Author Topic: What do you put under your tent?  (Read 18138 times)

Offline Axl

What do you put under your tent?
« on: March 18, 2013, 03:26:00 AM »
As the title says I am curious as to what people use under the tent of there soft floor CT when it is set up tarp, shade cloth etc.
Cheers Axl

2010 14.44.3 OB Jayco Expanda
2018 Dual Cab LS-M Isuzu D-max
2013 Lifestyle Camper Trailers Explorer (Sold)

Offline dav

What do you put under your tent?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2013, 03:42:19 AM »
Shade cloth for the tent G gear mate for the camper.

Offline Axl

Re: What do you put under your tent?
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2013, 04:03:06 AM »
Thanks dav this is all new to me I pick up the new CT on Wednesday and this is my first one. The CT has a 12ft tent so I am thinking that I'll go to Bunnings and pick up some shade cloth to suit.

I cant afford the c gear matt just yet so I went with Oztrail version. I picked a 6mx2.5m Oztrail annex mat up off flea bay for $116, the best price I could find it at in the camping stores was $150 so I saved some hard earned and I reckon it will do the job ok.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2013, 04:25:37 AM by Axl »
Cheers Axl

« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2013, 05:25:25 AM »
Axl,

A little more expensive but if you double over the shade cloth, you will find the bottom of you tent will keep a lot cleaner.

Offline Kalebjarrod

« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2013, 06:53:20 AM »
Oztrail shade cloth, works a treat
HILUX D4D + LIFESTYLE WALKTHROUGH

« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2013, 07:06:22 AM »
dunno why anyone would pay for expensive brand name shade cloth when the cheapest way to go is the stuff from the likes of Crazy  Clarkes and the like. had some of this cheaper shade cloth for years .

saves big $$$$ 's.

Offline wiggo

« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2013, 07:25:43 AM »
I used to use 2 x 2mx3m tarps when we had ours
tent was always dry and clean.
looked brand new when we sold it

« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2013, 07:30:43 AM »
We use a couple of peices of roof insulation, get it from work so it comes at the best price. Is just like industrial bubble wrap so is soft under foot as well, and provides some thermal benifit. Fold it in half and throw it under the dust cover. http://www.kingspaninsulation.com.au/Products/Kingspan-Air-Cell/AIR-CELL-Retroshield/Overview.aspx

« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2013, 07:32:26 AM »
Orange builders plastic, tuff and only a $2 per metre, cheap to replace if it tears too.

Offline Desert lover

• Challenge Meridian Offroad camper, GU Patrol.
« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2013, 08:15:07 AM »
We have a silver tarp which is slightly wider than the tent of the c/t. I put some eyelets in it which match the peg points on that side of the tent so it also provides some protection for the door mat on the side we enter and exit from most.   The tarp folds up (up side in) so it stays clean and lives in a bag in the tool box.  So in the unpack on arrival it is one of the first items out.  We also carry a plastic rake so are able to move a lot of little sticks etc which may otherwise pierce the floor.
Desert Lover

« Reply #10 on: March 18, 2013, 08:32:27 AM »
We use a silver tarp under the tent floor, and for the annex we got an Oztrail mesh floor 6mtr x 3mtr with fixing eyelets from Downunder at Slacks creek for approx $60.
Very happy with our set up.

Offline Darren253

« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2013, 08:38:47 AM »
We use a silver tarp under the tent floor, and for the annex we got an Oztrail mesh floor 6mtr x 3mtr with fixing eyelets from Downunder at Slacks creek for approx $60.
Very happy with our set up.

X2 exactly
2013 LC200 Altitude
2014 CC Exodus 14

« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2013, 08:54:17 AM »
I cant afford the c gear matt just yet so I went with Oztrail version. I picked a 6mx2.5m Oztrail annex mat

Axl, that is exactly what we use under the tent.  Works great.  It is a bit longer than the 12' tent but we double it over at the trailer end to give a bit thicker protection where we walk the most.  Also a bit wider but that keeps any dirt from splashing the side of the tent when it rains.  Just whack the pegs straight through.  Holes seem to "heel" themselves pretty well.

Under the annex we have something similar but it came made to measure with the CT.  Also works well.

Offline Axl

« Reply #13 on: March 18, 2013, 07:36:14 PM »
Axl, that is exactly what we use under the tent.  Works great.  It is a bit longer than the 12' tent but we double it over at the trailer end to give a bit thicker protection where we walk the most.  Also a bit wider but that keeps any dirt from splashing the side of the tent when it rains.  Just whack the pegs straight through.  Holes seem to "heel" themselves pretty well.

Under the annex we have something similar but it came made to measure with the CT.  Also works well.

Thanks everyone for your info, KB the annex mat will be used in the annex but after some more searching I reckon I found what you are refering to. It is an Oztrail product basically shade cloth with eyelits 8ftX12ft for $35 at down under camping.

This will be perfect :cup:.
Cheers Axl

Offline Bookleaf

« Reply #14 on: March 18, 2013, 08:08:29 PM »
OzTrail mat under the tent, CCmat under the annex.  Both work a treat.
Used to have a silver tarp under the tent, but the first time it rained, the rain ran down the canvas and under the floor and pooled there (the tarp was bigger than the tent floor).  The OzTrail is also bigger, but the water just soaks through it and does not pool.
Like the idea of folding the extra over near the wheel.  Will try that next time.
Isuzu MUX, LS-M, Cameron Canvas Camper

Offline Turbojohn

« Reply #15 on: March 18, 2013, 08:13:17 PM »
I have some anti fatigue matting that I got from dummings works well but heavy

Offline brickiematt

• Life member of the Silverton Hotel
« Reply #16 on: March 18, 2013, 08:22:55 PM »
We use shade cloth under the tent, cut slightly larger than the tent floor so we can double it over at the edges.
Oztrail rubber type matting for the annexe.

« Reply #17 on: March 18, 2013, 11:53:23 PM »
My 2nd hand Trackie came with some marine carpet large enough to go under the tent. I admit it does soak up some moisture but it sure does protect the floor well.
Very happy with it for the price  :laugh:
Just let it dry out when we get home and good as new.
Shade cloth for the annex and some old mats for the entrances.

Offline Malcur

« Reply #18 on: March 19, 2013, 08:55:50 AM »
OzTrail mat under the tent, Cgear under the annex.  Both work well.
We used to have a silver tarp under the tent, but when it rained, the water ran down the canvas and under the floor on top of the tarp (which was bigger than the tent floor).  The OzTrail is also bigger, but the water just soaks through it.

Mal

« Reply #19 on: March 19, 2013, 09:07:39 AM »
Thanks everyone for your info, KB the annex mat will be used in the annex but after some more searching I reckon I found what you are refering to. It is an Oztrail product basically shade cloth with eyelits 8ftX12ft for $35 at down under camping.

This will be perfect :cup:.

Sorry Axl, my mistake.  Didn't read your OP correctly.  Yes, the Oztrail product I was referring to is the shade cloth type material.  We use that under the tent.  We also have a piece of light weight marine carpet, almost like a felt, which we put inside the tent.  This then folds up on top of the bedding when packing up.  Keeps the feet warm in the winter.

Offline Tim - Stratford

• Sarah's Canvas Products
    • Canvas Jaffle Iron Covers
« Reply #20 on: March 19, 2013, 09:59:33 AM »
As a hard floor kamper owner we only have the kids room on the ground. As this is a small area we use the foam interlocking mats (9) with a tarp on top. The mats insulate the floor and the tarp keeps the tent base clean and dry - its comfy to walk on too.  ;D

Sarah's Canvas Products...
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=30053.0

« Reply #21 on: March 19, 2013, 10:19:22 AM »
We are silver tarpers as well. We cut out around the trailer so its easier to just drag the tarp in position after we have parked and are happy with our spot.

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #22 on: March 19, 2013, 01:59:46 PM »
We use the waffle type mats that just click together under the tent but usually nothing under the annex area.

Offline kiwipride

« Reply #23 on: March 20, 2013, 09:52:51 AM »
We are silver tarpers as well. We cut out around the trailer so its easier to just drag the tarp in position after we have parked and are happy with our spot.

is that a Pinnacle CT.?
My plan is to live forever......so far, so good!

« Reply #24 on: March 20, 2013, 09:57:14 AM »
is that a Pinnacle CT.?

No the CT we built ourselves. (build in my sig line) The tent I believe is the same as Pinnacles but we bought it off www.trailercampers.com who also import them.

Are you thinking of buying one?