General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Craig Tomkinson on February 26, 2022, 08:30:34 AM

Title: Raining
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on February 26, 2022, 08:30:34 AM
Hi all, We have had nearly 1200mm in four days in the Noosa and Gympie areas, Craig
Title: Re: Raining
Post by: GBC on February 26, 2022, 11:16:12 AM
You guys are copping it. Just looking at the pics of crystal waters at Connondale slipping beneath the water. Right in the same places as a few weeks ago too.
Post by: Foo on February 26, 2022, 04:16:53 PM
We've had about 400mm in a day here, at Sandstone Point.  :o Had over 200mm between 9am and midday today. :o

Post by: Craig Tomkinson on February 26, 2022, 04:36:32 PM
Hi gents, yes lots of rain around hey,  looks like Gympie could get its second biggest flood sense records stated in 1870, Craig
Post by: Bird on February 26, 2022, 05:31:04 PM
We've had about 400mm in a day here, at Sandstone Point.  :o Had over 200mm between 9am and midday today. :o

sunny n windy here... for a change....
Post by: sharkcaver on February 27, 2022, 12:29:52 AM
Hi all, We have had nearly 1200mm in four days and still raining just a normal wet season in Noosa shire, Craig

Jeesus, 1200mm. Lucky my pa is up high in Noosa. Might have to get him to watch for landslides instead.
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on February 27, 2022, 10:54:05 AM
Hi Shane, Yes bit getting around, its happened before will happen again,  Most water goes Gympie way, but yes Noosa river is having a good flood as well, What is PA your grandad or dad, is up a bit be fine, Craig
Post by: Fox67 on February 27, 2022, 03:01:54 PM
Finally stopped raining this morning for a few hours so standing water started to disappear. Didn’t last long, bucketing down again. I’d have to think we have had at least 600mm since Tuesday, our 100ml rain gauge overflowing every morning. I live up near Mapleton so well and truly above sea level but we have had localised flooding up here, it goes down as quick as it comes up though.
Post by: sharkcaver on February 27, 2022, 06:50:52 PM
Hi Shane, Yes bit getting around, its happened before will happen again,  Most water goes Gympie way, but yes Noosa river is having a good flood as well, What is PA your grandad or dad, is up a bit be fine, Craig

Yeah, my dad. Disregard my last, he is 500Km north of you guys, my bad.
Post by: Hairs on February 27, 2022, 07:22:58 PM
Finally stopped raining this morning for a few hours so standing water started to disappear. Didn’t last long, bucketing down again. I’d have to think we have had at least 600mm since Tuesday, our 100ml rain gauge overflowing every morning. I live up near Mapleton so well and truly above sea level but we have had localised flooding up here, it goes down as quick as it comes up though.
Last year, bought one like this,
250mm, the inner collector is about 25mm marked, maybe 25.5 full.
Overflows into the main collector.
I think about 35 to 40 bucks.
I record every morning(when home) at 6am.
Use an app to record the rain fall.

We are in flood, our river, The Clarence and it's contributories has received and still more rain fall, more than we have here(about 200mm).
The northern rivers, south east QLD has copped a pizzling,  some places for than others.
As much as APITA it is, it's part of life living on a river system.
:)
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220227/93be424594ac9fd8dcaa91f5e9a92dea.jpg)
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on February 27, 2022, 08:05:46 PM
Hi gents, My birth town of Gympie broke 120 years record with the flood pecking at 22,91m I think, I had one of them for years Hairs but got brital and broke, Craig
Post by: NiftyNev on February 27, 2022, 08:23:59 PM
I have had a submersible pump in the downstairs shower for days trying to stop sewage backflow. It just sh!t itself a little while ago. I am in a highset house so dry upstairs. Downstairs is garage, laundry, shower/toilet and large storage area and a lot of my stuff is sitting in a lake. Will take days to drain when rain stops because of the water coming from higher up the slight slope from parkland to my place.
Post by: Jillsy on February 27, 2022, 09:44:07 PM
Downstairs is garage, laundry, shower/toilet and large storage area and a lot of my stuff is sitting in a lake. Will take days to drain when rain stops because of the water coming from higher up the slight slope from parkland to my place.

Really sorry to hear this Nev  :'(
Post by: NiftyNev on February 27, 2022, 10:02:17 PM
Really sorry to hear this Nev  :'(

Thanks. Been flooded three or four times before here. It's a rental. As for the downstairs shower, who in their right mind would install one that is actually below the back yard ground level. First time this has happened though.
Post by: Hairs on February 28, 2022, 04:54:17 AM
Hi gents, My birth town of Gympie broke 120 years record with the flood pecking at 22,91m I think, I had one of them for years Hairs but got brital and broke, Craig
Grafton is just about to hit 5.4M, which is the Major Flood height, Lismore has exceeded the 74 level and has been evacuated. There is still soo much in the catchments to come down river.
The indicator river levels at Lillydale, The Mann at Jackadgery, The Clarence at Baryulgil are all still rising.

Take care Swaggers.
Post by: GBC on February 28, 2022, 06:21:43 AM
Brissy river major peak this morning. Stanley st closed so can’t get to our job site at Southbank. Boys just rang, our donga at the airport went under which didn’t happen in 2011. I’ll bet that our place and the taxiways flooding (also didn’t happen 2011) will be tied to whoever is doing the bulk earthworks for the racetrack.
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on February 28, 2022, 07:48:24 AM
Yes its just a good old wet season, flushing out the creeks and rivers, and frightening people that built to low, when we shifted from 190m above sea level to Cooroy its was our main thing to be above any flood level then block then house, I was so gland the Marry River never Broke the 1893 level of 25,45m other wise all we get in the local news for years is Climate change rubbish being peddled, the little town I grew up near of Pomona ended up with over 1300mm, stay safe, Craig
Post by: Fizzie on February 28, 2022, 08:16:01 AM
our donga at the airport went under which didn’t happen in 2011. I’ll bet that our place and the taxiways flooding (also didn’t happen 2011) will be tied to whoever is doing the bulk earthworks for the racetrack.

Whereabouts at the airport, GBC?

Son's Aviation College is on Southern side (Boronia Rd) so wondering how that's getting on ???

I know they've all been told to stay home today.
Post by: Foo on February 28, 2022, 08:31:06 AM
Not good for people being affected but this is my take on things from my lifetime of watching things.

I find it mildly amusing all of the blame pointing that is starting again for the floods and saying how the operators of the Dams are at fault again. Here's a thought for the short minded people....... Go have a look at the flood zone maps that were released after the 74 floods and tell me what was stamped on them.  ???
Now answer me this. What happens when you fill in natural water ways and build on these areas? Yeah, that's what I thought, the waters will find it's own natural levels and exits. 😉 ;)Money talks and Governments love money and engineer's and their computer modelling of things are wrong more often than they are right, when it comes to Mother Nature because they can't possibly factor in all variables for what would/will happen. ::)
Wivenhoe Dam was "never" going to stop Brisbane or Ipswich flooding at high levels again, why, because of what comes off the Range between Crows Nest and south of Cunninghams Gap.
People also forget, how quickly Wivenhoe filled when it was completed. The so called experts told the gullible public that it would take 6mths for it to reach the full marker for normal storage, yeah well that didn't come close to being a right prediction, did it!  ::)

Post by: Fizzie on February 28, 2022, 08:36:37 AM
Agree with every word, Foo.

However, one bright thing about it all!

Just looking at this:
https://www.seqwater.com.au/historic-dam-levels#source=490 (https://www.seqwater.com.au/historic-dam-levels#source=490)
nobody will have to worry about water supply for quite some time! ;D
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on March 01, 2022, 02:12:16 PM
Wow Mark, had some water down that way, Any Idea of rain tallys, as once it hit brisbane we here nothing of anywhere else much, had 1550mm near me but thats just what it does here, hiller country water gets away, Craig
Post by: NZMarkb on March 01, 2022, 04:17:20 PM
Part of the Summerland Way from Casino the Grafton.
(https://i.ibb.co/HNBHhXq/Capture.png) (https://ibb.co/q07rJxp)

(https://i.ibb.co/qs4VBMq/Capture.png) (https://imgbb.com/)

That's what you don't see when you drive into flood waters  :'( :'(
Post by: Hairs on March 01, 2022, 04:42:22 PM
That's what you don't see when you drive into flood waters  :'( :'(
Exactly.
Post by: edz on March 02, 2022, 01:51:42 PM
My sister lives at Euengella out the back of Murwillumbah ..Had over 40" of rain as of monday  .. Havent been able to reach her for a day or so as she has no power /phone last I heard . .
Army choppers and rescue crossing overhead atm .
Post by: GBC on March 02, 2022, 02:00:10 PM
Whereabouts at the airport, GBC?

Son's Aviation College is on Southern side (Boronia Rd) so wondering how that's getting on ???

I know they've all been told to stay home today.

Boronia Rd should have been all good. The buildings are built higher than the roads. We are out near the new service centre and the highway where they have buggered up all the drainage heights.
We lost a hilux and a fair bit of construction gear. Got the little Ute going but bets are on for how long it will last. Starter motor is already playing up. We shall prevail however.
Post by: Hairs on March 02, 2022, 03:03:45 PM
WOW,
I finished 4 year of high school at Marist Brothers in 82.
I'm trying to get my head around how much water there was in Lismore.
This picture, Not Mine, just blows my mind. The Cathedral is at a high piont.
Lismore, 47K+ people, their cdb gone, their machinery/auto, work shops, super markets gone, Service Stations gone, dr's surgries , the list goes on.
There are two supermarkets in Goonelabah to service 47k people.
And the h/ways are blocked.
Just to make things worse, the Northern Rivers has more rain predicted.
:((https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220302/8f1e6e0973f3ed3b99e6494e14920169.jpg)
Post by: austastar on March 02, 2022, 03:47:04 PM
   Being near the confluence of 3 rivers doesn't help either.
Cheers(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220302/d3ba47ac545414bcca2381db146c5ee6.jpg)

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Post by: MarkGU on March 02, 2022, 09:59:33 PM
I have asked to moderators to remove my post on the lismore flood photo.
Have you any compassion for the people of this town who have been literally wiped of the map.
The taker of that photo was an emergency worker in that area at the time of the flood.
And all you want to do is argue over it?  >:(

Seriously, no wonder people are leaving this site.  :-\
Post by: edz on March 02, 2022, 10:48:04 PM
With all due respect, I cant see where anyone is  arguing ??
Post by: MarkGU on March 03, 2022, 06:08:04 AM
With all due respect, I cant see where anyone is  arguing ??
That is cause the two posts in question were deleted by admin ( i assume) last night.
With due respect.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 03, 2022, 07:36:36 AM
That is cause the two posts in question were deleted by admin ( i assume) last night.
With due respect.

Ha ha ha.... just hopped on to check any messages.

Who was pissing and moaning this time.?
Post by: Fizzie on March 03, 2022, 07:46:29 AM
Boronia Rd should have been all good.

Yeah, turned out they were fine, with only a very small amount just into their hangar.

& then of course, there's so far this morning, with thunderstorms & more rain ... :'( ::)

I've got a mate at Murwillumbah who's house is OK but he's lost his shop (again!) at South Murwillumbah, with 5' of water through it. The Greenhills Caravan Park near to him would have totally submerged :'(
Post by: Hairs on March 03, 2022, 09:12:52 AM
Maclean residents have been given evacuation orders to higher ground. :(
Engineers have deemed the wall could fail.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220302/312d0591518da0c25ecb758c48086fe8.jpg)
Post by: Bird on March 03, 2022, 09:23:53 AM
Quote from: Hairs
Maclean residents have been given evacuation orders to higher ground. :(
Engineers have deemed the wall could fail.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220302/312d0591518da0c25ecb758c48086fe8.jpg)
farkles... how far from you?
Post by: bmwfreak on March 03, 2022, 09:38:16 AM
The levy, in front of where my mother used to live, is between 1.8-2.0 above River St, so if it’s in jeopardy, all of McLean will look like Lismore 😞
Post by: Hairs on March 03, 2022, 10:22:04 AM
Bird, fortunately we arè high and dry in Lawrence on a hill, 12km away. Cut off in all directions, but safe.
I have friends, customers, business owners that I've known for 30 plus years who are absolutely petrified of what is taking place.
They have seen what people from Brisbane to now sydney are going through and espeacially Lismore, many have family & friends in Lismore,  it scares the hell out of them.
As a first Responder, it is frustrating not being able to help ATM  :(

Just been told the heavy machinery has arrived to help. Councils resources would be stretched atm.
Post by: Hairs on March 03, 2022, 10:23:49 AM
The levy, in front of where my mother used to live, is between 1.8-2.0 above River St, so if it’s in jeopardy, all of McLean will look like Lismore
:(
Yes, it's absolutely a nightmare for many.
Post by: Bird on March 03, 2022, 01:14:03 PM
 :-[ :-[ :-[ **** kick a state when they are down... :(

https://twitter.com/BOM_Qld/status/1499131758511632384 (https://twitter.com/BOM_Qld/status/1499131758511632384)

Queenslanders have been warned to brace for another dramatic deluge with a new round of storms to hit this afternoon.

Residents in Grantham, east of Toowoomba, are being evacuated as a precaution as more wild weather arrives in the region.

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk said the move comes amid “serious concern” for people and homes from Brisbane all the way to Bundaberg.

“Across the entire southeast. I am asking people to think about not being on the roads tomorrow and staying at home,” she said.

“The conditions are going to be unstable for the next 24 to 48 hours.”
Post by: MarkGU on March 03, 2022, 01:50:32 PM
Ha ha ha.... just hopped on to check any messages.

Who was pissing and moaning this time.?
Just people who have no idea of the facts and leapt to their own conclusions.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 03, 2022, 03:11:55 PM
So, just the same Shit on a different day.
Post by: Hairs on March 03, 2022, 05:10:37 PM
Major works to strengthen the Maclean Levee  wall.
Engineers, Council, contractors have busted a gut. I've kept in contact many, and they have informed me of the work undertaken and how it came together.
I might not be on the ground there, but we all keep in contact.
All tho going by some comments in a local FB group, there are always keyboard experts that know better, telling them that they are doing it wrong.

Edit, Just received an update(I'm on their ratepayers contact list).
" UPDATE AS OF 8PM THURSDAY 3 MARCH

What we know…

• An emergency evacuation order is in place for low lying Maclean residents and an evacuation centre is open at Maclean Showground.

• Council sought expert geotechnical advice to determine the best approach to manage the potential slip risk to the levee.

• A team of indoor and outdoor staff, community volunteers and emergency workers implemented emergency remedial works including stripping the grass, placing compacted material outside the levee (1 metre above the levee water level) and monitoring cracks.

•The Clarence River at Grafton (Prince St) is currently steady at 4.52 meters and has reduced to moderate flooding.

•The Clarence River at Ulmarra is currently steady at 4.18 metres, with moderate flooding.

•The Clarence River at Maclean is currently steady at 2.83 metres, with major flooding.

•The Orara River at Glenreagh Automatic Gauge is falling and currently sits at 3.01 metres, which is below minor flooding.

•The Orara River at Coutts Crossing is falling and is currently at 9.53 metres with moderate flooding.

•Flood levels are fallings slowly and will continue to fluctuate with the influence of tides. A full list of live river heights through the Northern Rivers can be found here: http://www.bom.gov.au/cgi-bin/wrap_fwo.pl?IDN60140.html

•Additional rainfall is forecast in the next 24-48 hours which may see renewed rises. The situation is being closely monitored and revised forecasts will be issued where necessary.

•Many local roads remain closed and some will remain closed for a number of days. You can check all road closures here: https://northernrivers.myroadinfo.com.au

•Waste services through the region have been interrupted and will resume as soon as flood waters recede enough to allow safe access. Areas currently delayed include Yamba, Angourie, Wooloweyah, Harwood, Ashby and Ashby Heights, Tullymorgan, Chatsworth Island, Woombah, Iluka and some roads in Nymboida and Kangarood Creek.
• SES are the lead combat team and we have been advised that a food chain strategy is a priority at State level. Logging requests through SES is the fastest and most appropriate way to get food supply assistance and it helps them identify the areas in most need.   You can call NSW SES on 132500.

With on-going emergency activity taking place, please be patient. They will prioritise life threatening situations first.

What we are doing…

•Council crews will continue to work across the region to close roads, remove debris and repair damage as needed. Clean is commencing in areas where water is receding.

•We are monitoring the advice from the Bureau of Meteorology (BOM) along with the influence of high tide and following advice from the SES teams on the ground.

•Residential rubbish: JR Richards’ are monitoring the road situation and will organise a collection to areas they are able to access. As their trucks may otherwise engaged, we have lined up a couple of alternative contractors who can assist when the roads are clear to do so. We are taking self-haul at the landfill and this as an option until such time as we have engaged contractors to collect.  We are waiving fees for flood related residential waste.

•A Flood Disaster Recovery funding is now available. Disaster Relief Grants are available through Resilience NSW. This can cover emergency food, clothing and accommodation, repair or replacement of essential furniture and personal effects, and essential repairs to housing to a habitable condition. To apply for this, phone 13 77 88  and ask for the Disaster Relief Grant administered by Resilience NSW. https://www.service.nsw.gov.au/floods/financial-assistance

•We will continue to provide updated information as we receive it. Please keep an eye on our Facebook page and website https://www.clarence.nsw.gov.au

What we don’t know…

•We are monitoring advice provided by the BOM and will continue to support the SES as required. 

•The clean up ahead is vast. Because the flood has been significantly bigger and water has stayed longer than ever before, we anticipate a lengthy clean up and repair phase.

•We don't know when closed roads will reopen and are working together with the local SES teams to make decisions based on public safety. Some roads will remain closed for a number of days. We cannot reply to individual requests for road information but will update more as news becomes available.

• Some areas are isolated and our officers cannot gain access. This is why we do not have any updates – once we receive information we will provide to the community
•We are aware there are still power outages in some parts of the region. Please contact Essential Energy for updates. They have provided this Flood Factsheet and all contact details are on this. https://www.essentialenergy.com.au/.../Reconnecting-after...

What we want you to do…

•Do not enter flood waters. Unpredictable currents and submerged hazards can be very dangerous.

•Stay away from drains, culverts and water that is more than knee-depth.

•Please avoid all unnecessary travel.

•Motorists are asked to follow all traffic controls and signage including road closures. Council implement measures in the interest of public safety.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220303/9926148536b8ff9569b7edfa0f03c858.jpg)
Post by: Foo on March 03, 2022, 07:23:00 PM
Fork!  :o

Post by: Hairs on March 03, 2022, 07:55:39 PM
Fork!  :o

Like most places along the East coast,
Rain is falling again.
The fires of 2019, Covid, more Covid and now floods have really stretched people.
A lot of people are at a point, where they see no hope, we have to keep moving forward and reach out to others and pick them up and take them with us.
This effort today by this community is being repeated, the stories of people not giving up, makes me stand up even higher and reach out.
Take care Swaggers, right around OZ of yourselves, then you can help others.
Post by: Foo on March 03, 2022, 08:29:32 PM
Yeah, I had a few thing to contend with, in my travels today.

https://youtu.be/9HM3RYWtue8 (https://youtu.be/9HM3RYWtue8)
https://youtu.be/XqgRgFCsFL4 (https://youtu.be/XqgRgFCsFL4)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f535iN01OXQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f535iN01OXQ)
https://youtu.be/U8ZYMDlPqs0 (https://youtu.be/U8ZYMDlPqs0)

Post by: Bird on March 03, 2022, 09:20:04 PM
Yeah, I had a few thing to contend with, in my travels today.

https://youtu.be/9HM3RYWtue8 (https://youtu.be/9HM3RYWtue8)
https://youtu.be/XqgRgFCsFL4 (https://youtu.be/XqgRgFCsFL4)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f535iN01OXQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f535iN01OXQ)
https://youtu.be/U8ZYMDlPqs0 (https://youtu.be/U8ZYMDlPqs0)

love a good lightning show... dont get many round here
Post by: Foo on March 04, 2022, 03:36:52 AM
love a good lightning show... dont get many round here

Yeah I find Mother Nature and her moods very soothing at times.  8)

Post by: Foo on March 04, 2022, 06:19:35 AM
From a friend that knows these blokes.  :'(

https://youtu.be/UQ5BVUn_4PM (https://youtu.be/UQ5BVUn_4PM)

Post by: Hairs on March 04, 2022, 06:33:29 AM
Thanks for sharing Foo.
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on March 04, 2022, 06:47:04 AM
I feel sorry for people and there losses, but in my area people just got to take control of there own lives, When we sold at our last place and went looking at a new place, Did we buy in a pretty town house on the water in a flood area {Hell No} we bought one the highest blokes and house in this area and asked how high it floods came and checked our-self and bought miles higher to make shore. , On Fires, first thing I did is cut all the trees and crap off our 1,8 acre block to fire proof it plus I bought a block with small dam and honda firefighter set up and always leave water in the dam to fight a fire, with a buried poly pipe to taps around the house, On Covid we are not Vaxed my hole fam is not, and in over two years of working and travelling never looked like caching it,  all the people I know that had Covid are vaxed whats that telling you. Wake up people grow a brain stop liven in Harms way, after around 40years of being in our local bush fire brigade and up to 2IC around 5 years in the SES I just got sick of helping stupid people do the same stupid things all the time, stay safe out there people.  Craig
Post by: Bird on March 04, 2022, 09:14:14 AM
Quote from: Craig Tomkinson
I feel sorry for people and there losses, but in my area people just got to take control of there own lives, When we sold at our last place and went looking at a new place

Some people owe Shit loads more than they can sell their places in flood plains for - then cant afford to move... looking in Lismore and others now you'd get 100 acres for $2
Post by: austastar on March 04, 2022, 09:37:09 AM
   Surely councils have hydrology maps and info to guide building?
I looked for 2 years to find a block to build on with no flood risk and minimal fire risk and two roads out and a beach at the bottom of the street.
Nervous Nellie?
Guilty as charged!

Post by: Hairs on March 04, 2022, 09:48:31 AM
Hmm, couple of years ago, a school mate was unemloyed, Shitty old car, living(renting) on Ballina Rd, Lismore.
Flood took her car, washing machine, dryer and stuff.
It broke her heart, she didn't know what to so, a group of us organised for new appliances, a mate helped her get her car going again, took awhile.
Then she landed a job, Nursing home, couple hours a week. She started a nursing course, got work providing homecare.
Two years ago she was able to afford to rent a place in Goonellabah. It has broken her heart to see her old neighbours have lost everything, they have not been able to move.

This is the same for businesses, what do you do if it is impossible for you to relocate, most are just making a wage, not wealthy be any stretch, just doing the best they can.
It's not as simple as, just moving.
Post by: austastar on March 04, 2022, 11:06:31 AM
   You are spot on there. Oh if it was just so simple.
But it isn't, and it will happen again, unfortunately.
It can be done, whole towns have been moved on occasions, Meckering was moved from a fault line, Adaminaby was moved for Lake Eucumbene, Grantham was moved out of a flood prone area so is can (and should) be done more widely.
And stock should have fire and flood exit gates to escape unescorted to safety  preplanned prior to fencing in Ozutopia.

Post by: Craig Tomkinson on March 04, 2022, 11:25:34 AM
Well all I can say is if there to stupid to change and to move it will happen again, Iv seen it happen for years, they shifted the small town of Grantham to well above flood level the only ones that got flooded again were the ones to stupid to move, Craig 
Post by: MarkGU on March 04, 2022, 11:33:18 AM
Well all I can say is if there to stupid to change and to move it will happen again, If seen it happen for years, they shifted the small town of Grantham to well above flood level the only ones that got flooded again were the ones to stupid to move, Craig
Most people interviewed on the news from Lismore all were saying the same thing..........flood insurance was way too expensive.
Then they go and rebuild on the same block only to have this happen again to them.
Seems like common sense to move to flood free and build.
Post by: Steffo1 on March 04, 2022, 11:34:32 AM
Unfortunately, Craig,  the majority of society today, appear to suffer from 'It's Someone Else's Fault' syndrome.
Also, there will always be socio-economic factors to take into account, when it comes to location.

Post by: MarkGU on March 04, 2022, 11:41:38 AM
Unfortunately, Craig,  the majority of society today, appear to suffer from 'It's Someone Else's Fault' syndrome.
Also, there will always be socio-economic factors to take into account, when it comes to location.
if your having problems with a car and you sell it,you dont buy it back knowing it has the same problem do you? just saying.
Post by: Steffo1 on March 04, 2022, 11:48:32 AM
if your having problems with a car and you sell it,you dont buy it back knowing it has the same problem do you? just saying.

C'mon, Mark. I own Land Rovers! Problems?
I know what you're saying, but for some people, there may be few alternatives. Although, if someone can afford to buy their house a couple of times, then one would think that they could afford to relocate, ay?
Post by: Hairs on March 04, 2022, 11:50:51 AM
Just WOW.
Post by: MarkGU on March 04, 2022, 11:53:08 AM
C'mon, Mark. I own Land Rovers! Problems?
I know what you're saying, but for some people, there may be few alternatives. Although, if someone can afford to buy their house a couple of times, then one would think that they could afford to relocate, ay?
are you saying that it is you or the land rover who has the problems  ;D

I reckon most will reevaluate their next home placement after this,or at least we hope they do.

Our heart goes out to all of them just north of us. 
Post by: Steffo1 on March 04, 2022, 01:35:57 PM
Just WOW.

Huh?
Post by: GeoffA on March 04, 2022, 04:46:31 PM
........flood insurance was way too expensive.

There might be a clue there.....

But what can you do if you're not in a position to move?
It's a choice that isn't available to everyone.

Thoughts are with those impacted....

Post by: Pottsy on March 04, 2022, 04:57:47 PM
There might be a clue there.....

But what can you do if you're not in a position to move?
It's a choice that isn't available to everyone.

Thoughts are with those impacted....

That’s right, and for those who try to sell to have the where with all to buy elsewhere is dependent on someone else taking the same risk that they have been taking. It’s a vicious circle.
Post by: Steffo1 on March 04, 2022, 05:27:50 PM
That’s right, and for those who try to sell to have the where with all to buy elsewhere is dependent on someone else taking the same risk that they have been taking. It’s a vicious circle.

Spot on. After the '74 flood, I was involved in the accurate logging of flood levels in the Beenleigh district. Some of the things we witnessed, with people losing everything, broke our hearts, but these same people were prepared to rebuild their lives and residences, knowing full well it could/would happen again.
Even in those days, I remember an old cove saying to me, "Whose going to buy this mud puddle off me?"

Another thing I came across was a real estate agent bullShitting to us, when my boss asked him as to where the high water mark came to. What a scumbag!
Post by: GeoffA on March 04, 2022, 05:48:32 PM
Another thing I came across was a real estate agent bullShitting to us......

Really??
Post by: MarkGU on March 04, 2022, 06:34:40 PM
After 3 days ( and some late nights) of sandbagging, the attention now turns to the clean up.

Was in at our local rowing shed today, cleaning up after 1.5 mtrs of flood water inundated the place.
Some very expensive rowing craft were damaged and alot of mud and silt had to be shoveled, scraped & hosed out.
Like to thank all ours and other's kids who helped & pitched in.
Pressure washed the walls,boats and just about anything else inside the shed today.............now time for something cold and alcoholic to partake in.
Sleep & back at it again tomorrow  ;D
Post by: Troopy_03 on March 04, 2022, 06:43:41 PM
Spot on. After the '74 flood, I was involved in the accurate logging of flood levels in the Beenleigh district. Some of the things we witnessed, with people losing everything, broke our hearts, but these same people were prepared to rebuild their lives and residences, knowing full well it could/would happen again.
Even in those days, I remember an old cove saying to me, "Whose going to buy this mud puddle off me?"

Another thing I came across was a real estate agent bullShitting to us, when my boss asked him as to where the high water mark came to. What a scumbag!

I remember that flood in'74. Ex girfriends home was affected, but they didn't have to worry about cleaning it up afterwards. It got washed down the river..  ???
Post by: prodigyrf on March 04, 2022, 09:03:41 PM
There are those that take the punt on buying and building cheaper in flood prone areas and they take what comes. However as we've added more rooves paved roads and cleared agricultural land the extremes of weather impact ever more widely. As flood risk areas expand then naturally building and contents insurance for rising water becomes cost prohibitive in much the same way as it does for bushfire risk areas. That just leaves local community flood control levees and the like although there was one town that thought big- https://www.enjoyillinois.com/illinois-200/raising-chicago/
Post by: prodigyrf on March 04, 2022, 09:51:22 PM
Mind you I live in Adelaide in the driest State of the driest continent so for me it's a case of- Come to sunny Queensland, raining one day pissing down the next!
When in God's name are you dopey easterners ever gunna build yourselves some more bloody dams to stop drowning yourselves?
https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/other/australia-s-woke-internationalist-green-laws-are-creating-misery/ar-AAUB6WJ
Post by: MarkGU on March 05, 2022, 05:28:42 AM
Mind you I live in Adelaide in the driest State of the driest continent so for me it's a case of- Come to sunny Queensland, raining one day pissing down the next!
When in God's name are you dopey easterners ever gunna build yourselves some more bloody dams to stop drowning yourselves?
https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/other/australia-s-woke-internationalist-green-laws-are-creating-misery/ar-AAUB6WJ
"dopey easterners" :o
I beg your pardon?
like you  have politicians that are angels?
Since when is a dam on the Clarence River going to stop flooding?Have you seen the river heights when this river floods? Obviously not.

People in glass houses old mate  >:( >:(
Post by: plusnq on March 05, 2022, 06:15:31 AM
Simple answer. Too much flow for dams to cope. Equivalent of four Sydney Harbours of capacity.

Post by: MarkGU on March 05, 2022, 06:26:26 AM
Simple answer. Too much flow for dams to cope. Equivalent of four Sydney Harbours of capacity.
100% correct mate.
Post by: Fizzie on March 05, 2022, 08:08:08 AM
Here's an option:

https://www.baca.uk.com/amphibioushouse.html (https://www.baca.uk.com/amphibioushouse.html)

Sure, it's undoubtedly not cheap, but compared to completely stripping out & rebuilding your house, + replacing all your furniture, fittings etc for the 2nd, 3rd, nth time ...
Post by: austastar on March 05, 2022, 09:06:38 AM
    I Noah guy who built one like that!

Post by: Bird on March 05, 2022, 10:00:42 AM
wow
https://www.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10159885360788331&id=206757268330&sfnsn=mo (https://www.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10159885360788331&id=206757268330&sfnsn=mo)
Post by: Foo on March 05, 2022, 12:37:56 PM
Fork!  :'(

Post by: alnjan on March 05, 2022, 06:07:57 PM

I could easily done all bar one major problem.   Most of the feeder rivers into the Clarence are in some type of National Park or World Heritage or some other endangered thing.  The battle with the greens and ever other party would ensure nothing gets done.   

For example the Clarence Valley and Coffs Councils end up in some strange partnership regarding their water supply.  With all the choices of water supplies to choice from the Dam is on a quaint little backwater creek adjacent to a Nature Reserve in the boondocks no one can find. 

In the mid 1920s there was a Hydro Power Station built off one of the feeder Rivers.  It has since closed through lack of maintenance over the decades.  Now with the push for renewables the potential is all there but no interest.    All that water just washing Communities to see.   
Post by: Hairs on March 05, 2022, 07:57:46 PM

In the mid 1920s there was a Hydro Power Station built off one of the feeder Rivers.  It has since closed through lack of maintenance over the decades.  Now with the push for renewables the potential is all there but no interest.    All that water just washing Communities to see.
Al, As far as I can gather from our councils minutes of meetings, Clarence Valley Council.
Coffs and CVC are partners, ratepayers bought the asset, but it,s not an asset unless they utilise it.

Post by: alnjan on March 05, 2022, 08:20:38 PM
Al, As far as I can gather from our councils minutes of meetings, Clarence Valley Council.
Coffs and CVC are partners, ratepayers bought the asset, but it,s not an asset unless they utilise it.

Yeah not sure what they intend to do with it.  I remember going there in maybe early 1970s when it was still operational, very interesting. 

My main point was in the 1920s we could build hydro plants and now we can't.   Just seems something wrong there.
Post by: Hairs on March 05, 2022, 08:24:28 PM

My main point was in the 1920s we could build hydro plants and now we can't.   Just seems something wrong there.
Seems easier to tax people and make them feel good about that, then to actually invest in infrastructure for generations to come. 
Hmm

Post by: Bird on March 05, 2022, 10:05:54 PM
Seems easier to tax people and make them feel good about that, then to actually invest in infrastructure for generations to come. 
Hmm
wait till ya insurance renewal comes in... even those in south aussie where it hasnt rained in generations
Post by: Hairs on March 06, 2022, 06:21:09 AM
wait till ya insurance renewal comes in... even those in south aussie where it hasnt rained in generations
After the Locker Valley Flooded in 09?
NRMA, quadrupled our home insurance, because our postcode is the same as Grafton's(there are 30 villages that share the 2460 postcode). We had plead to have a rep site visit to show them that if we were to have water across our property, the East Coast would be 40 foot under water.
A rep did site visit and our policy was adjusted. But over the last 13 years it has risen, like everybody else has.
Post by: austastar on March 06, 2022, 08:25:00 AM
  <brainfart>
Abolish flood insurance totally.
Make it an all or nothing wager that water will rise to an agreed level on your house in the next year.
Bookies do an onsite visit and offer their odds.
Place your bets ladies and gentlemen.
</brainfart>

Post by: Bird on March 06, 2022, 09:50:53 AM
  <brainfart>
Make it an all or nothing wager that water will rise to an agreed level on your house in the next year.
</brainfart>

Post by: edz on March 06, 2022, 09:54:33 AM
From memory,  if you could find an insurance company that would take you on.. they reckon Its roughly $30.000 + a year for a house / bussiness around here ..even then there are conditions in the policy .
One of the biggest problems around here has been the coucil / NSW government, not listening to the locals ..NSW gov built a nice Highway ............. right across the known flood plains of the valley, Now dams the water / raises the height of the floods and sends it with more flow in towards residential areas = more houses underwater than would have before it was built .. Council stopped the dredging of the river and other feeder areas  about 30 + years ago ] no more scowering of sediment ] resulting in a river with aprox 30'  of silt build up ..Ocean going freighters  used to be able to get up to the main bridge at murwillumbah ..
Just a few things that add to higher floods ..

Post by: Bird on March 06, 2022, 11:24:04 AM
Quote from: edz
One of the biggest problems around here has been the coucil / NSW government, not listening to the locals

but but a nice young man with computer simulator who has never visited within 500klms of the area said the locals were wrong /sarcasm
Post by: GBC on March 06, 2022, 04:22:36 PM
  <brainfart>
</brainfart>

Flood cover was mandated by state governments - who clearly do not understand that, as you mooted, insurance is quite simply gambling. We all pay for those who bought in flood zones now.
Post by: Hairs on March 06, 2022, 05:27:05 PM
Hardest thing to do when helping,
Is pick their stuff up, walk it out to the road, while they watch you and throw it on a pile that is their life. :(
Post by: Rowlie on March 07, 2022, 08:14:22 AM
Flood cover was mandated by state governments - who clearly do not understand that, as you mooted, insurance is quite simply gambling. We all pay for those who bought in flood zones now.
Most insurers have the ability to price down to the actual address now. Technology no longer requires postcode rating that is highly inaccurate. The software relies on satellite imagery that measures topographical heights above potential flood sources. The same system can determine bushfire potential, land slope, tree fall risk and so on. So it is highly likely that those who are flood prone will see some premium movement following the current event. The rest won't notice much change ie it is now mainly user pays.

The problem with insuring flood is that everything else the policies cover can happen to anyone (to lesser or greater extents) but flood can only affect people who live near water courses, flood plains etc. That is why insurers left it out for so long. Whilst governments didn't actually mandate it - they can't force private enterprise - there was a lot of pressure brought to bear. They were warned that insurers could only include it on a "one in all in" basis - ie you couldn't do it as an option. In other words be careful what you wish for.

People in Northern Australia pay astronomical premiums due to cyclone exposure. I pay a loaded premium due to bushfire and flood prone customers are similarly impacted.

No insurer will pay more that $100m for this current event but their reinsurers will be picking up the vast majority of the $2b bill that is forecast. It is the reinsurers who will whack the insurance companies when their premiums come due and that is passed on to us.

The reality is we are such a small population its hard to socialise the cost of the risks we face. Govts aren't sitting on their hands entirely. They are trying to improve the cyclone insurance problem, they have built levees and are continuing to try to improve flood mitigation and bushfire management measures are being considered. But Mother Nature is a tough beast to manage.
Post by: elver on March 10, 2022, 06:47:50 PM
My house in Lismore had 4.5m water over ground level. That’s 2.5m inside the living area.

Well, flood insurance for my house in Lismore is $13000 premium per annum. That’s more than the annual rent.  The sales pitch is it covers for flood. On questioning it covered for burnt out fixed electrical motors,only. Nothing else!!! Not structural damage, not for destruction of the house, not for restoration.  Funnily enough I didn’t pay the premium.

I do have standard insurance $3500 per year.  This is now invalid until the house has been restored from flooding.  (I.e it’s got people living in it again)

The house cost $135,000.

The flood cover offered is not insurance.  It’s a tax.  Simply not affordable.  It’s not an option for me as a landlord and certainly not for my tenants.

Now the important part, my house was built pre 1910 from second hand Timbers. It’s 2m off the ground. It’s all wood. Weatherboard walls, single skin timber internal walls, Power in from the roof and nothing built under the house. No gyprock anywhere. (This is intentional). There’s no insulation In The walls.  There is darling and aircell in the cieling (not batts)
It’s a flood house and is made to get wet every now and then.

My flood recovery has taken 7 solid days, with 16 man days of effort. Not a single cent of govt assistance will come my in way. (As a landlord)

The house has been emptied of the tenants stuff. (Soooo much stuff - all gone to the bin because they weren’t prepared for a flood 2m higher than the mental ceiling got the highest flood in written history) we pressure washed the house inside, hosed it out the knot holes in the hoop pine floor. We Scrubbed the walls by hand with detergent and anti fungal potions. Threw out the carpets (never again to have carpets fixed down) and we’ve begun the bleaching and drying process.

Fans are running on a geni with a dehumidifier.
The house is now cleaner than it’s been since 1974.  Moist, but soon to be dry.

In terms of capital cost, I bought a second hand oven and new hot water thermostat.
I replaced all power points and fan controls (precautionary approach for power stuff)
Electrical checks / replacements will cost $2000 or so.
I’ll need to repaint it some time but that’s overdue.

Total cost to me will be less than a single annual insurance premium.  So clearly my story is not the common one.

Tenants will be back in within 3 weeks when it’s dry.  They are very very keen not to be homeless!

Now I’d rather it didn’t happen , and it’s cost me a heap of stress, but contrast my story with the new build houses with plaster walls and pine studs and it’s a very different story. They are close to knock down and years off from being fixed.

I strongly believe we need to build for immersion or build floating houses.  Floodplain towns won’t go away. They are real towns and we aren’t China - we won’t move whole towns.   And we won’t force people to sell them at a loss - that will get politicians sacked and they don’t like that.

Floodplain living is a reality. We need to build to conditions and then have less stuff to get ruined. 
Post by: alnjan on March 10, 2022, 07:35:26 PM
Thanks elver for a locals perspective.   It does show that building to go under water makes a lot of difference. 

Can the Council make that part of the building code for future buildings with the new (plus extra) flood level to help reduce the total damage to keep and maintain the township?
Post by: elver on March 10, 2022, 07:50:04 PM
They could. Funnily enough a lot of the rubbish on the road is crap from under peoples houses. Stuff stored where it will get wet when it floods.  Stuff the know will get washed away.. but they seem to buy / hoard it anyway.

Now I know it’s tempting to fill ever space that’s below a roof, but the illegal flats under houses, the man caves of those who don’t remember the last big flood, and the insatiable drive to maximise houses in Australia makes people fill in bits the council has not approved.  Nearly every  elevated house in Lismore is built in under. It’s damn crazy.

What’s needed are council rules, and then follow up compliance checks for preparedness.    I doubt the new breed of ‘freedom loving’ Aussie’s who seem to be more present than ever in regional Australia will stand for that level of govt (community) intervention. 

Timber and fibro can do immersion. Steel and tin too. 
But insulation,  gyprock, chipboard, yellow tongue, plaster, rendered blue board and bricks are terrible.
Post by: austastar on March 10, 2022, 08:01:56 PM
   A friend built this house some 40 years ago.

https://maps.app.goo.gl/Mnu8DPYZmSEefsNK7

Yep, it is on a flood area by Mountain River. He had lived nearby and had seen the river rise to nearly the road.
It is a simple rectangle, living/kitchen one end, bed rooms the other. Quotes came in as affordable, so he had it raised on Besserblocks for a garage under, roller doors north and south underneath. Power points downstairs hang from the ceiling and light switches are string pull.
If flooding is expected, cars go up the hill and roller doors are left open for the water to flow through.
Well it hasn't flooded to my knowledge, (he sold it some time ago).
We can build for flood prone areas with planning, developers need to stop selling glossy brochure/catalog houses to be plonked on totally unsuitable real estate.

Post by: elver on March 10, 2022, 08:09:09 PM
Nice.  Thought out design.

Check out the size of the river cobbles that that river moves, then look at the distance the little house isn’t from the river rocks!!
Post by: alnjan on March 10, 2022, 09:25:24 PM
They could. Funnily enough a lot of the rubbish on the road is crap from under peoples houses. Stuff stored where it will get wet when it floods.  Stuff the know will get washed away.. but they seem to buy / hoard it anyway.

Now I know it’s tempting to fill ever space that’s below a roof, but the illegal flats under houses, the man caves of those who don’t remember the last big flood, and the insatiable drive to maximise houses in Australia makes people fill in bits the council has not approved.  Nearly every  elevated house in Lismore is built in under. It’s damn crazy.

What’s needed are council rules, and then follow up compliance checks for preparedness.    I doubt the new breed of ‘freedom loving’ Aussie’s who seem to be more present than ever in regional Australia will stand for that level of govt (community) intervention. 

Timber and fibro can do immersion. Steel and tin too. 
But insulation,  gyprock, chipboard, yellow tongue, plaster, rendered blue board and bricks are terrible.

I have known of others in a flood area that did enclose the downstairs area but it was with all concrete/brick and outdoor paving on the floor.  their idea was after the flood they could just wash it out.  There are options, people just have to be willing to change for the location
Post by: MarkGU on March 12, 2022, 07:28:10 PM
Here's something to ponder.
When there was a crisis in the past, the music industry was the first to come to the rescue with aid for different causes in the past.
Now, during covid, this industry has not been allowed to function. BUT, the NRL was free to carry on.
Wonder if we will see the NRL part with some aid to help those who lost everything in the floods?
My guess they wont.
Post by: rags on March 12, 2022, 10:01:56 PM
Here's something to ponder.
When there was a crisis in the past, the music industry was the first to come to the rescue with aid for different causes in the past.
Now, during covid, this industry has not been allowed to function. BUT, the NRL was free to carry on.
Wonder if we will see the NRL part with some aid to help those who lost everything in the floods?
My guess they wont.

Just seen the NRL chief on the flood appeal,telecast urging the NRL fans donate but not one word about the NRL donating.
Title: Raining
Post by: paceman on March 13, 2022, 07:08:28 AM
Just seen the NRL chief on the flood appeal,telecast urging the NRL fans donate but not one word about the NRL donating.
They started a fund with $500,000… and are working with clubs to do so as well…

Sydney Roosters and Broncos have donated $50,000 each to help local communities… willing to bet other clubs will, as well…

https://www.nrl.com/news/2022/03/10/nrl-flood-relief-to-continue-throughout-round-1/

Post by: GBC on March 13, 2022, 01:58:52 PM
Thanks elver for a locals perspective.   It does show that building to go under water makes a lot of difference. 

Can the Council make that part of the building code for future buildings with the new (plus extra) flood level to help reduce the total damage to keep and maintain the township?

The trick is getting a layer of control between the councils and the developers who lobby them to be able to turn wet horse paddocks into multi res estates - logan city council …..
The QLD state government drilled all the major flood plains in the 60’s and 70’s and has very accurate data. (Brisbane river has had 28 metre high floods somewhere prior to the last 200 years…..)
Flood modelling is all done.
Satellite mapping for floods is all done.
Early settlement towns like Lismore, Ipswich, Maryborough and Gympie I feel sorry for (traveston crossing dam isn’t looking too bad anymore hey?) but there is absolutely zero reason for modern housing to be flood affected apart from people forgetting hard lessons.
Post by: Bird on March 13, 2022, 02:21:38 PM
Quote from: paceman
They started a fund with $500,000… and are working with clubs to do so as well…

Sydney Roosters and Broncos have donated $50,000 each to help local communities… willing to bet other clubs will, as well…

https://www.nrl.com/news/2022/03/10/nrl-flood-relief-to-continue-throughout-round-1 (https://www.nrl.com/news/2022/03/10/nrl-flood-relief-to-continue-throughout-round-1)
thumbs up to em.

I reckon its a great start... theres a **** load of people all they now own is what they are wearing

Time for everyone to go through their clothes and donate what they arent going to use anymore.. did thata when I moved house last yr... surprised how many bags of gear there was 
Post by: alnjan on March 13, 2022, 08:54:50 PM
The trick is getting a layer of control between the councils and the developers who lobby them to be able to turn wet horse paddocks into multi res estates - logan city council …..
The QLD state government drilled all the major flood plains in the 60’s and 70’s and has very accurate data. (Brisbane river has had 28 metre high floods somewhere prior to the last 200 years…..)
Flood modelling is all done.
Satellite mapping for floods is all done.
Early settlement towns like Lismore, Ipswich, Maryborough and Gympie I feel sorry for (traveston crossing dam isn’t looking too bad anymore hey?) but there is absolutely zero reason for modern housing to be flood affected apart from people forgetting hard lessons.

It just seems we have stopped learning from History and applying what work by adopting building standards that do not meet the building location.   If elver's place can be ready to living in a matter of weeks, unlike other buildings which will need to be rebuilt or extensive renovations it only shows what needs to be done. 
Post by: Rodt on March 14, 2022, 03:07:59 PM
Not just developers that are to blame. Plenty of individuals are yelling at councils to free up more and more land for housing. My daughter lives on the Sunny Coast and whenever a new development gets opened up you have to put your name into a ballot and hope that it comes up otherwise you wait until the next one.

I imagine it is the same in a number of places.

Heard it said on the radio the other day that not everyone can build on a hill
Post by: Hairs on March 14, 2022, 04:34:07 PM
CVC had joined a Northern Rivers Planning group, from I can gather it is to stop the NSW government green lighting Wet Land Development.
Developers have bypassed local government, local councils have been blind sided.
Development goes ahead, state picks up the taxes, local government has to deal with the infrastructure and back lash from the community.
This what we are dealing with in The Clarence Valley. Hopefully our new Councilours are pushing back against the State. Hmmm

Post by: rags on March 14, 2022, 07:32:44 PM

Heard it said on the radio the other day that not everyone can build on a hill

Living on the top of the hill can be overrated. I did just that for 25 years , had 270 degree uninterrupted views some 50 km into the distance of both Wollemi and Blue Mts but lived in fear every time it got hot for fear there would be another bush fire. And then at other times came the winds that would blow the proverbial dog of the chain.
Post by: rags on March 14, 2022, 07:40:52 PM
It just seems we have stopped learning from History and applying what work by adopting building standards that do not meet the building location.   If elver's place can be ready to living in a matter of weeks, unlike other buildings which will need to be rebuilt or extensive renovations it only shows what needs to be done.

The problem will only get worse as building codes require houses in future  to be built to a x star energy efficiency requiring more insulation, natural ventilation thru windows etc.
Then we will have another set of rules requiring accessible housing so now we will need a step free entry, there goes the elevated home.
Next we will be required to build resilient housing and we will be struggling to comply with the energy efficiency because we will need less windows with shutters etc.

Might be time to live in a caravan and tow it away from the risk of the next disaster.
Post by: Bird on March 14, 2022, 09:31:35 PM
The problem will only get worse as building codes require houses in future  to be built to a x star energy efficiency requiring more insulation, natural ventilation thru windows etc.
Then we will have another set of rules requiring accessible housing so now we will need a step free entry, there goes the elevated home.
Next we will be required to build resilient housing and we will be struggling to comply with the energy efficiency because we will need less windows with shutters etc.

Might be time to live in a caravan and tow it away from the risk of the next disaster.
similar new 4 billionty rules in firezones.
Post by: Kangaron on March 15, 2022, 06:45:58 AM
Too many stupid rules, I am building atm.
One part is a non load bearing deck / veranda. The engineer requires the stumps to be 1.2m deep.

Sent from my motorola edge 20 fusion using Tapatalk

Post by: Foo on March 17, 2022, 08:29:55 AM
Gympie I feel sorry for (traveston crossing dam isn’t looking too bad anymore hey?)

Traveston Dam was and still is a stupid idea. A shallow dam with high evaporation figure's, plus destroying some of the best dairy farming area in the State.

Sent from my SM-T510 using Tapatalk
Post by: Bird on March 17, 2022, 08:37:43 AM
Gympie I feel sorry for (traveston crossing dam isn’t looking too bad anymore hey?)

Traveston Dam was and still is a stupid idea. A shallow dam with high evaporation figure's, plus destroying some of the best dairy farming area in the State.

another decision by that bloke behind a desk with computer generated simulations?
Post by: Foo on March 17, 2022, 08:57:53 AM
another decision by that bloke behind a desk with computer generated simulations?
Yep.

Sent from my SM-T510 using Tapatalk