Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1726049 times)

What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #4450 on: August 27, 2018, 08:16:49 PM »

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #4451 on: August 27, 2018, 09:55:27 PM »
That's a cool Sook  :cup: , their a tonne of fun to drive. Looks like you've spent some time in the back of yours with all that bar work !!

« Reply #4452 on: August 28, 2018, 05:50:17 PM »
Starting the red dust clean out. Swannie you home  >:D

This Boy is Dreaming  :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(                 :cheers:
The following users thanked this post: Bad Scott

« Reply #4453 on: September 01, 2018, 06:31:09 AM »
Hmmm, man-cave work this week.

Fit new windscreen washer kit to Falcon van and have working washers for first time in over 7 years.

Service the Statesman, fit new tappet cover gaskets, find the back tyres were rooted on the inside edge. (now has 4 new tyres and W. Align done)
Fit a new throttle cable to the panel van after the old one started getting notchy to use.

Rotate the tyres on the Caddy and grease the front end and tailshaft.
This is the only passenger car I've ever owned that has 5 uni joints and centre bearing in it.
(one at the front, duel uni knuckle in the centre and a duel uni knuckle at the diff.)   

« Reply #4454 on: September 02, 2018, 07:51:23 AM »
Was asked to fit a set of legs to a custom resin table top. It was fun fitting the driftwood up and get it all sitting level and flat

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk

« Reply #4455 on: September 02, 2018, 08:42:37 AM »
Great job. How did you attach them, resin ?

« Reply #4456 on: September 02, 2018, 10:09:39 AM »
Was yesterday actually....i had a look at the electrical wiring in the  camper to see why half the things on the main switchboard panel aren't working. Pulled everything out the camper and half the cover panels off inside the trailer to follow the wires and see where they go (what a f'ing rats nest of wiring that is),  lots of gentle tugging and wiggling of wires and connections  trying to find what I was thinking was a loose connection somewhere, led indicators on various switches coming on and off at different brightness levels but nothing obvious as to the reason why. Eventually I decide to remove the main switchboard itself which is less then 12 months old (I replaced the old one thinking there was an issue with a switch on it when the diesel heater wouldn't turn on),  and wired the old switchboard panel back into position....BINGO...everything works again as it should.
Do I know why the new one was playing up?...nup, maybe dry joints in the circuitboard of the switchboard, or maybe it's a loose connection somewhere I fixed without knowing so. Not entirely confident there won't be issues further down  the track, I reckon there's something else going on but will see what happens from here.

« Reply #4457 on: September 02, 2018, 10:20:54 AM »
Great job. How did you attach them, resin ?

Fitted a board to the legs first and then screwed it to the base. Resin top was already done so had to be extra careful. Strong epoxy glue to the top of the legs and 3 x  75mm screws through the support onto the legs

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk

« Reply #4458 on: September 02, 2018, 04:31:46 PM »
wow; what a great job!! 
(love the combination look of the driftwood legs and reisin table top)..

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

Offline grafy82

« Reply #4459 on: September 06, 2018, 09:39:32 PM »
I ordered some COB L.E.D's the other day and wanted to see the light output compared to the 500mm long strip lights I've been making. As with my other lights, I've mounted it on some plastic yellow tongue/sparky's feeder with a couple of rare earth magnets on the back and then clear heat shrink over the lot. I usually make a tail on each end going to mini Anderson plugs so I can daisy chain them but didn't bother with this test one. The light output is fantastic for such a small short strip. I think I'll be setting up a couple more now.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=16864.0

You can't believe everything you read on the Internet. - Julius Caesar
The following users thanked this post: paceman

« Reply #4460 on: September 07, 2018, 09:46:02 AM »
I made up a fire pit for out the back of the house out of an old water pressure tank. The lady of the house said it looked like a cauldron ( a comment to which I wisely let the obvious reply remain silent ;D) and needed some patterns. I borrowed a mates jigsaw, a major learning experience as I'd never used one before, and produced some "Patterns".

The 'roo should be recognisable to most.

« Reply #4461 on: September 07, 2018, 10:55:21 AM »
i installed some motion detecting spotlights down in the garage in the hope of evicting mr possum who has taken up residence

next step if that does not work is to install a cranky cattle dog down there for a couple of nights

« Reply #4462 on: September 07, 2018, 12:46:22 PM »
SuperSoaker / Nerf gun / sling shot perhaps ??? >:D

« Reply #4463 on: September 07, 2018, 03:03:04 PM »
i installed some motion detecting spotlights down in the garage in the hope of evicting mr possum who has taken up residence

next step if that does not work is to install a cranky cattle dog down there for a couple of nights
we had the possum dude come to dads to sort out a fleet of them that had taken up.. council rules round here are you cant move them omre than 50mtrs from where they are caught... WTF??? why bother...

« Reply #4464 on: September 07, 2018, 04:42:37 PM »

Good luck with the lights, mate. I reckon our possums just found it easier to see at night ;D

« Reply #4465 on: September 07, 2018, 06:08:45 PM »
I ordered some COB L.E.D's the other day and wanted to see the light output compared to the 500mm long strip lights I've been making. As with my other lights, I've mounted it on some plastic yellow tongue/sparky's feeder with a couple of rare earth magnets on the back and then clear heat shrink over the lot. I usually make a tail on each end going to mini Anderson plugs so I can daisy chain them but didn't bother with this test one. The light output is fantastic for such a small short strip. I think I'll be setting up a couple more now.

Grafy82, did you put the little roll pin into the small hole halfway along the two (red&black) connectors?
If you did, I'd liker to know where to get those roll pins from?
The "Electronics Experts" in the stores near me, don't know what I'm talking about when I mention them being needed.

« Reply #4466 on: September 08, 2018, 04:32:46 AM »
Spent yesterday putting steel mesh over all the windows and securing access points into the shed at Lockyer.

Acreages are a gold mine for thieves, but most aren't real bright, so once it becomes "too hard" a lot will give the idea away.

Some thieves of course, are smart enough to know deterrents means there is something worth stealing.
God help 'em once they hit the booby traps, cause no-one else will be able to.

Apart from the initial pain and the shock of being *****ed, they'll just wait there until the ambulance or police get called.
Oh, yeah, I'll end up in DEEP Shit, but it will be worth it....... I fukking hate people who steal stuff.

Offline Chappie

« Reply #4467 on: September 08, 2018, 06:50:55 AM »
Grafy82, did you put the little roll pin into the small hole halfway along the two (red&black) connectors?
The "Electronics Experts" in the stores near me, don't know what I'm talking about when I mention them being needed.

Cruiser do you mean the role pin for the powerpoles?  These guys might be able to help.
https://www.connector-techals.com.au/products/anderson-power-products
The following users thanked this post: Cruiser 105Tvan

« Reply #4468 on: September 08, 2018, 07:28:46 AM »
Cruiser do you mean the role pin for the powerpoles?  These guys might be able to help.
https://www.connector-techals.com.au/products/anderson-power-products

Can also get them from here:

http://andersonconnect.com.au/store/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=36_64

I have bought from both stores with no issues...

« Reply #4469 on: September 08, 2018, 09:52:18 AM »
I love fukking hate people who steal stuff.

There you go Jeepers, FIFY >:D

« Reply #4470 on: September 08, 2018, 02:00:21 PM »
There you go Jeepers, FIFY >:D

Why thank you kind sir.....  :D

Offline grafy82

« Reply #4471 on: September 12, 2018, 09:03:11 PM »

Hey Cruiser, no roll pin that I know of in these Anderson power poles (30A units). They slide together and hold in place with a sort of key and boss arrangement. Quite hard to pull apart once set.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=16864.0

You can't believe everything you read on the Internet. - Julius Caesar

« Reply #4472 on: September 12, 2018, 09:15:17 PM »
Hey Cruiser, no roll pin that I know of in these Anderson power poles (30A units). They slide together and hold in place with a sort of key and boss arrangement. Quite hard to pull apart once set.

Roll pin is more for securing the 15A, 30A or 45A powerpoles into mounting frames...

When just used as a connector, like on the ends of lights, as previously pointed out, they are pretty secure when just slid together...

That’s how I have done mine...

« Reply #4473 on: September 12, 2018, 09:17:34 PM »

Just for future reference, the pins and other accessories can be found here:

andersonconnect.com.au

Have bought from here before with no issues...

They also sell 3D printed mounting brackets for  anderson plugs and powerpoles...

« Reply #4474 on: September 13, 2018, 06:19:55 AM »
I'm off to the shed shortly to start packing for the second day.

Geez, packing for shift is friggin hard work.