Author Topic: CT Newbie  (Read 2825 times)

Offline miller

CT Newbie
« on: August 05, 2013, 06:20:00 PM »
Hey folks,
I've already posted a couple of times on here but now that the pressure is mounting to find a Camper I thought I better do the proper into before the flood of posting begins!

I have been mulling over what type of camper best suits my needs for a while now (as many do im sure). I think I have decided on getting an old Jayco, probably a Dove and dropping it on a heavier duty chassis and drawbar along with larger tyres and heavier springs to suit my Patrol.

Most of the camping I do is base camp style. Pull up, set up then spend the time 4wheeling and returning to camp of an arvo. I do a bit of touring but I tend to do that on my own so take a swag or tent.

I've been trying to find threads on Jayco's with modified chassis' and have found some good reads. I look forward to finding more!

Re: CT Newbie
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2013, 06:49:19 PM »
Welcome Miller,

Good luck with your search for a camper,
Keep us updated,

« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2013, 07:24:16 PM »
Welcome Miller.

Ive been looking for a link to Burnsy's old thread on his 86 jayco rebuild. It seems to have disappeared.

He did a ripper rebuild from the chassis up.

Pitty  he doesn't seem to be a regular any more.

Offline miller

« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2013, 05:34:10 PM »
Thanks Mace.. I think I just found it. Im looking forward to the read.

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=4626.msg65275#msg65275

« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2013, 06:19:35 PM »
Welcome officially to the tribe Miller.  Good luck with your intended build.  Look forward to seeing some pics of the progress.

« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2013, 07:55:38 PM »
Welcome to MySwag Miller. See you around the forum.

« Reply #6 on: August 06, 2013, 10:57:45 PM »
G'day Miller and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

CT Newbie
« Reply #7 on: August 06, 2013, 11:02:32 PM »
Hi Miller and welcome to the Forum

Online Hairs

« Reply #8 on: August 07, 2013, 06:24:45 AM »
G'day Miller.

Yeah Burnsy's thread is a worth a read.
I have a few pictures of our 82 Swan that has been heavily modified, HERE
I didn't do the work, the previous owner had done this.
Hope this is of some help.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2013, 12:24:15 PM by Hairs »

Offline Tjupurula

« Reply #9 on: August 11, 2013, 12:58:15 AM »
Hi Miller
Welcome to the MySwag family.  A wonderful and informative site.