Author Topic: Jayco outback swan vs trak shak  (Read 10945 times)

Offline Garnsy

• Learning the Ropes
Jayco outback swan vs trak shak
« on: March 03, 2013, 06:42:00 PM »
Hi all

This is my first time on a forum. After some advice. My fiancé an I have decided we are going to take off around Australia in jan next year for 12 months. I'm trying to decide what camper to get. I have a 08 Hilux wich I have fully set up ready to go now for the camper.

We will have a 8yo for some of the time a nearly 3yo and a 8 month old( so 3 kids) I am tossing up between the jayco swan for comfort and a trak shak so we're not restricted to where we want to go.

I'm a bit concerned about the quality and toughness of the jayco. Will it last the distance with some off the more off road stuff or will it restrict me to just mild off road stuff?

My concern is how long it will take to set up the trak shak. Is it something that will just get annoying after 12 months or so of travel with 3 young kids.

Would love to hear some input.

Cheers

05 100 series landcruiser
03 Trak Shak

Offline dazzler

• Hard Top Camper User
  • Power Power Power
Re: Jayco outback swan vs trak shak
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2013, 06:49:33 PM »
I would go with the outback swan.  We toured the east coast of oz with an on road model with a similar configeration of kids.

Our 8mo slept on a mattress that we cut to fit between the two seats where the table is.  The other two on the smaller of the two end beds.

Really worked great. 
My alternative to cheap import trailers;

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=36094.msg578367#msg578367

Offline Heiny

• "All who wander are not lost"
  • Hard Top Camper User
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2013, 06:59:26 PM »
Hi Garnsy and welcome to My Swag

IMO the Trak Shak is a tougher CT and will be less restrictive in regards to where you can go. We have used one and they dont take very long at all to set up and pack away, plenty of storage too.

:cheers: Brett