Author Topic: 2016 bushfire season  (Read 4730 times)

2016 bushfire season
« on: November 13, 2016, 04:40:26 PM »
Here we go again. November always seems to be the month. Bad fire in western Sydney and now ones  popped up to the west of us in remote bushland!  You have to wonder ? Stay safe everyone

Offline gordo350

Re: 2016 bushfire season
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2016, 04:41:17 PM »
If you have to wonder you're probably right
Gordo 350
2015 Ford Ranger Super Cab
Aussie Jays Big Red
everyone is entitled to my opinion

Offline dales133

« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2016, 04:48:53 PM »
Its going to be a rough summer me thinks

« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2016, 05:32:57 PM »
The wrecking yard on the Northern Road is pretty good... we got lots of bits from there... I keep meaning to go for a rummage when I'm down in Sydney but never quite have the time to do it!

Lots of stuff dating back to the 1960's or so as well there... a really good mix of old Euro and Aussie stuff.

« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2016, 05:40:45 PM »
After nearly 30 years living in the mountains and now living in SEQ I won't miss the experiences of living in an environment subject to fires. Our old house has been in the direct line of fire 3 times and before that place was another in the Hawkesbury that cope it twice.
Now I just learning about the SEQ storms.
Good luck to those affected. If things hot up I will return to help out the old brigade.

« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2016, 05:47:10 PM »
The wrecking yard on the Northern Road is pretty good... we got lots of bits from there... I keep meaning to go for a rummage when I'm down in Sydney but never quite have the time to do it!

Lots of stuff dating back to the 1960's or so as well there... a really good mix of old Euro and Aussie stuff.

Random!!!!

Lol

Offline Bullant4x4

« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2016, 05:55:48 PM »
Yep it is time to burn again
« Last Edit: November 18, 2016, 05:48:28 AM by Bullant4x4 »

« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2016, 06:10:20 PM »

Random!!!!

Lol

I may have missed out a few words that would have made sense...

The fire out to the west of Sydney is in Londonderry, and is burning right next to the Northern Road yard, so potentially a big stock of cars to go up as well...

« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2016, 06:23:56 PM »
I may have missed out a few words that would have made sense...

The fire out to the west of Sydney is in Londonderry, and is burning right next to the Northern Road yard, so potentially a big stock of cars to go up as well...
Ah that makes sense now lol. And yeah I know the wrecking yard, have got many a bit there in my early years of driving and car ownership.

« Reply #9 on: November 13, 2016, 06:49:11 PM »
Ah that makes sense now lol. And yeah I know the wrecking yard, have got many a bit there in my early years of driving and car ownership.

Knowing that yard, the cars are probably still there! Annoyingly, we did once go with a mate to find a part that had been there for ages, but it had recently been scrapped...

Offline ATC

« Reply #10 on: November 13, 2016, 08:13:46 PM »
I was sitting in my truck just outside Sale (Victoria), right next to 1000's of acres of hay paddocks when the bloke working with my truck knocked on my window.

I opened my door and he asked if I had water as his angle grinder had set alight the grass at the back of the truck. I get out to have a look and sure enough a small grass fire is racing towards the hay paddocks, about 2 metres away.

I run back to the cab, grab my eski and tip my lunch, ice and water over it. Yes it went out enough to stamp the rest out.

Turns out it's a windy day, in the mid 30's and the crew looking after the power poles didn't fill their backpack fire sprays. I believe they shouldn't have been using angle grinders that day.

Sale (Victoria) doesn't know how close they came to a burning  >:( The way and direction the wind was burning, totally rooted!
There are times when OH&S is a pain, but that situation needs fixing...

Sent from my SM-T815Y using Tapatalk

Offline dales133

« Reply #11 on: November 13, 2016, 08:55:49 PM »
Im a out to finnish a 2 year camper build but im actualy not real keen on bushcamping at all in victoria...i still will but its scarey.. id rather die trying to save this thing than leave it to burn... as crazy as that sounds

« Reply #12 on: November 14, 2016, 07:58:09 AM »
Fires don't bother me, and I'd love to live in the Blue Mountains except for the weather in winter.

« Reply #13 on: November 14, 2016, 07:15:15 PM »
Fires don't bother me, and I'd love to live in the Blue Mountains except for the weather in winter.

Fires don't bother me either until they raging through a zillion acre wilderness area heading for the back fence of home while your waiting on what the next wind storm partly generated by the fire is going to do. A positive of fires is the way the community rallies behind each other and the RFS and the bond that goes with fellow RFS members.

As for winter in the Mts, nothing a good ten tonne per year of firewood won't fix.

« Reply #14 on: November 14, 2016, 08:22:26 PM »
Our crews have been copping a flogging the past few weeks.

Some muppet has been out throwing lit paper from a car and seeing how many fires he could get going. We had 16 vehicles and 2 helicopters running in circles to keep things under control.
Then it rained :cheers:
http://www.qt.com.au/news/were-20-bushfires-arson/2049199/

Give him a few weeks and I'm sure he will be back at it.

Bring back the stocks I say >:(!
« Last Edit: November 14, 2016, 08:27:16 PM by Hoyks »

« Reply #15 on: November 14, 2016, 08:25:58 PM »

Way too soft Hoyks.....

« Reply #16 on: November 14, 2016, 08:40:25 PM »
Our crews have been copping a flogging the past few weeks.

Some muppet has been out throwing lit paper from a car and seeing how many fires he could get going. We had 16 vehicles and 2 helicopters running in circles to keep things under control.
Then it rained :cheers:
http://www.qt.com.au/news/were-20-bushfires-arson/2049199/

Give him a few weeks and I'm sure he will be back at it.

This is were they should keep the army snipers in practice and give them free range.  :cheers:

« Reply #17 on: November 14, 2016, 08:42:02 PM »
Gotta love Australia? Last month floods, yesterday 33c with 70kph winds and bushfire and today 13c and showers. No wonder we are laid back and relaxed about natural dramas?

« Reply #18 on: November 14, 2016, 11:08:15 PM »
No, Don't let him off with prison.
Put him in the front line fighting the fire.
Make him earn his freedom and let the Firies know why he's there, and that he has to stay till it's out.

« Reply #19 on: November 15, 2016, 08:33:52 AM »

No, Don't let him off with prison.
Put him in the front line fighting the fire.

Or put him in the front line with a couple of concrete blocks chained around his ankles.

You like fires, son? Well here, have a real, good, close look at one. It's all right, we may pull you out in time >:D