Author Topic: Abel Tasman  (Read 8327 times)

Offline Mongoose

• These are the Good Old Days
Re: Abel Tasman
« Reply #25 on: June 24, 2014, 08:09:45 PM »
Would have been a great day to cross Bass Strait today. Not. ; ;D
200 TTD Cruiser
'05 Pioneer Argyle (Limited Shaker edition)

« Reply #26 on: June 24, 2014, 08:39:51 PM »
Now you all know how us poor old Tasmanians feel every time we want to go on a holiday to the big Island......we have to factor in at least $1500 extra and a couple of extra days out of our holidays to use the Empress of Australia ;)

You should use the Taroona, it would be only £50 quid dearer.

http://users.nex.net.au/~reidgck/bass-s.htm

Some great pics there.  I remember travelling on the Empress one night when looked like this out the prow!

Offline Dingo0163

• The original Aussie mongrel
« Reply #27 on: June 24, 2014, 08:52:43 PM »
Did you tell your In-laws you found a way over that was dry?
No water wings or swimming.
Yeah mate. They asked me how I got over Bass Straight. I told them I didn't go that way , I went the back way.  ;D

Offline Ynot

• Tony. Prado 150 GXL, Coromal 632RTP
« Reply #28 on: June 24, 2014, 09:49:36 PM »
Yeah mate. They asked me how I got over Bass Straight. I told them I didn't go that way , I went the back way.  ;D
:)

How is education supposed to make me feel smarter? Besides, every time I learn something new, it pushes some old stuff out of my brain. Remember when I took that home winemaking course, and I forgot how to drive?  (Homer J Simpson).

« Reply #29 on: June 25, 2014, 12:38:27 AM »
You should use the Taroona, it would be only £50 quid dearer.

http://users.nex.net.au/~reidgck/bass-s.htm

Some great pics there.  I remember travelling on the Empress one night when looked like this out the prow!

Great link mate. I remember dropping my sisters brand new purse over the side of the empress when I was a kid as though it was yesterday lol

Offline cuee

« Reply #30 on: June 25, 2014, 01:15:05 PM »
Thanks for your replies and yes it was either an old magazine or I'm just getting old. It does seem very expensive but your a long time dead . Just had a mates misses have a stroke at 46 so I'm having a good time while I'm here. Thanks again

« Reply #31 on: June 25, 2014, 06:34:59 PM »
it always amazes me how everyone says the ferry is so expensive, but when you compare it to what Fraser, Cape York and Moreton Island ferry's cost to go on, it's not that bad IMHO considering it's such a long trip across the Strait. It's costing me $1310 to do my trip over to Tassie and back, not cheap i know, but take the time periods of the below ferries into consideration and it's probably better value for money cost wise to go to Tassie.

Car and Trailer prices below....
Fraser Island $170  for a 10 minute trip across the water
Cape York $145 for a crossing i could just about throw a rock from one side of the river to the other
Moreton Island...anywhere from $425 - $490 depending on period you wish to travel for a 2 hr trip

« Reply #32 on: June 25, 2014, 06:41:38 PM »
$580 return for a vehicle and trailer and two persons to Kangaroo Island has to be the biggest rip off travelling distance wise in Oz?

« Reply #33 on: June 26, 2014, 10:41:48 AM »
Quote from: Mace
$580 return for a vehicle and trailer and two persons to Kangaroo Island has to be the biggest rip off travelling distance wise in Oz?
agree.
But in reality all of the "barges/ferrys" are over priced.

« Reply #34 on: June 26, 2014, 11:04:49 AM »
agree.
But in reality all of the "barges/ferrys" are over priced.

Are they overpriced or are they just an expensive way to move things??

Does anyone know if this is price gouging?

« Reply #35 on: June 26, 2014, 11:13:03 AM »
    The Spirit is subsidised by the Govt. to some extent as would a highway. A bridge/tunnel would be prohibitively expensive, and probably opposed by most residents.

Tapatalk thingy

« Reply #36 on: June 26, 2014, 11:23:54 AM »
Quote from: Alan Loy
Does anyone know if this is price gouging?
To put it simply - Captive Audience.

Offline Ozsnowman

• "Missus wants an Avan"
  • Travelling with Shirley the van!
« Reply #37 on: June 26, 2014, 07:29:17 PM »
Would love to put the camper on the spirit, but yeah cost is prohibitive unless you have a big trip planned :(
We've swapped from the camper to a van yay! :)

« Reply #38 on: June 26, 2014, 08:37:45 PM »
Camper trailer hire over here Starts from $600 per week, or $250 for 2 days.  The campers come fully equipped with all gear needed apart from food/fridge/bedding. See an inventory here:

http://www.campersdelight.com.au/pdffiles/hiringinventorylist.pdf

For me, I wouldn't come over for two days to use a hire camper. For a week, hiring is cheaper. For 10 days or so, I'd bring my own.

So, what's it worth per week to hire out a fully equipped CT?   Or should I say, what do peoples reckon is a fair price to pay? Bear in mind, a four berth motor home  costs upward of $1200 per week. You can fly in and pick One up at the airport without the hustles of shipping.

Along with that, camper trailers are really only a 5 or 6 month per year use proposition here.

Interested to hear some responses?
« Last Edit: June 26, 2014, 08:40:37 PM by Mace »