General => Previous Member Trips => Trips, Tracks, Touring and Reports => 2011 Cape York Members Trip => Topic started by: Symon on July 05, 2011, 06:13:40 PM

Title: Carnage of the Cape
Post by: Symon on July 05, 2011, 06:13:40 PM
Well now that a few of us are heading back home, it is time to pause and reflect on what didn't go quite right on the trip.

I'll start off -

- 1 x busted bin bag
- 1 x trailer brake assembly
- 2 x tyres
- 1 x bent trailer drawbar
- 2 x bent mudflap brackets
- 1 x bent trailer mudguard
- 1 x spring centre bolt missing
- 1 x axle bedding plate
- 1 x equaliser strap
- 1 x snatch strap
- 1 x dislodged bullbar
- 1000 x bush pinstripes that will 'buff out'
Title: Re: Carnage of the Cape
Post by: Heiny on July 05, 2011, 06:19:42 PM
Was this the spring centre bolt and axle locating plate on the opposite end of the axle to which you repaired not long ago ???

Bad luck with the drawbar on the trailer too Symon :(
Post by: D4D on July 05, 2011, 06:29:41 PM
That's a big list, sounds like you lived up to the saying go hard or go home :)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 05, 2011, 06:55:39 PM
Sounds as though a challenging time was had, but.....  :worthles:

Post by: hutchie62 on July 05, 2011, 07:00:19 PM
Sounds like a good trip & no major damages for your self, only 24 days before we head off, but who's counting.
 :cheers: Hutchie
Post by: SteveandViv on July 06, 2011, 08:21:45 AM
We have a few to add as well and will do that later but after a 6 hour recover session at the Wenlock lets just say the winch isn't going so well..Can spool out but not in. Were are in Weipa to have it fixed before heading up the OTL
Post by: toddy on July 06, 2011, 08:43:01 AM
Hey Steve, where along the Wenlock did the marathon recover effort happen?
Post by: SteveandViv on July 06, 2011, 10:35:23 AM
We came south to North along Frenchmans and made it to the Pasco river which was about 1.2m deep. After walkinhg and getting ready we both,Frostd and me made it across and up the other bank and so we though were home and hosed. The we go the the Wenlock where we found the exit that the swaggers did a few years ago blocked by a huge tree and there was a newer track that vears left then up the bank and then right. We'll post pics later. We it was still really wet and had a deep .5m rut that was just slop. So with locker engaged we though we would make it up but with the weight of the trailer we keep getting pulled into the slop and that was that. Got the winch out, hooked up the snatch block hit the in button and all was well for a while then there was a big power drain and that was that. it will wind out but not in. So there we were -0 stuck. So we got out the hand winch and about 1.5 hours later with the chain saw also out to play we filled what we could of the trench and with Frostd and Viv on the winch we got out and then up the rest of the hill. Then Terry had a go and with big new muddies we though he would make it but suffered the same and with the weight of the camper made it hard for him to get out so a few young lads had turned up the other way and so we put his brand new warn to the test. We even had to hook my car to his as with the weight of the camper and the big Nissan deep in the mud sucking him in the winching car was being pulled forward. Shame the 4WD action film crew were not there as it was classic. There were cars attached to cars, snacth blocks and winches and maxtrax every where. We got out at 8pm that night just plain stuffed. We shared a few beers with the guys who had helped and then off to bed

EPIC...........

(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/DSCF2568.jpg)

(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/DSCF2573.jpg)

(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/DSCF2582.jpg)
Post by: RichardNT on July 06, 2011, 11:32:53 AM
Thanks for the report and pics Steve, looks like you guys are having a ball  :cheers:
Now how can I get time off in the dry season ??
Post by: Joff on July 06, 2011, 12:47:39 PM
Steve, can i ask? That exit is a bitch no doubt and i wasn't there when you guys were coming through but surely you would have been better driving it without the trailer then runing a winch extention around a tree to skull drag the camper up??

And to Symon! holy crap that's a list and half for the Cape  :cup:
Post by: SteveandViv on July 06, 2011, 01:05:51 PM
Steve, can i ask? That exit is a bitch no doubt and i wasn't there when you guys were coming through but surely you would have been better driving it without the trailer then runing a winch extention around a tree to skull drag the camper up??

And to Symon! holy crap that's a list and half for the Cape  :cup:

Yes, maybe but we had already climbed steeper coming out of the Pasco and felt we could make it. Terry jocky was broken after the Pasco so we could not drag it and I suppose who would have thought my winch which had been great to date pulling others out of sand etc would have failed then ??? Oh well. It was a long drag as well Joff and had my winch not have failed we would have been out quite easy as I was able to drive out once on dry land  ;D Frosty was heavy and not able to get out of the ditch. We weren't sure we would even get out out with out them..

Anyway, dunno mate - was a huge day in any case. I'll get some video up once I find my DV cable some where in the *stuff* I have in the car
Post by: Joff on July 06, 2011, 01:59:43 PM
Yes, maybe but we had already climbed steeper coming out of the Pasco and felt we could make it. Terry jocky was broken after the Pasco so we could not drag it and I suppose who would have thought my winch which had been great to date pulling others out of sand etc would have failed then ??? Oh well. It was a long drag as well Joff and had my winch not have failed we would have been out quite easy as I was able to drive out once on dry land  ;D Frosty was heavy and not able to get out of the ditch. We weren't sure we would even get out out with out them..

Anyway, dunno mate - was a huge day in any case. I'll get some video up once I find my DV cable some where in the *stuff* I have in the car

Like i said i wasn't there and i hate it when people who weren't there second guess stuff.. looks like you had fun just the same.

PS, I have never skull dragged my camper with the jocky down. I always drop the coupling to the ground and drag it like that (I have been known to stick my shovel under it in sand though). The Jocky isn't designed to take anywhere near the loads a recovery would put on it.
Post by: darren on July 06, 2011, 04:16:30 PM
 Looking back now, would you consider this a highlight or lowpoint of your trip? I know how i would feel but everyone is different.
 Also what type of winch do you have? and did you fix it
Darren
Post by: NewcastleKnight on July 06, 2011, 05:05:33 PM
 Looking back now, would you consider this a highlight or lowpoint of your trip? I know how i would feel but everyone is different.
Darren

For me at the time I would be cursing and stressed but I reckon soon after it would be the high point.  We had a horror trip to Fraser Island a few years ago but on reflection the troubles we had made the trip memorable and we learnt alot as well .
Post by: rockygu4.8 on July 06, 2011, 07:27:19 PM
 hooked up the snatch block hit the in button and all was well for a while then there was a big power drain and that was that. it will wind out but not in.

Steve this has happened to us a couple of times. After the second time we just swapped the solonoid pack around so it would power in and manually spool the rope out. Works a treat as you really only need to power in. Now thats assuming thats all that was wrong with the winch . possible idea for next time cheers
Post by: jaycamrie on July 06, 2011, 07:46:44 PM
For me at the time I would be cursing and stressed but I reckon soon after it would be the high point.  We had a horror trip to Fraser Island a few years ago but on reflection the troubles we had made the trip memorable and we learnt alot as well .
x2      building memories mate thats what its about
Post by: TroyE on July 06, 2011, 09:08:51 PM
here's hoping they never nnnnneeevvvveeeeerrrrrr put a grader through the OTL to cater for those to  soft  for real adventure  :cheers:

troy
Post by: SteveandViv on July 06, 2011, 10:38:32 PM
Darren

Darren. We had a great time. It was a great track, hard and fun. I never planned to have the winch failed but I also had a hand winch, just in case - lucky aye. This post was about how cool the whole thing was, not to moan about what happened.
Post by: SteveandViv on July 06, 2011, 10:44:58 PM
hooked up the snatch block hit the in button and all was well for a while then there was a big power drain and that was that. it will wind out but not in.

Steve this has happened to us a couple of times. After the second time we just swapped the solonoid pack around so it would power in and manually spool the rope out. Works a treat as you really only need to power in. Now thats assuming thats all that was wrong with the winch . possible idea for next time cheers

Yes mate but it wasn't just the solenoid. we also have a hard short on the in-bus
Post by: Symon on July 06, 2011, 10:54:17 PM
Ah yes, the jockey wheel.  I'll add that to my list as well, I originally bent it on the 09 trip but it was still useable so I kept it on there.  This trip totally destroyed it.

Steve - bad luck about the winch, but I find out the 'improvisations' that you do to get out of sticky situations is what makes a trip much more memorable.
Post by: darren on July 07, 2011, 12:56:45 AM
Darren. We had a great time. It was a great track, hard and fun. I never planned to have the winch failed but I also had a hand winch, just in case - lucky aye. This post was about how cool the whole thing was, not to moan about what happened.

I never took it as a moan. As NK pointed out things that to outsiders seem like misfortune can quite often be the most memorable highlights of the trip. Thats all.
Post by: speewa158 on July 07, 2011, 01:24:18 AM
Deep down we all reval in the chalange , thats why we are there in the 1st place . I lost a full set of tyres ,just wouldnt hold air for to long , cracked a fuel tank . Flooded the rig stuck in the Wenlock crossing & the croooooooigations nearly rattled my fillings out .& scratched the paint work . Still I would do it again just to do it   :cheers:
Post by: D4D on July 07, 2011, 07:28:24 AM
I plan on changing my Warn soleniod pack to an Albright and keeping a spare. I'll also plan on buying a spare winch motor for remote trips.

Steve if you had a spare motor/solenoid would it have been quicker to replace them? I guess the solenoid is easy but the new motor means winch out of the bar.
Post by: duggie on July 07, 2011, 07:41:11 AM
We all had a great trip and like Symon I too received some damage but not to his extent.
Broken right rear mudguard flare
Bent and battered left rear mudguard flare and mudflap
Broken rear panhard rod
Broken leftside wind deflector
Outboard motor CDI unit packed it in
My winch although serviced prior to the trip failed.
And heavy scratching to both sides paintwork of the old girl (GQ Patrol)
Nothing major that some time and a few dollars wont fix, I had a ball and the people that I travled with were a fantastic bunch of guys and girls, thanks peoples.
Post by: darren on July 07, 2011, 07:43:03 AM
G'Day Duggie
 Great to hear you had a good trip.  Was it an aftermarket panhard rod that failed? and what brand of winch was it
Post by: duggie on July 07, 2011, 12:58:05 PM
G'Day Duggie
 Great to hear you had a good trip.  Was it an aftermarket panhard rod that failed? and what brand of winch was it
Hi darren,
It was in fact the original Nissan panhard rod that broke, I must have sat down on something hard during one of the creek crossings and bent it and after some time it became a banana and broke on the bend. The winch problems was a Premier 9000 lb winch but respect to the makers the winch and bullbar sat around for a couple of years and the solenoids were fairly rusted up, when needed the wind in solenoid stuck in the winch position.
Post by: darren on July 07, 2011, 01:07:53 PM
What did you do about the panhard rod? Did you repair it?
Post by: duggie on July 07, 2011, 02:30:23 PM
I was able to pull one of a wreck at Bamaga wrecking yard, only cost me $60.00, I think my saving grace was that I am running external airbags and the helped stop to diff from walking too much.
Post by: darren on July 07, 2011, 02:32:32 PM
lucky. Good on you for keeping going.
Darren
Post by: Gunna Do on July 07, 2011, 02:36:28 PM
$60.00 for a panhard rod in Bamaga was a bargain.  One benefit of driving Cruisers or Patrols, there are always parts lying around somewhere in the remote spots.
Post by: jk on July 07, 2011, 02:56:48 PM
Broke an engine mount on the CREB ( carry a spare so no biggie )
Developed a leak in the gearbox ( warranty work/just rebuilt )   >:(
Bent mudflap brackets on camper ( same as last time )
Loose body mount bolt
Scratches  ???  .............thousands of the things
Cut finger trying to separate two snatch straps after Nolands Brook
Left front brake calliper not working at full clamping power, full of crud I guess ( bloody Gunshot )  ;D

not bad all things considered,..................can we go do it all again  :cheers:
Post by: Vi_n_Geoff on July 07, 2011, 09:45:47 PM
We mirror those other who went, a great bunch of people. Only real issue for me was bending all the checkerplate edges on the camper and a lot of little bush pinstripes. Oh and the dent on a rear quarter panel from me losing grip on a log when it slipped whilst putting on the roof rack.

The Paj performed like a champion, not a single loose bolt (and i was checking every day :laugh:). The only thing i had to do was clean the air filter daily to keep her fed as much clean air as possible.

Sitting here in Cooktown, i have done some fuel figures checks. So far since we left home, covering 3400km with the camper on all but 200km it is averaging 13.9l/100km!! This included doing the OTL, so i am very impressed to say the least.

Geoff
Post by: bert56 on July 10, 2011, 06:56:26 AM
The BT50 performed far better than I thought it would.

I do need to do some repairs which include

repair tigerz 11 winch that failed the first time I went to use it, Rope will need resplicing as it rubbed because I could not wind it all the way in,
windscreen now has 2 big chips, both whilst on bitumen,
Bonnet protector
possible burnt out clutch, sure put out a lot of smoke at gunshot,
1000's of scratches
cracked wheel carrier and associated dent in tail gate,
investigate knock in the front end when reversing with full left lock,

Would I go again, HELL YES.

Bert
Post by: dno on July 10, 2011, 09:48:55 AM
Hi Bert.
Great to hear you guy's all had a good time while away. Was wondering what size the failed tigerz winch is and what went wrong with it.
Thanks Dean.
Post by: Black Diamond on July 10, 2011, 11:03:21 AM
The BT50 performed far better than I thought it would.

I do need to do some repairs which include

repair tigerz 11 winch that failed the first time I went to use it, Rope will need resplicing as it rubbed because I could not wind it all the way in,
windscreen now has 2 big chips, both whilst on bitumen,
Bonnet protector
possible burnt out clutch, sure put out a lot of smoke at gunshot,
1000's of scratches
cracked wheel carrier and associated dent in tail gate,
investigate knock in the front end when reversing with full left lock,

Would I go again, HELL YES.

Bert
Thats the spirit  :cheers:
Post by: bert56 on July 11, 2011, 06:20:34 AM
Hi Dean,

My winch is 12000 lb version with rope. It feed out about 50mm and then gave up the ghost which left it flapping and caused it to wear through the rope a bit. I tied it up with cable ties for the trip home. Anyone know a GOOD rope splicer in Gladstone. I'm going to have a look at it today and see if I can find what's wrong.

Cheers Bert
Post by: idlegossip on July 11, 2011, 08:00:56 AM
We like everyone else had our issues.

On the car we had 2 cracked driving lights, cracked windscreen, dual battery controller gave up the ghost from the corrugations, ruptured water tank in the car from corrugations, 1 demolished tyre, tree trunk protector, rear stone guard bent, melted the airbag tube to the polyair bag in the rear.

On the camper we demolished the handbrake guard on the camper, bent a leg, bent checker plating under the kitchen, broke off a latch for securing the hardfloor closed, need to replace the foam seals again on the top as they were damaged whilst the side was scrapped.

Bush pinstrips on both the vehicle and camper like others that will buff out. We also had to upgrade the suspension when we got to Cairns initially because the springs that were on the camper were not up to the task. Some we were had some heavy duty springs installed which gave the camper about a 4 inch lift from where it stood initially. This made the world of difference in the way the trailer handled.

Our only other disappointment was having our laptop and internet stolen from our hut during the night at Seisia.

Overall we are happy with the way things went in general with all things considered.

Post by: D4D on July 11, 2011, 08:08:56 AM
Our only other disappointment was having our laptop and internet stolen from our hut during the night at Seisia.

Farkers!
Post by: Gunna Do on July 11, 2011, 08:28:55 AM
IddleG,  I see a few have mentioned that their vehicle suffered plenty of bush pin striping.  What section of the track was this suffered mostly.

Was the hut where your laptop was stolen from, one of the open beach front ones (camp kitchen style)?

What brand was your dual battery isolator?

Water tanks inside vehicles have always worried me, hope there wasn't too much water leaked inside.

Sounds like an epic trip this year.  Looking forward to a few more pics if you've got any to leak to the waiting masses.  ;D
Post by: BigJules on July 11, 2011, 08:48:42 AM
My winch is 12000 lb version with rope. It feed out about 50mm and then gave up the ghost which left it flapping and caused it to wear through the rope a bit. I tied it up with cable ties for the trip home. Anyone know a GOOD rope splicer in Gladstone. I'm going to have a look at it today and see if I can find what's wrong.
Cheers Bert
I'm betting it is the dodgy switch and/or wireless module. I thought I had a solenoid failure, bought a replacement (~$30) but obviously this didn't fix it. Try direct connecting the wires and see how you go.
Post by: dno on July 11, 2011, 10:39:29 AM
Hi Dean,
My winch is 12000 lb version with rope.
Cheers Bert
Thanks Bert.
I think it would pay to have a good look inside to soliniod box for poor conections, there electrical conectors and fittings are a little poor.
Thanks for your reply.
dno.
Also thanking everyone else that posts. Sorry to hear about the laptop IddleG, there sure is some scum out there.

Post by: MDS69 on July 11, 2011, 01:13:48 PM
WOW what an adventure. Sounds like some lifelong memories there.
Post by: idlegossip on July 11, 2011, 09:10:32 PM
Hi Gunna do,

There were various sections along the way that were a little tight to gert through with branches overhanging on the track that couldn't of been easily avoided and some sections needed to be cut wide to get through.

The huts were one of the beach front open air ones and I got a little complacent with it as we hadn't heard of any problems and there were no signs warning of night visitors and having covered it to a point I thought it was ok. Guess I won't be doing that again.

The dual battery controller was a Piranha older model. Was lucky in that our fridge didn't go over 2-3oC as I was watching it constantly and the moment you gave the controller a tap with your fingers it came good again for a couple of days. It was an intermittent fault that was a concern so I changed it out yesterday back in Cairn to be on the safe side.

Our water tank in the care ruptured some where between Archer river and Canal creek. we had about 60 lt go through the car. Initially I though it was some water leakage from a river crossing until I want to fill a water bottle with drinking water and realised that the tank was empty. One of the problems with stainless steel tanks I guess.

Epic is an understatement. Will see what photos I have salvaged that I can put out but I don't want to steal Marks thunder on his report, which will be well worth the wait.
Post by: Gunna Do on July 11, 2011, 09:30:12 PM
Thanks IddleG for the update and info. 

Unlucky with the stainless tank leaking, I was thinking it would have been a plastic one.

The huts at Seisia, whilst they only having basic facilities, are a welcome oasis after the trip north.  Just not a secure one by the looks of it.

Tks
Post by: bert56 on July 12, 2011, 09:31:42 AM
I've fixed the winch, faulty switch, I tested it before leaving home. This was the first time I needed it and it failed. The wireless remote never worked properly. Just shows that you get what you pay for. I bought a cheap winch and it was useless when I needed it.

Bert
Post by: Bird on July 12, 2011, 10:22:58 AM
Quote from: bert56
I've fixed the winch, faulty switch, I tested it before leaving home. This was the first time I needed it and it failed. The wireless remote never worked properly. Just shows that you get what you pay for. I bought a cheap winch and it was useless when I needed it.
This post should be made a sticky.  :'(
Thats a bugger though. Lucky you had others with you
Post by: BigJules on July 12, 2011, 10:31:20 AM

As I suspected. I think the winch itself is a good bit of gear, but the controls are not the best.
Post by: SteveandViv on July 27, 2011, 04:19:18 PM
Well the run down for us is.

Rear diff seal on the way over from Broome. No issues An extra day in Cairns before we left
Winch solenoid burnt out doing the Wenlock. Diverted to Wepia to get it fixed before doing the OTL Added a few days there but we were planing to go the for two days on the way down so only an extra day

Did the Auto Tensioner (Belt) idler pully just out of Coen on the way down. Spent 2.5 days there while part sent from Cairns. A bit pissed off about that one as I did have a noise in a pully but thought it was another one. Seized and snapped the tension-er arm.

On our way back to Cairns we had a CV noise grow worse and worse. On inspection there was a split in the CV boot that had finally filled up with OTL water and grit. Sort of lucky it went where it did as we were just off the CREB. This was due to me not checking the CV properly before we left Broome, not due to the CREB. In Cairns for 4 days while part rebuilt. Also getting a new left front wheel bearing, again old age and thousands of Kays and corrugations. Ours are not serviceable items so no way to check etc.

These are the only repairs we have had over 8 years so all in all not to bad, shame they happened now as we also miss the end of the trip with Frostd which is a sh1t...
Post by: Frostd on July 29, 2011, 09:37:43 PM
Just arrived home from 6 weeks to the Cape and have read the thread. I feel quite happy, considering what you guys and my good friend Steveandviv have sustained. My damage, jockey wheel, slight panel damage to the CT, broken handles and feet to stabilizer legs. The pin stripping will match the other pin stripping.
Post by: Gunna Do on July 30, 2011, 05:44:11 AM
Frostd, have you any clues as to why your DO35 hitch popped off the pin on the way up north?  Anything bent or broken in the locking mechanism?

(http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-PkcXn3738uE/TgxeGPrXhiI/AAAAAAAAACA/snZZABv9WR4/s320/Cairns+to+Lakefield+115.JPG)
Post by: Frostd on July 30, 2011, 08:18:13 AM
Gunnado, I have thought about this long and hard ::). Looked at the mechanism, cleaned it, re-hitched and unhitched.  There is nothing broken on the hitch, or the goose neck ;D. The only thing I broke was a D shackle on the safety chain. The other chain held very good. Whilst on the way to the top, we drove over some very steep ground, with wash outs, including the Frenchmans Track, across the Pascoe, Wenlock and the OTL, without it coming off again ;D.  I think it comes down to my excitement and not pulling the pin into place when we left Endevour Falls Caravan Park, so user error :-[ :-[. 
Post by: Gunna Do on July 30, 2011, 08:35:29 AM
Thanks for the feedback.  I bet you never stopped checking it afterwards.  Sounds like you've given it a fair workout since, so all good.
Post by: Frostd on July 30, 2011, 08:43:35 AM
It was checked everytime we stopped and the wife double checked it everytime we hitched.
Post by: Symon on July 30, 2011, 03:26:56 PM
Just lucky we didn't have someone like this in our group - http://youtu.be/Cbojfun27pg
Post by: SteveandViv on July 30, 2011, 03:30:38 PM
That's plain just stupid. Who/ why would you ever take that line.  ???
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on July 30, 2011, 03:48:54 PM
any clues as to why your DO35 hitch popped off the pin

This is part of our pre-drive away checklist.  He checks I've locked every little thing and I check he's hooked it up, latched it on, attached the power and has Two Green Dots  ;D  Must admit though, those dots are wearing off a little bit, so we'll have to keep remarking them I think.

Post by: Frostd on July 30, 2011, 06:48:28 PM
Kit_e - Its one lesson I have learnt. It could have been a hell of alot worse, but hey alls good. Looking forward to the next camping trip we can do
Post by: jk on July 31, 2011, 02:02:55 PM
Well that's about it  ;D , we've had the gearbox leak fixed under warranty, replaced the front calipers, repainted the front diff housing, done a full service ( fuel filter/oil/oil filter/air cleaner & grease ) and I've spent the last 4 hours on the buff getting out all the pinstripes from The CREB and OTL.

Looking at the old girl now you wouldn't know she'd been off the black top  ;D ,..........................SO, where to next gang  ??? , we're ready to go again.
Post by: Symon on July 31, 2011, 03:26:55 PM
Fraser!
Post by: Frostd on July 31, 2011, 03:55:04 PM
Mmmmmmmm Fraser..........
Post by: BigJules on July 31, 2011, 07:35:19 PM
I think it comes down to my excitement and not pulling the pin into place when we left Endevour Falls Caravan Park, so user error :-[ :-[. 

I've done the same thing myself, though I found it before the trailer jumped off. This is why the chains need to be connected at the correct length, to stop the camper hitting the ground if possible. Glad to hear it wasn't serious for you.
Post by: graham on October 27, 2011, 07:35:10 PM
do not forget to cross the chains, stop the blighter digging in (from an unknown who has done it before, twice acc to the chains around the gooseneck)    cheers Graham
Post by: Frostd on October 27, 2011, 07:43:55 PM
do not forget to cross the chains, stop the blighter digging in (from an unknown who has done it before, twice acc to the chains around the gooseneck)    cheers Graham
Yeah, Graham both chains were cross. The only thing that broke was the D shackle. My daughter actually cound the 'D'' without the pin about twenty yards behind our vehicle. 
Post by: SteveandViv on October 28, 2011, 02:07:30 PM
Mmmmmmmm Fraser..........

Mate, you must have shares in that place...I must admit it is one of the best places we've gone with you guys. I'd love to go back as well.