter.

The tattooed superstar is the best player in the game and an approving roar went up around the MCG when he was announced by 2000 winner James Hird as the Tigers' second Norm Smith medallist.

He was the calm in the chaos of Saturday's brutal Grand Final, creating order whenever he got his hands on the football, finishing with a team-high 29 possessions (21 contested) and two goals.
Post by: prodigyrf on September 30, 2017, 09:11:41 PM
Bachar Houli for four quarters for the Norm Smith for mine so I checked his stats-
http://finalsiren.com/AFLPlayerStats.asp?SeasonID=2017&Round=4-2&Sort=Rating+Desc (http://finalsiren.com/AFLPlayerStats.asp?SeasonID=2017&Round=4-2&Sort=Rating+Desc)
Dusty was very good but when the Crows kicked the first 2 goals and the Tiges missed 2 set shots Houli was setting the example and continued to do so in a great even performance for four quarters. Perhaps he'd have it if he hadn't missed those 2 shots on goal but given his work rate probably understandable. He didn't miss when the Tiges really needed it.
Post by: glenm64 on September 30, 2017, 09:35:53 PM
Bachar Houli for four quarters for the Norm Smith for mine so I checked his stats-
http://finalsiren.com/AFLPlayerStats.asp?SeasonID=2017&Round=4-2&Sort=Rating+Desc (http://finalsiren.com/AFLPlayerStats.asp?SeasonID=2017&Round=4-2&Sort=Rating+Desc)
Dusty was very good but when the Crows kicked the first 2 goals and the Tiges missed 2 set shots Houli was setting the example and continued to do so in a great even performance for four quarters. Perhaps he'd have it if he hadn't missed those 2 shots on goal but given his work rate probably understandable. He didn't miss when the Tiges really needed it.
Yep 100% Houli with Rance a close 2nd. Dusty had patches of brilliance, but consistent for 4 quarters?
Unfortunately workhorses dont get recognition in our modern society. I reckon the Brownlow dazzled the judges.

Post by: prodigyrf on September 30, 2017, 10:49:59 PM
For Crows fans welcome to the law of averages and needing an ounce of luck to win a GF as revisiting those 1997-98 finals would show (eg if the Kangas had turned their 6-15 to the Crows 4-3 at half time into say 12-9 it was all over but alas for all that first half effort). 2017 GF the Crows could look back at losing Brodie Smith and McGovern beforehand and perhaps Charlie Cameron's early calf injury in the GF and wonder but there it was on Fox Footy preview. Richmond's historical GF record of 10 wins and 11 losses as favourites or not and now it's line ball for a much longer term club. Welcome to the law of averages with the footy gods Crows fans which with the draft and salary cap implies perhaps a premiership every 18 years but with averages it can be a long time between drinks as Tiges fans know  :cup:

PS: 
The AFL ladder in terms of years waiting for a premiership now reads as follows:

Melbourne: 53 years
St Kilda: 51 years
Fremantle: 23 years*
Carlton: 22 years
Adelaide: 19 years
North Melbourne: 18 years
Essendon: 17 years
Brisbane: 14 years
Port Adelaide: 13 years
West Coast: 11 years
Collingwood: 7 years
Geelong: 6 years
Gold Coast: 6 years*
Sydney: 5 years
Greater Western Sydney: 5 years*
Hawthorn: 3 years
Footscray: 1 year
Richmond: umm?
(*never won a premiership)
Post by: prodigyrf on October 02, 2017, 02:54:50 PM
We're not exactly a happy happy team at Hawthorn-
http://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/afl/hawthorn-sack-chief-executive-tracey-gaudry-after-five-months-in-the-job/ar-AAsLFyY (http://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/afl/hawthorn-sack-chief-executive-tracey-gaudry-after-five-months-in-the-job/ar-AAsLFyY)
Some of the YES men at AFL HQ will not be pleased  :'(

So the end of season ructions begin in earnest with all the impatient clubs but note that curious byline at the end-
"It is understood Silvers has had several long sessions with Alastair Clarkson in recent weeks."
No doubt because Clarko has had strong overtures from hungry clubs with younger lists that are dangling the carrot.  Port obviously weren't in the running so which clubs does that leave?
Post by: vern on October 02, 2017, 03:10:53 PM
We're not exactly a happy happy team at Hawthorn-
http://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/afl/hawthorn-sack-chief-executive-tracey-gaudry-after-five-months-in-the-job/ar-AAsLFyY (http://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/afl/hawthorn-sack-chief-executive-tracey-gaudry-after-five-months-in-the-job/ar-AAsLFyY)
Some of the YES men at AFL HQ will not be pleased  :'(

So the end of season ructions begin in earnest with all the impatient clubs but note that curious byline at the end-
"It is understood Silvers has had several long sessions with Alastair Clarkson in recent weeks."
No doubt because Clarko has had strong overtures from hungry clubs with younger lists that are dangling the carrot.  Port obviously weren't in the running so which clubs does that leave?
You have the Vickery curse! Things picked up for us once we got rid of him

Post by: prodigyrf on October 03, 2017, 12:12:55 AM
Plenty of speculation and we'll see how this lot goes- http://www.theroar.com.au/2017/10/02/afl-trade-rumours-need-know-2017/ (http://www.theroar.com.au/2017/10/02/afl-trade-rumours-need-know-2017/)

Mind you do watch- 'Walls blasts Crows forward for being the master of the Joe the goose' for one of his tips as to who Adelaide should trade  :-[
Post by: DannyG on October 03, 2017, 12:36:53 PM
Oh were from Tiger land..........

YELLOW AND BLACK  ;D

Wheres Bird? :-* :-*
Post by: DannyG on October 04, 2017, 10:57:55 AM
I wont mention it again.........
Post by: Bigfish on October 04, 2017, 12:14:44 PM
I wont mention it again.........

Make the most of it mate...could be a long time till the next one...
Post by: DannyG on October 04, 2017, 12:18:12 PM
Make the most of it mate...could be a long time till the next one...

Correct :)
Post by: vern on October 04, 2017, 01:23:42 PM
Correct :)
12 months isn't that long

Post by: raider on October 04, 2017, 04:10:08 PM
Got my tattoo today but I won't show it until it stops bleeding cos it looks like the Bombers. :'(
Post by: Swannie on October 06, 2017, 03:30:12 PM
Jackson trengrove to the dogs, seems like a nice bloke and will help the boys down back

Post by: Bird on October 19, 2017, 08:28:13 AM
Is trade week just a wank? I mean constant updates of "I heard a rumour" that nothing ever comes of,  or more often than not "Nothing to report" day after day..

why not just make it 48 hours and get it over and done with.
Post by: weeds on October 19, 2017, 08:57:40 PM
Good to see gazza getting his wish........just not sure what Scott has up his sleeve for the back line.

Post by: Bird on October 20, 2017, 09:30:19 AM
Quote from: weeds
Good to see gazza getting his wish........just not sure what Scott has up his sleeve for the back line.

Agree with him going home is good - but not sure Geelong need him. Are they just topping up to hope to stay in the 'window'? or is it to sell a few jumpers?

But unless this year was all an act as he'd lost his ticker I think he's not going to be the savior everyone dreams of - hes always broken and falling apart... or was that all an act? Were his injuries all bullShit this season cause he didn't want to play for cold ghost?

As for finishing as Best and Fairest for Cold Ghost - in a team of faeces doesn't mean much when you only played 14 games for the whole year and still win!! Shows how Shit the rest of the team are.
that sorta result reminds me of this kinda bullShit
(http://s2.quickmeme.com/img/1f/1ff3c28029a27c12f2aafba8249af62e16c9a29ce57931f35930945e335a8d9b.jpg)
Post by: DannyG on October 20, 2017, 10:29:24 AM

How about those Tiges though Bird?? They went alright didnt they ;D
Post by: DannyG on October 20, 2017, 10:38:32 AM
Also just want to add that I got my first tattoo. Yes the premiership tattoo  :cup:

Its all scaby and terrible looking atm so I cant show it yet but I cant believe how tuff I am now. Im considering joining an outlaw mc club or something  ;D

When I went to the tattoo shop I asked if a chubby nearly 50yo is allowed to get his first tattoo and when they found out what it was they agreed it was dedication at its finest, go tiges :cup:
Post by: Bird on October 20, 2017, 11:28:56 AM
Its all scaby and terrible looking
nothing more needs to be said... ;D
Post by: raider on October 20, 2017, 12:44:43 PM
Also just want to add that I got my first tattoo.

So did I , this was taken just after it was done. I need to go back in a couple of weeks and get it touched up and get the white teeth and eyes which weren't done for some reason.(https://i.imgur.com/ivfm76P.jpg)
Post by: weeds on October 20, 2017, 12:59:05 PM
Agree with him going home is good - but not sure Geelong need him. Are they just topping up to hope to stay in the 'window'? or is it to sell a few jumpers?

But unless this year was all an act as he'd lost his ticker I think he's not going to be the savior everyone dreams of - hes always broken and falling apart... or was that all an act? Were his injuries all bullShit this season cause he didn't want to play for cold ghost?

As for finishing as Best and Fairest for Cold Ghost - in a team of faeces doesn't mean much when you only played 14 games for the whole year and still win!! Shows how Shit the rest of the team are.
that sorta result reminds me of this kinda bullShit
(http://s2.quickmeme.com/img/1f/1ff3c28029a27c12f2aafba8249af62e16c9a29ce57931f35930945e335a8d9b.jpg)

The cats have been in the window for 10 years and probably the next few years.  probably should have had another premiership though but better than being stuck the in the bottom eight for years on end.

Gazza won't be costing us much, broken or not he is still a handy player, quite happy for him to sit in the forward pocket to take a good defender and slot a goal or two. Might free up tomahawk

Post by: DannyG on October 20, 2017, 01:06:21 PM
nothing more needs to be said... ;D

I need you to tell me something positive about the Tiges after all these years of stirring me about being 9th......go on say they were great...... ;D

Also just want to add that I got my first tattoo.

So did I , this was taken just after it was done. I need to go back in a couple of weeks and get it touched up and get the white teeth and eyes which weren't done for some reason.

Ok heres mine just after it was done too. Way too much of a close up because you can see the blood etc in the yellow and to be honest the photo doesn't do a lot for it but its all i got atm.
I wanted more white too but the tattooist said something about me being white enough ;)

Go tiges  ;D

Post by: raider on October 20, 2017, 01:28:15 PM
Noice , the young bloke wants one like that but the pussy hasn't made a booking yet.
Post by: Bird on October 20, 2017, 01:35:29 PM
Quote from: weeds
Gazza won't be costing us much, broken or not he is still a handy player, quite happy for him to sit in the forward pocket to take a good defender and slot a goal or two.
I hear what your saying, but that's if he can make it on to the ground which is didn't do too regularly this year and when he did he didn't finish the games.
Post by: Kangaron on October 23, 2017, 08:54:13 PM
So what has happened to this little investigation.
It appears to be gathering dust[y]
Some $$ must have changed hands.

Note : This picture has been on all the news bulletins and in all the papers so should be safe enough to post here.

Post by: prodigyrf on October 23, 2017, 10:21:33 PM
I take it this is the new Hawthorn CEO after the last one wasn't up to scratch?
Post by: Bird on October 24, 2017, 07:50:05 AM
Quote from: Kangaron
So what has happened to this little investigation.
It appears to be gathering dust[y]
Some $$ must have changed hands.
What ARE you insinuating here Ronny! That the AFL pays hush money? ;) :P

Note : This picture has been on all the news bulletins and in all the papers so should be safe enough to post here.
if your ****ed in the head enough to put yourself in that situation where someone snaps a photo of you with your tits out etc, you cant complain when 1029482039480 people round the world see your rack on the interwebs.
Post by: Kangaron on October 24, 2017, 02:34:24 PM
Well the last "report" I can find/recall was that the Police were involved and had identified the player through his medal, but he was overseas, and investigations were underway as to who and how many "shared" the picture.
Also in the same report was the girl was lawyered up.
Then Nothing.
Post by: 03GV on October 24, 2017, 05:34:30 PM
Pretty sure he was named alot on one of those football forums weeks ago. His name escapes me, because he aint that good😉
Post by: DannyG on October 24, 2017, 06:22:45 PM
It’s a non event, no charges laid.

Some people speculated that it was Nathan Broad.
They have also speculated that the young lady involved has been compensated.
All speculation of course.
Post by: vern on October 24, 2017, 06:41:26 PM

Thing is, who cares! Great rack, great medal, great team!

Post by: Bird on October 25, 2017, 07:19:27 AM

it was probably the plan all along... knowing the AFL would pay for it to go away, hang ya cans out with a medal, theres 1/2 a house paid for.
6mths it will be forgotten.. like the young chick that was being plowed by the footy manager or whatever it was few years ago..
Post by: 03GV on October 30, 2017, 11:13:10 AM
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-10-30/richmond-player-nathan-broad-named-over-topless-photo/9098712 (http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-10-30/richmond-player-nathan-broad-named-over-topless-photo/9098712)