Author Topic: Victorian Kelly Country Camp - November 2-6 (Cup Weekend)  (Read 148542 times)

Offline Bigsteve

Re: Victorian Kelly Country Camp - November 2-6 (Cup Weekend)
« Reply #50 on: March 04, 2012, 04:56:11 PM »
My first post, and what a way to start and meet up with some like minded campers. Count us in, CT, 2 adults 2 kids.

Looking forward to putting some faces to the posts I've been following the last few months.

« Reply #51 on: March 04, 2012, 05:05:00 PM »
Welcome BigSteve,

Very impressive first post I reckon ;D

Al.

Offline Marjen4WD

« Reply #52 on: March 05, 2012, 03:51:07 PM »
 :4x4: Sounds like a great fun few days, look forward to November
Marion & Jen

« Reply #53 on: March 05, 2012, 03:53:28 PM »
dam its awhile to wait for this one.. I'm def down for it though and looking forward to it  :cheers:
add me plus one tin lid to the list Mace  :cheers:
and another tin lid and the better half as a maybe just to be safe ;D

« Reply #54 on: March 05, 2012, 05:25:23 PM »
No worries Pacs,

Look forward to meeting you and catching up with Marion & Jen again.

Recreation Reserve Committee has us booked in.  Ive told them we will need a good supply of firewood.

Offline flamingo

« Reply #55 on: March 06, 2012, 06:50:27 PM »
Gday Al, Put me on the list at this stage i cant see no reason not to be there!  PS you will remind us as it gets closer wont you??  :cheers: Phil
Go Tigers!
2005 Navara
2011 Jayco Flamingo

« Reply #56 on: March 06, 2012, 07:05:04 PM »
No Worries Phil, Will do.

I had planned to let the thread die down a bit and do a bit of preparatory work (like put together a guide and mud maps  for participants) over winter.

No doubt itll keep bouncing back up tho!

Offline outback jack

« Reply #57 on: March 06, 2012, 07:18:44 PM »
hey mace, plenty of interest in this one mate  :cheers:

i better get on the blower to the "big fella" so he's a starter  :cheers:

maybe even invite speewa, as long as he stays off the piss  :cheers:

« Reply #58 on: March 06, 2012, 08:35:34 PM »
Put us down as a ? too.

Silvo, Mrs Silvo, Little Miss Silvo and an unknown sex little Silvo will be attending.

Offline Laith

• Campers are like girlfriends... I like to check out everyone else's
« Reply #59 on: March 06, 2012, 09:06:18 PM »
Put us down as possibles for this one please.

Will have to wait till I'm a bit closer to see if it can happen.

Offline kiwimark

« Reply #60 on: March 11, 2012, 12:03:14 PM »
Sounds like a great weekend away. It has my interest so I will have to get my partner to make sure that she is off that weekend. We will be watching for further info.

Offline shell and shane

« Reply #61 on: March 11, 2012, 01:44:47 PM »
Hi just wondering how we put our name down for this weekend away thanks sounds great there would be 2 adults and two kids

« Reply #62 on: March 11, 2012, 05:50:47 PM »
Done and Done.

:cheers: Al.

« Reply #63 on: March 11, 2012, 06:29:31 PM »
How HUGE is this gunna be??............. :cup:

« Reply #64 on: March 11, 2012, 09:39:31 PM »
How HUGE is this gunna be??............. :cup:

This is a good question, one that has been raised in several  PM's to me.

When I first thought about organising this weekend, I reckoned that 30 vehicles would be a good number. Well, here we are, 7 months out, and we are nearly at that total, although some are (?).

As I have said in reply to PM's, the reserve can easily cater for 50 or 60 ct's.  The annual Tolmie Sports, held in February each year (126th this year) attracts between 1200 and 1500 people with ease.

What does become an issue for me tho, is making sure everyone gets a great experience out of the weekend.  Some may wish to just come and prop, talk to fellow swaggers around the camp and do the local kelly tour.  Others may want to do something each day. 

Its getting to the point where it may be better if we run, say for instance, two groups over two days around the kelly sites.  The group not seeing these sites on the day concerned would go for a 4wd tour to some of the other  sites mentioned.

Big numbers do change the experience tho, especially at night, where it becomes more difficult to experience the group campfire.

I am loathe to put a limit on numbers, so, at the moment, Ill let things  run their natural course numbers wise until we get to 40.  Once at 40, we'll put up a reserve list.  The complete list will be revisited in late July/August when people will be asked to comfirm their ability to attend and indicate numbers.

Also,  if there are a few swaggers out there who reckon that they will be attending, know the general area,  and are willing to to  become day trip leaders for a  day (and then do the kelly sites tour themselves on an alternate day) give me a PM. If we get a few fellow swaggers who can do this, I can then concentrate on guiding 2 kelly tour days instead of one if need be.

Ive started working on the "self guided" itinerary and infomation booklet for the weekend, but it will be a while away yet!

Thanx to all posting up so far, especially the newcomers.

:cheers:  Al.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2012, 10:37:26 AM by Mace »

Offline Dennis_G

« Reply #65 on: March 12, 2012, 07:37:40 AM »
G'day Fellow Swaggers, I missed out on the last High Country Trip, I wont miss out on this ONE. Please put me down, self, SWSID (she who stays indoors) & son. Dennis_G

« Reply #66 on: March 12, 2012, 08:26:13 AM »
The level of interest is fantastic, and rightly so. These events are always fun, meeting new folks, going to new places and being shown around by locals who know the good spots.

As always, there will be a number who express their interest but are unable to make it at the time. The important thing is to have enough firewood to maintain a couple of huge fires so that we don't end up with a single circle of chairs that resembles the Large Hadron Collider.  8)

Offline flanders

« Reply #67 on: March 12, 2012, 02:24:01 PM »
G'day Mace, we are new to my swag and CT'ing and would love to come along and meet some fellow campers.  Please put us down if there's enough room!  (2 Adults, 2 kids)
Land Rover Disco MY12 HSE 3.0L & Waiting on Expanda 17.56-1

Offline arel

« Reply #68 on: March 13, 2012, 02:21:44 PM »
could you put me down. Went on High Country outing a few weeks ago. First time on Myswag outing, great trip,great bunch of people. will bring my wife instead of my mate this time.

Offline outback jack

« Reply #69 on: March 13, 2012, 07:26:12 PM »
could you put me down. Went on High Country outing a few weeks ago. First time on Myswag outing, great trip,great bunch of people. will bring my wife instead of my mate this time.

Yeah rod, leave jacko at home  ;D  :cheers:

Offline gonfishen

« Reply #70 on: March 14, 2012, 05:22:28 PM »
Please put me down as going, it sounds like a great family long weekend.
There is no problem that cannot be solved by the use of high explosives.

« Reply #71 on: March 14, 2012, 05:39:06 PM »
Please put me down as going, it sounds like a great family long weekend.

Done, list now updated - see first post.

From your tag line, do you like black powder?  Kelly history is littered with black powder weapons. Im currently trying to arrange for those attending to get 2 see some on this weekend.

« Last Edit: March 14, 2012, 05:40:49 PM by Mace »

Offline Fivid

« Reply #72 on: March 14, 2012, 05:55:50 PM »
Hi Al,

you can take the question mark away from beside our name. 

http://www.trailtrack4x4.com/

Offline gonfishen

« Reply #73 on: March 14, 2012, 06:43:01 PM »
Done, list now updated - see first post.

From your tag line, do you like black powder?  Kelly history is littered with black powder weapons. Im currently trying to arrange for those attending to get 2 see some on this weekend.

Providing there is a flash and a bang i dont care what makes it, it looks like it could be a fun weekend]
There is no problem that cannot be solved by the use of high explosives.

Offline disco95

« Reply #74 on: March 16, 2012, 06:28:19 PM »
Mace, count me in, well some has look after swannie ob. Looking forward to meet you all.

95 Discovery, 90 Rangie, 2010 Territory, Roma Sov'reign CV and  a swag.