Author Topic: Solo Travellers/Travelling...  (Read 2573 times)

Offline Ranger_Scott

Solo Travellers/Travelling...
« on: January 09, 2021, 09:23:06 PM »
Got talking to a few mates over a couple of beers tonight about the pros/cons of travelling solo. They said I've got it easy, can go where I want, when I want for how long I want. That may be the case I agreed, but I said it has its pitfalls. After 25 odd years of solo travels, roughly evenly split between tent, swag and camper trailer in free camping, national parks or van parks, I've noticed and pointed out the following:

- couples in vans tend to mix only with other couples in vans,

- families and couples in campers tend to stick to themselves or other couples/families,

- solo male guys are viewed with caution and suspicion. Something I've termed 'Wolf Creek Syndrome'.

Apart from the cursery nod/g'day/small chat along the lines of 'where you from', 'where you going', 'safe driving', it's hard to strike up an evening of drinks and conversation. Having said that, I said that especially in the last 10 years or so, there's a lot of single female/female couples travelling, and I rarely say more than the above to them just in case I'm seen as some weirdo.

Do any other single travellers have the same issues?

Re: Solo Travellers/Travelling...
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2021, 11:04:35 PM »
What are you saying Ranger Mick ? 😂😂😂

I’ve not really one across being unwelcome, although I have travelled alone a lot. I usually present as pretty open to questions though even if I am cautious about how much information I give out.

Offline DCP

« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2021, 09:13:15 AM »
G`day Scott.
Having experienced all kinds of travel in my 73 years, I know what you are talking about. I spent the best part of 45 years traveling all over this land in a group environment  and not a lot of it was on the black top.  But the last 5 have been solo, and boy what a difference. In the last 5 years I have done around 180 thousand ks of mostly remote travel. Back in the day with a group it was camp fires,  happy hours, and good times. Now its solitude, a camp fire, a few quiet beers or a fine single malt and watch nature do its thing. Yes it`s true that folks tend to stick to their age , gender, or group gatherings and are some times reluctant to communicate with the single person. For me this is not a problem as I`m quite happy to enjoy the peace and quiet. If I`m walking past ,say a group or another solo, I`ll say G`day and see where it takes me. It might be just g`day or it might end up chatting for a couple of hours. But what I have found striking up conversations with backpackers is the best. Love finding out about their countries and their travels.
Safe travels mate .   

Offline Traveller

« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2021, 11:22:11 AM »
Hi Scott,

My wife and I have been travelling for a while and it is certainly different when you have others travelling with you. We started outback travel mainly with our then 4x4 club, and tended to socialise with the club members only. Then we went to small group travel (4/6 people) and found it better/easier to talk to others that we met. For the last 15 years we have mainly travelled by ourselves and we will, and do, chat to anyone we meet. It is amazing hearing others stories and we have picked up heaps of tips from other travellers. I can understand your hesitation on 'chatting up' single/dual lady travellers which is a sad indictment on our current age unfortunately. For us it is much easier of course, and we have been approached by single ladies who are keen for some company. Currently we have joined another 4x4 club and are struggling getting back into the routine and structure of group travel, but the good part is having the security of fellow travellers when in quite remote areas. Our preference is still to travel as a couple.

Enjoy your independence while you can.