Author Topic: Complete newbie from Brissie Northside  (Read 4091 times)

Offline lCaml

Complete newbie from Brissie Northside
« on: March 16, 2012, 03:23:44 PM »

Just joined the forums... Have much to learn!

I'm Cam, a 28 year old Single dad to a 3 year old boy.

I'm in the process of selling my pride and joy (2001 Falcon - 500HP V8) with the intentions to buy either a Wagon / Ute with a Canopy, and a second hand Camper trailer.. I will take a year off work and spend a year or so Traveling the great country with my son!

My budget is very tight, but am hoping that with some ideas from here I can find something that suits my needs whilst still fitting my budget!

I will do some further reading when I have more time.. But for now he's a short list of what I am hoping to get..
Ford Falcon AU Wagon as a tow car, Contemplating the possibility of a Ute with a Canopy...
As for a CT:
Does NOT need to be capable of going off road
Something that 1 person can erect
Has at least 2 rooms
Has to be "Well" Weatherproof, after all this will be my place of residence for an extended Period..

I have spent a bit of time looking into Power, cooking, water and refrigeration options, So i think I have that under control..

Moreso my questions are related to my options for a trailer.. At an absolute maximum I can spend 10k to get my trailer ready to roll, this will have to include power, gas setup, etc etc. There seem to be a plethora of New camper trailers for sale (especially on ebay / Gumtree) but also a heap of second hand setups that obviously are more likely to include extras... As an example I have seen stuff like this: http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Travelmax-Off-Road-Camper-/130663703592?pt=AU_Caravans_RVs&hash=item1e6c29e428

Short of doing extensive searching for every type of camper on the market, is there a "AVOID ME" list of cheaper campers to avoid? Materials to avoid? etc..

Looking forward to being schooled!

Cam

Re: Complete newbie from Brissie Northside
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2012, 03:29:21 PM »
Welcome Cam.

Great Plan.

Plenty of good units out there for that budget. ie:

http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=20191.0

Happy hunting.

Offline Campa

« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2012, 03:36:26 PM »
Welcome to Myswag lCaml   :cheers:

« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2012, 03:50:48 PM »
G'day Cam,

Your young fella will love it.
Have you looked through the classifieds here?
Good luck in you search for your setup.
Safe & Happy travels

« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2012, 04:06:08 PM »
Welcoem aboard cam, plenty of info on here to keep you busy mate.

« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2012, 04:24:35 PM »
Welcome Cam and it sounds like a good plan.  Lots of people with children travelling out there and a lot for extended periods. best of luck.  Time is so precious and short, make the most of it!   :laugh:  Kevin

« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2012, 06:12:17 PM »
Welcome Cam, wish I could take 12months off work to travel our great country........

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2012, 06:46:49 PM »
Welcome aboard ....

Your location is a good start .

The rest will fall in place , I'm sure .

Especially now you have a whole lot of new friends telling you what to do .... :)

Most 4x4 tracks are conquered with momentum , so I'm sure you can achieve that by keeping the Falcon . ;)

Let's see a photo ....

" OWZITGAARN ? "

« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2012, 07:54:00 PM »
G'day Cam
Welcome to the forum and heaps to do here mate.
Top place and great people to help you and your son out with anything
you want to know about camping.Just ask away.

Offline lCaml

« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2012, 08:31:06 PM »
Welcome Cam.

Great Plan.

Plenty of good units out there for that budget. ie:

http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=20191.0

Happy hunting.

That CT is actually on my shortlist, and prettly close to the top, I actually found it on gumtree.. My problem is at the moment I dont have anything to tow it with, and until I strip my car I have nowhere to store it! Hopefully (for me?) it doesn't sell in the next few weeks as it'll fit the bill perfectly.. Well from what I can gather with my limited knowledge..

Welcome Cam, wish I could take 12months off work to travel our great country........

To be honest it's going to be tight, but I have the ability to do a bit of casual work along the way if need be. Considering I have no mortgage over my head I may as well get out there and enjoy life a little!

Welcome aboard ....

Your location is a good start .

The rest will fall in place , I'm sure .

Especially now you have a whole lot of new friends telling you what to do .... :)

Most 4x4 tracks are conquered with momentum , so I'm sure you can achieve that by keeping the Falcon . ;)

Let's see a photo ....

Thanks, I am not so sure "fall into place" are the right words at the moment! I am madly planning every conceivable detail.. I am selling ALL of my possessions and taking off in what is essentially a glorified tent.. That thought scares me! hahaha

My Falcon is not really ideal for the task of travelling, it's moreso a racecar with plates on it.. Unfortunately (for him?) bnk08 lives across the road from me, so he had a year of listening to me use my "race car" to get to the train station in the morning! haha

But, seeing you asked...Quick specs of my Falcon..
Stroked (347ci) V8 ,dart block, edlebrock Alloy heads, trickflow manifold  AP racing brakes, Bilstein adjustable coilovers, 3.9:1 LSD, built auto with 2800rpm stallie, custom interior + other stuff not worth mentioning here :P

/img]

/img]

/img]

Thanks everyone for the welcomes, much appreciated!

Cam

« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2012, 07:40:07 AM »
Hi Cam and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #11 on: March 17, 2012, 07:51:56 AM »
Welcome to the Forum Cam, I am sure with a budget like that you can find a well set up second hand unit which will suit your needs.

« Reply #12 on: March 17, 2012, 08:05:45 AM »
welcome to myswag Cam

nice car there

enjoy the trip

cheers grc   :laugh: :laugh: 

Chris F

« Reply #13 on: March 17, 2012, 11:16:42 AM »
Welcome to Myswag lCaml

« Reply #14 on: March 18, 2012, 09:39:50 AM »
G'day & Welcome Cam, glad we were able to finally get you on here.

By two rooms, I assume you mean a main tent area plus enclosed annex? As you're planning to spend a lot of time in your CT, look for one with lots of windows as ventilation is key when in the hotter areas. Most other things can be added easily, but canvas work is harder.