Author Topic: G'day , joined today .  (Read 3648 times)

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
G'day , joined today .
« on: November 27, 2011, 09:22:33 PM »
G'day All,
I'm new here ( obviously ) , but certainly not new to camping and 4x4's .
I was into camping while still at school , in fact my "schoolies" was in my tent at Rainbow Beach , with my old Holden .
But that next year I had a new Hi Lux , and I was hooked on " Getting away from it all " for life .
I've done many trips over the years : Cape York , Kakadu , Gulf , Ayers Rock , Alice Springs , Birdsville Track , Gunbarrel Highway , Southern half of Australia Coastline , Flinders Ranges , Carnarvon Gorge , Fraser Island , Moreton Island . But all these were when I was in the tent brigade .
Over the years I have owned a Hi Lux , a Nissan , another Hi Lux , a Suzuki , an early Rodeo .
And when I first met my wife , she had a Pajero that she had already taken across the Simpson .
Then we had to do this boring thing called buying a house ...   But  ...
Since having 2 children , we decided to join the Camper Trailer Team .
And we have done many trips to get through that list of things I want my kids to see in Australia , before they start going overseas when they get older , as that is the trendy thing to do !!! ???
None have been tough trips ...But I have stories of many miles of Off Road racing , 4x4 Club runs , and tough 4x4 trips , so I have my share of extreme driving already done .
CT holidays for the kids include Moreton Island , Whale Watching at Hervey Bay , Cania Gorge , Dubbo Zoo , Central Qld Coast and Barrier Reef , Central Australia and Coober Pedy and Lake Eyre and Innamincka , and recently Victoria and the Great Ocean Road .
And every Easter we have a " Secret Place " in the bush with a creek and everything we want .
I have been a photographer , longer than I have been a camper , and I am looking forward to sharing some of my millions of pics with you .
Our CT is something we have put together over the years ( 7 x 5 trailer with a soft floor tent ) .
I am still adding to it with ideas I see .
The tow vehicle is a Rodeo dual cab '05 turbo diesel .
We live on the northside of Brisbane .
Next year we are planning on doing the Kimberley , so I am keen to find out as much as I can about all sorts of things , and that is why I ended up here on this web site .
I look forward to swapping yarns and ideas ,
Darryl. :cheers:

« Last Edit: November 27, 2011, 10:25:35 PM by UTE 701 »

" OWZITGAARN ? "

Re: G'day , joined today .
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2011, 09:33:13 PM »
Welcome to MySwag Darryl, sounds as though you will fit in just fine.

« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2011, 09:33:24 PM »
G'day Darryl and welcome to Myswag. Looking forward to reading about your adventures and seeing the pics, of course.  :cup: :cheers:

« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2011, 09:44:27 PM »
Welcome to MySwag . Set your camp up then drag a chair to the fire & lets yarn  :cheers:

« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2011, 10:47:26 PM »
Hi Darryl and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2011, 04:37:57 AM »
Welcome to the swag Darryl, checkout GU Rich's thread about his trip through the Kimberley.

« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2011, 05:28:33 AM »
G'day Darryl
Welcome to the forum mate.Good looking setup too!
The journey is just beginning.Enjoy the camper mate.

Cam and Deb

« Reply #7 on: November 28, 2011, 06:26:47 AM »
Hi Darryl welcome can't wait for some pics

Cam

« Reply #8 on: November 28, 2011, 06:34:22 AM »
G'day mate, welcome to the forum, look forward to seeing some pics of the trips you've done over the years.......... if ya can spare the time. :D

Offline Janbo

• Jayco Eagle - Jeep Cherokee KK
« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2011, 07:18:41 AM »
Welcome, I hope you enjoy Myswag as much as I do, I have learned so much and had great fun along the way!!
We are all in the gutter....... But some of us are looking at the stars!!

Offline pen.sco

• 2011 Customline OffRoad Deluxe, 2003 Prado GXL V6
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2011, 08:45:16 AM »
Hi Darryl,

Welcome to MySwag.

Scott
I've decided that stupid should be painful!!!!

« Reply #11 on: November 28, 2011, 08:57:09 AM »
Hi Darryl sound like your a seasoned camper look forward to some pics

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
« Reply #12 on: November 29, 2011, 08:51:25 PM »
Thanks so much for the great welcome (s) .

It sure is a friendly sounding bunch here .

Although I need some help finding that Kimberley report you mentioned . I have seen some others but not that one .

There is so much news and great ideas on here , I have my work cut out trying to catch up .

Not to mention the photo work I have now promised to do .

Talk soon ....
« Last Edit: December 04, 2011, 08:59:31 AM by UTE 701 »

" OWZITGAARN ? "

« Reply #13 on: November 30, 2011, 05:27:42 AM »
Nice pic mate.Look out Carlisle!!!!!!   ;D

« Reply #14 on: November 30, 2011, 11:48:24 AM »
Hi Darryl,

Post up Pics mate, we love pictures here.
Mate, you can never get tired of seeing what this great country has to offer. :cup:
You'll certainly get good advice about your Kimberley trip.
In October I asked had anyone been along the road from Yunta to Hawker and within a couple of hours GU Rich
 :cheers:, had posted up pics of the road and I could see for myself what good condition it was in.  :cup:
All you need to do is ask.

Happy & safe travels

« Reply #15 on: November 30, 2011, 07:41:01 PM »
G'day daz and welcome :cheers:
Yes the Sig looks great mate.

Cheers BD

« Reply #16 on: November 30, 2011, 10:39:36 PM »
Hi and welcome, top setup you have there :D