Author Topic: New to the CT world  (Read 4337 times)

Offline yes dear

• Swag User
New to the CT world
« on: August 23, 2014, 01:39:46 PM »
Hi all, as the title says I am new to the CT world and am starting to figure out which way to go.
Moving on from the Blackwolf turbo 300 which is 8 years old now.
We have just about everything we need for camping but getting sick of packing up all the stuff to get away for a quick weekend.
I have just booked an Aussie Swag Trailer for 8 days in Oct to go trouting in the Ebor area for an initial test.
Question 1  why does nearly every CT I see have a tarp on top, I see statements about heat, but also about rain, I know about the aussie canvas vs "the cheap Chinese stuff" but I would love to get some info on how good or bad the canvas can be?
The Blackwolf would probably have cheap ripstop canvas but has never leaked and we have been in some rain on the coast.
Question 2 hard floor vs soft floor, as most people I have a tight budget but don't want to do this twice, there is no way I can get into the top brands unless a very old used unit comes on for the right price
Budget around the 15k mark (give or take).
How cheap are the imports, I read some good reviews and some bad reviews and like most people get a little hesitant about making a decision.
I'm pretty handy with the tools and can weld pretty good so maintenance will not be an issue.
Tow vehicle is a 06 Prado which we normally tow our trust 6x4 boxy with high sides that carries all our stuff.
I know I could add a tent but don't want to have to take it apart just to go and get some hardware supplies of livestock feed etc.
I like the hard floor look.
anyway thanks for reading this and appreciate any input.
CT oldy caravan newby
06 Prado
Ecomate FF sold
Jayco Journey Outback 2020

Offline D4D

• Hard Top Camper User
  • Are we there yet?
Re: New to the CT world
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2014, 01:43:34 PM »
Welcome to the forum, lots of good info here.