Author Topic: Camper trailer kitchen/awning setups  (Read 10059 times)

Offline fuzzy

Camper trailer kitchen/awning setups
« on: May 17, 2011, 07:39:04 PM »
G'day all,

First post! I'm a camper trailer wannabe at the moment, keen to purchase probably a good second hand unit, soft floor, when the finances permit.

In doing my research as to what is out there, one thing I am looking for is an easy awning set up to go over a camper trailer kitchen. Rightly or wrongly, what I have in mind is one or two night touring stops, and I'm interested to see what if there are awnings to cover the kitchen area which don't necessarily need guy ropes and pegs, and 20 or 30 minutes set up time. 

Most/all of the campers I have seen have a quick and easy set up on the tent, but then the kitchen (usually tail gate mounted) is left exposed.

Is anybody aware of solutions/particular camper trailer options which solve this problem?

Maybe I'm just far too lazy, and should get used to the idea of spending time setting up an awning! ;D

Re: Camper trailer kitchen/awning setups
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2011, 07:41:41 PM »
I always wanted a 'quick' awning for my Tambo but Keith wouldn't make it up. You'd need to look at a hard floor for a no poles kitchen awning.

Oh and welcome to myswag  ;D

« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2011, 08:10:23 PM »
Hi fuzzy
you will find  heeps of info here

« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2011, 08:22:06 PM »
i rarely setup the awning if i was staying overrnight.. and sometimes i wouldnt' set it up if i was staying for more than 2 nights.

i quick awning would be nice..
The following users thanked this post: Vanny

« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2011, 08:27:28 PM »
Mate, we had a Trackabout & had a "Easy Awning" that consited of canvas from the top pole back to cover the kitchen..needed just 2 poles & ropes & was ideal for overnight stays etc...send me a pm & I will try & find some pics.

« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2011, 10:05:43 PM »
I have seen some pics of a modcon with a quick annex to go over the kitchen as well as the normal annex.
There normal annex doesn't take long either along with trackabout. Both use spreader bars and use minimal poles and can get away without ropes, all saving time when setting up.

Offline titanpat57

« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2011, 12:53:49 AM »
I have the kitchen mounted to the outside, with a ARB over it

http://i328.photobucket.com/albums/l358/titanpat57/photo-42.jpg[/img]]
"I'd Rather Be Camping"

The R.O.A.M. Build 

http://forum.ih8mud.com/trailer-tech/379001-roam-camper-build.html

« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2011, 06:08:43 AM »
Hi Fuzzy and welcome to My Swag  :cheers:

Offline griz066

« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2011, 06:28:08 AM »
Welcome to MySwag we can put any amount of walls on ours they all zip on individually, we usually put the kitchen end on and the front 1/3 this encloses the kitchen well. Depending where the wind is we just zip on another 1/3 or the other end. If i set the awning up with the spreaders it is self standing but I find it quicker to use 3 ropes and no spreaders.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2011, 10:29:06 AM by griz066 »
Yesterday's Gone, Tomorrow Hasn't Happened, Live For Today.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=12950.msg192834#msg192834

« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2011, 07:35:30 AM »
Hi Fuzzy Welcome to My Swag

Offline rockman

• Live ... then don't
« Reply #10 on: May 18, 2011, 07:41:13 AM »
Howdy titanpat57 ,

I have followed your build on another forum , extremely well done .

Cheers Jim

I have the kitchen mounted to the outside, with a ARB over it

http://i328.photobucket.com/albums/l358/titanpat57/photo-42.jpg[/img]]

« Reply #11 on: May 18, 2011, 10:52:47 AM »
Hi Fuzzy Welcome to My Swag Happy Trails out there plenty of campers to choose from best of luck

Offline Benduro

« Reply #12 on: May 18, 2011, 06:49:19 PM »
Welcome Fuzzy.
We were after similar to you and went with a second hand Heaslip: http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=5285.0
Awesome kitchen with useful storage, we can fit all our cooking/eating/cleaning gear. Quick connect gas.
Travel awning provides adequate protection and would be no more than 5mins to pitch :D
« Last Edit: May 18, 2011, 06:58:16 PM by Benduro »

« Reply #13 on: May 18, 2011, 08:18:41 PM »
G'day Fuzzy and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:

Offline welchygq

• "I came, I saw, I locked the hubs"
« Reply #14 on: May 18, 2011, 09:25:34 PM »
http://www.adventurecampers.com.au/

« Reply #15 on: May 19, 2011, 07:34:55 AM »
Welcome to MySwag  Fuzzy  Heaps of Info for you , Dont try to read it all tonight  :cheers:

« Reply #16 on: May 23, 2011, 07:55:18 PM »
G'day & Welcome Fuzzy.

I've posted two older photos of our camper. We can set it up, including the awning in ten minutes are less. I do it on my own as easily as with someone else. My awning stays zipped onto the camper, and it's rare that I wouldn't put it up, rather tie it back over the camper so it doesn't blow over and block the door etc during the night.

Offline smocky

« Reply #17 on: May 23, 2011, 08:58:45 PM »
Hi Fuzzy,

I spent years wanting a camper trailer and spent countless nights under a tent. So we were pretty well set with what we wanted. I was so tired of being the first to start packing up and the last to leave with all those CT's just folding away a small house in 10 minutes.

Rather than tell you what to do, I'll tell you what we bought and why.

Originally I wanted a big arse tent 18" or so thinking the space would be good. Amazingly, we ended up settling on a Johnno's Off Road Extreme which is only a 9" tent !!! The reason for this was how unbelievably quick it is to set up. The smaller tents have no upright poles inside making them MUCH easier to put up by yourself or with 1 person. The trade off of course is space.

The awning is permanently attached and importantly, it includes a side wall over the kitchen and has a window in it. This was a major bonus for us. Because the main tent is smaller, the awning is easier to manage. It's still big, but it is manageable quite easily.

SO to solve the space issue, we bought the "Sleep Out" extra room. This zips on to the main tent on the other side from the awning. It can also be a free standing tent if the kids want to sleep away from us. The beauty of this is that for overnight stops, it's about a 10 minute job and we can jump in to bed. If we base camp for a week or so we will set up the extra room.

With the main tent, the awning and then the sleep out, we have more space than we have ever had and we lugged around a whopping big tent and tarp !!!

Now on to the extra things. KITCHENS !!!! This was probably our main reason for buying the Johnnos. The kitchen is awesome. 4 burner stove, grille, electric start, permanently plumbed gas with a shut off valve (turn turn the bottle on, open the lever and you are cooking !! No connecting bottles. There's a permanently plumbed stainless steel sink and electric pump tap not a hand pump. 2 drawers complete the kit. Awning and wall over the top and it is a great set up.

There are a stack of other things I could go on about, but rather than complicate things I wanted to keep it simple. #1 for us was the MAIN tent as this is what you need to put up every single time even for short stops. #2 for us was kitchen as I didn't want to spend 15 minutes setting up the tent then 2 hours setting up all the other crap. The awning is easy and has a wall but if you want the flexibility of being able to add walls etc for longer stays, you'll need some sort of structure and support.

Anyway, hope all this helps. I'm incredibly happy with our purchase so take any opportunity to talk about it. :) At the end of the day, buying something we were very very happy with is encouraging us to get out in it at every opportunity.

I'm only new here too and posted up some photos of our setup. There are some good photos of the kitchen and the awning.

Oh and Johnnos hires out if you wanted to have a play with one.

Cheers and best of luck,

Jason.