Author Topic: new swan owner  (Read 4268 times)

Offline mcmullenstrimming

new swan owner
« on: April 17, 2012, 12:35:22 AM »
Hi everyone
From esperance down south of wa, heading over to melbourne to pick up my new 2012 swan outback next month, so excited:) got a final price on a contract from perth, was not far off signing on the line. Not to many extras, just the flys, bagged annexe, free electric brakes and a weber q thrown in. As I said was happy with this until I came accross the same thing in melbourne with aircon, fiamma awning roof, 2 batteries and the pull out outside bbq. The finance had fell through for a couple who special ordered it so they priced it for me $2000 cheaper than perthI just have to pay $460 for them to install electric brakes, so very happy with this deal. The dealer has told me not to worry bout the anderson plug because its pointless as the 7 pin plug and cetec system will do the job in running and chrging, I know nothing bout this and would love advice on this and any other things I should get aftermarket or do when I pick up van. This was a spur of the moment decision so didnt research to much before buying but from most things ive read I think ive made a good decision,i just love the steup for a young family

Offline 99disco

new swan owner
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2012, 12:56:08 AM »
Congrats on the new camper mate. I am sure that all jaycos have electric brakes as standard now, is the $460 to have the controller fitted to your car. If it is you can have it done for a whole lot less than that I have just fitted takonsha prodigy controllers to both my folks cars they were $130 delivered off eBay including all wiring. As for the Anderson plug I would definently fit one with the biggest cable you can afford all the way from your car battery to the caravan batteries and back. This will avoid volt drop and help the swan batteries charge a lot faster and to a higher state of charge.

Shane

Re: new swan owner
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2012, 05:31:00 AM »
G'day mate and welcome.
Congrats on the new camper.Fun times ahead. ;D
As Shane said,definently fit an anderson plug too.

Offline downsouth

« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2012, 07:43:28 AM »
Gday Mate and welcome
Congrats on the camper

« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2012, 08:21:11 AM »
G'day mcmullenstrimming,

Well done on your purchase, let the mods begin  ;D
Swing on by the What model Jayco do you own? thread and tick another one up for the Swan  ;D
We love our old 87 model.

« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2012, 09:19:54 AM »
To My Swag  Sounds like you got a bargain with the Swan  :cheers:

« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2012, 10:39:38 AM »
Congrats mate, I'm picking my swan OB up on Friday... Similarily  optioned as yours.
Might have to celebrate a birthday event for them :)
« Last Edit: April 17, 2012, 08:41:57 PM by swannie OB »

« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2012, 01:05:24 PM »
welcome to myswag mcmullen & family

« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2012, 05:12:08 PM »
welcome mate, must be worth it to go to melbourne to pick it up.... not for me though....

Offline Janbo

• Jayco Eagle - Jeep Cherokee KK
« Reply #9 on: April 17, 2012, 06:37:25 PM »
Congratulations, I hope you enjoy!! :cup:
We are all in the gutter....... But some of us are looking at the stars!!

« Reply #10 on: April 17, 2012, 08:20:59 PM »
  Congratulation mate :cheers:

So which dealer you getting it from?

Offline Sicilianmama

« Reply #11 on: April 19, 2012, 11:21:37 PM »
Welcome to myswag & congrats on the swan! We just got ours a month or so ago & love it! We got the external shower & HWS & although we have only used it once so far it was great! So convenient to have your own shower :)  haven't got the tv yet though, still tossing up whether to get one.
2007 Holden Rodeo with 2012 Jayco Swan Outback :)

Offline akp22

• Three kids, two adults and a Swan
« Reply #12 on: April 25, 2012, 06:39:42 PM »
Welcome! Sounds like you scored yourself a great deal. :)

We just bought an '09 Swan OB and have only had it a week but are already in love with it. Can't wait to take it out bush! As for the TV, we bought a 26" Samsung LCD and it fits perfectly with about a 1.5cm gap between the TV and the ceiling. Enjoy your Swan (and the forum)!
Keith & Amanda - First time CT owners!
'04 Toyota LandCruiser Wagon GXL & '09 Jayco Swan OB

« Reply #13 on: April 29, 2012, 09:34:07 AM »
Hi mcmullenstrimming and welcome to My swag

Offline DX grunt

« Reply #14 on: July 29, 2012, 11:10:24 AM »
G'day and welcome to another Sandgroper.

Take care out there.

Rossco
Nissan Patrol ute - ex Telstra - pod has heaps of 'glamping equipment', but not enough to be overloaded.

Offline Wodewick

• under The Milky Way.
« Reply #15 on: July 29, 2012, 12:16:48 PM »
Would have been a great shakedown trip crossing the Nullabor :D. All the best with the Swan. We have a Dove OB and are more than happy with it.   Rod
2007 Holden Captiva.  2008 Dove Outback.

« Reply #16 on: August 03, 2012, 10:32:36 AM »

It's a shame you're in the west, I reckon we could use an in-house trimmer over here, I know my 100 series drivers seat needs some love. On the other hand, it's fantastic you're in the west, there are so many members over there.

Congrats on the Jayco. As with others I'd recommend you fit another plug for charging, if not an Anderson plug then at least a 12 pin style. Is the Ctek a Dc-DC charger or simply a 240V unit?