Author Topic: G'day..  (Read 5629 times)

Offline GQMacca

G'day..
« on: December 16, 2015, 08:40:59 PM »
G'day.

Macca (yes, another one) from SE Melbourne (just around the corner from GGV8Cruza actually). 

Have been camping, 4x4'ing (multiple Range Rovers, a 60 series, a dual fuel GQ and now a TD42 GQ) and biking (Z750, ZX6R, KTM525 & KLR650) for years (don't have the patience for fishing ), but now I've got two little tackers (3 yo + 8 weeks), chucking a swag and bourbon in the back of the Patrol and leaving doesn't work anymore.   That'll have to wait until the youngest is capable of setting up his own swag.  The family has been out camping in borrowed camper trailers over the years, but it was time to get my own one.

So, I did some trawling around here/ebay/gumtree etc looking for a camper trailer.  For the budget I had, it looked like I was going to get a Ezitrail/Mars/<unmentioned> chinese trailer, until I came across one on ebay that I'd initially skipped because it "looked like crap".   So, a quick drive down to Geelong later (taken under the auspices of a family day out ), I dragged home a Cavalier camper for the princely sum of $2.5k.

It was fairly well sandblasted with lots of red dirt and surface rust, but structurally sound, with real canvas, all the windows and flyscreens intact, kitchen, water tank & pump, annex, etc etc.  It also came with everything that was still inside the trailer (cutlery, crockery, pots, pans, gas bottles, extra cooker, tools,  tea towels, doona etc etc).  Even came with a bag of briquettes in one of the toolboxes!  The seller also threw in a kayak & paddle (if anyone knows anything about the kayak, let me know?!).

So, the bad photos on ebay made it look a lot worse that it actually is.  After a couple of hours in the sun, the wrinkles fell out of the canvas, and after a quick clean it came up OK..

Got a bit to do, and more stuff planned, but I'll bang that in a different thread in the appropriate place.  Be expecting lots of stupid questions.

G'day..
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2015, 08:42:33 PM »
Welcome to myseag snd congrats on the CT. Looks like a ripper
« Last Edit: December 16, 2015, 08:44:33 PM by scarpsD40 »

Re: G'day..
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2015, 08:53:50 PM »
G'day and welcome to myswag

« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2015, 03:11:49 AM »
G'Day Macca and welcome to My Swag.....Safe and happy camping

Cheers Tracker....... :cheers: :cheers:

« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2015, 04:09:03 AM »
Welcome to MySwag macca. Two macca's in close proximity to each other. >:D >:D scarps we have competition ;D

« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2015, 04:55:53 AM »
G'day and welcome mate.
Congrats on the camper. :cup:

Offline Trailer Bloke

• You never know what's around the corner
« Reply #6 on: December 18, 2015, 06:32:03 AM »
G'day Macca looks like you got a bargain on the C T welcome and enjoy the forum.

« Reply #7 on: December 18, 2015, 08:16:59 AM »
Gday  macca,  I am just down the road in Endeavour Hills tho I suspect I may have a few years on you as I have a three year old grandson. Look forward  to catching up at one of the swagger meets.

Offline GQMacca

« Reply #8 on: December 18, 2015, 10:49:58 AM »
Thanks for the welcome peeps.. :cheers:

I'll clarify a bit now Macca has posted - "I'm Macca, just around the corner from Macca" (I'm in Endeavour Hills too)!

Currently waiting for Mr Sandblaster to finish with my trailer so I can get a coat or 3 of jam on it and put it all back together.

« Reply #9 on: December 19, 2015, 06:52:49 PM »
Welcome Macca,

Great CT buy
Enjoy your camping

« Reply #10 on: December 19, 2015, 08:01:39 PM »
G'day Macca and welcome

Offline Beefa Toyota

• Just got to love camping
« Reply #11 on: December 19, 2015, 08:43:25 PM »
Welcome Macca, great buy there enjoy your camper trailer mods and of course the camping
2017 Toyota Hilux SR5 GUN126R
2017 EzyTrail Parkes 13 Hybrid Caravan

Offline Joshreid

• Kia Sportage 05 with Cavalier Shiralee off-road 04
« Reply #12 on: December 21, 2015, 06:19:57 AM »
Looks like you got a bargain! Is it an off road model? That what we just purchased last week.

« Reply #13 on: June 02, 2016, 06:14:37 PM »
Welcome to the Forum. Its getting crowded up in the hills

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk