Author Topic: Advice please  (Read 7051 times)

Offline GattonFam

Advice please
« on: April 12, 2016, 05:04:06 AM »
Hi everyone

So after reading a few posts over the last few days I have decided to register so I can kindly get some first hand advice for the purposes of purchasing a new camper trailer.  What started out as a simple idea to start camping again, now that we have 2 children (2yo & 5yo), has now turned into a confusing situation of “What brand to buy?”. 

Prior to the kids arriving in our lives we would tag along with my wife’s parents who had a basic soft floor camper and we would sleep in a simple 2 person tent sharing their BBQ etc.  So apart from the in-laws camper we have no first hand experience using one. We have just been asking plenty of questions and reading as much as we can so we can make the best choice possible.  I guess this post is part of that process.

The plan is to have one for at least the next 10-15 years so it looks like an Australian made camper is the way to go – if anyone has a different view or experience on this then I would love to know why (Early on in the piece the missus had her heart set on an MDC Venturer Cape York Edition).  Our budget started out at $10-$15k but I think to get something that is good quality and that will last we are going to be looking anywhere between $30-$45k. At the end of the day we are happy to pay the extra if we are confident in the product we are buying. 

A list of things we know we want are:
•   Rear fold hard floor - We really like the quick setup with the kids
•   The ability to go off road – It is Australia after all.
•   The ability to travel to places without amenities therefore needing water storage, an electricity   management system including solar & an ensuite shower with hot water
•   Reasonable sized kitchen with a couple of burners, sink, large fridge slide and good storage for food, pots, pans etc
•   Full annex and kids room – Extra security or in case of bad weather
•   Tropical roof – Keeps that heat out

After Googling and visiting a couple of show rooms/shows we really like the following 2 campers in order of preference:

“Altitude Campers – Ultimate Hard Floor” 
Pros: Liked the sales guy as he was the only one out of about 20 sales people who didn’t bag the opposition.  Great design, great quality and includes a diesel hot water system and 80ltr Waeco fridge/freezer.
Cons: Full Annex not included (roof only), only a new company (future after sales service?) and don’t advertise the “Australian Camper Trailer Manufactures Guild” logo but claim to be fully Australian made.

“Pioneer – Longreach”
Pros: Good reviews, they have offices in most states
Cons: Only has one battery, no Annex included

I would be interested to get everyone’s’ thoughts on these two campers and obviously if anyone has any first hand experience with either camper I would love your personal feedback.
Alternately if you think another brand of camper trailer may suit our “wish list” then feel free to mention it because there’s every chance we may have not seen it yet because there is so bloody many.

Thanks in advance.

Michael

200 Series
Altitude ALX200 - Currently on order

Re: Advice please
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2016, 05:13:27 AM »
G'day and welcome Michael.
Good luck with the camper search and I'm sure there'll be be someone on here who'll be able to answer any questions you have.

« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2016, 05:32:43 AM »
Hi Michael and welcome to myswag.

No personal experience with either of the makes you are looking at but full annexes are usually an optional extra on most campers and can be ordered.  Adding an extra battery is also more than likely an optional extra or is something that is easily fitted as an after sales modification, just check if there is room to fit one in the camper you are looking at.

In your price range there are several quality Aussie manufacturers like CUB, Aussie Swag and Modcon.  If not in an immediate rush to buy, suggest you wait until the big June camping show in Brisbane and have a good look around.

Good luck and happy camping

Offline GattonFam

« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2016, 07:16:36 AM »
Thanks KB.

Hoping to find something we have to do very little to or spend too much on extras.

We did look at some Modcon campers but I was under the impression that they were mainly Chinese built.
200 Series

Offline Peterr

« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2016, 07:28:11 AM »
Not much wrong with "chinese built " these days; most have really lifted their game in the last couple of years..

As in all things ,  the "you get what you pay for " line is always relevant , but there's no way the so called Aus built  brands are worth what some like to charge over imports..

Peter

MDC camper , SOLD it..  Pop top very soon....

Offline phrothy

« Reply #5 on: April 12, 2016, 08:24:18 AM »
G'Day Michael and welcome.

We were in a similar position about 2-3 years ago and wanted a strong reliable family camper that would last a generation (big ask?) and looked at both the Altitude and Pioneer brand.
Altitude was brand new to the scene but seemed to have great pedigree.
Pioneer were in the transition phase to their new generation campers which i think look great.
I'm sure you would be happy with either.

In terms of suiting your wish list, I'd also recommend having a look at an Ultimate camper which was our choice in the end. The Xtrak model is stretching your budget but a quality second hand one could be an option.

Good luck!
The following users thanked this post: GattonFam

« Reply #6 on: April 12, 2016, 08:25:16 AM »
G,Day and welcome guys, can I suggest a few trips with just a basic hire set ups first,  to get a bit of an idea of what might work best for you, say a mix of types ..
Temper the search with a good condition basic camper set ups second hand, given a little older types,  but with extra's could be had at prices anywhere from $2000 up .
A work mate just picked up a no name brand older trailer and tent in execent condition with water and basic small solar for $2400.

« Reply #7 on: April 12, 2016, 08:27:15 AM »
Thanks KB.

Hoping to find something we have to do very little to or spend too much on extras.

We did look at some Modcon campers but I was under the impression that they were mainly Chinese built.

Modcon are an Aussie manufacturer. To compete with the imports they get one, think it is only one, of their campers made overseas but finish it off here in Oz.  There is a big difference to an Aussie designed, and manufactured to Aussie specifications, camper compared to a fully imported camper simply copied from an Aussie design.  No affiliation with Modcon either.

« Reply #8 on: April 12, 2016, 08:43:04 AM »
$30-45k is going to get you a second hand Kimberley platinum, AOR export, Aussie Swag Ultra etc etc with everything you want or need. Have the cash ready to go and wait for one to come up.

« Reply #9 on: April 12, 2016, 12:21:58 PM »
That will confuse the everybody if the price range runs between $2500 & $45000 & then some  :cheers:

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #10 on: April 12, 2016, 12:58:15 PM »
Thanks KB.

Just to clarify for you in regards to Modcon.
Australian Made:
HFD
Elysium
(these are the original forward fold campers)

Australian designed etc but made overseas:
FF1
Quattro

Overseas made etc
RF1
RF2

I think the Quattro would suit you based on what you have said, but The HFD is a cracker of a camper.
And yes I am affiliated lol. I own Regional Campers In Albury.
Whatever you decide on though, Im sure it will give you many years of happy camping.
Best of luck with your search.

Nick
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

Offline filcar

Defender 90 towing AussieSwag Ultra D
The following users thanked this post: GBC

« Reply #12 on: April 12, 2016, 04:17:40 PM »
For that budget, you have the world at your feet in top shelf used hard floors.. or soft...

Soft floors will always suit families better with lots more room.

Same as anything, once your used to them they get quicker. Once you have things as you want helps - Awnings on soft or hard suck. But in reality they wont be as fast as a hardfloor...

For example, the company that assembled mine had a video on their website, setting it up in 1 minute once detached from car.
http://web.archive.org/web/20090427223337/http://www.lifestylecampertrailers.com.au/

You don't need to spend anything like 40,000 on a camper!
Mega bargain now - http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=45000.0

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #13 on: April 12, 2016, 04:47:04 PM »

This is a perfect camper for what they are after I reckon!  :cup:

Nick
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

« Reply #14 on: April 12, 2016, 05:34:12 PM »
I agree with Bird in the fact that soft floors are better for families especially if they have the potential to grow.
I have a Chinese made RF HF CT. it is great for setting up quickly and is perfectly suited for  two adults. I very rarely enclose the annexe (floors and walls). It really only takes probably 5-10 extra minutes to fit the floor and walls but the annexe is on the same side as the slide out kitchen.

Fully enclosing it for sleeping kids is ok but the smoke and smells from cooking will now be enclosed within the CT.  Also, you will lose whatever view you may have will be lost except from looking thru the Windows.

I prefer to have the annexe roof only as it is more like having a verandah or front patio. (Views and breeze)
There are so many 2nd hand bargain Aussie made soft floor campers that are still fairly new, in great condition, have had some great mods completed by the current owner, are still fairly quick to step up, have more room for families and are also priced to sell. I recommend you look at the pros and cons with HF vs SF in regards to families.

« Reply #15 on: April 12, 2016, 05:54:24 PM »
On balance, we went from a 'roomy' soft floor to a rear fold hard floor as a family camper. The kids are in bunks on the hard floor and can graduate to a pup tent whenever they choose. I've no doubt we made the right decision, especially after getting flooded out last September. I don't miss the soft floor.

« Reply #16 on: April 12, 2016, 06:08:43 PM »

Agree. The camper in the link is a real quality unit, great for a young family.

Offline GattonFam

« Reply #17 on: April 15, 2016, 09:03:16 AM »
I think we might end up at the Brisbane show for a good look around.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2016, 01:12:10 PM by GattonFam »
200 Series

Offline GattonFam

« Reply #18 on: May 24, 2016, 01:11:30 PM »
200 Series

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #19 on: May 24, 2016, 01:49:06 PM »
For that coin get up off the ground and into a Lifestyle Breakaway ..( I am biased) for the 30K mark nothing comes close IMO  hence why we have one .Off the ground and no canvass is where the market is at now and is achievable in the 30K range not like 70K as was previously the mark . I mean its still there if you want it  ;D ;D 

Jet ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535