Author Topic: attaching shower shelves to tiles  (Read 13759 times)

Re: attaching shower shelves to tiles
« Reply #25 on: July 25, 2015, 07:20:26 AM »

What are the tiles?  Stone, ceremic, porcelain?

If just ceremic with a clay back you won't have an issue with any type of the drills mentioned. If they are stone or porcelain, I would be using the diamond cutter gg put a pic off before. Even some ceramics are a nightmare, sometimes.

Ceramic with a clay back...

« Reply #26 on: July 25, 2015, 07:24:09 AM »
Ceramic with a clay back...

Should be easy mate. Just light pressure, slow drill speed, the the drill and drill bit do the work. If you get scared, I just happen to be passing through your area in about 2 weeks.  :D ;D
The following users thanked this post: paceman

« Reply #27 on: July 25, 2015, 07:24:37 AM »
I've used Selleys Liquid Nails for Mirror, metal and Glass successfully before for similar applications.

http://www.bunnings.com.au/selleys-310g-liquid-nails-mirror-metal-and-glass_p1231848

Will save any drilling through tiles but you will have to brace the shelf while the glue sets. If the tiles are dry
you can use duct tape for support.

« Reply #28 on: July 25, 2015, 05:07:36 PM »

I've used Selleys Liquid Nails for Mirror, metal and Glass successfully before for similar applications.

Watch out using construction adhesive like liquid nail. Its not very flexible and goes very brittle after 5 or so years.

For mirrors use a combination of double sided tape and silicone.

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

« Reply #29 on: July 25, 2015, 06:05:41 PM »

Watch out using construction adhesive like liquid nail. Its not very flexible and goes very brittle after 5 or so years.

For mirrors use a combination of double sided tape and silicone.

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

yes you are right, but make sure you use an neutral cure (roof and gutter) silicon for mirrors.

Lucky he is not hanging a mirror though ;)

Offline MK Ute

« Reply #30 on: July 26, 2015, 08:50:45 AM »
Ramset make a wall plug suitable for cement sheet.  They have a black rubber base with a nut at the back, and as you tighten the screw, the rubber clamps around the front of the tile and the back of the cement sheet.  Needs a 10mm hole from memory

« Reply #31 on: July 26, 2015, 04:09:21 PM »
These with marine grade stainless steel screws and a touch of silicone to ensure no water egress-
http://www.ramset.com.au/Product/Detail/87/RamToggle-Nylon-Cavity-Fastener
and note that trades and applications tab-
So if there's an accidental slip and they grab for the shelf they should break off at the rear and pull out without damaging the villaboard and tiles.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2015, 04:16:44 PM by prodigyrf »
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

Offline Diesel Power

« Reply #32 on: July 26, 2015, 04:44:00 PM »
Can you get a similar shelf with suction caps? There is a fair range out there.
Work - dedicated or medicated?

1999 HZJ105 GXL Auto Fully kitted. SOLD.
2008 VDJ200 GXL Auto.
2007 Custom built soft floor. SOLD.
2015 Kimberley Karavan Classic. SOLD.
2012 Kimberley Kamper Limited Edition.

« Reply #33 on: July 27, 2015, 06:15:59 AM »
Can you get a similar shelf with suction caps? There is a fair range out there.

i got an everloc branded shelf as a test unit and it seems to be relatively stable, but after one week, it is already showing signs of rust in the joins.  disappointing.

at that rate of rust, i reckon i would have to replace within a year and at their pricing, it doesn't make a huge amount of sense.

the screw-in shelves i have are brass with a chrome finish, so i am hoping that will be better with regards to rust and they also have a 7 year warranty, which i like... :)

« Reply #34 on: July 27, 2015, 12:43:10 PM »
"the screw-in shelves i have are brass with a chrome finish"

Yep lots of crappy import chrome that won't last more than a year or so without corrosion so that 7 yr guarantee probably indicates better quality chrome and then there's quality stainless steel  to consider. Problem with crap chrome/SS stuff is you're going to drill the tiles for it and if it doesn't last it's unlikely the replacement will share the same fixing points so choose very wisely to begin with. That usually means expensive but read the fine print on the guarantees.
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

Offline Crimso

« Reply #35 on: July 27, 2015, 07:06:14 PM »
thanks for the info...

i am going to try and put one in a stud, but just trying to see if i am on the right track with fasteners for no-stud area.. :)

Don't know what others have said, but those type of fasteners will do the job easily. Just be sure to fill the hole with a sealer (I prefer a polyurethane type sealant) after the toggle has been put through, can take three hands to achieve.
http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/19406-2/Burrum+Camp.jpg

« Reply #36 on: July 27, 2015, 11:16:18 PM »
Don't know what others have said, but those type of fasteners will do the job easily.

No they're not suitable as being nickel plated they'll be dribbling rust within the year and I don't recall they come in marine grade SS imperative although they'd be OK if they did but they need a bigger hole and sloppier fit to hide than those Ramsets.

« Reply #37 on: July 28, 2015, 06:21:41 AM »
These with marine grade stainless steel screws and a touch of silicone to ensure no water egress-
http://www.ramset.com.au/Product/Detail/87/RamToggle-Nylon-Cavity-Fastener
and note that trades and applications tab-
So if there's an accidental slip and they grab for the shelf they should break off at the rear and pull out without damaging the villaboard and tiles.

i don't mind these ones either...

might have to do some testing between these and the green plugs already suggested...

Offline Elky

« Reply #38 on: July 28, 2015, 06:25:26 AM »
I am a glazier and fit lots of showers and mirrors, you should not use silicon or sika for mirrors as it eats the silver backing over time, I use " mirror max" for this job. On drilling holes into tile, I never use silicon in the holes but I am drilling a 3mm that gets filled with screws or slight bigger with plugs, on any hole bigger yes then use sealant, most times you can't pick up the stud after the fact but the blue board is enough generally

2010 TTD Landcruiser, i have added stuff but can't remember what! Slowly gettin quicker at setting up the brumby but breaking camp is another matter....

« Reply #39 on: July 28, 2015, 02:24:46 PM »
i don't mind these ones either...

might have to do some testing between these and the green plugs already suggested...

Yep I've used both the wall plugs (spaghetti form usually) and the nylon wall toggles successfully with SS screws bearing in mind the cavity wall anchors on offer-
http://www.ramset.com.au/Product/Section/22/Plasterboard-Cavity-Anchors
Apart from corrosion problems with nickle plated steel toggles and the like, you need to bear in mind here they require a 14.28mm (9/16") hole to fit whereas the nylon toggles only 8mm and the wall plugs 7mm

The advice re silicon with mirrors is sound although there is safe non-ascetic silicon and I learned the hard way with a recommended specialised silicon mirror adhesive that construction adhesive is really the go, particularly with vinyl backed plain mirrors-
 http://www.bunnings.com.au/selleys-310g-liquid-nails-mirror-metal-and-glass_p1231848

« Reply #40 on: July 28, 2015, 02:31:18 PM »
Yep I've used both the wall plugs (spaghetti form usually) and the nylon wall toggles successfully with SS screws bearing in mind the cavity wall anchors on offer-
http://www.ramset.com.au/Product/Section/22/Plasterboard-Cavity-Anchors
Apart from corrosion problems with nickle plated steel toggles and the like, you need to bear in mind here they require a 14.28mm (9/16") hole to fit whereas the nylon toggles only 8mm and the wall plugs 7mm

The advice re silicon with mirrors is sound although there is safe non-ascetic silicon and I learned the hard way with a recommended specialised silicon mirror adhesive that construction adhesive is really the go, particularly with vinyl backed plain mirrors-

thanks again for the info...

so, could i use the green wall plugs that i was originally going to use, with a dab or two of the liquid nails product you have linked to, to give it a bit of extra hold on the tile?

the shelf has a towel-rack type fitting, which is a small metal circular plate, that can take up to four screws.  the shelf holder than sits over this plate, with a small screw (allen key head) to be tightened from the bottom to get it to stay fixed to the plate...

« Reply #41 on: July 28, 2015, 07:13:03 PM »
just use the green plugs mate. :cheers: 

Non- ascetic silicon is just roof and gutter silicon, shelleys put a fancy name on it and throw an extra $4 on the price. Tip, if you cut it open and it smells like vinegar, dont use it on your mirror, or anything metal, like copper pipes.

« Reply #42 on: July 29, 2015, 02:04:42 AM »
Yes well with the round plate and 4 holes you might want to use smaller wall plugs and screws like the red 6mm or even white 5mm and appropriate screws (presumably provided already)-
http://www.bunnings.com.au/search/products?q=ramset%20wall%20plugs&redirectFrom=Any
or simply only 2 of the larger plugs and screws in each round plate as 4 large holes together could weaken the Villaboard and tile. You could glue the plugs as well but generally if you've drilled the correct size hole they won't turn before the screw really bites. Just be aware here that your wall could be aquacheck plasterboard in which case definitely the appropriate depth nylon toggles and only 2 per round plate.

« Reply #43 on: July 29, 2015, 06:19:01 AM »
Yes well with the round plate and 4 holes you might want to use smaller wall plugs and screws like the red 6mm or even white 5mm and appropriate screws (presumably provided already)-
http://www.bunnings.com.au/search/products?q=ramset%20wall%20plugs&redirectFrom=Any
or simply only 2 of the larger plugs and screws in each round plate as 4 large holes together could weaken the Villaboard and tile. You could glue the plugs as well but generally if you've drilled the correct size hole they won't turn before the screw really bites. Just be aware here that your wall could be aquacheck plasterboard in which case definitely the appropriate depth nylon toggles and only 2 per round plate.

yea, i was only going to use 2 plug per mount plate...

green plugs it is!

« Reply #44 on: August 01, 2015, 03:18:26 PM »
thanks to all for the advice...

shelves are up with no dramas (so far)... green plugs and silicon...

happy wife, happy life... :)