Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1726049 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #4400 on: August 10, 2018, 03:56:38 AM »
Yeeha, the new clutch is in and its light as a feather to use. So light to depress, I  cringed a little as dropped it into gear.

Quick run up the street and everything is A-OK.

Using some wave washers, I took up the tiny bit of play in the shifter rods. Shifts like a new one.  :D
« Last Edit: August 11, 2018, 04:06:32 PM by Jeepers Creepers »

The following users thanked this post: nisnav

« Reply #4401 on: August 10, 2018, 09:02:07 AM »
I must have missed something here, Jeepers do you actually own this said XK, no photographic existence of it from what I have found. >:D >:D ;D

« Reply #4402 on: August 10, 2018, 09:12:17 AM »
I must have missed something here, Jeepers do you actually own this said XK, no photographic existence of it from what I have found. >:D >:D ;D

is it this one?

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=55062.0

« Reply #4403 on: August 10, 2018, 10:09:53 AM »
Thanks paceman, I had missed that one, you would think he would keep us up to date here as well. :D

« Reply #4404 on: August 10, 2018, 11:04:20 AM »
Thanks paceman, I had missed that one, you would think he would keep us up to date here as well. :D
and as punishment for missing that post, you now need to buy the car.

« Reply #4405 on: August 10, 2018, 01:40:36 PM »
Never, it is a Ford. ;D

« Reply #4406 on: August 10, 2018, 01:57:40 PM »
Quote from: jclures
Never, it is a Ford. ;D

Extra punishment for not searching  ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #4407 on: August 10, 2018, 02:47:13 PM »
The XK is going up on Gum-tree over the week-end.

That's should flush out some Wally's.

Yeah jclures, we own Freddy Falcon. This time last week I was bring it home, by this time next week, i'm hoping it'll be gone.

I fitted the venetians this morning..... oh baby.... it just made the car, the final touch.... just way too kool for skool.

« Reply #4408 on: August 10, 2018, 03:02:34 PM »
I had a friend who's dad had a xk falcon wagon when I was a kid.

« Reply #4409 on: August 11, 2018, 11:25:38 AM »
Back in the 80's I had a red with white roof, XP 170ci. Unfortunately I rolled it off the side of the Grahamstown dam road, and wrote it off..  :'(
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #4410 on: August 11, 2018, 03:06:44 PM »
Finally got around to replacing the sensor light in the garage so I don't fall over things when I go to work in the morning...

LED technology has come a long way in recent times.
https://www.bunnings.com.au/arlec-20w-led-black-flood-security-light-with-pir-sensor_p4371500

« Reply #4411 on: August 12, 2018, 05:34:11 PM »
I lowered the front of the XF panel van today by 1.5 inches......so there  :P

It came up ok I reckon. (it was a couple of weeks ago, rather than today.)

Fixed up a few rust spots, general tidy up and bingo boingo.... one parts chaser, ready to rock and roll.  8)

« Last Edit: August 12, 2018, 05:36:42 PM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #4412 on: August 12, 2018, 07:23:24 PM »
I had an XP back in the day. I chopped the roof and had chrome steelies on her. I was king sh!t  8)
Pity I dont have any good photos of it.

Offline Raym

« Reply #4413 on: August 13, 2018, 11:52:18 AM »
This is my new project once I get a couple of others done.

This is a C1880 Bow Rocker horse by G & J Lines who were English makers.

Will certainly be a challenge but it will be worth it if I can bring it back to life due to his age & he has been in his owners family a long time.

Ray

First undercoat done today. Shows up some fine cracking in the gesso, so will sand again & see how they look after another undercoat. Undecided about top coat. Maybe water based enamel or enamel. Despite a lot of sanding, still not new horse smooth but I guess for it's age it is alright.

« Reply #4414 on: August 15, 2018, 05:03:21 PM »
Made the boss a couple of enclosed planter garden beds for her veges.
Used a plastic 44 cut in half for the beds. Shade cloth to keep the bugs out, and avoid using any sprays.

« Reply #4415 on: August 15, 2018, 05:14:39 PM »
Made the boss a couple of enclosed planter garden beds for her veges.
Used a plastic 44 cut in half for the beds. Shade cloth to keep the bugs out, and avoid using any sprays.

they look great, glen...  :cup:

how have you got the drainage sorted?  (which i assume is the pvc underneath the drums?)

The following users thanked this post: gsammy

« Reply #4416 on: August 15, 2018, 05:40:46 PM »
they look great, glen...  :cup:

how have you got the drainage sorted?  (which i assume is the pvc underneath the drums?)
Its 90mm drainage pipe, with the top half cut off.

« Reply #4417 on: August 15, 2018, 08:50:34 PM »
Its 90mm drainage pipe, with the top half cut off.

thanks... assuming there are just small holes in the bottom of the blue barrel?  and not a strip cut out of the bottom?

« Reply #4418 on: August 16, 2018, 01:55:59 AM »
thanks... assuming there are just small holes in the bottom of the blue barrel?  and not a strip cut out of the bottom?

Yeah mate, just 12mm holes along the bottom centre line, covered in shade cloth to stop soil coming out.
The following users thanked this post: paceman

« Reply #4419 on: August 16, 2018, 08:29:53 AM »
Had some Dirty grubs late the other night at my work,  that were trying to Borrow my new to me Hilux.
Soo Ive dug out my old Ford Escort race car's Quick release steering wheel kit and modding it to fit the Hilux .
The yellow cone is ally and locks on with a long shank padlock + will spin 360 * freely .
The steering wheel bolts to the chrome plate bolted to the black locking / release unit ..
No steering wheel should make it harder to steal, saved the Escort a few times .
« Last Edit: August 16, 2018, 11:44:44 AM by edz »
The following users thanked this post: gsammy

« Reply #4420 on: August 16, 2018, 08:42:48 AM »
Yeah mate, just 12mm holes along the bottom centre line, covered in shade cloth to stop soil coming out.

one more question... :)

how have you attached the barrel to the timber frame?  i would expect it to be quite heavy when it is full of soil?

screwed into the timber sides?

« Reply #4421 on: August 16, 2018, 09:03:07 AM »

Fixed up a few rust spots, general tidy up and bingo boingo.... one parts chaser, ready to rock and roll.  8)

I soooo want that van you have just taken me back to my early 20's when i had one. Why is it that the crappiest car that you own often brings back the best memories

« Reply #4422 on: August 16, 2018, 01:52:50 PM »
one more question... :)

how have you attached the barrel to the timber frame?  i would expect it to be quite heavy when it is full of soil?

screwed into the timber sides?
The drum just sits in the frame. The top rim is very ridgid and has a cut out that sits on the side rails and the bottom end is tight on the sides and the under side sits on the cross brace that holds the drain price.
Heres a couple of photos that hopefully shows the detail.
Of course all this is patent dending

The following users thanked this post: paceman

« Reply #4423 on: August 16, 2018, 02:22:27 PM »
I soooo want that van you have just taken me back to my early 20's when i had one. Why is it that the crappiest car that you own often brings back the best memories

Wait until I get the big kick-arse sun visor painted up and on the Van.
Then its getting some white walls.... trying a little bit of a Hot-Rod-ish look for it, hence the old style wheels.

« Reply #4424 on: August 16, 2018, 08:29:19 PM »

Wheres the bloody solar powered window vent I gave you at Rainbow gone...............you've chucked it in the bin haven't you? It set the pano off perfectly. Bastard!