Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1730316 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #4600 on: February 10, 2019, 07:35:28 PM »

Under serious consideration. No firm date yet, but we can see an overseas trip on our agenda. Possibly next year....

Good stuff, get the passport organised and give us notice so we can book a day or 3 off from work to show you a little bit of the local knowledge stuff.

The following users thanked this post: GeoffA, Dickyticker

« Reply #4601 on: February 10, 2019, 07:40:11 PM »
Always plenty at the ready, Jon.... ;D
:cheers: :cheers:

Sent from my SM-P585Y using Tapatalk

« Reply #4602 on: February 10, 2019, 07:53:00 PM »
Good stuff, get the passport organised and give us notice so we can book a day or 3 off from work to show you a little bit of the local knowledge stuff.

Will do. Thanks Danny... :cup: :cup:

It'd be great to catch up again, and Kay and I have unfinished business down there....

:cheers: :cheers:

Offline Raym

« Reply #4603 on: February 15, 2019, 06:52:04 AM »
Working on this. It is a half size rocking horse out of a pallet for this event. There has been a reasonable investment of swear words to get to this stage & not looking forward to trying to hand carve the body. I think there may be some mechanical carving/sanding going on.

https://events.toowoombahospitalfoundation.org.au/event/pop-up-pallets

Plenty of time to get involved if you are around Toowoomba.

This event is on again this year & getting an early start.

Going one better & doing a medium sized horse on a swing stand.

Here is the horse blocked up but yet to glue on head & neck muscle blocks.

Been through almost 2 bottles of glue & there are approx 160 pieces of pallet. Actually used skids from a shed supplier & a metal supplier as the boards were a bit thicker to allow for material machined of to get parallel faces for gluing.

Hoping all my joins are pretty good as I want to finish with a clear coat so it is obvious it is made from pallets.

Ray

Now working on the stand. Will be interesting to see how the posts turn with the knots & glue lines.
The following users thanked this post: GeoffA

« Reply #4604 on: February 15, 2019, 08:45:38 AM »
This event is on again this year & getting an early start.

Going one better & doing a medium sized horse on a swing stand.

Here is the horse blocked up but yet to glue on head & neck muscle blocks.

Been through almost 2 bottles of glue & there are approx 160 pieces of pallet. Actually used skids from a shed supplier & a metal supplier as the boards were a bit thicker to allow for material machined of to get parallel faces for gluing.

Hoping all my joins are pretty good as I want to finish with a clear coat so it is obvious it is made from pallets.

Ray

Now working on the stand. Will be interesting to see how the posts turn with the knots & glue lines.
you make me jealous :(

Offline Raym

« Reply #4605 on: February 15, 2019, 04:26:49 PM »
you make me jealous :(

No need to be jealous all I do is stick lumps of wood together and hack of the bits that don't look like a horse.

Progress on the stand today. The top rail is not pallet as well as the 2 small crosspieces for the base, although if I find some more suitable material the 2 small pieces will be pallet. Turning the posts wasn't as problematic as I thought it might be only have a couple of nail holes on the surface & a couple of variations between each post that shouldn't be noticeable when mounted.

Next will be the saddle & tack while waiting for some items to be sealed in the body of the horse like a time capsule I hope no one gets to see for a long time.

« Reply #4606 on: February 16, 2019, 09:24:53 AM »
No need to be jealous all I do is stick lumps of wood together and hack of the bits that don't look like a horse. \
mine would look like this at the end

« Reply #4607 on: February 16, 2019, 10:57:49 AM »

That my friend looks like rocking horse Shit!  :D :D :D

« Reply #4608 on: February 16, 2019, 11:47:46 AM »
That my friend looks like rocking horse Shit!  :D :D :D
[/quotes] so rare and valuable??

« Reply #4609 on: February 16, 2019, 12:13:53 PM »
Today, i started getting some paint done in my spare parts section of the shed. Looks heaps better already.

The tranny on the Fleetwood has been pissing out oil lately.
Up on stands, start looking around the where the dipstick tube screws into the metal boss on the pan, was as loose as all Shit.
Tightened that up, nipped the pan a tad firmer and just threw a spanner on any nuts and bolts I could see.

Car down and waved a timing light over it.... 10 degrees still, so that was still fine.
Noticed a bit of oil residue around the fuel pump, so nipped that up.
Checked all the vital fluids, the whole time, listening to the American Graffiti sound track.  8)

Then it was outside for a rub-a-dub-dub and back into the shed.
Back up again on the jack stands so I can scrub the whitewalls.

Some Palmolive, a little on the stain and the rest in the wash.... hmmm, really white, white-walls now.

Parked the Fleetwood back onto its astro-turf and throw the 4 bed sheets over it and its clean, covered and cruising ready now.

Geez its fun pissing around with old cars.

« Reply #4610 on: February 16, 2019, 07:02:58 PM »

Parked the Fleetwood back onto its astro-turf and throw the 4 bed sheets over it and its clean, covered and cruising ready now.

Is it that big that 1 bedsheet won't cover it ??  ;D

And is astro turf good at hiding oil leaks ??   ;D

« Reply #4611 on: February 17, 2019, 04:03:01 AM »
um,

Yes.
 and Fukkin oath

« Reply #4612 on: February 19, 2019, 07:17:31 PM »

Arrr Mulch  , chuck it on the garden beds that you haven't attended while you were making them  ,. :cheers:

« Reply #4613 on: February 23, 2019, 01:03:55 PM »
I decided it was time to do some work on the WIFE'S car for a change.
Its not bad looking ol tub, the car that is, well, both really.
Its a white 2001 Statesman, lowered, loud pipes, big 19 inch aftermarket wheels etc.... the young guys sometimes try to race her.

She's been delegated the white Avalon for a few days. (I might get a "I Love Lawn Bowls" sticker for the back window)
Its everything hers isn't, its quiet, very smooth, the ride is impeccable.

Up on 4 stands this morning, for an engine service, auto service, new top rad hose, new fuel filter, new rubber donut for the tail-shaft and a general... once over mechanically over the next few days.

I've re-sprayed the lower portion of the front bumper bar, as someone tailgates people and there was more stone chips than paint on that.
The car has about 2 inches of dust over the dash and gauges., so that will taken off with a scraper and cleaned.
I'll vacuum the 2 cubic metres of dirt up off the floors and carpets.

Then there is a full detail of the inside.

Then, by around Tuesday, it'll score some bubbly water over the bodywork followed by a buff and polish.
I reckon, by around Thursday, it should be just a squirt of some shiny stuff on the wheels and she can have it back.   

Somewhere in amongst all that, i'll register the one owner Magna too I think.

« Reply #4614 on: February 23, 2019, 01:25:33 PM »
[quote ]
The car has about 2 inches of dust over the dash and gauges., so that will taken off with a scraper and cleaned.

Astrid making you clean the car after you borrowed it, Huh   ;D

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #4615 on: February 23, 2019, 05:11:05 PM »
I decided it was time to do some work on the WIFE'S car for a change.
Its not bad looking ol tub, the car that is, well, both really.
Its a white 2001 Statesman, lowered, loud pipes, big 19 inch aftermarket wheels etc.... the young guys sometimes try to race her.

She's been delegated the white Avalon for a few days. (I might get a "I Love Lawn Bowls" sticker for the back window)
Its everything hers isn't, its quiet, very smooth, the ride is impeccable.

Up on 4 stands this morning, for an engine service, auto service, new top rad hose, new fuel filter, new rubber donut for the tail-shaft and a general... once over mechanically over the next few days.

I've re-sprayed the lower portion of the front bumper bar, as someone tailgates people and there was more stone chips than paint on that.

Then there is a full detail of the inside.

Then, by around Tuesday, it'll score some bubbly water over the bodywork followed by a buff and polish.
I reckon, by around Thursday, it should be just a squirt of some shiny stuff on the wheels and she can have it back.   

Somewhere in amongst all that, i'll register the one owner Magna too I think.
I spent nearly 5hrs the other weekend cleaning Wifey's car. To say I was not impressed would be an understatement. The pure lack of respect for her car made me lose my Shit. I threatened to sell it and buy her a thousand dollar dunger that she could trash. I also mentioned that if I left this sort of mess in the house she would not be happy. I swear to god if she says "It's just a car" one more time, she'll be walking everywhere.
Cheers, Mike.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

Offline archer63

• Live For Today
« Reply #4616 on: February 23, 2019, 06:53:33 PM »
Know your pain Mike.

It’s left to me to clean wife’s car plus 3 daughters cars....as well as mine 👹🤬🤡

« Reply #4617 on: February 24, 2019, 03:40:43 AM »
I threatened to sell it and buy her a thousand dollar dunger

We only paid $1.600 for it.... so I can't really use that as a threat.

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #4618 on: February 24, 2019, 09:55:53 PM »
I spent nearly 5hrs the other weekend cleaning Wifey's car. To say I was not impressed would be an understatement. The pure lack of respect for her car made me lose my Shit. I threatened to sell it and buy her a thousand dollar dunger that she could trash. I also mentioned that if I left this sort of mess in the house she would not be happy. I swear to god if she says "It's just a car" one more time, she'll be walking everywhere.
Cheers, Mike.
It's not the silver VW Passat Alltrack in my driveway is it?? Sounds like our wives are related.

Mine won't even put a glass in the dishwasher, because she reckons I'll just repack it anyway

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

Offline Hookie

« Reply #4619 on: February 25, 2019, 08:12:02 AM »
Cheers, Mike.

I think this is common to a lot of women, some of the filthiest cars I've ever seen have belonged to girls. The only new car I've ever bought was a 2011 cherokee limited for my wife on the promise that she would absolutely take care of it. Every few months I would clean it out and end up with a basketball sized pile of crap off the floors. She claims she looked after it because she kept a can of armour all wipes in it.

« Reply #4620 on: February 25, 2019, 09:30:05 AM »
Cheers, Mike.
thats ok, mate took his wifes car down to the shops to get some bread and milk few years ago, and trying to turn the wheel was hard, and it handled like Shit...
Went to servo, checked tyre pressures... most were 10-14psi... pumped em to 35 each
He didnt say anything but she asked "what did you do to my car" the next day.... then the argument discussion started on maintenance..

Offline Hookie

« Reply #4621 on: February 25, 2019, 10:28:53 AM »
I wouldn't expect my wife to take care of tyre pressures or fluids or any of that other man stuff, but she should know the difference between her car floor and a garbage bin.

« Reply #4622 on: February 25, 2019, 11:09:44 AM »
My wife doesn't keep the tidiest car but she does check her tyres, oil and coolant. She can change a tyre if need be, in fact she did it when 7 1/2 months pregnant with our eldest on a 35 degree day with people just driving on by. The only person who stopped was a love of about seventy, she wouldn't accept his help, she was frightened he'd have a heart attack.
Can turn her hand to most things, one tough lady.

« Reply #4623 on: February 25, 2019, 01:14:16 PM »
I wouldn't expect my wife to take care of tyre pressures or fluids or any of that other man stuff, but she should know the difference between her car floor and a garbage bin.

Same here, she's more than capable to do it, she use to work on the blown small block chev in the drag car.
I just go through every car we have, every fortnight.

« Reply #4624 on: March 01, 2019, 10:33:00 AM »
Finished the drawers in my 4wd today, just under $135 in materials, used scrap carpet from other projects hence the two colours. Drawers are 260mm high to accommodate compressor and bottle Jack standing up. Two different width drawers to overcome issue with spare wheel winder in floor panel. Waeco 35 litre fridge sits in front of short drawer. Just a tip for anyone I used the yellow plastic strip that they use in tongue and groove ply flooring and electricians use as wire feeders for the drawer slides, 4m strip at Bunnings is just under $5, slides well and if it does bind I can put some silicon on it I'd need be. Didn't work of a plan, just worked it out as I went along. Frames are pine covered with 4mm ply. Drawers are 12mm ply.
The following users thanked this post: Chappie