General => General Discussion => Topic started by: scarps on August 24, 2014, 10:57:13 AM

Title: A serious which 4WD question?
Post by: scarps on August 24, 2014, 10:57:13 AM
I'm confident that many will have an opinion and I'm happy to hear from you, but I'm also keen to hear from other swaggers who might find themselves in a similar predicament to mine.

I'm coming to the conclusion that the most viable solution is for swmbo and I to run 3 different cars/trucks/4WD.  Is 3 cars becoming a new norm?

1 x swmbo (her personal taste, smaller style, practicality). She's stamped her fist and said, "I don't want a large 4WD as my daily run about".  We now own her car, it's 4yo and has 50,000km's on the clock, so only now costing us the annual runnings costs of rego, insurance, maintenance and fuel etc. May as we'll keep it.

1 x me for work (can lease as part of my package and claim tax advantages). This I now realise may only ever be a short term vehicle, somewhat like having a company car that you turn over every few years. Not something I would add $000's of aftermarket accessories to.

1 x me/swmbo for weekend and long range touring. The 4WD.

I originally thought that I could have combined 2 and 3 as one, but the leasing/tax advantages really only applies to newer vehicles, and apart from maybe a 200series, (which I could just stretch the budget for), I'm struggling to find a new long range tourer that can tick all the boxes. Plus I work in the CBD at least 3 days per week and it can be a challenge to get a large 4WD into many CBD car parks.

So the other thought process is that I lease a everyday somewhat standard car for work, and buy a good 2nd hand 4WD as the long range tourer, possibly even only need to be a 2door ute style 4wd.

Now I'm thinking some of you are thinking 'poor you', 3 cars! 

But I come back to my original statement, looking to hear from other's who might also be in this situation.  Particularly in our case where the kids are grown and I'm not paying hundreds and thousands in school fees, and the work car is really just a company car.

Which 4WD have you set up, or what have you done?
Title: Re: A serious which 4WD question?
Post by: dazzler on August 24, 2014, 11:20:25 AM
My 2c is that this is where Prado/Pajero shine.

They do lots of things well.  We were in a similar position to you and we now have two cars. 

TD Auto Prado 120 (04 update model).
2010 Corolla Ascent Sport.

We own both outright and use the Corolla for me to travel to work (160k's day) and the Prado for weekends and if its needed around town during the week.

The Prado gets a run up the highway to work once a week.  I would happily have a Pajero instead but at the time the Prado we got won the day.  (Its NVH is far superior to even a new Pajero and that is something I like).

I split 4wding into two 'categories'.

1. 4wding as a sport - You go looking for tracks to tackle and are going there for that purpose usually with others.  You like winching and bogging and all the fun that goes along with it.
2. 4wding as means to travel - You like to travel and see different places and to get away from the majority of people.  You like trips into places like Bendethera where normal vehicles can't go but you are not going to get stuck.  Generally you have an oztent on the roof or are towing a CT.

I used to be in the first group.  If you are in the first group then really you want something with a solid front axle so defender / patrol / early cruiser.  These cost more to run and are less comfortable to live with.

I am now in the second group.  The Prado/Pajero fit that category well but others would as well.  (Outback / Santa Fe etc)

So I reckon you need to work out who you really are.  (Really are - not the dream).  My dream was to be in category one but the reality is I am category two.   

The Prado / Pajero will get you anywhere in this country you could ever want to go within Category Two limits.  I think this is why they sell well.

cheers and have fun!
Post by: Bad Scott on August 24, 2014, 11:29:16 AM
Thought you got the Jeep setup well from what I have seen. Run 2 cars not 3.
Sent from .................
Post by: oldmate on August 24, 2014, 11:29:45 AM
i agree with dazzler, but i fall into both groups. Patrol works well for us
Post by: D4D on August 24, 2014, 11:35:31 AM
x2 with Dazzler

We own an '08 Prado & '09 Corolla. I looked at getting a car to drive to/for work and keep the Prado for weekends. With the cost of rego/insurance etc, the numbers just don't add up for us. I get to put the $ I was paying on vehicle leases into private school fees.
Post by: austastar on August 24, 2014, 12:08:14 PM
   Yep.

Me only; motorbike.

She (shared driving); corolla.

Us (me driving); Landrover.

All need registering, and are seldom out of the garage at the same time.  Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!

Post by: Steffo1 on August 24, 2014, 12:12:39 PM
A nephew has a current Challenger which I had a good look at when camping with him & his family up at Gordon Country a few months ago & I was pretty impressed.
Post by: V8CRSA on August 24, 2014, 01:21:34 PM
Scott,

That's where we have been lucky,as you know we have gone back to one car recently.
Brooke has the 200 as her daily and our family car on the weekends and I have my dmax for work.
Works well for us,maybe you need to find something Sue is happy driving everyday that's a bit more of a compromise between a tourer and a smallish car......

Post by: scarps on August 24, 2014, 01:35:17 PM
Scott,

That's where we have been lucky,as you know we have gone back to one car recently.
Brooke has the 200 as her daily and our family car on the weekends and I have my dmax for work.
Works well for us,maybe you need to find something Sue is happy driving everyday that's a bit more of a compromise between a tourer and a smallish car......

thnx all. Great info to date.

Matt, yes, found one Sue likes, a Range Rover Evoque, and she let's me know it will tow the Trackabout.........

She has expensive taste, but then she picked me, so there's an oxymoron:-)
Post by: speewa158 on August 24, 2014, 01:52:36 PM
scarps  lf you get the Range will you also get the optional tilt tray to bring it home when it dosent want to play the game  .. ??? ??? Will Sue be happy driving the tilt tray till the Range is returned for more part time use .   :laugh: ???
You reckon you got a bagging for the ' Jeep '    >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D
 This will be worth following , Sooo much to consider  :cheers:
Post by: Bird on August 24, 2014, 01:58:48 PM
whats wrong with the firepit?

just work out 730ea rego + insurance to sit there all year get expensive quick....
Post by: lino6 on August 24, 2014, 02:01:59 PM
We have 3 cars, but country rego (plus the fact work pays 1) makes things a bit easier.

Ever thought about buying something cheap as a tourer and spending the $ on the upgrades and mods?
Post by: Bird on August 24, 2014, 02:12:24 PM
We have 3 cars, but country rego (plus the fact work pays 1) makes things a bit easier.

Ever thought about buying something cheap as a tourer and spending the $ on the upgrades and mods?
how would you go with another rego and insurance at your address :)
Post by: Nay-DMAX on August 24, 2014, 02:32:33 PM
As lino6 said we do have the 3 but ute regos are cheaper than cars not sure if that applies in city areas as well. We do pay rego on a road bike that sits in the shed a lot I guess it just comes down to what works best for you. I don't care if he has the bike cause I have the horses here I am lucky in that they do not cost me a lot as we have made our own hay and don't have to feed out all year. I think the other thing to be thinking about is what is going to suit you better for the towing/touring vehicle, if you go down the path of having 3 vehicles and you get a 2 door ute are you going to get a space/extra cab and if not where is Holly going to go and then when you go camping you don't have anywhere to lock your gear and you have to cover everything with a tarp etc when you pack if the weather is crappy.  Lino6 loves his tray ute and it certainly has it's place in our set up good on the farm and for collecting firewood and we used to sleep in it when we camped but I like the dual cab for somewhere for the dogs and even though I didn't want a canopy now we have it then it really is good to have somewhere to lock stuff away even just when shopping
Post by: lino6 on August 24, 2014, 02:36:26 PM

Might look a bit sus with 1400 vehicles registered to the same property  :police:
Post by: Bad Scott on August 24, 2014, 03:01:08 PM
Might look a bit sus with 1400 vehicles registered to the same property  :police:
You love cars, utes, 4x4 and Trucks
Post by: scarps on August 24, 2014, 03:07:00 PM

As lino6 said we do have the 3 but ute regos are cheaper than cars not sure if that applies in city areas as well. We do pay rego on a road bike that sits in the shed a lot I guess it just comes down to what works best for you. I don't care if he has the bike cause I have the horses here I am lucky in that they do not cost me a lot as we have made our own hay and don't have to feed out all year. I think the other thing to be thinking about is what is going to suit you better for the towing/touring vehicle, if you go down the path of having 3 vehicles and you get a 2 door ute are you going to get a space/extra cab and if not where is Holly going to go and then when you go camping you don't have anywhere to lock your gear and you have to cover everything with a tarp etc when you pack if the weather is crappy.  Lino6 loves his tray ute and it certainly has it's place in our set up good on the farm and for collecting firewood and we used to sleep in it when we camped but I like the dual cab for somewhere for the dogs and even though I didn't want a canopy now we have it then it really is good to have somewhere to lock stuff away even just when shopping
thnx Nay, thinking I could buy SJI's when He's finished complete with the lock up rear canopy.
Post by: scarps on August 24, 2014, 03:08:34 PM
scarps  lf you get the Range will you also get the optional tilt tray to bring it home when it dosent want to play the game  .. ??? ??? Will Sue be happy driving the tilt tray till the Range is returned for more part time use .   :laugh: ???
You reckon you got a bagging for the ' Jeep '    >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D
 This will be worth following , Sooo much to consider  :cheers:
hey, pretty sure I saw 3 cars at your place, plus I do recall a little incident of smoke coming outa the back of a Pajero, or should we not talk about that:-)
Post by: heath74 on August 24, 2014, 03:17:31 PM
Funny but there seems to be a pattern here...
We've got the prado, and an i30.

Similar to above, the prado does everything I want, interms of towing the van and off roading.

Plus I drive in heavy traffic daily, so the prado is a good balance.

If I wanted to do any more extreme off roading, it would get difficult. I can't see us justifying three cars.
Post by: Bad Scott on August 24, 2014, 03:20:00 PM
thnx Nay, thinking I could buy SJI's when He's finished complete with the lock up rear canopy.
Sorry scarps, going to have it for a while. But when I do sell it I will give you a great price
Post by: scarps on August 24, 2014, 03:48:17 PM

Sorry scarps, going to have it for a while. But when I do sell it I will give you a great price
cool, hang on to it and I'll save my pennies:-). $5k ok?
Post by: scarps on August 24, 2014, 03:59:19 PM

i think that's fair if Fuji registers lino's trailer to his place:-)
Post by: Landyline on August 24, 2014, 04:06:29 PM
If you can afford it and have the space then there isn't a problem.

Personally we went from a city car and a 4wd park car to one new touring 4wd. Mainly due to wanting to do touring instead of 4wd parks. I'd still like to have the option to do a 4wd park but reality was that after 10 years of it I was a bit over it and my wife never liked it.
We also don't need cars for work and live in a country town so have no need for multiple cars or city cars.
Post by: JCOJ on August 24, 2014, 04:15:12 PM
We have three.  Two have our company logos emblazoned all over them being a VW Golf and a Kia Rio, then we have the LC200 as our travel/tow car.  It is a big jump going from the VW/KIA to the LC200 or vice versa, especially if you haven't driven the Cruiser for a while!!
Post by: Bad Scott on August 24, 2014, 05:17:51 PM
cool, hang on to it and I'll save my pennies:-). $5k ok?
That will get you some rims only. Add another zero plus 10k cause I own it and another 10k for been a swagger should put it pretty close
Post by: dazzler on August 24, 2014, 05:44:19 PM
, and an i30.

They are a great choice.
Post by: Garfish on August 24, 2014, 06:37:08 PM
I'd go 3 cars,  but I was lucky the wife likes the Prado do got away with  2, but with the running costs of my commute I got a nissan micra, and was getting a craptiva or asx for the wife, with the 3 rd vehicle being camping/ towing / beach 4 wd.    Only increased costs would of been about $2 k year for insurance rego and maintenance.  But saved around half of that on cheaper running costs. Would still had been out of pocket but not by much,  ( I went from a falcon wagon to the micra)  that way your tourer doesn't do bulk k's etc. 
Post by: Fathom on August 24, 2014, 06:41:06 PM

I'm confident that many will have an opinion and I'm happy to hear from you, but I'm also keen to hear from other swaggers who might find themselves in a similar predicament to mine.

I'm coming to the conclusion that the most viable solution is for swmbo and I to run 3 different cars/trucks/4WD.  Is 3 cars becoming a new norm?

1 x swmbo (her personal taste, smaller style, practicality). She's stamped her fist and said, "I don't want a large 4WD as my daily run about".  We now own her car, it's 4yo and has 50,000km's on the clock, so only now costing us the annual runnings costs of rego, insurance, maintenance and fuel etc. May as we'll keep it.

1 x me for work (can lease as part of my package and claim tax advantages). This I now realise may only ever be a short term vehicle, somewhat like having a company car that you turn over every few years. Not something I would add $000's of aftermarket accessories to.

1 x me/swmbo for weekend and long range touring. The 4WD.

I originally thought that I could have combined 2 and 3 as one, but the leasing/tax advantages really only applies to newer vehicles, and apart from maybe a 200series, (which I could just stretch the budget for), I'm struggling to find a new long range tourer that can tick all the boxes. Plus I work in the CBD at least 3 days per week and it can be a challenge to get a large 4WD into many CBD car parks.

So the other thought process is that I lease a everyday somewhat standard car for work, and buy a good 2nd hand 4WD as the long range tourer, possibly even only need to be a 2door ute style 4wd.

Now I'm thinking some of you are thinking 'poor you', 3 cars! 

But I come back to my original statement, looking to hear from other's who might also be in this situation.  Particularly in our case where the kids are grown and I'm not paying hundreds and thousands in school fees, and the work car is really just a company car.

Which 4WD have you set up, or what have you done?

As you know.
We run 3 vehicles.
A patrol. - toy/ tourer... That will go almost anywhere.
My work car.. Middle ground... Challenger... With a few toys.. With a few more.. Could be a top tourer.. But can't be "hardcore"... It's gotta work on Monday... (Still good enough to take up the beach etc...)
And the misuses has her shopping trolley.... Corolla that she loves.
Truth is.. If I didn't want to go "serious off road" I don't need the Troll.
The challenger still has lift/ bar/ tyres/ lights/ a few other goodies.
I could have bought a dearer 4wd as a daily than the Challenger ..  But I also budgeted during the company car period for one or twenty accessories.
Maybe instead of a 200 series. You could look at a Prado.. Use the extra coin to deck it out. Same outlay... More toys. :)
There is no right answer. It depends what you want to do in your vehicles.
Me personally. I see a need for about 10-22 extra vehicles. But SWMBO seemed to think my need for a full on comp truck and a sports car and a limo and a hovercraft and a quad and a motor bike are just plain "male bovine naturally processed hay".
Post by: Fathom on August 24, 2014, 06:45:00 PM
Ps.. Little trap for owning 2 4wds that I have recently discovered.
If you upgrade one.. You tend to accidentally  upgrade both....
Ie..   Looking at electronics brake controllers for the Challenger... Thinking... The Troll needs that too....
:)
Post by: scarps on August 24, 2014, 06:56:11 PM
Ps.. Little trap for owning 2 4wds that I have recently discovered.
If you upgrade one.. You tend to accidentally  upgrade both....
Ie..   Looking at electronics brake controllers for the Challenger... Thinking... The Troll needs that too....
:)
fathom, I think you've hit one of my nails on it's head. 'It needs to be work presentable by 7am on Monday mornings'. Bit hard to do if you've been out for the weekend, and potentially able to go out every second.

Thnx All for your feedback, it all helps.

The other nail I need to hit is  the 'soft off road or hard off road?'. I live within 20minutes of the start of the Vic High Country and you can need a winch or snap strap within view of my back door, therefore a soft roader just won't cut it even for a Sunday drive.

SJI, thnx for the offer, but your rims won't fit. Might be able to use as a hose holder tho:-)
Post by: heath74 on August 24, 2014, 07:23:02 PM
They are a great choice.

Yeah, a great little run around, my wife loves it.
Post by: wato100 on August 24, 2014, 07:53:18 PM
we were in the same boat , the wife needed a new car to get around and as a kids taxi.so I offered to sell my 105 series petrol cruiser  :'( and get a prado or something similar and I would drive her old car for work (vt wagon on gas). NO DEAL it had to be another commodore wagon as I don't do the shopping ect ect ect I wouldn't know what she needed. so now we have three cars including a newish ve sv6 wagon, the cruiser now only gets used every now and then when needed but the fuel saving by using the vt every day has gone some way on paying for the rego and insurance

and also when I had a little mechanical trouble with the vt the cruiser was there to jump into and not be late to work
Post by: Homer_Jay on August 24, 2014, 08:03:21 PM
Go the three, you know you want to!

We have three 4X4's
Prado for the mrs daily car and tows horse float
Landcruiser is our 'tourer', tows boat and any heavy duty towing that needs to be done.
Hilux is the 'wheelbarrow' and I use it to transport my quad on shooting trips.

Would be nice to go back to two, but three works.

Post by: Bird on August 24, 2014, 08:05:08 PM
Quote from: scarps
The other nail I need to hit is  the 'soft off road or hard off road?'
You've already got one softroader.. why not have 2???
Post by: scarps on August 24, 2014, 08:08:47 PM
You've already got one softroader.. why not have 2???
thinking that one needs to be upgraded, nah, the lease is nearly up.
Post by: Swannie on August 24, 2014, 08:24:24 PM
Purchase the jeep at end if lease & then go buy a "real 4wd" like a Toyota :)

Post by: Bad Scott on August 24, 2014, 08:30:13 PM
Purchase the jeep at end if lease & then go buy a "real 4wd" like a Toyota :)

There is mention of a 200 series :cup:
Post by: lino6 on August 24, 2014, 08:33:42 PM
Knowing the OP, he should get a Unimog!
Post by: scarps on August 24, 2014, 08:42:55 PM
Knowing the OP, he should get a Unimog!
oh that's right, forgot you've seen what the Jeep can do:-)
Post by: lino6 on August 24, 2014, 08:49:19 PM
oh that's right, forgot you've seen what the Jeep can do:-)

I know it has hill descent control, just like Range Rovers!
Post by: scarps on August 24, 2014, 08:52:43 PM
and a passenger ejector seat
Post by: lino6 on August 24, 2014, 08:56:58 PM
and a passenger ejector seat

Actually a driver rejection seat, think the DMax has one of them too!
Post by: scarps on August 25, 2014, 06:14:00 AM
Go the three, you know you want to!

We have three 4X4's
Prado for the mrs daily car and tows horse float
Landcruiser is our 'tourer', tows boat and any heavy duty towing that needs to be done.
Hilux is the 'wheelbarrow' and I use it to transport my quad on shooting trips.

Would be nice to go back to two, but three works.
thnx Homer_Jay. Sounds like where I'm at.
Post by: Aaron Schubert on August 25, 2014, 11:29:14 AM
We have 3 cars too. Two Corollas (1994 and 1997) and the 80 series cruiser.

The corollas are our runabouts and the cruiser is for 4WDing/touring.

This is much cheaper than using the 80 to drive to work and back.

One of the biggest costs of owning a car is the depreciation, which is where a reliable, older vehicle really shines. The corolla's barely depreciate every year, and they are very economical too.

Post by: scarps on August 25, 2014, 09:06:34 PM
We have 3 cars too. Two Corollas (1994 and 1997) and the 80 series cruiser.

The corollas are our runabouts and the cruiser is for 4WDing/touring.

This is much cheaper than using the 80 to drive to work and back.

One of the biggest costs of owning a car is the depreciation, which is where a reliable, older vehicle really shines. The corolla's barely depreciate every year, and they are very economical too.

Thnx Aaron, think I'm agreeing with you on all counts.
Post by: scarps on August 26, 2014, 06:16:07 PM
Hhmm, going to look at a 200 next week. If only Nissan did a Diesel!
Post by: V8CRSA on August 26, 2014, 06:27:05 PM
If you want a no pressure look over one and a drive,we are only down the road.
Post by: Swannie on August 26, 2014, 06:28:29 PM
Hhmm, going to look at a 200 next week. If only Nissan did a Diesel!

Ba ba ba

Post by: scarps on August 26, 2014, 06:29:46 PM
If you want a no pressure look over one and a drive,we are only down the road.
thnx Matt, chat soon.
Post by: scarps on August 26, 2014, 06:31:03 PM
Ba ba ba

well it would be nice to have another option:)
Post by: Bad Scott on August 26, 2014, 08:27:15 PM
well it would be nice to have another option:)
There is no other option. Its Toyota Country :cheers:
Post by: Heavensent on August 26, 2014, 10:39:37 PM
We did the 3 cars for a while.
Misses/family car.  05 ba xr6 which was recently replaced by a 2012 Camry
My play car 89 GQ td42t
And my work run about 85 ke70 rwd corolla.

Unfortaunly the corolla got a bit long in the tooth so sold it for a 200% profit after 5 years ownership.
And now the troll is my daily, and still a hard core play toy, thankfully she holds together nicely......
Post by: noel_w on August 28, 2014, 01:08:18 PM

I thought that is what trees are for!  :laugh: :laugh:

We have 3 cars
2010 Forester for SWMBO that has not been on dirt once since new
2000 Hyundai Accent for 18yo to embarrass him and to keep his speed down  >:D >:D
And my trusty old GQ as my daily and play toy.
Post by: scarps on August 30, 2014, 10:16:50 AM
Thnx all for your replies, has somewhat focussed the decision making process. Appreciated will see if we can find something to result in only 2 vehicles.

The current 4by will go on the market in a few weeks and hoping with 6months warranty still to go, it might get snapped up. Will see.

So the shopping list looks like a diesel version of one of the following:

Dmax
Pajero
Pwado

Actually don't mind the Petrol FJ40 but swmbo hates the look of them.
Post by: scarps on September 05, 2014, 08:20:57 AM
So off to look at the options this weekend.

Seems swmbo is ok with changing over to a new 4WD and 2 cars will suffice as long as I consider changing her car up also..........

What's the old saying, if a guy wants a new toy, best way to get the mrs ok is to look after her first.

Have a couple of scenarios

1 - keep swmbos 4yo Lancer give it a buff and polish and see if the 2 of us like the Prado (maybe a 200 GXL if the deal is ok)

2 - trade up swmbos Lancer to something new, and I look at a Dmax or the Pajero.

Happy to take any other tips or ideas you may have.
Post by: Mongoose on September 05, 2014, 10:04:21 AM
So off to look at the options this weekend.

Seems swmbo is ok with changing over to a new 4WD and 2 cars will suffice as long as I consider changing her car up also..........

What's the old saying, if a guy wants a new toy, best way to get the mrs ok is to look after her first.

Have a couple of scenarios

1 - keep swmbos 4yo Lancer give it a buff and polish and see if the 2 of us like the Prado (maybe a 200 GXL if the deal is ok)

2 - trade up swmbos Lancer to something new, and I look at a Dmax or the Pajero.

Happy to take any other tips or ideas you may have.

Care - if SWMBO gets to test drive a 200, it might be YOU that ends up with the buffed and polished Lancer...
Post by: scarps on September 05, 2014, 11:00:44 AM
Care - if SWMBO gets to test drive a 200, it might be YOU that ends up with the buffed and polished Lancer...
too true:-). Mind you I got home last night to be told she likes the new VF GTS. So I'm expecting a Dmax which will be just fine...
Post by: V8CRSA on September 05, 2014, 11:45:29 AM
Offer still stands, if you want to take our 200 for a spin without a pushy salesman your more than welcome.
Post by: scarps on September 05, 2014, 04:34:31 PM

Offer still stands, if you want to take our 200 for a spin without a pushy salesman your more than welcome.
thnx Matt, want to start at the bottom and work our way up. Scared if we start at the top, we may not be able to move back down:-)
Might touch base tomorrow afternoon or Sunday.

Need to drag Trackie out on Sunday and see if all survived the winter storage
Post by: Fathom on September 06, 2014, 06:23:58 AM
Just get a Lada Niva and be done with it.
Post by: scarps on September 06, 2014, 06:27:42 AM
Just get a Lada Niva and be done with it.
if only they had a 4.2 in them:-)
Post by: Fathom on September 06, 2014, 06:30:45 AM

if only they had a 4.2 in them:-)
I feel a conversion coming on!
Post by: GGV8Cruza on September 06, 2014, 07:35:37 AM
thnx Matt, want to start at the bottom and work our way up. Scared if we start at the top, we may not be able to move back down:-)
Might touch base tomorrow afternoon or Sunday.

Just start at the top and it will save you a lot more time  >:D, another 200 convert is almost here  ;D

Post by: scarps on September 06, 2014, 08:02:01 AM
Just start at the top and it will save you a lot more time  >:D, another 200 convert is almost here  ;D

thnx GG, don't disagree, but most important rule here is?

Happy Wife = Happy Life
Post by: GGV8Cruza on September 06, 2014, 08:03:48 AM
thnx GG, don't disagree, but most important rule here is?

Happy Wife = Happy Life

My wife was very happy with the upgrade  >:D

Post by: scarps on September 06, 2014, 08:04:59 AM

you need to be careful then:-)
Post by: GeoffA on September 06, 2014, 08:13:10 AM

You upgraded??.... :P
Post by: V8100 on September 06, 2014, 08:43:55 AM
We have run 3 for around 6 years now. I wouldn't have it any other way. We now have2 company vehicles but was not always the case. We I now have 2 company vehicles which makes it far easier to take but it was not always this way. Your 4wd is holding its value better when not racking up the Ks and you expensive tyres will last years. If you go to youi for insurance it is cheap as it spends most of its life locked away. You can pack during the week ready for a quick getaway Friday arvo and if you damage it while wheeling you don't need it for work Monday
Just my 2c
Eddy
Post by: V8100 on September 06, 2014, 08:45:28 AM
Also wouldn't own a v8 if I had to drive it every day.

Eddy
Post by: scarps on September 06, 2014, 12:08:32 PM
An the winner for today's test drives  are...................

surprisingly swmbo was ok with the FJ Cruiser. Go figure!!!!
Ok by me.

Decided
200 series too big for us. No kids.

Prado too soft compared to the Pajero and the Dmax, but it was good to drive. I can see the value here.

Pajero was a great buy but I think I like the FJ Cruiser.
Post by: Swannie on September 06, 2014, 01:20:06 PM
Scarps if it was just me and the missus id be driving an FJ as well mate

Post by: D4D on September 06, 2014, 01:22:36 PM
You do know the FJ is a Prado with a different body...
Post by: scarps on September 06, 2014, 01:41:54 PM
Scarps if it was just me and the missus id be driving an FJ as well mate

thnx Swannie, I was surprised swmbo liked it. Said the passenger seat was really comfortable and she felt really safe in it. I'm really looking for a good off-roader with a little bit of comfort and it seems to hit the mark.  Would also admit wish I could've afforded a big cruiser (80, 100, 200 etc) when our boys were little.  These days it's just the mrs, the Rottweiler and me.

D4D yep, but with the petrol engine instead of a diesel....plenty of grunt from underneath when it's needed.
Post by: D4D on September 06, 2014, 01:53:00 PM
Yup plenty of killerwasps with a reliable auto. 35s fit with ease too.
Post by: scarps on September 06, 2014, 07:50:42 PM
Local Bitsamishi dealer called back today and offered me a great deal to trade swmbo's Lancer in on a Pajero GLX-R. Anyone thinking of upgrading, they're doing great run out deals atm, with low finance.
Post by: Bad Scott on September 06, 2014, 07:56:31 PM
Toyota ? ;D
Post by: scarps on September 06, 2014, 08:04:27 PM
Toyota ? ;D
Coming back to us on Monday with a deal on a new corolla for swmbo and the FJ for me.
Post by: D4D on September 06, 2014, 08:06:53 PM
My missus loves her Corolla sedan (previous shape) lots of room for a small car and you can't kill it. We had a Cruze as a hire car during the week and we could barely fit all our stuff in the boot. Came home this arvo and the Corolla boot fitted it all in with room to spare.
Post by: scarps on September 06, 2014, 08:08:39 PM
My missus loves her Corolla sedan (previous shape) lots of room for a small car and you can't kill it. We had a Cruze as a hire car during the week and we could barely fit all our stuff in the boot. Came home this arvo and the Corolla boot fitted it all in with room to spare.
agree, was surprised on the new model. Plenty of room in the back for the Wolfhound too.
Post by: Swannie on September 06, 2014, 08:08:51 PM
Coming back to us on Monday with a deal on a new corolla for swmbo and the FJ for me.

Be interested what they quote you Scott for the FJ.

Post by: scarps on September 06, 2014, 08:11:51 PM
Be interested what they quote you Scott for the FJ.

current floor stock price was $47k DA without the few extras I want to negotiate on.  There's a few already hitting the SH market with ave KM's that would be a good buy also.  One of the recent 4WD mags had an article on the FJ club in the High Country.
Post by: scarps on September 20, 2014, 12:07:03 PM
Okay Dokay, have eliminated the Pajero.

Took a V6 Diesel Navara for a test drive today.  Think I like, but it is up against the FJ Cruiser which is a V6 Petrol.  Thoughts and opinions welcome.

Think the Navara is going to have better resale but needs some $$'s spent to set it up for off-road work.  The FJ's ready to go off-road.
Post by: D4D on September 20, 2014, 12:09:33 PM
Talk to any independent mechanic about the Navara and see what they say, run away and don't look back.
Post by: scarps on September 20, 2014, 12:11:55 PM
Talk to any independent mechanic about the Navara and see what they say, run away and don't look back.
thnx Jamie, I have spoken to 2 and both said don't touch the manual gearbox, but the auto is ok.
Post by: Jakster1 on September 20, 2014, 12:26:11 PM
D40 and FJ are like chalk and cheese offroad. Check out the approach, rampover and departure angles on the navara (woeful) also the exposed undercarriage and vital components.
They're good to drive onroad and tow heavy stuff.

Post by: scarps on September 20, 2014, 12:46:03 PM
D40 and FJ are like chalk and cheese offroad. Check out the approach, rampover and departure angles on the navara (woeful) also the exposed undercarriage and vital components.
They're good to drive onroad and tow heavy stuff.
thnx Jakster1, the Navara would definitely need a lift kit for off-road but I'm a fan of the bigger diesel donk. Think the FJCruiser is going to be the best option on compromise, but will be thirsty under load.
Post by: V8CRSA on September 20, 2014, 01:04:38 PM
Just get a 200...... :police:
Post by: D4D on September 20, 2014, 01:09:48 PM

Post by: dazzler on September 20, 2014, 01:25:12 PM
thnx Jakster1, the Navara would definitely need a lift kit for off-road but I'm a fan of the bigger diesel donk. Think the FJCruiser is going to be the best option on compromise, but will be thirsty under load.

I heard they are not that thirsty.

Someone has a white one up brissy way and I am sure they were getting good figures.  Can t recall who though.
Post by: oldmate on September 20, 2014, 01:26:03 PM
x3 be a sheep ;D ;D ;)
Post by: oldmate on September 20, 2014, 01:26:59 PM
pm Michealh either on this forum or the other one. he has had his fj a while now
Post by: lino6 on September 20, 2014, 01:28:58 PM
Have you driven the DMax yet?
Post by: scarps on September 20, 2014, 03:31:29 PM

lol.....200 is a beast, just too big
Post by: scarps on September 20, 2014, 03:37:39 PM

Have you driven the DMax yet?
no, not yet. I like the Dmax, but really want a V6.
Post by: scarps on September 20, 2014, 03:42:50 PM

pm Michealh either on this forum or the other one. he has had his fj a while now
thnx, yes I pm'd him and he said he's avg 13L/100
Post by: V8CRSA on September 20, 2014, 03:46:21 PM
thnx, yes I pm'd him and he said he's avg 13L/100

That's pretty good for a petrol v6, and with the saving on the purchase price I reckon it's a winner.....

Post by: scarps on September 20, 2014, 04:09:34 PM
That's pretty good for a petrol v6, and with the saving on the purchase price I reckon it's a winner.....

could come down to colour availability. Not a big fan of the yellow, like this colour
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/09/20/qetavehu.jpg)
Plus whether the Navara Deal is better

(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/09/20/5u8uza6u.jpg)
Post by: Bird on September 20, 2014, 04:23:18 PM
You'd be happier with the Navara..
Post by: V8CRSA on September 20, 2014, 05:02:52 PM
could come down to colour availability. Not a big fan of the yellow, like this colour
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/09/20/qetavehu.jpg)
Plus whether the Navara Deal is better

(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/09/20/5u8uza6u.jpg)

Petrol or diesel navara ?
I'm not real keen on many of the colours the fj comes in either......

Post by: D4D on September 20, 2014, 05:20:52 PM
Neighbour has a white FJ with the ARB catalogue on it, looks the business.
Post by: Nay-DMAX on September 20, 2014, 05:27:37 PM
I am not as keen on the shape of the FJ think the other pic I saw was black and that seemed ok. You know you really want the dmax though  ;D ;D
Post by: Bird on September 20, 2014, 05:35:21 PM
why did you sell the jeep?

I'd go a used Prado over the midlife crisis... but both are not that much different to the jeep

so that leaves a ute...
Post by: scarps on September 20, 2014, 08:12:16 PM
Toyota Dealer rang and said someone else was looking at their FJ and did I want to put a deposit down. I said, nah, it's ok, if you sell the FJ I'll go buy the Navara:-)
Post by: vicandug on September 20, 2014, 08:46:45 PM
We only have one car.
Ug (Graeme) has a company truck that he drives with all the tools in it...  (no pun intended) but ........
I drive the pathy as my daily.

Vicki
Post by: cruza driver on September 20, 2014, 08:50:57 PM
Just curious scarps why the Navara and not another model ute? The new model is out soon but I guess there must be some ripper deals around too,  which makes it even tougher.

Have you driven different model utes, that's if you go this way?
Good luck with your decision mate.
Post by: brickiematt on September 20, 2014, 08:51:32 PM
What made you eliminate the paj scarps? Just curious.....
Post by: lino6 on September 20, 2014, 08:54:07 PM
Does the type of vehicle depend on what the banter will be like over the radio?
Post by: scarps on September 20, 2014, 09:10:23 PM

Just curious scarps why the Navara and not another model ute?
V6 Diesel Donk
Post by: scarps on September 20, 2014, 09:11:58 PM

What made you eliminate the paj scarps? Just curious.....
didn't have a V6 Diesel Donk
Post by: scarps on September 20, 2014, 09:15:11 PM

Does the type of vehicle depend on what the banter will be like over the radio?
what like bought a navara or bought an FJ?
Post by: Bird on September 20, 2014, 09:16:11 PM
didn't have a V6 Diesel Donk

Honestly is that really that critical??
I love the Pajero I test drove..
Post by: scarps on September 20, 2014, 09:19:17 PM

Honestly is that really that critical??
I love the Pajero I test drove..
ok, it looks like a grey nomad's caravan tug.

But agree it is a great one at that.
Post by: Bird on September 20, 2014, 09:23:11 PM
and? What do you think the yota looks like LOL!???
Post by: D4D on September 20, 2014, 09:25:32 PM

You do realise grey nomad's buy the jeep you just sold due to the 3.5T towing...

Rear IFS would put me off the Paj if I was doing lots of towing.
Post by: cruza driver on September 20, 2014, 09:27:42 PM
V6 Diesel Donk
No worries mate,  you maybe surprised how some go though, the Ranger and BT's are both 5 cyl 3.2 lt

The joys of making a decision hey  8)
Post by: brickiematt on September 20, 2014, 09:51:27 PM
V6 Diesel Donk

Fair enough. Can't compete with that ;D

You do realise grey nomad's buy the jeep you just sold due to the 3.5T towing...

Rear IFS would put me off the Paj if I was doing lots of towing.

A set of polyairs in the rear does the trick!
Post by: kylarama on September 20, 2014, 10:24:16 PM

A set of polyairs in the rear does the trick!

We've got a now 14 year old NM with 10ish year old Pedders 50mm raised springs.  I don't do tons of towing, but do a bit between a Jayco camper, 16ft 70's caravan and the odd tandem.  Never seen any tyre scrub or supposed IRS issues?
Post by: scarps on September 20, 2014, 10:56:22 PM
yep, very much so and guess what the buyers want it for?
Post by: scarps on September 20, 2014, 10:57:46 PM
and? What do you think the yota looks like LOL!???
A Lego Car:-), you're right, think the Navara is slightly ahead atm.
Post by: scarps on September 20, 2014, 10:59:28 PM
No worries mate,  you maybe surprised how some go though, the Ranger and BT's are both 5 cyl 3.2 lt

The joys of making a decision hey  8)
yeah I was impressed by your BT when we were at Knockwood, the Ranger however is having too many issues for my like.  The Jeep was more reliable:-)
Post by: cruza driver on September 21, 2014, 06:37:56 PM
yeah I was impressed by your BT when we were at Knockwood, the Ranger however is having too many issues for my like.  The Jeep was more reliable:-)

Thats the problem to many choices  8)
Post by: Jakster1 on September 21, 2014, 07:26:32 PM
76series dual cab perhaps?
It'll tow yer camper
Post by: scarps on September 21, 2014, 07:41:41 PM
Well thinking maybe we're back to one option of the Navara STX V6 Turbo Diesel Dual cab or go back and have another look at a 200...,,,
Post by: GGV8Cruza on September 21, 2014, 07:45:52 PM
back and have another look at a 200...,,,

Come to the dark side, the force is strong  >:D >:D >:D

Post by: scarps on September 21, 2014, 07:49:15 PM
Come to the dark side, the force is strong  >:D >:D >:D

and the truck is big........maybe too big for a small quiet bloke like me:-)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on September 21, 2014, 07:51:26 PM
and the truck is big........maybe too big for a small quiet bloke like me:-)

They have to shoe horn that V8 goodness somewhere.  I am sure its about 300mm wider and 500mm longer than the old girl, but the grin you wear will be worth it

Post by: scarps on September 21, 2014, 07:58:10 PM
They have to shoe horn that V8 goodness somewhere.  I am sure its about 300mm wider and 500mm longer than the old girl, but the grin you wear will be worth it

agree, they are a beast. I test drove one 2 weeks ago and took at back after about 500m. Very quickly realised that the longer I sat in it, the chances of getting out would get less.
Post by: Bird on September 21, 2014, 08:01:06 PM
Well thinking maybe we're back to one option of the Pajero...,,,
fixed..
Post by: scarps on September 21, 2014, 08:07:24 PM
fixed..
lol.....
Post by: Bird on September 21, 2014, 08:17:48 PM
lol.....
have you driven one?
Post by: scarps on September 21, 2014, 08:18:54 PM
have you driven one?
yes, on and off road. A very good quality reliable and stable vehicle.
Post by: Bird on September 21, 2014, 08:22:58 PM
yes, on and off road. A very good quality reliable and stable vehicle.
would be a lot nicer on and offroad than a ute.
Post by: V8CRSA on September 21, 2014, 08:54:49 PM
I've said it before.........just get a 200  :cheers:

Post by: scarps on September 21, 2014, 08:59:06 PM
I've said it before.........just get a 200  :cheers:

lol....if live were that easy:-)
Post by: cheif carlos on September 21, 2014, 09:30:24 PM
Iveco Daily 4x4

Post by: V8CRSA on September 21, 2014, 09:51:03 PM
lol....if live were that easy:-)

Ok what about a 76 series wagon ? Not as big as a 200 but still plenty of grunt and tough as nails ?

Post by: Bird on September 21, 2014, 10:00:27 PM
Ok what about a 76 series wagon ? Not as big as a 200 but still plenty of grunt and tough as nails ?
overpriced and hideous rough ride.
Post by: Black Diamond on September 21, 2014, 10:00:34 PM
http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&alt=web&id=191323259506 (http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&alt=web&id=191323259506)
Post by: V8CRSA on September 21, 2014, 10:13:05 PM
overpriced and hideous rough ride.

Agreed,but can't be much worse a ride that a twin cab ute ? And does have that V8......
Post by: Bird on September 21, 2014, 10:22:55 PM
Quote from: V8CRSA
Agreed,but can't be much worse a ride that a twin cab ute ?
almost agree!!
Post by: lino6 on September 21, 2014, 10:51:05 PM

Fuji's is a good rig IMO. Thought comfort was good, though I'm used to ute's and rough old trucks!

Would be nice if they were geared a bit better though.
Post by: Heavensent on September 22, 2014, 01:21:23 AM
Got a auto turbo diesel paj at work.
First impression are that it seems pretty good.
Nice responsive engine and the auto changes quickly.
Factory rear diff lock.
For a tourer and weekend beach rig reckon you can't go wrong.
Not too bad seats too.
Post by: scarps on September 22, 2014, 10:00:50 PM
Well after seeing the burnt out FJ on Fraser post, we've settled on a new Navara V6 Turbo Diesel. Managed to find a white one today and just wrapping up the deal with the local dealer. Definitely won't be a tradie truck, so watch for a new thread to come soon..........
It'll be a sheep with bling and a smile:-)
Post by: Swannie on September 22, 2014, 10:12:45 PM
Good stuff scarps looking forward to the pics mate
Post by: Bird on September 22, 2014, 10:13:34 PM
Good stuff scarps looking forward to the pics mate
did you get that CD yet?
Post by: V8CRSA on September 22, 2014, 10:13:40 PM
Congrats mate,I'm sure you will love the navara and have many years of trouble free motoring. :cheers:

Post by: scarps on September 22, 2014, 10:47:54 PM
Thnx guys, just a tad excited, but still got to get through the next few days......
Post by: Bird on September 22, 2014, 10:52:59 PM
Thnx guys, just a tad excited, but still got to get through the next few days......
ready fer weekend?
Post by: Swannie on September 22, 2014, 10:55:09 PM
did you get that CD yet?
Nope.
Post by: Bird on September 22, 2014, 10:57:42 PM
Nope.
thought it was strange you hadn't said squat..

Ill bring me HDrive of stuff on weekend
Post by: oldmate on September 23, 2014, 06:10:33 AM
Well after seeing the burnt out FJ on Fraser post, we've settled on a new Navara V6 Turbo Diesel. Managed to find a white one today and just wrapping up the deal with the local dealer. Definitely won't be a tradie truck, so watch for a new thread to come soon..........
It'll be a sheep with bling and a smile:-)

;D ;D. Nothing like a sheep with a gold chain.  ;D.

Can't wait to see pics of it coming together.
Post by: cruza driver on September 23, 2014, 07:44:52 AM
Awesome Scarps, when is delivery?
Post by: lino6 on September 23, 2014, 07:48:35 AM
I wonder if speewa will be happy to be seen in this one, I still remember the look on his face when he decided to get into the Jeep!
Post by: Bird on September 23, 2014, 09:09:53 AM
Change ya thread title.
Post by: scarps on September 23, 2014, 11:07:39 AM
Awesome Scarps, when is delivery?
Sometime next week if all the extra's come together in the next few days.
Post by: cruza driver on September 23, 2014, 07:04:02 PM
Sometime next week if all the extra's come together in the next few days.

Nice mate, not to far away then.
Post by: scarps on September 23, 2014, 07:53:39 PM
New build thread started over in My 4WD section.
Post by: D4D on September 28, 2014, 08:15:20 AM
I was bored so I crunched the numbers on a couple of scenarios:
- Run the Prado as I do now (Prado)
- Get a runabout (Camry) and keep the Prado as a weekender (Prado 2)

The numbers are surprising. Running the Prado as a daily driver only costs $3,300 extra per year vs. an additional $12,400 to run a 2nd vehicle and keeping the Prado for trips/weekends. I haven't factored in any tax offset.

(http://blkmav.com/prado/carnumbers.jpg)
Post by: scarps on September 28, 2014, 08:21:31 AM

I was bored so I crunched the numbers on a couple of scenarios:
- Run the Prado as I do now (Prado)
- Get a runabout (Camry) and keep the Prado as a weekender (Prado 2)

The numbers are surprising. Running the Prado as a daily driver only costs $3,300 extra per year vs. an additional $12,400 to run a 2nd vehicle and keeping the Prado for trips/weekends. I haven't factored in any tax offset.

(http://blkmav.com/prado/carnumbers.jpg)
good scenarios, does the Camry column include finance?
Post by: D4D on September 28, 2014, 08:22:12 AM
good scenarios, does the Camry column include finance?

Yup, that's the 'lease' row :)
Post by: scarps on September 28, 2014, 08:23:47 AM
Yup, that's the 'lease' row :)
doh, it's Sunday morning, forgive me

In which case, you have to weigh up the cost of putting extra km's on the Prado versus upgrading it every few years
Post by: D4D on September 28, 2014, 08:29:35 AM
In which case, you have to weigh up the cost of putting extra km's on the Prado versus upgrading it every few years

True, but at the moment the Prado is fully depreciated and won't lose a whole lot more per year as a daily driver or weekender. Plus that hurts my brain to work out that formula on a Sunday morning.
Post by: scarps on September 28, 2014, 08:32:11 AM

True, but at the moment the Prado is fully depreciated and won't lose a whole lot more per year as a daily driver or weekender. Plus that hurts my brain to work out that formula on a Sunday morning.
plus when you hear of good quality 4wd's getting up to the 400,000km's and still running strong, it's possibly less of an issue.
Post by: D4D on September 28, 2014, 08:38:28 AM
Added in the tax offset @ 50% business use.

Delta between daily driver and weekender is now only $1,325
Delta between running 1 and 2 vehicles is now $10,450

Hardly seems worth it to run 2...

(http://blkmav.com/prado/carnumbers1.jpg)
Post by: Garfish on September 28, 2014, 11:36:17 AM
Hi d4d. It's interesting that from your figures that the prado is more economical than the Camry, I assume that Camry + prado 2 km would equal prado km, I.e. No additional km are driven through the addition of the second vehicle .  The reason I query this is the fuel spend for 2 vehicles is $500 more. I would of thought that the distance travelled   Thus could be correct but just thought it looks strange.   It's the accountant in me coming out.  But it is also why I went Micra for my daily commute. Which I got thrown in when I bought my D40.  A few years ago.  Good luck with the new dual cab
Post by: D4D on September 28, 2014, 12:17:28 PM
Hey Garfish, I started with a known, which is the Prado fuel usage and klms travelled, hence the $3500 is accurate. Looking at the Camry specs it gets about a 1/3 better fuel economy than the Prado hence the $2600 for the same klms as the Prado as a daily driver. It should probably be $2300 as unleaded is cheaper than diesel. The $1500 for the 'Prado 2' scenario was a finger in the air estimate based on weekend and trip usage, hence lower klms than the Camry. Does that make sense?
Post by: Ratbag on September 28, 2014, 12:45:53 PM
Gidday D4D

Added in the tax offset @ 50% business use.

Delta between daily driver and weekender is now only $1,325
Delta between running 1 and 2 vehicles is now $10,450

Hardly seems worth it to run 2...

(http://blkmav.com/prado/carnumbers1.jpg)

Always an interesting exercise.

Perhaps you could separate out fixed costs and depreciation (real, not tax deductible) from running costs, then convert them all back into a cents/km cost, then work out the annualised cost of each vehicle and option set from there?

It is very easy to tax deduct one's self out of an income, if you get my drift.

There are also non-quantifiable costs/benefits to be taken into account. We choose to have two vehicles because of our personal needs and wants. My brother and his wife have just chosen to go from two vehicles to one for the same (different ... ) needs and wants analysis.

It's the accountant coming out in me, as Garfish said ;).

Just a few thoughts, FWIW.
Post by: scarps on September 28, 2014, 02:16:28 PM
Maybe we should start a new thread called:

Estimating the serious cost of owning and running vehicles?
Post by: slcs78 on September 28, 2014, 02:26:27 PM

Sometimes I think its best not to know lol ;D
Post by: Ratbag on September 28, 2014, 03:05:07 PM
Gidday Scarps

Cheapest car I ever owned was a mid/late-1980s Mitsubishi Colt. 23.5 cents/km, cradle to grave, not counting the value of the spares I took from it for Number 3 Colt ... That does include everything: fuel, servicing, repairs (boy, did it need lots of them ... ), tyres, rego, insurance, depreciation, loss of interest on our money, opportunity cost. The reason it was so cheap was because we bought it second hand, so the initial owner had paid heaps per km in depreciation that we didn't have to pay ...

The next cheapest was my '93 Subaru Impreza at around 33.5 c/km. This was bought new, and was almost completely tax deductible to my businesses (80+%). One has to keep impeccable records for this. It was sold after nearly 18 years and 236,000 kms. This calculation does not take the tax advantages into consideration.

My current car is a s/h 2006 Forester. It was bought with 100K kms on it in December 2011. Since the car is good for around 300K kms or 20 years (whichever comes first), it had around 2/3 of its mileage and life time left in it. Even depreciating it from new to the price we paid for it, the previous owners had paid around 24 c/km in depreciation from its delivery price (nearly $24,000 ... :( ). Of course, they would not have received anything like that amount when they sold/traded in the car.

Same deal with my wife's 'new' car. 2009 Forester bought s/h, not quite 3 y.o. with 61,000 kms on it (i.e. about 80% of its useful life left in kms and years). The initial owners had paid out some $18,000 in depreciation (same deal as above), about 29.51 c/km.

These depreciation costs "paid" by the initial owners (both were previously one owner cars with delivery at about 5 kms) are costs that we are "exempted" from paying.

It can easily be seen that depreciation and loss of interest on one's money are the single biggest cost in purchasing any car. Buying new often means that the depreciation is 20-25% from the moment one leaves the dealer's yard. This is why I say to work out the actual loss of value on an year by year basis. By the end of year 5, almost all of the car's value is gone in depreciation. However, the car is still practically new (usually), and will give one many years of trouble-free service at small cost, just so long as one is not silly enough to sell it at this point ...

Of course, there are always other costs associated with buying s/h cars. Usually tyres, major services, the occasional repair, etc. Even with a complete history there are unforeseen additional outlays. Full 4 wheel alignment and body straightness check with the first set of new tyres is one such expense.

My car needed a major service fairly promptly, and a new set of struts/springs at the rear (a known problem with the Subaru self-levelling suspension). SWMBO's needed a complete brake job at a bit over 80,000 kms (new pads all round; discs skimmed; fluid replaced). I also replaced the tranny oil (5MT/DR) as its condition was an unknown that I wasn't prepared to trust to luck on. Ditto the rear diff oil.

I always factor an estimate of these "unforeseen" costs into the s/h purchase equation. I also buy cars that have substantial warranties from reputable dealers (at a premium). However, most dealers don't know what they have with Subarus these days, so one can get very well equipped cars for ordinary prices, if one knows what one is looking for/at. SWMBO's car was priced as a base model, and the dealer only realised their mistake when transcribing the details of the car for the registration/title transfer. As the salesman said "Oh well. Too late now". It was the top end N/A with the Prodrive Sportshift 4EAT auto :)  ;D   :cheers: . I also grovel under the car and run all the seams with my fingers, look for any signs of abuse, etc, etc.

Interestingly, both cars are insured for an agreed sum that is much the same as the price we paid for them about 2 and 2.5 years ago respectively. Our insurer also agreed that we got two good ones.

Just some thoughts.