Author Topic: New member from Vic  (Read 5190 times)

Offline stepheng

New member from Vic
« on: May 10, 2011, 03:55:53 PM »
I thought I would say hi. I am from Melbourne, with a wife and three kids - 7(boy), 5 (girl)and 3(boy). In my previous life I used to do a lot of work on remote communities in WA and NT.

We bought a Prado last year (second hand, 2001 tx) when the old car died. The wife was against it but now she loves the beast - we can fit in all the kids crap and go camping. We tend to go away as much as possible in Vic, places like Lake Eildon, Port Arlington, Kilcunda, Cape Patterson - the beach in Summer.

We are preparing for out big trip in July, as I am lucky enough to have built up long service leave. Was going to chuck in the job but thought would do a trip and then do it later.

I am in the process of getting an off road trailer and will fit it out with, kitchen solar power etc and I need to get a move on. We are going to go to Melb-Adelaide-Lake Eyre- Cape York-NT-Broome - ALice Springs (via Tanami) - Ayers Rock and then home. That is the plan anyway but wont be rushing it so may only make Cape York will see.

Cant believe I ha vent seen this forum before it has allready been very usefull and only been on here for one day. M ight see you around the traps soon

Re: New member from Vic
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2011, 04:03:04 PM »

« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2011, 04:10:10 PM »
Welcome.

sounds like an interesting trip!

Offline outback jack

« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2011, 04:13:02 PM »
welcome stephen  :cheers:

« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2011, 04:18:25 PM »
Hi and welcome to My swag.
Sounds like a great trip planned.
July is not that far off. Better get you skates on and get that camper.

« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2011, 04:41:48 PM »
G'day Stephen and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2011, 05:47:24 PM »
Welcome to my swag guys

« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2011, 05:58:40 PM »
Hi Stephen welcome to My Swag you better get a trailer soon if your going to do mods or you may run out of time July is not far away  :cheers:

Offline stepheng

« Reply #8 on: May 10, 2011, 06:17:38 PM »
Thanks everyone. I know I need to get a move on, as running out of time. I have finally decided on were to get the trailer made - unless someone comes up in the next day or so- and they will have it done in three weeks.

Fortunantly I have some very handy grandparents - 1 a builder the other an electrician and both are retired so they are on standbye as soon as the trailer comes through.

« Reply #9 on: May 10, 2011, 07:24:55 PM »
Welcome to the Forum, you will find it a great place with heaps of info

« Reply #10 on: May 10, 2011, 07:28:27 PM »
Welcome mate

« Reply #11 on: May 10, 2011, 07:38:26 PM »
Hi Stephen and welcome to My Swag :cheers:

Offline squirell

« Reply #12 on: May 10, 2011, 07:41:23 PM »
Hi and welcome, lots of usefull hints and help to be had on this forum, enjoy.

Squirell/Graeme
Just spendin' the kids inheritence !!

Offline ausmarvin

« Reply #13 on: May 10, 2011, 08:24:21 PM »
Welcome to MySwag
2007 VRX Pajero, ARB Bullbar, Thule Roofracks-Hullavator-JBar
Lifestyle Icon - Independent suspension, DO35 hitch

« Reply #14 on: May 10, 2011, 09:56:26 PM »
Gday Stephen and welcome to Myswag, and to another Melbournian  :cheers:

Sounds like you have plenty planned. We are pretty lucky down here. So many beautiful place to Visit especially with the Vic High Country at our doorstep  :cup:

Look forward to reading about your travels mate, you will find this forum very addictive  :cheers:

Cheers Bd

« Reply #15 on: May 10, 2011, 09:59:52 PM »
Hi Steve
hope you enjoy this great site
cheers sheeds

« Reply #16 on: May 10, 2011, 10:38:39 PM »
So who did you go with for the trailer?

Offline POD

• Just get out there!
« Reply #17 on: May 10, 2011, 10:43:52 PM »
QUICK! DELETE YOUR ACCOUNT AND GET OUT WHILST YOU'RE STILL SANE AND HAVE A BIT OF MONEY LEFT!!  ;D
"Never trust an internet quote." - Thomas Jefferson

Offline stepheng

« Reply #18 on: May 11, 2011, 10:10:17 AM »
Thanks everyone for the warm welcome...after all the advice from people, I have spoken to a trailer manufacturer and they will build me an off road trailer for about $3k. I will be ordering it this Sat and will take three weeks to build. Just enough time to get the other things done.

Re no money - ah well, at least it will be fun. Will now have to save up or sell the house so I can get one of those kick arse trailers - Adventrure or Camprites..plenty of time.

« Reply #19 on: May 11, 2011, 11:41:10 AM »
Thanks everyone for the warm welcome...after all the advice from people, I have spoken to a trailer manufacturer and they will build me an off road trailer for about $3k
Which company?

Offline flamingo

« Reply #20 on: May 11, 2011, 03:51:35 PM »
  Welcome Stephen.. We need more Victorians here !!  Phil  :cheers:
Go Tigers!
2005 Navara
2011 Jayco Flamingo

Offline cruza driver

• ''Custom User Title''
« Reply #21 on: May 11, 2011, 04:00:57 PM »
G'day mate and welcome
2012 MAZDA BT50 GT AND 2010 OUTBACK EXPANDA

« Reply #22 on: May 12, 2011, 03:21:02 PM »
Hi and welcome to My Swag Happy Trails

Offline ralphedward

« Reply #23 on: May 14, 2011, 08:29:25 PM »
Welcome mate,

Envy is what I feel with respect to your plans.  I've got the trailer just haven't got the time.  Just get what you have together then get out and trial it.  I've found that whilst there is an infinite amount of wisdom on this site the biggest lessons come from actually doing the trips and seeing what works for you.  Good to see another Mexican on board, plenty of trips arranged down here in VIC.

SWMBO made me do it (whatever it was I did)!
VW Amarok & 'Cooper' the Tambo.

« Reply #24 on: May 15, 2011, 09:19:34 AM »
Welcome to MySwag  With your new CT in the driveway quietly whispering to you , Things to do , Places to go , Swaggers to meet & Beers to droink . Ohhhhh lets do that  !  8) 8)