Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1730489 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #4175 on: April 23, 2018, 06:21:11 AM »
I find myself spending ALL of my time fluffing about with the new Toy Truck.
It isn't exactly new, thats why I got to play with it.
I bought a job that suits my needs, health issues have caught up with me, tradie type work is out, and driving a desk isn't going to happen either.
For a grand sum of $52,000, I got me a 2009 model truck, 7 liter donk, and I have on the back and tow car carrying gear built in the 70's.
The 70's gear needs the work.
On the rear of the truck is a deck which rises to drive a car up to the top deck. This deck I replaced over the Easter long weekend.

Next is the crapy rusted and cracked old deck/ramp.

Next is following a big clean up, and the new deck can be seen.

Now an example of the kind of shiet boxes I have had to shift about.

It is a rare Nuremberg Edition, rear wheel drive only, $400,000 + thankyou very much......  ;D ;D Yep, you pay more for less drive wheels....

Next on the list is a new top deck as it is rusted also.
Next month or so I'll have it looking the part and will be an easy way to earn a living. I doubt I'll end up being fat thanks to siting at the helm all day, its surprising how much walking is done when fetching the cars etc.
Sadly this has effected the camping.....  >:(

« Reply #4176 on: April 23, 2018, 07:03:57 AM »
That might be a 2009 model truck but on the road its always ahead of any car  :-* :-* :cheers:

« Reply #4177 on: April 23, 2018, 07:27:29 AM »
So where do we register for the working bee to help build, in return for access to the property ??? ;D >:D

Many hands make light work.....................but sadly it is not my place to offer. I'm a guest, not the host  :'(

« Reply #4178 on: April 23, 2018, 07:33:27 AM »
Yeah I know & understand - always worth a try though ;D

« Reply #4179 on: April 23, 2018, 07:50:36 AM »
That might be a 2009 model truck but on the road its always ahead of any car  :-* :-* :cheers:

Boom Boom.  :cheers:

« Reply #4180 on: April 23, 2018, 08:07:30 AM »
But one thing Dave - now you can load the 'cruiser & van on the back of the truck, tow them where you want to go, then claim the distance as business milage! :D

« Reply #4181 on: April 23, 2018, 09:05:23 AM »
We do a bit of charity work every year for work and this year we tackled the cubby house challenge for Kids Under Cover.

We had a design by an architect and sourced the materials as much as we could for free and then constructed it in our warehouse on weekends and after work. A few late nights and we got there.

All the 5 cubbies were on show at the Melbourne Garden Show and then auctioned off. We raised over $10k for ours which was a great result. Happy to put my time and skills into something so worthwhile.

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: plusnq

« Reply #4182 on: April 23, 2018, 10:22:17 AM »
Great cause and top effort by the team .. 

« Reply #4183 on: April 23, 2018, 11:13:25 AM »

Happy to put my time and skills into something so worthwhile.

Awesome effort.

« Reply #4184 on: April 23, 2018, 07:29:16 PM »
Boom Boom.  :cheers:
Dave  Can you do a special Swaggers Jeep transport price  ??? lt would give them a lift home & you somebody to talk to on the run . Win/Win  :cup: :cup:

« Reply #4185 on: April 23, 2018, 07:42:42 PM »
Top effort GG. Things like this keep the fabric of society together, even though it feels like its all going to Shite.

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: plusnq

« Reply #4186 on: April 24, 2018, 12:15:58 PM »
Nice one GG :cup:

But won't the do-gooders have something to say about locking the kids up in the backyard ??? >:D

« Reply #4187 on: April 24, 2018, 06:24:25 PM »
Nice one GG :cup:

But won't the do-gooders have something to say about locking the kids up in the backyard ??? >:D

Only if you electrify them.....  >:D
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #4188 on: April 25, 2018, 06:18:22 AM »
Dave  Can you do a special Swaggers Jeep transport price  ??? lt would give them a lift home & you somebody to talk to on the run . Win/Win  :cup: :cup:

Have you ever tried talking to a jeep driver? I'd rather be on my own thanks....  ;D

« Reply #4189 on: April 26, 2018, 11:26:11 AM »
Not today but yesterday. Replaced the DO35 with a McHitch. Easier hitching from now on.

Offline Hookie

« Reply #4190 on: April 26, 2018, 04:14:04 PM »
Why the switch? Just ease of hitching alone? I didn't think the DO35 would be all that difficult?

I'm curious because an off road hitch is on the list of dreams and I've been tossing up between the DO35 and McHitch.

Offline Chappie

« Reply #4191 on: April 26, 2018, 05:46:21 PM »
Hookie try this thread on his camper trailer (hopefully)
 http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=53005.msg947829#msg947829
Noel goes into a bit more detail on his reasons for the change over.
The following users thanked this post: Hookie

« Reply #4192 on: April 26, 2018, 06:37:42 PM »
Put some finishing coats on a little coffee table project. Had some natural edged timber left over from my outdoor bbq cupboards, and an off cut of tassie oak. Really happy with the first attempt at fractal burning. Some nice fine detailed burns, and the coloured resin goes well with the river gum colours. Now to decide on some legs.

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #4193 on: April 28, 2018, 11:07:28 AM »
So we are going away for a couple of nights next weekend and thought I'd better bring the camper down from it's storage spot. Dragged it out and put it in the garage for wifey to check everything and repack it.

While the hoist was empty I gave the hoist a going over checking bolt tensions, locks on the arms, lubed everything and a general once over. Then I put the Pajero on it and rotated the tyres and did pressures. Cleaned the inside of the rims while they were off as well. Cheers, Mike.

2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

« Reply #4194 on: April 28, 2018, 12:37:06 PM »
Got to love a hoist :cup:

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #4195 on: April 28, 2018, 04:48:14 PM »
I want a hoist

Hell, at the moment I'd settle for a garage

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #4196 on: April 28, 2018, 05:41:37 PM »
Boring,
Another 5000km oil + filter change.
Every 2 months now.
445000k's on the old girl. Just run in

Sent from my SM-P585Y using Tapatalk

« Reply #4197 on: April 28, 2018, 05:43:42 PM »
I want a hoist

Hell, at the moment I'd settle for a garage

Lol, yeah it would be nice.
Put a 3" lift in last weekend on a mates driveway

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #4198 on: April 28, 2018, 06:47:31 PM »
Lol, yeah it would be nice.
Put a 3" lift in last weekend on a mates driveway

Rear springs are what I hate doing on the ground... Struts and shocks aren't too bad

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #4199 on: April 28, 2018, 07:12:49 PM »
Rear springs are what I hate doing on the ground... Struts and shocks aren't too bad

I gotta do it again soon, have to put the Air Bag blocks in soon that old mste couldn't find.