Author Topic: ABC REPORT ON CAMERON CORNER  (Read 3992 times)

Offline woolgoolgaoffroad

• Hardfloor
ABC REPORT ON CAMERON CORNER
« on: April 03, 2014, 05:25:49 PM »
Kev

http://woolgoolgaoffroad.blogspot.com.au
Landcruiser + Ultra Breakaway

Offline BBwilly

Re: ABC REPORT ON CAMERON CORNER
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2014, 05:33:58 PM »

« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2014, 06:46:52 PM »
Fenn and Cheryl are both nice people up for a laugh at any time, living out there i reckon you'd need a good sense of humour. Last year they helped me prank a few mates that were heading through there on a touring holiday, the WANTED poster is still likely hanging on the wall of the store i reckon...lol.
i still laugh thinking about the email Fenn sent me many years ago of him in only his jocks and boots laying across the bar (long story but was in reply to a pic i sent him of some mates there...lol)

« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2014, 07:42:15 PM »
This has to be a Bucket List Thing . When l went there l asked the price of fuel $2.00 per liter . l was then asked how much l needed to get to Tibaburra  as the fuel had run out  . ln typical Aussie style the can would have been run around but l had plenty . A really great place to go to have a beer in 3 states or 4 after many  :cheers: :cheers:

« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2014, 09:00:12 PM »
 :cheers:  nice story

Offline woolgoolgaoffroad

• Hardfloor
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2014, 09:07:16 PM »
Fenn and Cheryl are both nice people up for a laugh at any time, living out there i reckon you'd need a good sense of humour. Last year they helped me prank a few mates that were heading through there on a touring holiday, the WANTED poster is still likely hanging on the wall of the store i reckon...lol.
i still laugh thinking about the email Fenn sent me many years ago of him in only his jocks and boots laying across the bar (long story but was in reply to a pic i sent him of some mates there...lol)

the poster was still there late last year Mal..... hopefully should be back out there in June so I will flick you a pic of it
Kev

http://woolgoolgaoffroad.blogspot.com.au
Landcruiser + Ultra Breakaway

Offline ATC

« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2014, 09:10:52 PM »
Went there last year - definitely a must go place.
Was a spur of the moment decision, we were at Eldie Station and had 2 days planned there, but the missus asked what was there at Camerons Corner?

So up we went, few hundred km of awesome driving, great place to visit.
Pub was awesome, so we're the people.

Mate and I filled both our trucks up, diesel was $2+ but I needed fuel, I didn't mind paying (actually my mate paid for my fuel).

Not long after we got back from that trip it was Pat Calinan's show.

Awesome place.

Offline trevc

« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2014, 09:18:19 PM »
I had a night there a couple of years ago, just me and my two kids camped out along the dog fence - one of those special nights I'll remember forever

Trev

Offline gclan

• Misadventure 4wd
« Reply #8 on: April 04, 2014, 06:42:26 AM »
Thanks for the link!

I had hoped to get there on our outback trip last year, but due to changed circumstances, we ran out of time.

It's still on my bucket list too, along with plenty of other geographically significant places.

There's just something about the outback ;D

Django - 2009 Land Rover Defender 110 SVX
Marvin - Land Rover Discovery 4
Black Betty - 2007 Range Rover Sport
Bamm Bamm - 2009 Mountain Trail Extended Expedition

Misadventure 4WD http://www.youtube.com/user/JamieOGilmore
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Misadventure-4WD-TV/243025632464631

« Reply #9 on: April 04, 2014, 09:29:16 AM »

Hi ya Mal,
Thought Billy Mitchell was still out there! Has he retired?? Must admit, it was almost 10yrs ago I was there.........

Offline slave

« Reply #10 on: April 04, 2014, 05:30:42 PM »
Hi ya Mal,
Thought Billy Mitchell was still out there! Has he retired?? Must admit, it was almost 10yrs ago I was there.........

We were there in mid 2005 and I think he left later that year. We were rained in at Innaminka for 3 days previous to that.

There had been 2 meet ups planned,one at Cameron's Corner and another one at Birdsville but the rain had disrupted both of those. Billy Mitchell had had a big night the previous night with the people that had been rained in there.

Mrs S
( hubby's uncle was also named Billy Mitchell and came from Broken Hill)
2003 Holden Ute
1996 Cub Camper

« Reply #11 on: April 04, 2014, 06:55:38 PM »
the poster was still there late last year Mal..... hopefully should be back out there in June so I will flick you a pic of it
cheers Kev, tell them i said thanks for doing that once again will ya...lol

Hi ya Mal,
mate Cheryl and Fenn have been there quite a few years now, i know they were there in 2010 when we stayed the night at the corner.
« Last Edit: April 04, 2014, 06:59:29 PM by Rumpig »

« Reply #12 on: April 06, 2014, 11:52:29 PM »
We had a few nights out there and it was a great time by all. This is Fenn and Bill with Cameron my Son at Cameron's Corner. He wanted to go there, glad we did.