General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Pebble on February 09, 2011, 05:09:11 PM

Title: The tightarse thread
Post by: Pebble on February 09, 2011, 05:09:11 PM
Alright so I was reading something similar on a mtb forum that's turned out to be great for a laugh.

What are some of the tightarse things that yourself or someone you know has ever done, camping related or not?

All I can think of at the moment is to say, yest I do keep the soaps from motel rooms, because we paid for them anyway. But I don't keep the tea/ coffee especially not if it's international roast, in fact if staying more than one night I'll take my own tea / cofee / milo ha ha.
Title: Re: The tightarse thread
Post by: Burnsy on February 09, 2011, 05:16:49 PM
Pickup scrap alloy from roadside pickup and cash it in as well as anything else of value.
Post by: Duchess on February 09, 2011, 05:37:47 PM
We live in the dark.  ;D

I'd rather burn a candle than turn on a light...can't stand using any more power than absolutely necessary and am always switching lights off after me. Turn every power point off religiously after use and don't leave anything running. Power is not cheap out here and yes, I've got the solar panel things too. So, I think I'm pretty tightarse about power... ;D
Post by: NewcastleKnight on February 09, 2011, 05:45:04 PM
I used to drink any beer as long as it was on special.... ;D  I think I learnt it from my grandfather, who I lived with in my formative years he used to drink anything that was cheap....in those days it was West End Bitter....lol

My father used to tell me that I would drink "camel's piss".... ;D ;D

These days but I only drink what I like..... as I have got older I don't tend to be as much of a tightarse but still hate being ripped off and would rather not have it if I thinks it a rort....lol
Post by: Johnny Trackabout on February 09, 2011, 05:46:14 PM
I use to work for a bloke who was such a tight arse, he wasn't allowed to eat strawberry Jam ....cause he had trouble passing the seeds ;D

JT
Post by: bullfrog on February 09, 2011, 05:52:20 PM
Bloke I work with tells a yarn about his old Boss who was so tight he would straighten out old wire coat hangers instead of buying welding wire.
 My brother is so tight that if he handed you a $1 coin, you could here the 'roo on the coin gasping for breathe , he would hang on that much  >:D
Post by: Campa on February 09, 2011, 05:57:01 PM
Every Christmas we look forward to the gift my wife's Auntie gives us  ;D. It is always the same gift card, from the same woman's clothing shop that expires in February the next year (2 months after Christmas).
Strangely enough Her birthday is in February and the gift card expires 12 months after purchase.  :laugh:
Post by: NewcastleKnight on February 09, 2011, 06:00:33 PM
Every Christmas we look forward to the gift my wife's Auntie gives us  ;D. It is always the same gift card, from the same woman's clothing shop that expires in February the next year (2 months after Christmas).
Strangely enough Her birthday is in February and the gift card expires 12 months after purchase.  :laugh:

That is Gold!!! :D
Post by: Campa on February 09, 2011, 06:03:04 PM
That is Gold!!! :D

Were trying desperately to find who it is that is giving her these gift vouchers to change to a shop we like  :laugh:
Post by: crackacoldie on February 09, 2011, 06:25:09 PM
Company I used to work for had the cleaners split the 2 ply dunny paper, so it went twice as far!!!
Post by: Robbo on February 09, 2011, 06:37:30 PM
Had an old boss some years ago that was so tightarse that he squeaked when he walked.

Post by: Campa on February 09, 2011, 06:39:16 PM
Had an old boss some years ago that was so tightarse that he squeaked when he walked.

I think I work for him now  :laugh:
Post by: davo69 and the Nurse on February 09, 2011, 06:45:00 PM
Were trying desperately to find who it is that is giving her these gift vouchers to change to a shop we like  :laugh:

That's a classic!  :cup:

Post by: camdyson on February 09, 2011, 06:52:14 PM
Years ago a mate and I used to write to each other (yes write - told you it was years ago!) regularly. We'd carefully open the envelope, and put our reply in, with the address scribbled out and "wrong address, try xxxxxxxxxx" on it, with xxxxxxxxxx being the other's address.

I reckon we got one envelope back and forth on one stamp over a dozen times - surprized no-one at Aust Post ever twigged it was the same 2 addresses repeated over and over!!! ;D

Cam
Post by: craigtempo on February 09, 2011, 06:59:28 PM
Alright so I was reading something similar on a mtb forum that's turned out to be great for a laugh.

What are some of the tightarse things that yourself or someone you know has ever done, camping related or not?

All I can think of at the moment is to say, yest I do keep the soaps from motel rooms, because we paid for them anyway. But I don't keep the tea/ coffee especially not if it's international roast, in fact if staying more than one night I'll take my own tea / cofee / milo ha ha.

dont forget the toilet paper  ;D

craig
Post by: D4D on February 09, 2011, 07:01:48 PM
A company I deal with send my bill in reused envelopes. I can't figure out if he is a tight arse or greenie.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on February 09, 2011, 07:04:36 PM
We had a labourer that used to take home the left over concrete from a slab pour in buckets and pour his driveway, must of taken ages and looked like a patch work quilt, he lived close to the job so at least it did not set before he got home

Post by: D4D on February 09, 2011, 07:06:14 PM
Was he Italian :)
Post by: Tracey family on February 09, 2011, 07:12:23 PM
new a bloke that would lean your empty coke bottle upside down then drink what was in the lid
Post by: Jon on February 09, 2011, 07:30:42 PM
so tight he would straighten out old wire coat hangers instead of buying welding wire.

Sent my missus to Coles to buy 50 wire coat hangers for oxy/acet welding wire.
Cheap at twice the price. ;D
Post by: gruesome on February 09, 2011, 07:40:30 PM
Worked with a bloke in a coal mine that used the same tea bag for a week, use to hang it up and dry it after every cup of tea,
cheers Andy
Post by: Black Diamond on February 09, 2011, 08:07:56 PM
Ha Ha got a Greek mate who's Uncle had a Taxi, when the extended family went to Warrnanbool for their get together, his Uncle use to take the Cab, drop the kids of at the beach for the day do the rounds  ;D I suppose you would call it a working holiday  :D
Post by: Rowanb on February 09, 2011, 08:19:28 PM
Tight arse don't get me started, I have been doing all my own servicing for years, despite the fact some of the stuff I have worked on I swear the car was built around the oil filter, kinda like my 2.8 GU.

I had an old 2 Stroke YZ Yamaha a few years back and compression was a bit down so off came the head a few smacks with a soft blow hammer on the crown of the piston and viola instant compression, sold the bike a year later after once again "rebuilding it by hammer" lol sorry Yamaha Txxwxxmba but hey I'm sure you got ya pound of flesh out of me over the early years.
Post by: chunk on February 09, 2011, 08:40:42 PM
When I worked at BHP Port Kembla the migrants used to take a litre of marking paint home each day and use it to paint there houses, this paint was specific to BHP and was Kembla blue, green,yellow etc...and was matt finish.One bright spark started taking paint home from the paint line and after he had about 10 litres he painted his house. 2 weeks later the paint was still wet and he couldn't work out why until we told him that he had used baked enamel paint, took him months to get it all off.
Post by: playhard on February 09, 2011, 09:05:27 PM
I have an uncle that once gave me, my brother and 2 of my cousins a tin of used paint for Christmas. If I didn't know him I would have thought he was taking the p**s.
Post by: Humbolt on February 09, 2011, 09:18:40 PM
When i was 14, we used a Nutra-Grain packet for a head gasket on a 69 model KX125.
C'mon, I was 14.............
Also makes me think about the guys who drive the streets and cut the electrical cords off anything in the street that is waiting for the 'hard rubbish collection'
Post by: speewa158 on February 10, 2011, 06:19:42 AM
Now its not tightarse thats recycling  there is a differance to it all . If your out roadside shopping in the long green ile  thats putting to good use things that have been offered to you . Thats not tightarse as its costing you to drive around ,   but of your on foot , differant story .
Post by: JCOJ on February 10, 2011, 09:43:53 AM
My mum wins this competition hands down!!!

Every year for birthdays and christmas we get presents that she pulls out of her cupboard or acquires.  Some examples:

- She was a school teacher and one of her students gave her a potpourri thing - she then gave that to my wife for christmas (it still had the little card on it to my mum)
- My wife also recevied an address book - with addresses already in it
- My sister in law recevied one of those toilitries bags you get on airlines (Malaysian)
- My sister received a print (picture) and it was so ugly she gave it back, so the next year she framed it and gave it to my brother.
- She gave my brother and sister in law one towel (for the both of them)
- She gave my sister in laws mother two hand towels which had peg markings on them (out of the cupboard, washed, then wrapped)
- She gave my son a book - straight out of her bookcase

I could write a book about her tightarse ways!!!
Post by: torsion on February 10, 2011, 11:54:16 AM
Tight arse's or Scab's?
What I just read 80% was scab related.

One day they will make a drug to cure you Tight arse's - you have a disease....   
Post by: Flemo on February 10, 2011, 12:12:38 PM
My father inlaw has a garage full of stuff from the now defunct WA Salvage he bought about 5 years ago. Does not use any of it just bought it because it was cheap the tight old prick. For example tents, camping chairs, garden chairs etc. "I bought 4 fold out camp chairs from WA Salvage for $3.95 each". But you dont go camping mate! "yea but for that price I had to buy them". Actually he is a nightmare combination of hoarder and tightarse....
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on February 10, 2011, 01:05:04 PM

I'm a member of the Cheap Skates Club (http://cheapskates.com.au/members/login.cfm?rf=/default.cfm::&CFID=8413106&CFTOKEN=2ca413566c0cf2cf-0D85B390-D879-A079-11BEB63355B0CF90).

Thousands of great ways to save money, recycle things, re-gift (like that mum up there), make better use of time and did I mention save money?  Nothing more fulfilling than making your own washing powder or removing nasty household chemicals from your life.

Post by: darren on February 10, 2011, 02:12:43 PM
If you need any more info on this Google 'Tight Arses' There is heaps of stuff  8)
Post by: garbage on February 10, 2011, 02:29:56 PM
If you need any more info on this Google 'Tight Arses' There is heaps of stuff  8)

Not sure that's something I should do while I'm at work :D
Post by: Humbolt on February 10, 2011, 02:47:08 PM
Not sure that's something I should do while I'm at work :D

GOLD!! :cup:
Post by: speewa158 on February 10, 2011, 06:50:41 PM
I would readly  join Tightarse but its costing way to much for me  .  :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on February 10, 2011, 07:26:07 PM
When i was 14, we used a Nutra-Grain packet for a head gasket on a 69 model KX125.
C'mon, I was 14.............

Hey, I was in my twenty's(Late 80's) and used a cereal box cardboard plenty of times on my IT 465 81 model.
I can still be as tight as a fish's bum at times
Post by: Crimso on February 10, 2011, 07:44:31 PM
Hey thanks folks, I'm picking up some good ideas here. :cup:
Post by: HEM19X on February 10, 2011, 07:58:26 PM
Hey, I was in my twenty's(Late 80's) and used a cereal box cardboard plenty of times on my IT 465 81 model.
I can still be as tight as a fish's bum at times

Hairs, you realy realy should not make ANY reference to "Fish's Bum" - besides you spelt it wrong!!!!!

Post by: MarkGU on February 10, 2011, 08:03:54 PM
Hairs, you realy realy should not make ANY reference to "Fish's Bum" - besides you spelt it wrong!!!!!

hahahhahahhaha
Post by: Hairs on February 10, 2011, 08:04:57 PM

Here's some brownie points for me, And it's still tight, oops. :D
Did I say that (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-laughing001.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
Post by: theflyingbadger on February 10, 2011, 10:14:27 PM
My father inlaw has a garage full of stuff from the now defunct WA Salvage he bought about 5 years ago. Does not use any of it just bought it because it was cheap the tight old prick. For example tents, camping chairs, garden chairs etc. "I bought 4 fold out camp chairs from WA Salvage for $3.95 each". But you dont go camping mate! "yea but for that price I had to buy them". Actually he is a nightmare combination of hoarder and tightarse....

that's 'cos he's a yorkshireman. they're like that over there...
Post by: POD on February 11, 2011, 11:26:40 AM
OK...

I knew a guy who knew a guy...

Who, when he wanted window tinting for his car was so shocked at the price that he decided to go to the newsagent, buy some dark cellophane and sticky-taped it to his car windows!!!

Post by: medion on February 11, 2011, 11:53:13 AM
Speaking of tight arses, my wife once recieved a butter dish with the butter still in it for Xmas :(
Post by: jackosaurus on February 15, 2011, 11:01:19 PM
!
Post by: prlamb on February 16, 2011, 04:36:06 AM
Years ago A friend worked in WA at a mine site and stayed at a camp for the days they were there, he always tells me of the guy to cheap to buy pegs.

Story goes something like this, there are 2 types of people that worked at these places, 1. people who were saving for something big (an investment to get out of doing what they were doing like saving for a business), 2. those who were saving for there next days off (save up while at work then blow it all on there days off)

old mate was the number 1 type, he owned 2 sets of clothes, both sets consisted of a singlet and a pair of stubbies (shorts). The first set was his work set which he would wear for a week straight, the second set is what he would wear after work around the camp. come washing day he would wash both sets and wear his towl around camp, to dry them he would lay them over a small  shrub outside his room, he wouldnt use the clothes line caus he was to tight to buy pegs. LOL

Another story of tight ass is, a guy i knew went to the philipines all the time for a holiday as it was so cheap to go there and cheap whilst you were there, at the shops in the philipines after doing your grocery shopping, there would be peasents selling plastic shopping bags for 2 cents so as to get an income. he would take his own plastic shopping bags with him from Australia so he didnt have to buy them. Unbelievable!!!!!
Post by: HEM19X on February 17, 2011, 08:08:01 PM
When we lived in Armidale [NSW], I worked with a lady who never used any form of heating in the winter, she issued blankets for anyone silly enough to visit. She & her husband used to travel to their parents places in Inverell [suitably warmed] every weekend & returned home with bags & bags of oranges etc [whatever they were given by their parents] which was all that they ate for the next week.

However, they did pay off their house in just over 3 years...

Post by: Barry G on February 17, 2011, 08:10:53 PM
Hem, 
I wouldn't call that "living".
Post by: morgue on February 18, 2011, 07:50:47 PM
When i was working for the flying rat, we had a bloke, who will remain nameless, use to come into work 1 hour before shift start and have a shower, then have a shower after shift...just for kicks he use to after shift walk around the terminal and go through the bins for aluminimum cans...this bloke holds the record for O/T  ...8 weeks straight of 7 day double shifts, slept in his car,before the supervisor found out, made 140k in one year and still took showers and went through the bins...married 3 times..says something!
Post by: Barry G on February 18, 2011, 08:21:46 PM
Morgue, given the sleeping in car and showering at work I recon the Missus might've already turfed him.
Post by: KevRM on February 18, 2011, 09:35:43 PM
Not wrong, turfed is an understatement,  ???
Post by: pommiedic on February 19, 2011, 08:26:10 AM
A bloke at our place showers every day after work.  We finish at 15:30, he blows up if a job runs over and we are not back in the the yard to shower in works time. 

After showering, he fills up a 10 litre container of filtered water and a small esky of ice.

He is also known to take teabags, coffee, biscuits and sugar, yet is the first to complain if we run out of anything.
Post by: barneys on February 20, 2011, 08:10:15 PM
i know a person that when he wants to make a call to a Mobile  they will ring a family member that works on a swictch board they wood ring them and the other number and put them on a party line until they finshed the call no cost to them  it is the  famly company
Post by: JRF1973 on February 22, 2011, 04:22:59 PM
I know a bloke that had to pay $20 / year to register his dog.  The dog died after 6 months, so he argued with the council about getting his $10 back.  Of course he got nowhere - so now that he has another dog, he sent them $10 with a note to say - this is for the new dog - less the $10 you owe me !!!

Post by: Vince on February 22, 2011, 06:52:01 PM
I know a bloke that had to pay $20 / year to register his dog.  The dog died after 6 months, so he argued with the council about getting his $10 back.  Of course he got nowhere - so now that he has another dog, he sent them $10 with a note to say - this is for the new dog - less the $10 you owe me !!!

now that is a good one :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Post by: MC 031 on February 22, 2011, 07:10:43 PM
I agree JRF...that is a good comeback.
Post by: davo69 and the Nurse on February 22, 2011, 07:58:05 PM

I like it!
Post by: Hoyks on February 22, 2011, 08:42:41 PM
My Grandfather owned some flats for a while and one of the flats had a leaking toilet that was spilling onto the floor.

Rather than replace the washer in cistern, he spent a day in the shed soldering up a funnel out of an old jam tin, hooked to a length of hose and a few bits of wire. The funnel was then wired under the leak, a hole was punched through the wall and the hose run outside and into another hole punched into the down pipe.

My Dad fixed it later for the grand total of $2 for a rubber washer... and a few hundred for a new downpipe and 2 sheets of fibro to repair the wall.
Post by: Lowndsey on February 23, 2011, 04:49:09 PM
I once got an engraved pen for Christmas from my sister and her husband. Problem was that it was engraved with someone elses name...
Post by: MDS69 on February 23, 2011, 06:59:34 PM
Our end of year christmas party/break up consists of everyone coming back to the warehouse for meat on the spit, beer, salads, beer, around 60kg of prawns, beer and I think I forgot something.......    oh yeah beer ;D

One of the office ladies in her late '50s makes up a plate for her hubby and takes it + a 6 pack and half a handbag of prawns home. We would be standing there and she wears a path in the floor with the trip back and forth from the warehouse to her stash at her desk. we have run out of beer because of her :'(

It is now a standing joke that any left over food from monthly barbies, Melbourne Cup parties etc is hidden so we can have leftovers the next day.
Post by: D4D on March 13, 2011, 07:09:15 PM
I was given a Visa gift card and after buying some stuff it had $3.31 left on it. Not wanting to let $$ go to waste, I was trying to think of how I could spend it. eBay and paypal to the rescue. I was able to add the card to my paypal and used it to buy some USB cables and a card reader. $2.31 for 2 USB cables delivered and $1 delivered for the USB SDHC card reader :)
Post by: Bird on April 30, 2014, 11:16:08 PM
new a bloke that would lean your empty coke bottle upside down then drink what was in the lid
That's sad!
Post by: Hendo66 on April 30, 2014, 11:51:46 PM
The guys at work reckon I have never bought a carton of beer (which is bullShit) and they call me TRex cause they reckon my arms are too short and can't reach into my pockets. I just laugh and tell them to get another carton, they usually do. Winning :)
Post by: Terry W4 on May 01, 2014, 10:16:05 AM
When the Qantas Club first opened and there was no requirement to fly to use the facilities I worked with a guy (single) who lived in Queanbeyan.  Every evening he would call into the Canberra airport - have a few drinks - have a meal at Qantas expense - watch the 7pm ABC news and then drive home. Very put out when they changed the rules so that you had to produce a current boarding pass.
Post by: xcvator on May 01, 2014, 10:22:13 AM
A concreter that I did some work for used to race to the site dunny when it was delivered to get the toilet paper and take it home  ??? And it was shyte paper anyway
Post by: 666Glenn on May 01, 2014, 10:44:08 AM
When I was a apprentice .( Fitter / Turner ) Many years ago .
When you were machining on the lathe and you chipped a tip on the lathe, you would normally just change the insert and continue machining on.
Not my old boss he would make me sharpen them on the green wheel on the bench grinder.
Post by: chester ver2.0 on May 01, 2014, 10:46:57 AM
When I worked at BHP Port Kembla the migrants used to take a litre of marking paint home each day and use it to paint there houses, this paint was specific to BHP and was Kembla blue, green,yellow etc...and was matt finish.One bright spark started taking paint home from the paint line and after he had about 10 litres he painted his house. 2 weeks later the paint was still wet and he couldn't work out why until we told him that he had used baked enamel paint, took him months to get it all off.

Ha Ha i remember this my father was at BHP newcastle and one year the exterior of our house got painted in what he called prescott blue named after the MD at the time
Post by: Aaron Schubert on May 01, 2014, 12:17:54 PM
This thread is priceless. I'm a miser, but I do try to be reasonable!

Post by: Bird on May 01, 2014, 12:31:38 PM
I did that, but the admin chick wasn't impressed when she walked past... .
Post by: Mallory Black on May 01, 2014, 12:59:35 PM
When we do our Fraser trips I get super anal on weight and space.
One trip I had rationed the drinks to a certain amount per night only problem was I thought we were doing 6 nights, it was actually 7.  Mrs B was not impressed when that last bottle of wine was not there.... on the last night.........
Post by: lindamc on May 01, 2014, 01:15:59 PM
my family does kris kringle for christmas and in the past I have been known to make presents instead of buying them ...yes this sounds reasonable ...unless you are the recipient of my gumnut creations or paintings. :).  there was always a groan when someone got my name pulled out!   since those days a new rule came in where you had to soend a minimum amount for the kris kringle present!

Sent from my GT-I9100T using Tapatalk 2

Post by: Garfish on May 01, 2014, 01:54:10 PM
My dad still has almost every piece of off cut timber from any project as you never know when you'll need a piece that size. Good luck finding the piece that size in his piles of timber.  We have tongue and groove ceilings in the extension as the squash courts were replacing their floor when dad was doing the ceiling. He would also cut open the shaving cream and tooth paste to make sure you got it all out.  But wasn't as bad as the tight arses on TV the other day when he would walk around to all the tables and ask for their left overs so he could take them home. Yes asking strangers for their half eaten food is going to far in book

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)
Post by: Bird on May 01, 2014, 01:58:20 PM
My dad still has almost every piece of off cut timber from any project as you never know when you'll need a piece that size. Good luck finding the piece that size in his piles of timber.  We have tongue and groove ceilings in the extension as the squash courts were replacing their floor when dad was doing the ceiling. He would also cut open the shaving cream and tooth paste to make sure you got it all out.  But wasn't as bad as the tight arses on TV the other day when he would walk around to all the tables and ask for their left overs so he could take them home. Yes asking strangers for their half eaten food is going to far in book
did you see the one that was picking up food out of bins, and taking it home... then had her friend come over, with his new girlfriend to impress her, and they were fed bin food...
Post by: edz on May 01, 2014, 02:07:10 PM
I wouldnt say dad was a tight arse, but he was very frugal man with anything he did, if there was a way to make something from something else he would, one of the most prized possesions he had was the first Dollar note he ever got paid after the currency change over ... Now he is gone and its safely put away .. though not mint condition its one of the first issue  Australian dollar notes ... so should be worth a lot more than a dollar..
Post by: lino6 on May 01, 2014, 05:46:31 PM
I have heard of one of our plant managers totalling up the lineal metres of off cuts and charging the staff member for it. Just a bag full only good for a 3 minute fire and charged him a few dollars. He would have put them in the bin and would have been charged to dispose of it!

Sent from somewhere on something with that tap thing

Post by: edz on May 01, 2014, 07:02:47 PM
A Ford dealership I worked at once,  you had to sign for any rags you got and if you didnt return them to get another they docked your pay 50c for each one ... Part of the apprentices mechanics duties were to wash the used rags in an old washing machine behind the workshop .
Post by: heath74 on May 01, 2014, 08:05:28 PM
I used to work with a bloke that drove a crappy little hatch, he had a 20l jerry behind each seat, and when petrol went up, he just poured them in the tank, of course he stank of petrol.

He would also bring his washing in to do in the company washing machine, using the company soap of course.

Post by: MrsRenno on May 02, 2014, 11:44:08 AM
My dad used to work for a company where the owner had built the company up from the ground and became quite wealthy. The owner had a multi million dollar waterfront place overlooking the ocean in Sydney. Kept the heavy drapes drawn on the windows  because he didn't want the sun to fade the carpet!
Post by: wilson79 on May 02, 2014, 11:55:11 AM
I currently work with a lady who brings everything into work that she has that is rechargeable and charges at out the back so she doesn't pay for the power at home..

One morning there was 2 x mobile phones, a set of hair clippers, camera battery, drill battery, rechargeable work light, 12 AA rechargeable batteries and 2 x Colman camp lights.
Post by: Mallory Black on May 02, 2014, 05:42:01 PM
 Notable Tightarses

Ingvar Kamprad, who  founded IKEA, gets around in an old Volvo (what else) recycles teabags and eats the cheap meatballs at his restaurant/cafes.

Hetty Green- the Witch of wall street, worth zillions, once scoured her carriage for half a night looking for a 2 cent stamp

Michealangelo- slept in his boots, ate crap but was worth more than the Pope of the day

There's no bigger tightarse than J Paul Getty. At the time the world's richest private citizen
Worth 2 Billion
tight as a fish's arse
Absolutely refused to even think about paying a ransom of $17 mill (yes it's a lot but is 0.85% of his wealth) when his grandson was kidnapped so the kid got his ear lopped AND THEN the old man talked his captors down to 2.2 million
Post by: MrsRenno on May 02, 2014, 09:15:14 PM

There's no bigger tightarse than J Paul Getty. At the time the world's richest private citizen
Worth 2 Billion
tight as a fish's arse
Absolutely refused to even think about paying a ransom of $17 mill (yes it's a lot but is 0.85% of his wealth) when his grandson was kidnapped so the kid got his ear lopped AND THEN the old man talked his captors down to 2.2 million
There's a big difference between "tightarse" and "mean"...
Post by: Ynot on May 02, 2014, 10:10:08 PM
I worked for a mining contractor once and I went into head office to pick some stuff up to take back to site and the owners wife was weighing a teaspoon of coffee out of a large tin of international roast. I asked her what she was doing and she told me that she want to know how many cups of coffee were in a tin because if each person has two cups per day the the tin will last for ten days and they aren't getting anymore than that!
I ordered a box of staples once for the site office and on the next delivery came two little rows of staples in a envelope.

Post by: Garfish on May 03, 2014, 06:12:55 AM
When the Qantas Club first opened and there was no requirement to fly to use the facilities I worked with a guy (single) who lived in Queanbeyan.  Every evening he would call into the Canberra airport - have a few drinks - have a meal at Qantas expense - watch the 7pm ABC news and then drive home. Very put out when they changed the rules so that you had to produce a current boarding pass.

Even if there was no requirement to fly with the parking fees at most airports it would be cheaper to buy your own nowadays
Post by: fishfinder on May 03, 2014, 06:50:29 AM
started this new job and after a couple of weeks at work one friday arvo i got to knock off 1/2 hour early as the boss was putting on drinks and bbq, I thought this was not a bad place to work until i got my next pay slip, I thought it was a bit strange to be docked for the 1/2 hour I knocked off early but to be deducted for the drinks and the feed made me decide i wont partake in any more bbq's
Post by: speewa158 on May 03, 2014, 07:50:10 AM
l know a bloke that's so tight that once he dropped a 5c piece as he bent down to pick it up . lt hit him on the back of the head  8)
Post by: Bird on December 02, 2019, 03:51:01 PM
started this new job and after a couple of weeks at work one friday arvo i got to knock off 1/2 hour early as the boss was putting on drinks and bbq, I thought this was not a bad place to work until i got my next pay slip, I thought it was a bit strange to be docked for the 1/2 hour I knocked off early but to be deducted for the drinks and the feed made me decide i wont partake in any more bbq's
You win!
Post by: rockrat on December 02, 2019, 05:44:35 PM
You win!
You bored Bird, trolling through old posts?

Post by: edz on December 02, 2019, 07:56:36 PM
Our works loading dock got a non commercial automatic washer dryer early this year .. No more industrial laundry deliveries ..
Bloody place looks like a Reffo camp now ..