Author Topic: Abel Tasman  (Read 8328 times)

Offline cuee

Abel Tasman
« on: June 23, 2014, 01:21:57 PM »
G,Day , I was looking for someone who has taken their CT over on the Abel Tasman . I was interested on any tips as it seems pricey .

Re: Abel Tasman
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2014, 02:08:01 PM »
Wow, it must have been an old website, the Abel Tasman left about 15 years ago!

Spirit of Tasmania 1 and 2 can be expensive.  Travelling in summer high season when you can purchase day tickets is cheaper. CT will cost between $250 and $350 each way.  I booked ours in as a small caravan instead of a trailer and saved $90.

If you are a family, look at options of one person travelling on boat, and others getting cheap air fares.  If you have freinds in Melb where you can stay and drop your family out to the airport to catch the Launceston morning flight that works well.

You need to stay for more than 10 days to make it worthwhile. Two weeks or more is preferable.

A lot more to see and do than you think.

(Expat Mainlander, still acclimatising to the second head)!

« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2014, 02:08:35 PM »
Its cheaper to stay in Bed and breakfasts than take your trailer.
its also no cheaper to fly your family over and drive over yourself.

Sadly the only other option I heard a few blokes did few yrs ago from Lcool is container ship their cars/etc over there.. but a lot of rooting around and chances of damage.

its nearly $1500 for car/trailer and 2 adult/2 kids.

« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2014, 03:29:36 PM »

If you are a family, look at options of one person travelling on boat, and others getting cheap air fares.  If you have freinds in Melb where you can stay and drop your family out to the airport to catch the Launceston morning flight that works well.

(Expat Mainlander, still acclimatising to the second head)!

You are such a Tasmanian Now! 

« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2014, 03:31:56 PM »
Its cheaper to stay in Bed and breakfasts than take your trailer.
its also no cheaper to fly your family over and drive over yourself.

Sadly the only other option I heard a few blokes did few yrs ago from Lcool is container ship their cars/etc over there.. but a lot of rooting around and chances of damage.

its nearly $1500 for car/trailer and 2 adult/2 kids.

It is WAAAAAY cheaper to fly the family and dad go with the camper.  Have done this about six times now.

Day sail is the best on a tuesday or wednesday.  Drop kids in Melb.  You go to boat.  They watch a movie in town, catch shuttle to airport, you pick them up.

But - you gotta get the cheapest fares on the plane.  :)

« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2014, 03:41:50 PM »
Quote from: dazzler
But - you gotta get the cheapest fares on the plane.  :)
correct, so if you don't, its no cheaper.

Abel Tasman
« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2014, 04:06:41 PM »
Bugger doing day sailings IMO. I only do night sailings now as I find it just makes more sense and is a lot less boring. I always get a cabin so my trip consists of parking the car, go to bar, go to bed, wake up and the trips done.

Sent from the machine that goes..... Bing!

« Reply #7 on: June 23, 2014, 04:18:16 PM »
correct, so if you don't, its no cheaper.

Thanks for taking the time to post that pearl of wisdom.

:D

« Reply #8 on: June 23, 2014, 04:40:48 PM »
Quote from: dazzler
Thanks for taking the time to post that pearl of wisdom.
Anytime...
I'm setting up new mobiles this week.. talk about ssssssssssssllllllllllllloooooooooooooooooooowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww... plenty of time on hands :( might update my website too...

« Reply #9 on: June 23, 2014, 05:40:17 PM »
it's costing me just over $1300 to take my fourby and camper over and back at the end of the year. vehicle is over the 2.1 mtr height they ask about and we have one of the longest camper trailers on the market aswell, so that's added a touch on the price but not that much overall. i am staying in a shared room (with 3 other random people...actually hopefully one will be a mate who is doing the same option) and we are flying the families down to meet us there. it works out a touch dearer to fly the families over then getting a cabin for us, but we get to power down to Melbourne from Brisbane without the kids, so the small extra cost is worth it IMHO.

« Reply #10 on: June 23, 2014, 05:52:11 PM »
it works out a touch dearer to fly the families over then getting a cabin for us, but we get to power down to Melbourne from Brisbane without the kids, so the small extra cost is worth it IMHO.

Thats worth about the GDP of a small nation  :D

« Reply #11 on: June 23, 2014, 08:05:57 PM »
Over seas travel with your CT , how excitic . To a land of New & Very Interesting Peoples  & we are then Boat People  :cheers: What about those that get seasick  ( like Me ) Bung the rig on the punt then fly over to collect it at the other end . l would rather sleep on the floor at the airport than stand on deck all day/night throwing up    >:D

« Reply #12 on: June 23, 2014, 08:48:40 PM »
l would rather sleep on the floor at the airport than stand on deck all day/night throwing up    >:D

You would need to be unlucky.  The stabilisers are very good at fighting the swell.   :D

« Reply #13 on: June 23, 2014, 09:09:20 PM »
There's a fair bit of talk going on about it getting cheaper on the boat soonish hopefully. I'm predicting that should be about a week after I book my ticket ;)

Sent from your iPad using Mental telepathy

« Reply #14 on: June 23, 2014, 09:54:03 PM »
If you upgrade on board it is cheaper than buying ticket prior. Once the ship has cast off and the safety message given, go to the reception desk.

I have had some great upgrades whilst travelling alone, but it all depends on who you meet at the  desk.

A usuall upgrade from a recliner to a shared ( external) cabin is about $50.

Once I got sole use of a front suite for $60.

Daytime trips aren't too bad, if you go up to deck 8? early you can usually find a bench to lie down on. Don't, however, ever, try to sleep anywhere near the kids play wall on deck 9.

Boing. Donk. Dink.  Rattle Rattle.  You have to hear it to understand!!!!!
« Last Edit: June 23, 2014, 09:55:42 PM by Mace »

« Reply #15 on: June 23, 2014, 10:03:17 PM »
You are such a Tasmanian Now!

Mate, I will never, however, complain about:

rush 15 minutes
parking availability in the city.
And the wind!

If I ever do, just shoot me!

« Reply #16 on: June 24, 2014, 08:19:24 AM »
Quote from: Marcus73
There's a fair bit of talk going on about it getting cheaper on the boat soonish hopefully.
That would be logical.. But why would they drop the price plenty of people are payin top $?

« Reply #17 on: June 24, 2014, 12:47:34 PM »
Get more tourists over here. Currently they only do night sailings so are only running at half of what they do at peak times

Sent from the machine that goes..... Bing!

« Reply #18 on: June 24, 2014, 12:54:19 PM »
We went over for 8 days, cheaper to fly and hire a car than take the 4wd over (including accommodation on the mainland getting there etc...)

Only issue with a rental car is the limits onthe places you can take it and still be insured.

Offline Vitara_JaycoSwift_Outback

« Reply #19 on: June 24, 2014, 01:12:06 PM »
My wife and I have decided we will do a big chrissy trip to tassie in 2015 towing the camper. We did a mock booking including a cabin so I can drug her and she can sleep the trip away to hopefully avoid her sea sickness. It worked out to be $2200 return across the busiest time period. I know that is a friggin ridiculous price but, it will be an epic experience and holiday. Starting to save for it all now

« Reply #20 on: June 24, 2014, 01:27:18 PM »
Now you all know how us poor old Tasmanians feel every time we want to go on a holiday to the big Island......we have to factor in at least $1500 extra and a couple of extra days out of our holidays to use the Empress of Australia ;)

« Reply #21 on: June 24, 2014, 01:34:44 PM »
Now you all know how us poor old Tasmanians feel every time we want to go on a holiday to the big Island......we have to factor in at least $1500 extra and a couple of extra days out of our holidays to use the Empress of Australia ;)

Why would you want to leave Tassie? Such a wonderful place.

« Reply #22 on: June 24, 2014, 01:41:20 PM »
Why would you want to leave Tassie? Such a wonderful place.

To see all the other wonderful places ;)

Offline Dingo0163

• The original Aussie mongrel
« Reply #23 on: June 24, 2014, 01:48:18 PM »
We have been on SPOT 14 times now. It is only 24 hours travel. Night trip over and you can drive to Hobart by 1:00pm and that includes a couple of breaks , then stay in Devonport for a night and catch SPOT for day trip home. First time I went it took 41/2 hours to drive to my in-laws. That includes a break of 45 minutes at Ross. When I got there she asked me if I wanted a sleep after such a long drive.  ;D

« Reply #24 on: June 24, 2014, 03:39:09 PM »
Did you tell your In-laws you found a way over that was dry?
No water wings or swimming.