Author Topic: Rear wheel carriers 2 wheels or Jerry and wheel?  (Read 12510 times)

Rear wheel carriers 2 wheels or Jerry and wheel?
« on: November 27, 2012, 07:42:51 AM »
What's the consensus on the number of spares carried?

Looking at rear bar and wheel carrier options. As they are not easily changed over on modern rear bars (and cost a fortune) really need to make up your mind what combo to choose. I would have said 2x wheels, but thinking more about it for 90% of my travelling and four wheel driving a single spare is adequate and the Jerry would be handy for washing hands, boiling billy etc. and roof mount the 2nd if and when required. Of course if you carried a tinny or something it's going to be hard.

Offline bussoboy

• Wanting to travel before all the roads are sealed
Re: Rear wheel carriers 2 wheels or Jerry and wheel?
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2012, 08:12:13 AM »
i don't know if it is as relevent on a Pajero,Patrol, Cruiser etc, but i was told only one wheel on the back of a dual cab due to the extra strain it puts on your sub-frame
2011 GXL 200 Series & 2017 Kokoda Endure 111

« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2012, 08:23:25 AM »
I run one of each. If i need another spare for a long trip it can go on the roof rack or camper rack. In the other arm I can carry 2 gerry cans, i have one with water in it all the time and the other is usually empty. The water is great for washing the hands quickly or topping up the radiator. I have a small tap on the water gerry so you don't have to lift it out of the carrier. On longer trips I carry an extra gerry full of diesel and decant it when possible to minimise the weight.

The mounts on the Patrol are fairly strong and i am not worried about the weight when fully loaded, two full gerry's would as heavy as a spare i would guess

« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2012, 08:30:49 AM »
If you have the standard tank of 88 litres then I would think that an exterior jerry can for fuel would be useful.  Personally I don't like putting fuel inside the vehicle.

« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2012, 08:41:32 AM »
I agree with GGPatrol, one spare and dual jerrys on the other

« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2012, 09:23:55 AM »
how many times have you been away and needed 1 spare let alone 2?

Offline Redcherokee

« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2012, 06:59:37 PM »
Was telling a mate just the other day that I was thinking of getting jerry holder for the back of the Patrol at a cost of $900+ odd.   The second spare can go on the roof when I need to take it with me.

His reaction:
"That's bl@@dy expensive water!"

Hmmmmmm. 

Jeep Rubicon SWB 2013. Outback Campers Sturt 2011
4.2L Patrol and Billabong Grove 16 hard roofed camper.

« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2012, 07:13:05 PM »
Do you really need a rear wheel carrier? I wanted one, and now have one but it's a PITA. It used to be so easy to get into the back of the Cruiser, but now I have to unlatch the wheel, swing it away, then open the top section, and closing it again...

It seems small but it is much less convenient.

That said, in answer to your question I would put a jerry can holder on the other side.

Offline dooguss

• Prado Power
« Reply #8 on: November 27, 2012, 07:23:02 PM »
I guess the other thing you have to think about is how much trouble and back breaking effort is it to put a spare wheel on the roof rack I know for me it's a right pain and struggle lifting it up and down on the prado so if I was getting 1 it would be dual wheel carrier
2006 Toyota Prado
2014 Stoney creek rear fold.

Offline 2010banditsa

• Cheers- It's 12 O'clock somewhere
« Reply #9 on: November 27, 2012, 07:33:10 PM »
i blew a tyre 150kms into a long distance section between help on my last trip and wished i had a second. I turned around and got it fixed, but yeah waste of time etc. That being said, i need the water more than the juice, so my new upgraded van has been ordered with a second tank
Isuzu MUX
2013 Goldstream 16' poptop with bunk
Van- http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31445

« Reply #10 on: November 27, 2012, 07:36:50 PM »
I have both. Second spare can go on the rear or take it off and dual jerry goes on for water now that we vehicle camp.....Swap back and forth as required.....The Jerry can holder is far more handy......

« Reply #11 on: November 27, 2012, 07:42:24 PM »
When out and about I also put my recovery bag in the empty gerry can spot, that way its easy to get to when needed in a hurry

« Reply #12 on: November 27, 2012, 08:55:38 PM »

Thanks all, Fessing up this is not for the Paj but for the "nek" vehicle I am currently considering.

It’s all pretty much along my thinking too, Jules I agree I reckon it would be a right royal pain at times but I  just Really fancy the 180litre sub tank and the spare will no longer go underneath. Teabag having both is a great option but on the 200 it’s not as easy to change arms, I did want to go look at an arm as I thought maybe I could make a Jerry box to attach to a wheel carrier arm so it could be both?

The idea of being able to have one Jerry and your recovery kit there is great, so maybe a custom box to mount on the second wheel carrier arm would be the go?

« Reply #13 on: November 27, 2012, 08:58:43 PM »
any rear bar adds a Shit load of unnecessary weight.

as for putting your spare on the roof, **** that in 35 degrees (or rain or anytime really )after having just changed a flat...

« Reply #14 on: November 27, 2012, 09:08:48 PM »
I don't have to change arms. The dual Jerry holder just bolts onto the stud patern of where the wheel would normally go. 3 bolts and we are done.......

Thanks all, Fessing up this is not for the Paj but for the "nek" vehicle I am currently considering.

It’s all pretty much along my thinking too, Jules I agree I reckon it would be a right royal pain at times but I  just Really fancy the 180litre sub tank and the spare will no longer go underneath. Teabag having both is a great option but on the 200 it’s not as easy to change arms, I did want to go look at an arm as I thought maybe I could make a Jerry box to attach to a wheel carrier arm so it could be both?

The idea of being able to have one Jerry and your recovery kit there is great, so maybe a custom box to mount on the second wheel carrier arm would be the go?

« Reply #15 on: November 27, 2012, 09:10:55 PM »
any rear bar adds a **** load of unnecessary weight.

I weighed all the stuff I took off mine when I fitted a Kaymar. I reckon the bar itself doesn't add too much weight, but all the stuff that hangs off it adds up.

The original Nissan rear bar and tow bar = 29kg (lots of bits and pieces)
The Kaymar rear bar incl tow bar (but no carriers) = 62kg

I'm happy to carry the extra weight, especially when I get hit from behind on the freeway, or I back into a bollard at Bunnings :-[, and it's better than leaving all the Tupperware and tail lights on the track........
« Last Edit: November 27, 2012, 09:16:37 PM by GeoffA »

« Reply #16 on: November 27, 2012, 09:14:55 PM »
I don't have to change arms. The dual Jerry holder just bolts onto the stud patern of where the wheel would normally go. 3 bolts and we are done.......

Thanks Teabag is that a "kaymar" thing? are there photos in your Patrol thread?

« Reply #17 on: November 27, 2012, 09:23:06 PM »
Thanks Teabag is that a "kaymar" thing? are there photos in your Patrol thread?

No, Opposite Lock rear bar but the Jerry can holder is by Powerful 4x4.......

http://store.powerful4x4.com.au/dual-jerry-can-holder/

« Reply #18 on: November 27, 2012, 09:27:09 PM »
I weighed all the stuff I took off mine when I fitted a Kaymar. I reckon the bar itself doesn't add too much weight, but all the stuff that hangs off it adds up.

I'm happy to carry the extra weight, especially when I get hit from behind on the freeway, or I back into a bollard at Bunnings :-[, and it's better than leaving all the Tupperware and tail lights on the track........
I reckon thats a fair difference... specially on a 200 that dont they have weight issues already?

Offline rellbell

• 2000 gu II + MDC XT12
« Reply #19 on: November 27, 2012, 10:08:51 PM »
We have just installed a powerful 4x4 dual wheel carrier with the gerry can option.  Pleased as punch with product.  It fitted straight up no problems.  Originally I thought i could feel the extra weight when we put it on, but I think it weighed out with the new steel bull bar with winch that we also had fitted recently.

We are anticipating doing the springs sometime soon, as the replacement springs have been on the nissan for a fair few years now, many gymkanas and horse sports behind them, not to mention cape trip, numerous camping trips and off road adventures.

Makes the Nissan look good and our friends are impressed too.  They just bought a brand new nissan, now they have to keep up with the bakers ;D  cheers rellbell

Offline Clouty

« Reply #20 on: November 28, 2012, 09:09:35 AM »
I've got a twin wheel carrier on my 80 and its been there for about 5 years now... Sometimes I wish I had put a jerry can holder on instead of a second tyre.. Just get more use with having a jerry can, if its water or fuel..

Offline GeeTee

• GT Campers premium off-road trailers and Toyota Hilux Expedition conversions
« Reply #21 on: November 28, 2012, 09:12:08 AM »

Good that you have actually weighed things - many, if not most, people don't!
But it's much better to carry equipment low and within the vehicle wheelbase

Any weight carried by the rear of the vehicle reduces the towball down-load specification, too

GT Campers: Off-road touring trailer or Toyota Hilux Expedition
Purpose-designed and built off-road touring vehicles. Innovation not imitation!
Find us on Facebook

« Reply #22 on: November 28, 2012, 09:22:43 AM »
But it's much better to carry equipment low and within the vehicle wheelbase

Agreed, but not always easy with a wagon......

Any weight carried by the rear of the vehicle reduces the towball down-load specification, too

Still got plenty up my sleeve......the camper puts 160kg on the rear of the car......

« Reply #23 on: November 28, 2012, 09:55:16 AM »

I'm happy to carry the extra weight, especially when I get hit from behind on the freeway,

Bit off track but it actually makes your survivability less as the impact is forced into the chassis rails rather than the body absorbing it.

« Reply #24 on: November 28, 2012, 01:07:12 PM »
I reckon thats a fair difference... specially on a 200 that dont they have weight issues already?

Yeah they do but at least you can do something about it (GVM upgrade). Most modern 4x4 have a problem with GVM, IIRC the Patrol is bad too espicially the TI model, actually i think there was a post a while ago where the Pajero has one off the best of the bunch ;-)