Author Topic: Chickens at home  (Read 68415 times)

Re: Chickens at home
« Reply #125 on: April 06, 2017, 06:36:51 PM »
I have had

Colonel
Kebab
Chip

Maybe thats the problem, next one i might call Gertrude😀

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

« Reply #126 on: April 06, 2017, 08:29:52 PM »
Not having a good run with our chooks. The only one that was laying decided to have a long rest and it was a really friendly chook.

We now have one Isa Brown and a couple of marems

One of the marems is huge. Might have to grab a couple more Isas to equal out the pecking order

Is that the one on the right at the back? It looks very roosterish...  ;D

Actually, we have a hen that looks more like a rooster than a hen. It has a larger comb, prominent tail feathers, and spurs on it's legs, but it lays eggs and doesn't crow... weird looking thing..
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

ScarpsD40

Chickens at home
« Reply #127 on: April 06, 2017, 08:59:52 PM »
GG went to a local bar the other night, sat next to a woman, and ordered a glass of champagne. The woman perks up and says, "How about that? I just ordered a glass of champagne, too! "
"What a coincidence," GG said, "This is a special day for me, I'm celebrating."
"This is a special day for me, too, and I'm also celebrating!," says the woman.
"What a coincidence," says GG. As they clinked glasses GG asked, "What are you celebrating?"
The lady says "My husband and I have been trying to have a child, and today my gynaecologist told me I'm pregnant!"
"What a coincidence," says the GG. "I'm a chicken farmer. For years all my hens were infertile, but today they're finally laying fertilized eggs."
"That's great!" says the woman, "How did your chickens become fertile?"
"I switched cocks," GG replied.
She smiled and said, "What a coincidence!":)
The following users thanked this post: Troopy_03

« Reply #128 on: May 23, 2017, 08:03:47 AM »
New chook house to take the local foxes out of play

« Reply #129 on: May 23, 2017, 10:01:50 AM »
You did put in mesh under the walls?

« Reply #130 on: May 23, 2017, 10:33:01 AM »
You did put in mesh under the walls?

Sure did, trenched down in front of walls and mesh extends down. Any small off cuts thrown in bottom of trench and then backfilled. Should do the trick

« Reply #131 on: May 23, 2017, 10:56:20 AM »
Top stuff.
Foxes don't mind digging.
Some even put a mesh floor in below dirt level for that very reason.

« Reply #132 on: May 23, 2017, 12:10:33 PM »
I missed this thread, we have chooks. I dont get too involved in them except for eating the eggs and building the chook house so I cant tell you anything about them  ;D They lay big eggs though.

The following users thanked this post: Troopy_03

« Reply #133 on: May 23, 2017, 03:56:55 PM »

Awesome job there mate, did you use an architect to design it?  :cup:

There's going to be a bit of a shake-up in our chook pen, of 8 chooks and a duck. The youngest would be at least 5 years old, and none are laying any more...
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #134 on: May 23, 2017, 08:04:14 PM »
My 12 chooks are laying about 4-5 eggs per day ATM. Time to hang the hatchet hove the door to remind them who is in charge.

« Reply #135 on: May 23, 2017, 08:14:10 PM »
Poor chookchook, not nice Muzza.
But then Roast Chicken is still yummo.

« Reply #136 on: May 23, 2017, 08:16:54 PM »

Love it GG... :cup: :cup:

If a job is worth doing, it's worth over-doing..... ;D ;D

« Reply #137 on: June 09, 2017, 07:26:21 PM »
So we now have 8 in residence. A fair mix to see what results we get. No eggs of yet but they are only just coming on the lay and the cooler weather does not help.

Still might do a few more additions and extras to the chook shed.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Offline Fathom

« Reply #138 on: June 10, 2017, 05:54:04 AM »
Anyone on Brisbane Northside want a free Rooster.
We had two hatch.. can't keep two.
Hand raised. Friendly.
He's a bit bigger since that pic got some nice green in his tail feathers.
He's about 6 months old now.
Free to anyone that doesn't want to cook him.

Always give 100%... Unless you are giving blood.. then it may not go so well...

« Reply #139 on: June 10, 2017, 06:25:57 AM »
Still might do a few more additions and extras to the chook shed.

Where will it end?...It's already 5 star... :cup:

« Reply #140 on: June 10, 2017, 07:47:01 AM »
Love it GG... :cup: :cup:

If a job is worth doing, it's worth over-doing..... ;D ;D

If GG ever gets rid of his hens he can use the framework of the chook shed to lift truck engines or hold up a second story on a house ;D

« Reply #141 on: August 04, 2017, 06:59:04 PM »
If GG ever gets rid of his hens he can use the framework of the chook shed to lift truck engines or hold up a second story on a house ;D

Now there's a thought, maybe a second storey lookout for the chooks.

We have some action on the lay at the moment. Two are now laying daily which leaves 6 to get in on the act. No fox action at all but there was one flat pancake one on the road out the front a week or so ago.

« Reply #142 on: August 24, 2017, 10:27:44 AM »
this is a good use for a dak dak

Offline PWE

« Reply #143 on: August 25, 2017, 11:55:29 AM »
I have four years of these panels for free

https://www.bunnings.com.au/whites-1800-x-900mm-framed-panel_p3321125

Cost bract me if interested
Change is good, so smile and enjoy life!
Landcruiser 76 tourer

« Reply #144 on: August 27, 2017, 08:14:12 AM »
Chickens are on the lay. Getting 6 a day at the moment. Anyone want some eggs

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

« Reply #145 on: August 27, 2017, 08:16:17 AM »
Chickens are on the lay. Getting 6 a day at the moment. Anyone want some eggs

Yes please!! Can you post, or are they pick-up only?

« Reply #146 on: October 01, 2017, 11:18:16 AM »
I had the wife's parents over from  Brazil for a few months recently and the father in law wanted to help with some construction around the place. So we (he) knocked up a nice little coop out of recycled/repurposed materials.
There was a decent sized stump to be removed at the back corner and a bit of cut and fill required, so I did majority of the digging and lifting.
But the retired accountant from a city of 30 million people did a mighty fine job with the rest of it.

He really enjoyed this little project and deserves to be proud of the results.

We picked up the chicks yesterday, we got a bit of a mix.
3 Isa Browns and 3 different Heritage breeds.

This one's going to be a nice looking bird....

Chickens at home
« Reply #147 on: October 01, 2017, 11:20:50 AM »
Sorry for all the posts, Tapatalk was playing games with me...
« Last Edit: October 01, 2017, 05:31:05 PM by Pete79 »

Chickens at home
« Reply #148 on: October 01, 2017, 11:24:44 AM »
« Last Edit: October 01, 2017, 05:31:37 PM by Pete79 »

Chickens at home
« Reply #149 on: October 01, 2017, 11:33:07 AM »
« Last Edit: October 01, 2017, 05:32:10 PM by Pete79 »