General => Previous Member Trips => Trips, Tracks, Touring and Reports => 2011 Cape York Members Trip => Topic started by: Symon on July 12, 2011, 05:02:16 PM

Title: Cape York 2011 DVD
Post by: Symon on July 12, 2011, 05:02:16 PM
Well not yet  ;D  Today I processed about 7 hours worth of footage, but I am still waiting on the video from one member (*cough* jk *cough*) then I'll be able to finish it.

In the meantime here is a short teaser trailer that will hopefully keep interest levels up  8)

Edit - rather than sift through the thread, here are all the links to the videos -

Teaser trailer on youtube (http://youtu.be/ep_uuZhbA24)
Teaser trailer high resolution (27Mb) (http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape 2011/Teaser1.wmv)
CREB Track low resolution (130Mb) (http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape 2011/CREBlowres.mp4)
CREB Track high resolution (640Mb) (http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape 2011/CREB.wmv)
CREB Track on youtube (shortened) (http://youtu.be/6hdgtm-CeU8)
jks crossing at Nolans Brook on youtube (http://youtu.be/tMwcd9J2OJM)
jks crossing at Nolans Brook high resolution(10Mb) (http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape 2011/jk%20Nolans.wmv)
Yogis crossing at Nolans Brook on youtube (http://youtu.be/kWkIsoLgCkQ)
Yogis crossing at Nolan Brook high resolution(8Mb) (http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape 2011/Yogi%20Nolans.wmv)
Geoff crossing Nolans Brook on youtube (http://youtu.be/dkBsCJ1vh5s)
Geoff crossing Nolans Brook high resolution (14Mb) (http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/Geoff1.wmv)
Symons Palm Creek crossing on youtube (http://youtu.be/TfAsRI0PMeI)
Yogi crossing Palm Creek high resolution(30Mb) (http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape 2011/Yogi%20Palm%20Creek.wmv)
Yogi crossing Palm Creek on youtube (http://youtu.be/ceTbvxNBEkU)

Scott's Footage -

Dulhunty River (http://youtu.be/2D3IQGoH2tg)
Canal Creek (http://youtu.be/j6Gs-3gNTnw)
Gunshot Creek (Smoking clutches, and Duggie getting to know mother nature) (http://youtu.be/h_qqOEO-ALo)
Gunshot Creek (someone takes the easy line) (http://youtu.be/bJJkVnucs_8)
More fun at Palm Creek (http://youtu.be/8Hj3BtPoLwc)

Title: Re: Cape York 2011 DVD
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 12, 2011, 05:10:05 PM
If that is the teaser the rest will be a cracker :cheers:

Post by: Teabag on July 12, 2011, 05:25:17 PM
Looks awesome, can't wait...... ;D
Post by: POD on July 12, 2011, 05:33:25 PM
I'm gettin' toey.......!
Post by: Gunna Do on July 12, 2011, 05:39:01 PM
After seeing the teaser I can see why this is taking so long.  Take your time and get it right Symon, it looks like it will be well worth the wait.
Post by: hutchie62 on July 12, 2011, 05:52:50 PM
Hope its ready before I leave. :laugh:
Post by: McGirr on July 12, 2011, 06:01:20 PM
Well done symon naturally I will get the first copy  ;D

Post by: Heiny on July 12, 2011, 06:11:39 PM
Great teaser Symon, ill be keen for a copy ;D will they be available to all swaggers ???
Post by: mystq on July 12, 2011, 06:14:12 PM
Put me down for a copy ;D
Post by: Symon on July 12, 2011, 06:16:51 PM
When done I'll upload the DVD then people can download it for free.  There won't be a mail out of discs like there was last time.
Post by: mystq on July 12, 2011, 06:21:57 PM
When done I'll upload the DVD then people can download it for free.  There won't be a mail out of discs like there was last time.

Sounds like a good idea, maybe youtube would be good to or megavideo.
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on July 12, 2011, 06:53:14 PM

I've been ordering a copy for weeks now!  Let us know when the final doco has been approved by those who did the trip and we will all line up to download a copy ... get behind me everyone!   >:D

It'll be a ripper view ... I'm sure of it.

Post by: Rod Camping on July 12, 2011, 07:02:52 PM
I too am really looking forward to this as I hope to experience it next year with family, (mine and the myswag).

Can't wait for it....
Post by: Offroad 4x4 Accessories on July 12, 2011, 07:04:34 PM
Looking good Symon cant wait to see the finished version
Post by: MDS69 on July 12, 2011, 07:39:45 PM
What a teaser it is. This I can't wait to download.
Post by: Symon on July 12, 2011, 08:21:10 PM
Sounds like a good idea, maybe youtube would be good to or megavideo.

Hopefully I shouldn't need to use those, I have an unlimited account with my host, see how it goes.
Post by: TRUPM on July 12, 2011, 10:04:35 PM
We cant wait to see what we missed out on this year. Lucky we didn't go, otherwise Jodie may have had the baby prematurely. You all sound like you had a blast!
Post by: Malcur on July 12, 2011, 10:39:28 PM
I've seen a few of the videos on youtube and they are a blast. Can't wait to see the full video.

Mal
Post by: Aaron Schubert on July 12, 2011, 11:02:56 PM
Awesome teaser mate - I look forward to the real thing

Post by: Dion on July 13, 2011, 04:59:05 PM
Great teaser, will be downloading the full version for sure. 8)
Post by: SteveandViv on July 13, 2011, 06:16:52 PM
And we will do the same with the footage of our epic recovery coming out of the Wenlock River (8 Hours) and our trip which crossed paths with the others but had some time differences( and hundreds and beers...How good is that, double the money.

Symon, where are you hosting?
Post by: Diksta on July 13, 2011, 07:03:16 PM
Looks good can't wait for the full version
Post by: dooguss on July 13, 2011, 07:15:14 PM
i cant wait to se what you all have to show us poor buggers that didnt go makes me look so forwa rd to next year.cant wait
Post by: Nomad on July 13, 2011, 07:29:58 PM
That was simply awesome. I can't wait to watch the whole thing. Well done in advance.   :cup:
Post by: Bird on July 13, 2011, 09:13:05 PM
Looks great.
Cant wait for a version with just the engines roarin, blokes swearing and mother nature!
Post by: Black Diamond on July 13, 2011, 09:23:18 PM
If thats a teaser the full length is going to be a balltearer Symon  :cheers:

Post by: Symon on July 14, 2011, 07:39:03 AM
Symon, where are you hosting?

When ready it will be on symon.id.au
Post by: Proudy on July 15, 2011, 06:05:42 PM
Teaser's are unreal cant wait to see it in full. Give me an excuse to talk the misses going.

Proudy
Post by: TroyE on July 15, 2011, 11:03:20 PM
Looks great.
Cant wait for a version with just the engines roarin, blokes swearing and mother nature!

X20000000000000zilion ;D

troy
Post by: Strider on July 21, 2011, 04:02:14 PM
8 more sleeps until we leave for the cape ;D Will the DVD be done before I go? Can't wait to see it.

Alan
Post by: Symon on July 24, 2011, 03:14:16 PM
Another update - this time here is a short video showing a few of us breaking off from the main group to do the CREB track.

Only the low res version is available at the moment (130Mb), I am still uploading the high res one (640Mb).  I did try a lower quality version but it was way too chunky for my liking.  I can't upload to youtube because it is too long - sorry.

Low res version (http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape 2011/CREBlowres.mp4)
Hi res version (http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape 2011/CREB.wmv)
Post by: Symon on July 24, 2011, 05:11:16 PM
OK, both versions are up and ready for download.
Post by: mystq on July 24, 2011, 06:26:04 PM
Downloading now  :D
Post by: Heiny on July 24, 2011, 06:27:09 PM
Downloading now  :D
X 2 but I have been slowed down :'(
Post by: jk on July 24, 2011, 07:24:24 PM
Good job Symon  :cup: , you've done excellent work. Can't wait to see to OTL Video, I know there's a mountain of footage to work through but it'll be worth the wait.

Thanks for the present  ;D , and I'm glad some of our footage was useable...................a lot of it wasn't due to a camera light setting being wrong.

Johnno
Post by: Symon on July 24, 2011, 08:15:15 PM
I've been able to fiddle with the brightness and saturation to make some of your footage easier on the eyes.  Unfortunately the stuff from Canal creek was a bit too far gone, so I only used snippets of it, but the overall effect was pretty good in the end.  I think you'll like it.

On another note, how is everyone finding the download speeds?
Post by: bobnrob on July 24, 2011, 08:22:40 PM
Didn't take notice of d/l speed.
Got the low res version, & came in quite quick :)

Also like to say well done on the filming...taking into account that bush tracks aren't smooth.
Nothing worse than trying to watch someone's 'home' video(s) & they're panning @ a millions mph, jerking the camera all over the place, & trying to fit everything in in the shortest amount of time.
Didn't feel sea-sick at all watching this :)  :cup:
Post by: Symon on July 24, 2011, 08:32:43 PM
I can take zero credit for the quality of the filming - that was all done by Tim, Mick, Kirsty and John.  So well done all.
Post by: dno on July 24, 2011, 08:39:34 PM
Thanks for posting the link Symon, the low res DL speed for me took about 25 min but I've got sh!t broad band speed at the best of time's. To all the people that have contributed to the video footage and the editing , I'd like to say thank you for your time and  sharing.
Looking forward to the full video, even if i have to get a copy from someone  8)
Dean.
Post by: Black Diamond on July 24, 2011, 08:53:20 PM
I just downloaded the low res, but my computer doesnt have the right program to play it, Does anyone have a link for it?
Post by: Brett B on July 24, 2011, 08:56:24 PM
Hey BD
Try real player
Post by: Symon on July 24, 2011, 08:59:17 PM
The low res is in mp4 format, most players should be able to handle it.  If you can't try updating your codecs, or use VLC - http://www.videolan.org/vlc/.
Post by: TroyE on July 24, 2011, 09:15:04 PM
awesome vid going to send a copy to my brother "eldo" we're going next year ;D    :cheers:

troy
Post by: Black Diamond on July 24, 2011, 09:39:58 PM
Thanks lads, awesome stuff  :cup:
Post by: Symon on July 24, 2011, 09:41:20 PM
So you got it to play BD?
Post by: Black Diamond on July 24, 2011, 09:50:57 PM
Yep Perfect thanks Symon. That vlc link did the trick perfectly  :cup:

Thanks Again.

cheers John
Post by: Black Diamond on July 24, 2011, 09:52:05 PM
Top Stuff by everyone involved  :cheers:
Post by: Symon on July 24, 2011, 10:22:31 PM
OK, I trimmed down the original video so that youtube will accept it.  So now you can see the good bits without some of the footage and not have player issues.

http://youtu.be/6hdgtm-CeU8

Enjoy!

Edit - just looked at it, quality is crap, but it is a smaller download for those with slow connections.
Post by: yogi on July 25, 2011, 02:34:39 PM
Nice work mate :D

Post by: yogi on July 25, 2011, 08:13:22 PM
Oh and when is the next installment .......... lol ;D 8) >:D

Post by: Dasnowman on July 26, 2011, 10:39:14 PM
Just seen the links, and I wishing I had the gear to go on the next cape trip!! Congrats to you all, and for someone like me, being in Tassie, is good to see a face to the names!!!

Dasnowman
Post by: TroyE on July 27, 2011, 09:06:10 PM
the wait for the full monty is killing me ;D

troy :cheers:
Post by: Symon on July 27, 2011, 09:13:31 PM
Patience grasshopper, patience.
Post by: TroyE on July 27, 2011, 09:18:20 PM
cough cough I'm choking at the bit ;D
Post by: Symon on July 29, 2011, 06:06:38 PM
I only just noticed that Scott has uploaded some more footage of the trip from his camera onto youtube!

Dulhunty River (http://youtu.be/2D3IQGoH2tg)
Canal Creek (http://youtu.be/j6Gs-3gNTnw)
Gunshot Creek (Smoking clutches, and Duggie getting to know mother nature) (http://youtu.be/h_qqOEO-ALo)
Gunshot Creek (someone takes the easy line) (http://youtu.be/bJJkVnucs_8)
More fun at Palm Creek (http://youtu.be/8Hj3BtPoLwc)
Post by: McGirr on July 29, 2011, 06:37:43 PM
I did not smell berts clutch burning!!!  ;D that was my twin driving !!!

Post by: Proudy on July 29, 2011, 06:42:24 PM
Keep em coming I'm enjoy everyone of them just make me want to go more an more. Next year bring it on.
Post by: scoot on August 01, 2011, 05:42:10 PM
Unfortunately some dick (me) turned the camera auto light switch off without realising, so most of my vdo is overexposed. Especially all the water fall footage.   :'(  I'm over it now, but I had a few choice words to say to myself when I first noticed. The only decent stuff I have is on overcast days or in shady areas. I have good footage of JK at gunshot, but can't post it on the Aussie Swag site for obvious reasons. I can put some of the raw footage on brushe.id.au when I get back to Brisbane.

Scoot
Post by: Symon on August 01, 2011, 07:53:22 PM
Scoot, the logon details I gave you gives you upload access as well as download, so please feel free to upload your footage.  I don't have a lot of Gunshot footage, so the more the merrier.

If you are happy to, please upload your overexposed footage as well, I might be able to fiddle with it a bit in the video editor and make it viewable.

DVD is about 50% complete... I've processed jk's, Mykio's and my footage, just adding in Theo's and then prettying it all up.
Post by: geoffnvi on August 01, 2011, 09:27:47 PM
Symon,
did you email us the login details?

Geoff
Post by: Symon on August 05, 2011, 07:03:40 AM
Symon,
did you email us the login details?

Geoff

I thought I did, I'll resend them for you mate.
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on August 05, 2011, 02:11:09 PM
DVD is about 50% complete... I've processed jk's, Mykio's and my footage, just adding in Theo's and then prettying it all up.

Not too pretty please  ;D

Post by: Symon on August 05, 2011, 02:16:13 PM
Not too pretty please  ;D

I'm trying to make it family friendly, you won't believe how many times I've had to *beep* out things....
Post by: jk on August 05, 2011, 02:21:20 PM
No chance of it being too pretty with all of our ugly heads in it  ;D
Post by: McGirr on August 05, 2011, 02:31:10 PM
Gee I hope it doesnt show Bert getting cranky with me burning his clutch...DOH

Post by: bert56 on August 05, 2011, 04:37:08 PM
Well you finally admitted it. Now I'll send you half the bill.

Bert
Post by: scoot on August 12, 2011, 07:09:29 AM
I've uploaded footage of jk, motoki & bert at gunshot.

Scoot
Post by: Symon on August 13, 2011, 07:36:45 AM
I've uploaded footage of jk, motoki & bert at gunshot.

Scoot

Cheers mate, downloading now.

Edit - just had a look.  Excellent stuff, thanks Scott.  What camera were you using? The quality is brilliant, nicely cut together too.

Love jk's crossing, every time I hear that V8 I get an uncomfortable sensation in my pants!
Post by: scoot on August 14, 2011, 12:57:05 PM
panasonic HDC-HS700. JK's vehicle does have a throaty growl.

Scoot

PS I'm uploading some unedited footage as well
Post by: jimbo jones on August 15, 2011, 09:36:31 PM
Ill be keen on a copy please
pm me the details when ready
Post by: Gunna Do on August 22, 2011, 08:29:41 PM
Here's a long bit of footage from the Myswag trip I found on U-tube.  (Warning:- It's about 23 minutes long)
Not sure if it's been posted up before.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=koxh_9eTLuo (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=koxh_9eTLuo)
Post by: Symon on August 23, 2011, 05:27:19 AM
Here's a long bit of footage from the Myswag trip I found on U-tube.  (Warning:- It's about 23 minutes long)
Not sure if it's been posted up before.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=koxh_9eTLuo (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=koxh_9eTLuo)

Scoot has been busy with the editing!  Looks good.

PS I'm uploading some unedited footage as well

Thanks mate, got it all now.  I also re-uploaded Tim's photos that somehow got deleted.
Post by: McGirr on August 23, 2011, 10:01:43 AM
Interesting with this track taken at Gunshot this year

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5DaWst9Xu4Y&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5DaWst9Xu4Y&feature=related)
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on August 23, 2011, 04:29:51 PM

So how are we going with the DVD now Symon (no pressure mind).  Haven't been able to use the link to your server for awhile, so just wondering how it will work, when you are finished editing out all the beeps.  ;D

Post by: Symon on September 10, 2011, 06:35:58 PM
OK, I am in the process of uploading the first 24mins of the DVD to the server (should be done by about 8pm EST).  Can those on the trip please have a look, and let me know if there is anything you want me to take out.  This first bit contains all the introductions etc, so if anyone isn't comfortable with what is in there please let me know before I release it to the masses.

Also this video is only half DVD quality, the full version looks much better.
Post by: McGirr on September 10, 2011, 08:02:13 PM
As long you don't have footage of me and bert in bed !!! ;D

Post by: mystq on September 11, 2011, 10:24:32 AM
Any luck with the DVD Symon?
Post by: Symon on September 11, 2011, 11:10:25 AM
The first bit is only released to members who went on the trip.  I don't want to send it out to the masses yet in case I have something on there that someone will object to.
Post by: yogi on September 12, 2011, 08:19:55 PM
Video is look the goods ...... except for that bit were the 80 series got bogged 50k's out of Cooktown ........ I don't remember that bit at all ;D

I am no video editing expert but you could always through a few of the good snap shots with music overs in to cover off on any of the bit's that didn't make it onto peoples video. IE the self recovery of the 80 series 8) The bar at Endeavour Falls or the stop off at the Lions Den or even the great food / people at each of the Stations and stop offs ......... just a thought mate either way you guy's are doing / have done a top job.

Post by: duggie on September 12, 2011, 08:29:45 PM
I cant wait until I get home to have a look, I cant view it at work, bloody IT bloke has a block on everything.
Post by: mystq on September 12, 2011, 08:42:55 PM
The wait is killing me  ;D
Post by: scoot on September 13, 2011, 07:34:53 AM
Looks good so far. Really comprehensive.
Post by: McGirr on September 13, 2011, 08:01:26 AM
symon

Email me a link to  mark.mcgirr@raywhite.com

Post by: jk on September 13, 2011, 12:11:26 PM
Symon ...........PLEASE, send me the log on details, I lost them because I'm so good with computers  :-[  :'( .
Post by: Symon on September 13, 2011, 01:18:28 PM
Mark/John - will send the details when I get home tonight!
Post by: TroyE on September 13, 2011, 05:08:05 PM
where is this link? how do I get  a copy of the video?

troy
Post by: duggie on September 13, 2011, 07:12:10 PM
where is this link? how do I get  a copy of the video?

troy

secret members business
Post by: TroyE on September 13, 2011, 09:06:53 PM
still waiting :angel:
Post by: mystq on September 23, 2011, 02:11:30 PM
Any news,,,,,,,
Post by: TroyE on September 23, 2011, 09:01:29 PM
still waiting :angel:

x2 ;D
Post by: Symon on September 25, 2011, 09:00:17 AM
Yes I know... sorry for the wait guys, but bear in mind this thing is taking about 4 hours each time I do a compile, then about an hour for me to watch it, find all the errors, then do a recompile..... you can see how this is taking up a lot of time!
Post by: yogi on September 25, 2011, 07:33:02 PM
Mate I need you to come buy and give me some tips :D Keep up the hard / good work 8)

Post by: Gunna Do on September 26, 2011, 07:28:23 AM
Bet you're sorry you volunteered for that job Symon.  The hours just slip away when doing that video editing stuff.  A lot of people don't reallise the time involved with getting it right.   

Good luck.

You might have it done in time for release in conjunction with Marks magazine article.
Post by: mystq on October 06, 2011, 02:41:15 PM
Any news Symon :-* ;D
Post by: Gunna Do on October 08, 2011, 11:34:21 AM
it is compiling as I write this....

I'M EXCITED!

Are we there yet?

Post by: mystq on October 08, 2011, 11:40:54 AM
Need,,,,,,,,,,,links,,,,,,,,,,,,,,now,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ;D
Post by: Symon on October 08, 2011, 11:44:42 AM
Hahahaha... I bet it doesn't help that I've been watching it on the TV while waiting for the low res versions to be processed.....
Post by: Gunna Do on October 08, 2011, 08:35:11 PM
Are we there yet?
Post by: TroyE on October 08, 2011, 09:37:33 PM
starting to turn blue................... can't hold my breath much longer....................,,.,.,....,.,,.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,..................              ...... .. .
Post by: mystq on October 12, 2011, 07:18:02 PM
starting to turn blue................... can't hold my breath much longer....................,,.,.,....,.,,.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,..................              ...... .. .

Poor Troy, he must be dead by now  :angel:
Post by: rellbell on October 12, 2011, 08:56:12 PM
 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D  lol   ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: McGirr on October 12, 2011, 09:26:20 PM
I know the DVD will be great and again thank you Symon for the work involved in getting it ready but the experience and fun we had on this years trip, as they say, you would have to have been there.

Next years trip will have some surprises, stay tuned.

Post by: jk on October 12, 2011, 10:07:05 PM
Surprises  ??? , please tell me it's not going to be fancy dress. I know just how hard it is to edit a DVD of this size, it took me a month of sundays to do the 09 trip DVD, and I fully expect Symon's to be far better than my effort. You keep up the good work Symon we'll wait patiently for the finished produce, it'll be worth it  :cup: .
Post by: Symon on October 12, 2011, 10:43:22 PM
Yeah sorry for the delay guys, my day job has been getting in the way.  Also the net connection out here on camp is pretty ordinary so I can't do big uploads.

Will get it all sorted out when I'm home on the weekend.
Post by: TroyE on October 14, 2011, 09:26:07 PM
Poor Troy, he must be dead by now  :angel:

almost  ;D
Post by: BT50_Cam on November 14, 2011, 09:08:46 PM
Been a month since the last post.
Any news on how the DVD is going?
Post by: mystq on November 14, 2011, 09:10:32 PM
(http://rclol.com/img/dwight-schrute-good-things-come-to-those-who-wait-false-death-comes-to-those-who-wait-thumb.jpg)
Post by: TroyE on November 14, 2011, 09:11:42 PM
had to come up for air ;D can't hold my breath for that long, still chomping at the bit Simon

troy
Post by: mystq on November 14, 2011, 09:12:32 PM
I was sure you was a goner TroyE :angel:
Post by: TroyE on November 14, 2011, 09:19:50 PM
no been trying to learn to breath through my ears...... oooopps did I say that out loud :angel:

troy
Post by: yogi on December 19, 2011, 08:20:17 AM
I wonder if Santa has a DVD in his sack for me this Christmas ;D

Post by: TroyE on December 19, 2011, 08:23:57 PM
hears hoping so yogi  8)