Author Topic: ABC1 Australian Story: The Trezise family & Cape York Quinkan rock art  (Read 6438 times)

Offline gclan

• Misadventure 4wd
Australian Story is doing a piece on the Trezise family from Jowalbinna, Cape York about their passion for saving the amazing Quinkan rock art. It is beautiful country up there around Laura.

We spoke briefly with Matt Trezise when we camped at Jowalbinna in 2012, and he was a very interesting and knowledgeable man. Unfortunately we were short on time as we were heading off along the Old Coach Road, and didn't have time to go on one of his rock art tours. It will definitely be top of the list for next trip.

I'm looking forward to watching this episode and learning more about the area and Percy Trezise, Matt's Dad, who rediscovered the rock art, and was apparently a real character.

Anyway, I just thought I'd give a heads up in case anyone else was interested.

Australian Story: Set in Stone, airs next Monday 17 Feb at 8pm on ABC1.
http://www.abc.net.au/austory/

Karen
Django - 2009 Land Rover Defender 110 SVX
Marvin - Land Rover Discovery 4
Black Betty - 2007 Range Rover Sport
Bamm Bamm - 2009 Mountain Trail Extended Expedition

Misadventure 4WD http://www.youtube.com/user/JamieOGilmore
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Misadventure-4WD-TV/243025632464631

Tractor88

Re: ABC1 Australian Story: The Trezise family & Cape York Quinkan rock art
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2014, 08:51:40 AM »
Thanks for the heads up. That sounds like a good watch. Its good to see something worthwhile on tv to watch compared to most of the moronic crap on nowadays.
Cheers mate.    :cheers:

Offline gclan

• Misadventure 4wd
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2014, 06:16:58 AM »
The ABC aired the episode about a Winter Olympian instead.

This episode on Jowalbinna and the Trezise family is supposedly on tonight, Monday 24 Feb at 8pm.

Fingers crossed :-\

Offline graylyn

• Kendall River Barramundi
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2014, 08:06:04 AM »
I remember meeting and staying with Percy Trezise years ago, when he ran the Laura Hotel, and also moonlighted as a pilot for Reg Ansett.  He flew the Fokkers into Cooktown, and the story goes that there is a good reason why the pine trees were lopped at the top.  Percy was the founder of the Quinkan art galleries.

He had a good friend at the hotel by the name of Dick Roughsey (I think a very good aboriginal artist).

Been a long time since I have stopped at the hotel now.

AAAAAAAhhhhh the memories, and I didn't have a camera in those days.

Graham
The worst day fishing is always better than the best day at work.

2021 Isuzu d-max utility 3 litre
2012 Jayco Swan Outback
full 60 litre Engel

« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2014, 12:21:02 PM »
The company logo was.... sorry ocker, the Fokker's chockas.

Offline letsgo

• Happy and safe travels, Chris & Kate
    • Let's Go Travel Australia
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2014, 12:47:30 PM »
Great thanks, glad we didn't miss it, have put a record on it, hopefully it is on tonight. :D

2011 Holden Colorado Twin Cab Ute with Metalink canopy
2011 Ultra E Aussie Swag Camper Trailer
Let’s Go Travel Australia

Offline gclan

• Misadventure 4wd
« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2014, 03:36:16 PM »
Ah Jeepers, you crack me up  :cup:

Graham, I heard a story that Percy once delivered a baby mid flight as well. One of Willie Gordon's siblings I think? A very interesting man.

The show is also set to be repeated on Saturday morning at 11:30am as well.

« Reply #7 on: February 24, 2014, 03:59:31 PM »
Ah Jeepers, you crack me up  :cup:

Graham, I heard a story that Percy once delivered a baby mid flight as well. One of Willie Gordon's siblings I think? A very interesting man.

The show is also set to be repeated on Saturday morning at 11:30am as well.

If you miss it, watch it on I View.

Offline gclan

• Misadventure 4wd
« Reply #8 on: February 24, 2014, 05:49:49 PM »
Just checked TV guide and it's been changed again.

Who knows when it'll be on ???

Mark, at this rate, I think I'll just wait and watch it on I View.

Offline gclan

• Misadventure 4wd
Third time lucky  ::)

It's scheduled to air on ABC1 (CH 102) at 8pm on Monday 31 March, then repeated at 12 noon Sat 5 April.

Fingers crossed.

« Reply #10 on: March 28, 2014, 06:47:03 AM »

Thanks Karen.

Offline letsgo

• Happy and safe travels, Chris & Kate
    • Let's Go Travel Australia
« Reply #11 on: March 28, 2014, 09:01:58 AM »
Thanks Karen, have a record on it :)

2011 Holden Colorado Twin Cab Ute with Metalink canopy
2011 Ultra E Aussie Swag Camper Trailer
Let’s Go Travel Australia

« Reply #12 on: March 31, 2014, 05:55:13 PM »
This is on tonight.

« Reply #13 on: March 31, 2014, 06:17:06 PM »

Thanks Mace  :cheers:

« Reply #14 on: March 31, 2014, 08:31:01 PM »

It's a shame that it will only be a matter of time before this will cease.

http://www.quinkancc.com.au/getting-there

http://www.jowalbinna.com.au/

Offline Mobi

« Reply #15 on: March 31, 2014, 09:16:42 PM »
Thanks for the heads up. Percy was certainly an interesting character.

Cat slave

« Reply #16 on: April 01, 2014, 06:42:15 AM »
That show was great.
It is nice to see how the 2 sons are trying to pass on all the information.
Why can't it be made into a National Park, and then just be left alone, with the local rangers supervising the visits.

Tractor88

« Reply #17 on: April 01, 2014, 06:57:29 AM »
Agree, top show. Thanks guys for letting us know it was on. I just can't believe this area is being given the green light for mining exploration. :'(  Honestly it makes you sick to hear money and mining is more important than ancient rock art that can never be replaced. They argue that the sensitive sites will not be harmed but having a mine or exploration tracks in and near this area is in itself a crime in my opinion. Enough with the mining already. Surely this country can offer more than just pulling stuff out of the ground and leaving crap behind.  ???

Offline gclan

• Misadventure 4wd
« Reply #18 on: April 01, 2014, 12:49:43 PM »
There's an interesting audio recording in this link of several interviews with local Cape York indigenous leaders explaining how they feel about mining in their local area on the Peninsula.
http://mojowire.net.au/tag/aboriginal-rock-art/

I wonder what the government will sell off once all of our natural resources have been exhausted?

As for the Trezise family, they have done an incredible job re-discovering and documenting the rock art around Laura, and making sure that this knowledge is passed on and kept alive.
It's a shame that it came at a cost to both Matt and Steve though.

Don't forget if you missed this, you can still see it on Saturday 5 April at 12 noon on ABC1.

Karen

« Reply #19 on: April 01, 2014, 12:54:16 PM »
Quote from: gclan
I wonder what the government will sell off once all of our natural resources have been exhausted?
the holes in the ground for global landfill.

Offline gclan

• Misadventure 4wd
« Reply #20 on: April 01, 2014, 02:51:18 PM »