Author Topic: How's the heat  (Read 6753 times)

Offline Yimmy

How's the heat
« on: January 05, 2013, 11:25:29 AM »
Well 46 degrees on the back porch yesterday,

Already 36 today and climbing, looks like its a myswagger day today ;D

How is everyone else coping with the heatwave hitting down south  ???

Hmmm on second thoughts  :cheers: could help as well  ;D

May need  :police: to check my posts past 4pm, but ill try to stay  :angel:

Re: How's the heat
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2013, 11:38:07 AM »
nice and cool in Brissy... overcast..

« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2013, 12:26:46 PM »
Hot!! It was 43.4 in mount gambier.. Apparently the hottest day on record for the area. But plenty of refreshments to keep cool

« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2013, 12:46:23 PM »
Only got to 39 under our verandah yesterday.  We had about a dozen young magpies and crested pigeons  in the front yard at 3PM seeking refuge around the bird bath and pond.

Its just hit 40.5, and there are about 6 of them back, along with a couple of mudlarks.  Just going to spray a bit of water around for them.

Remember to look after your animals.

Offline hargs

« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2013, 12:49:17 PM »
Very hot here 42 +, garden watered and inside..............Tumut has a Jimmy Barnes concert here today............boy that is going to be a hot one.
Life is to short not to...............

« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2013, 01:31:50 PM »
About 40 in Young @ 2.30pm should get to about 42/43

Offline chappo555

How's the heat
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2013, 02:17:15 PM »
42.5 here and my shed just registered 51.5. I lasted about one minute in there.

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #7 on: January 05, 2013, 02:20:52 PM »
Yep showing 40.3 here at the moment on elders weather page but the car was showing 44.  Was lovely and cool at work then braved the supercheap sale and now home with air con again it is stuck at 29 at the moment poor thing :-(

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #8 on: January 05, 2013, 02:22:38 PM »
We are at 42 ( apparently), My thermometer under the patio is reading 43. The one in the sun hit 46 about half an hour ago, It's been to hot to go back out and see what its been saying since.
honestly, I'm struggling to get the motivation to walk outside to jump in the pool, as there are some bloody hot paver's between the door and the water!

Evo
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

« Reply #9 on: January 05, 2013, 02:35:09 PM »
nice and cool in Brissy... overcast..
we're supposed to get some hot weather this week coming i read on a weather forum the other day, so enjoy whilst we can.

Offline coops

« Reply #10 on: January 05, 2013, 02:59:35 PM »
Its 42.8 on our back veranda in the shade here in albury at the moment. And wont be much different till Wednesday.

« Reply #11 on: January 05, 2013, 03:03:08 PM »
Coops Welcome Aboard  . You got that right its almost to hot for a Beer ( L MUST HAVE HEAT STROKE )  :cheers:

Offline evolution

« Reply #12 on: January 05, 2013, 07:09:08 PM »
Its 42.8 on our back veranda in the shade here in albury at the moment. And wont be much different till Wednesday.

Did you get the Thunderstorm with the fat rain over your side of the river?
I will admit that I did not see that coming when I melted out of bed this morning.  8)

Evo

Offline Boxhead 71

• Listen, CALM DOWN!!!
« Reply #13 on: January 05, 2013, 07:14:46 PM »
Must be cold down home [Tassie]. I notice they've got the fires going. Best of luck down there, fellas.
Strong as an ox, smart as a tractor!
I love to wake up to the sound of a Jake brake and the smell of chainsaws in the morning.

« Reply #14 on: January 05, 2013, 08:21:14 PM »
Cool change rolled in 1 1/2 hours ago very plesent now in Central Vic  :cheers:

« Reply #15 on: January 05, 2013, 08:49:40 PM »
Yep change through mount gambier also.

Offline shrek4

• Lifestyle AT12 & 2020 Nissan Patrol Ti-L
How's the heat
« Reply #16 on: January 05, 2013, 08:59:35 PM »
A bit cooler today where we are camping in Wallaroo SA. However yesterday we reached 45 degrees. When we returned to the camper the temp was 53 on the inside. Everything was too hot to touch. Both fridges struggled big time.

Offline kado

« Reply #17 on: January 05, 2013, 09:01:41 PM »
Well I think the official here in Canberra today was 40.1, feel sorry for the Summer Nats attendees soo hot!
Also had a nice cool change in late this arvo too which bought a nice dash of rain.

Feeling for Tassie people at the moment, hope all ends well and no more lives are lost with the out of control fires!

Offline jnik

« Reply #18 on: January 05, 2013, 09:14:50 PM »
Was sitting on the couch enjoying the A/C ... thinking "it's a good thing we have the A/C, wouldn't want it to die right now"

Then I smelt something burning ... I look up and see a little smoke.

I just know it's coming from the A/C, so I jump up and bolt the three steps to it.

By then it was belching smoke like crazy ... I shut it down and check inside and outside to make sure there's no fire.

SWMBO had the baby on her, she looks up and says "oh no, what are we going to do now?".

So off to Bunnings to get an over-priced, very loud, and not-quite cold enough portable unit.

:-(

Offline gclan

• Misadventure 4wd
« Reply #19 on: January 06, 2013, 11:13:00 AM »
We've just spent a couple of days on the river at Upper Colo. It was so hot even the river water was too warm to swim in.

The aircon in our car died again, so we couldn't even escape the heat by sitting in there. We took turns going for cold showers every 15mins.

So nice to be home now with airconditioner cranking  :cup:
Django - 2009 Land Rover Defender 110 SVX
Marvin - Land Rover Discovery 4
Black Betty - 2007 Range Rover Sport
Bamm Bamm - 2009 Mountain Trail Extended Expedition

Misadventure 4WD http://www.youtube.com/user/JamieOGilmore
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Misadventure-4WD-TV/243025632464631

« Reply #20 on: January 06, 2013, 11:59:33 AM »
went to Lake Eildon yesterday ... the water was that cold it hurt your feet within 2 minutes! I dont understand, I thort the water would be brilliant...

Offline evolution

« Reply #21 on: January 06, 2013, 03:09:31 PM »
went to Lake Eildon yesterday ... the water was that cold it hurt your feet within 2 minutes! I dont understand, I thort the water would be brilliant...

Not sure whats going on there mate?
We were in the water at lake hume the other day with the sounder reading 27 degrees throughout most of the shallows and 25 in the deeper parts.
I would suggest it would be a little warmer again with the heat over the last couple of days. Although Im too much of a chicken to leave the air con to be honest

Evo

Offline bushbandit

• Oh To Be On The Wallaby
« Reply #22 on: January 08, 2013, 05:05:46 PM »
It was that hot here today that i went out to get an icecream but
the ice craem van

2013 Mitsubishi Triton GLR 4x4
2015 Jayco Swift Outback

Offline Yimmy

« Reply #23 on: January 08, 2013, 05:09:36 PM »
Bugger  ;D

Offline Mumof3

« Reply #24 on: January 08, 2013, 10:44:31 PM »
It is 11:45pm here in Sydney and still 34 deg. Thank god we got AC put in a couple of years ago. Not looking forward to the bill though. :'(