Author Topic: What's making News - 2023  (Read 49069 times)

Re: What's making News - 2023
« Reply #50 on: February 02, 2023, 07:25:47 AM »

More than 25million Australians have a MyGov account,

Hang about as the population of Oz was 25.5million as of June last year so what's the deal with a MyGov account?

Which when you think about it means the Gummint already have all our names and numbers in the one place ready and waiting for each of us to log onto and match up with our central data file. Either that or there's an awful lot of aliases on MyGov just like there are email addresses.

Well, MyGov has been running for ~20 years, so if, in that time, you've done anything with Govt e.g. lodged a tax return, used HECS for Uni, had any dealings with CentreLink (Youth Allowance / Newstart through to Age Pension), or been born!, then you're in the system!

It would surprise me if there are .5 million people NOT on it ???

« Reply #51 on: February 02, 2023, 01:41:42 PM »

« Reply #52 on: February 02, 2023, 05:43:07 PM »
I think the article pointed out what they want all in one place in future-

What changes have been recommended for MyGov?
* Access to more government services

* Registration of births and deaths

* Helping people respond to disasters

* Access to drivers licence, Medicare card, senior card and occupational licence

* Access to the census

* Allow users to enrol to vote

* Allow users to renew their passport

And as we've seen the bigger the database the harder they fall-
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-11-28/cyber-black-market-shows-medibank-optus-hack-just-the-surface/101700974
https://www.news.com.au/technology/online/hacking/mygov-scam-texts-circulating-requesting-personal-details/news-story/0bac8b35d51dc775b653644e5f6b6c26
It already is..
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #53 on: February 03, 2023, 06:30:13 AM »
You'd hate to be in building industry at moment... even worse waitign for project to finish
https://www.news.com.au/finance/business/other-industries/victorian-construction-company-delco-building-group-collapses-owing-780k/news-story/108a233fe012a6b4d23b8982acdfcf5d

Its still ok, just need to ride out the storm at the moment and if you have not set up for it you will end up like above

Offline NZMarkb

« Reply #54 on: February 03, 2023, 06:45:41 AM »
Its still ok, just need to ride out the storm at the moment and if you have not set up for it you will end up like above

Totally agree mate, this isn't our first rodeo and unfortunately won't be our last
I must be getting old but it comes as no surprise and isn't as scary  :cheers:
If your not prepaired to stand behind our troops
Then feel free to stand in front of them

« Reply #55 on: February 03, 2023, 10:30:29 PM »
Seems we fourby owners should be subsidising the Tesla owners- https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/other/tradie-utes-may-be-targeted-by-additional-taxation/ar-AA174la1
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #56 on: February 06, 2023, 12:07:52 PM »
They drive and float among us-
https://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/nba/angler-mistakes-rod-holder-for-boat-s-fuel-tank-expensive-mistake/ar-AA178oQ6
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #57 on: February 07, 2023, 08:43:30 AM »

« Reply #58 on: February 07, 2023, 10:01:54 AM »

Offline DandyD

« Reply #59 on: February 07, 2023, 11:27:54 AM »
https://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/nba/angler-mistakes-rod-holder-for-boat-s-fuel-tank-expensive-mistake/ar-AA178oQ6

He isn’t the first. I saw the same thing on one of the reality cop shows. Sydney Harbour Patrol or some such.

It was a lad who had borrowed his dad’s boat and filled the bilges with petrol.

« Reply #60 on: February 07, 2023, 11:39:12 AM »
He isn’t the first. I saw the same thing on one of the reality cop shows. Sydney Harbour Patrol or some such.

It was a lad who had borrowed his dad’s boat and filled the bilges with petrol.

One of our guys filled the hydraulic tank with Diesel the other day, expensive mistake that happens to often

« Reply #61 on: February 07, 2023, 01:54:25 PM »
Should have tried with a diesel motor and long sealed snorkel
like the guy tht wanted to drive to tassie in that VW years back... lol

Offline dogbox

« Reply #62 on: February 07, 2023, 03:07:35 PM »

had it happen to self. pulled into servo crew being very excited about catching his first marlin shoved fuel nosel striaght into rod holder, end result was a lot of fuel wasted and most of the Styrofoam floatation under floor melting, boy is that stuff hard to clean up. 

« Reply #63 on: February 07, 2023, 04:53:13 PM »
Sad story all round, I do not condone sexual abuse in any way shape or form but I am also confounded by why it takes 40 or 50 plus years to be brought to light.
https://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/afl-legend-barry-cable-sued-over-sexual-abuse-allegations/news-story/6a7239981ccb04c84dc7a741262d3542

« Reply #64 on: February 07, 2023, 06:56:08 PM »
Sad story all round, I do not condone sexual abuse in any way shape or form but I am also confounded by why it takes 40 or 50 plus years to be brought to light.
https://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/afl-legend-barry-cable-sued-over-sexual-abuse-allegations/news-story/6a7239981ccb04c84dc7a741262d3542

A bit to be said for a statute of limitations

The following users thanked this post: davey s

« Reply #65 on: February 08, 2023, 08:52:06 AM »

« Reply #66 on: February 13, 2023, 03:15:03 PM »

The following users thanked this post: Titfish

« Reply #67 on: February 15, 2023, 11:38:25 PM »
You learn something new every day 
https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/other/what-an-extraordinary-world-we-live-in-david-anderson-agrees-only-women-can-be-pregnant/ar-AA17vn59

Offline NZMarkb

« Reply #68 on: February 16, 2023, 04:24:27 AM »
You learn something new every day 
https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/other/what-an-extraordinary-world-we-live-in-david-anderson-agrees-only-women-can-be-pregnant/ar-AA17vn59

So then if you are a Man then you can not be a Woman

If your not prepaired to stand behind our troops
Then feel free to stand in front of them

Offline DandyD

« Reply #69 on: February 16, 2023, 08:45:50 AM »
 :-[

Raquel Welch has died at the age of 82 following a brief illness

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-11755433/Raquel-Welch-dead-82-Actress-dies-brief-illness.html

In her prime…

« Reply #70 on: February 16, 2023, 10:03:06 AM »
Ash Wednesday 40 years ago. Our CFA siren will sound at 3.24pm to mark the first sighting of the devastating fire in Birdsland reserve.

« Reply #71 on: February 16, 2023, 12:33:46 PM »
Quote from: Bad Scott
Ash Wednesday 40 years ago. Our CFA siren will sound at 3.24pm to mark the first sighting of the devastating fire in Birdsland reserve.
and its a nasty day out there... and worse tomorrow 39 :(
https://www.emergency.vic.gov.au/

« Reply #73 on: February 18, 2023, 09:05:05 AM »
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2023-02-17/bogged-4wds-abandoned-in-national-park-cause-50000-of-damage/101986774

& yes, it's probably young people having "fun", but then we wonder why people hate 4wders, & why we aren't allowed into more & more places ??? :'( >:(

« Reply #74 on: February 18, 2023, 11:19:31 AM »
Just shaking my head at that. :(
You're right Fizzie, this is the reason areas get locked up.

You don't use magic to disappear, ya use a 4x4 & Swag.