Author Topic: A Rookie  (Read 4090 times)

Offline KiwiG

A Rookie
« on: May 10, 2011, 12:07:31 PM »
Hi All, After years of Tent camping I am intending to get into camper trailers. Hiring one Queens birthday weekend to get the experience. Just a shor break in at Paronella Park.
I have been cruising the Itnernet looking at whats around. My preference is developing for rear folding as opposed to side folding. There is only two of us 95% of the time so don't need a big setup. Mostly coastal camps but we have done a few outback trips. At this stage not "bush- bashing"

Re: A Rookie
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2011, 12:11:11 PM »
Welcome.

Plenty of good used hardfloor units out there. whats your budget, that usually defines what you will get :)

« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2011, 12:14:24 PM »
Welcome to myswag KiwiG, good luck with your trip.

« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2011, 12:14:55 PM »
The hardfloor option probably best suits a two person family, however can squeeze a couple of extras in if required.

Good luck with your quest to find the perfect camper for your family.

Welcome to Myswag also. :cheers:

« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2011, 12:19:59 PM »
Welcome to the Forum, you have come to the right place for information. Its a good idea to hire to get an idea of what will suit your needs. Have a good trip and have fun finding a camper

« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2011, 12:21:48 PM »
Welcome, I have a rear fold soft floor with 9ft tent and have plenty of room for the two of us.  I prefer the rear fold for convenience sake but others have different needs.

Wil

« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2011, 01:16:14 PM »
Gday Kiwi welcome to Myswag  :cheers:

Hiring one was a great idea and looking forward to seeing on what you decide on  :cheers:

Good luck mate.

Cheers BD

« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2011, 02:06:52 PM »
Hi Kiwi Welcome to My Swag lots of good advice on here if you want to know anything just ask i,m sure someone will help you  :cheers:

Gibbo301

« Reply #8 on: May 10, 2011, 02:29:45 PM »

Hi and Welcome aboard MySwag.

Hard floors are great ... especially up there in those soggy conditions that are prevalent in NQ.

« Reply #9 on: May 10, 2011, 04:25:22 PM »
Hi and welcome to My Swag. Good luck with your camper search.

« Reply #10 on: May 10, 2011, 07:32:16 PM »
Welcome mate

« Reply #11 on: May 10, 2011, 07:36:58 PM »
Hi KiwiG and welcome to My Swag, hiring is a great way to find out what suits you, we hired several CT's before we bought our own

Offline squirell

« Reply #12 on: May 10, 2011, 07:45:35 PM »
Hi and welcome, try before you buy sounds like a pretty good option, just get out there and enjoy.

Squirell/Graeme
Just spendin' the kids inheritence !!

Offline Paul and Bern

• Living for Holidays
« Reply #13 on: May 10, 2011, 07:53:13 PM »
 :D Welcome there KiwiG, I see you must live in glorious FNQ.  Hope you find what you're after, a rear fold hard floor is probably a little more easier to setup, especially over the rougher stuff.  We wanted room so have gone the soft floor way.
The weather has been absolutely spectacular, well at least from the Cairns side of things, should be a great trip.

:cheers: Paul
Can every day be made a public holiday?

Offline ausmarvin

« Reply #14 on: May 10, 2011, 08:16:54 PM »
Welcome to MySwag... I must say you have picked a great place to do your research..

I to have rear fold soft floor and just love it. 9 foot awning is just enough for the 4 of us... thou doing it again I think i would go a little bigger.
But it would be hard to get me out of a rear fold.
Soft floors have the advantage of more room in the trailer for all your stuff, thou the hard floor have advantages also.

Good luck with your hunt
2007 VRX Pajero, ARB Bullbar, Thule Roofracks-Hullavator-JBar
Lifestyle Icon - Independent suspension, DO35 hitch

« Reply #15 on: May 10, 2011, 08:25:21 PM »

Good friends of ours have a Cub camper, the on-road version, and love it. It has heaps of space, is easy to tow and works well.

« Reply #16 on: May 12, 2011, 03:34:02 PM »
Hi Kiwi
good idea to hire one as you have heips make your mind up quick Happy Trails out there

Offline flamingo

« Reply #17 on: May 14, 2011, 07:18:33 AM »
  Gday KiwiG welcome to myswag.. im sure you'll get good advice here!   Phil
Go Tigers!
2005 Navara
2011 Jayco Flamingo

Offline envee

• Retired !! grey nomading.
« Reply #18 on: May 14, 2011, 10:39:11 AM »
Hi and welcome KiwiG.  We have had a couple of softfloors and have just bought a second hand Aussie Swag hard floor.  There is just the two of us as well and we decided the faster set up / pack up for overnight stays would suit us better. Good luck with your search, looking forward to seeing what you decide on.

'14 Disco SE  '15 Complete Campsite Exodus 14

https://destinationpotatopoint.blogspot.com/