General => General Discussion => Topic started by: paceman on June 15, 2020, 05:52:03 PM

Title: Rope splice clamp
Post by: paceman on June 15, 2020, 05:52:03 PM

Just wondering if anyone can tell me where I might be able to get this type of rope splice clamp from?

I know you can get a plastic version with screws, but would like to try and source these first... rope is approx. 12mm in diameter...

Clamp is approx. 50mm long and 20mm wise...

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200615/a4304b69a283720cec08955ec9f8bd6e.jpg)

Title: Re: Rope splice clamp
Post by: Goshen on June 15, 2020, 05:55:04 PM
You could try Bullivants

G
Post by: Pottsy on June 15, 2020, 06:37:24 PM

Just wondering if anyone can tell me where I might be able to get this type of rope splice clamp from?

I know you can get a plastic version with screws, but would like to try and source these first... rope is approx. 12mm in diameter...

Clamp is approx. 50mm long and 20mm wise...

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200615/a4304b69a283720cec08955ec9f8bd6e.jpg)

Hey paceman let me have a look in my shed I’m sure I have a box of about 80 lying around somewhere, happy to post some to you if your not in a hurry.
Pottsy
Post by: paceman on June 15, 2020, 06:39:11 PM
Hey paceman let me have a look in my shed I’m sure I have a box of about 80 lying around somewhere, happy to post some to you if your not in a hurry.
Pottsy
Wow.. very generous... much appreciated...

Post by: GBC on June 15, 2020, 06:39:49 PM
Looks like kernmantle.

You can splice it if need be. I wouldn't want to bet my life on a crimp that may or may not be within manufacturer's spec.

https://www.jamestowndistributors.com/userportal/document.do?docId=929
Post by: Pottsy on June 15, 2020, 06:46:54 PM
Wow.. very generous... much appreciated...

I’ll have a search tomorrow.
Post by: paceman on June 15, 2020, 07:20:12 PM
Looks like kernmantle.

You can splice it if need be. I wouldn't want to bet my life on a crimp that may or may not be within manufacturer's spec.

https://www.jamestowndistributors.com/userportal/document.do?docId=929
Not going to be used for any load bearing...

Post by: Bigfish on June 16, 2020, 08:48:30 AM
If its only going to be used to clean up the tag end I use thick walled heat shrink tubing that is glue lined.  Works a treat.
Post by: Pottsy on June 16, 2020, 09:17:52 AM
PM sent Paceman.
Post by: Fizzie on June 16, 2020, 10:50:23 AM
If its only going to be used to clean up the tag end I use thick walled heat shrink tubing that is glue lined.  Works a treat.

Would it have to be glue-lined, or would just normal heat shrink stop the rope from fraying ???
Post by: sharkcaver on June 17, 2020, 12:35:13 AM
BCF stock them
Post by: paceman on June 17, 2020, 06:03:56 AM
BCF stock them

really?  the exact one like in my pic?

can't seem to find them anywhere... unless i am calling them something different/wrong...

i know they have the smaller ones... for 6mm rope... but i am looking for bigger ones for 10mm rope and larger...
Post by: GBC on June 17, 2020, 08:30:52 AM
You do know they are installed with a hydraulic driven die?
Post by: paceman on June 17, 2020, 09:10:03 AM
You do know they are installed with a hydraulic driven die?

didn't know that...
Post by: Pottsy on June 17, 2020, 09:17:17 AM
Bloody hell paceman, didn’t read you wanted them for twelve mm rope, my bad probably sent you the wrong thing, hang on to them anyway. :-[
Post by: paceman on June 17, 2020, 09:38:53 AM
Bloody hell paceman, didn’t read you wanted them for twelve mm rope, my bad probably sent you the wrong thing, hang on to them anyway. :-[

no worries...  :cheers:
Post by: GBC on June 17, 2020, 11:17:51 AM
What is it you want to do with the rope mate? Might be able to just tie a siezing old school style?
Post by: Troopy_03 on June 17, 2020, 11:29:43 AM
If they aren't needed for super high strength, make your own with some copper tube, similar to this guy.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4kw9eENKtw4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4kw9eENKtw4)

I made some tarp guy ropes a similar way years ago. If you are really keen you can make your own swaging tool to do it too.

Fancy one:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sBkSauOPyHI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sBkSauOPyHI)

My manual jobby for use in a bench vice, made from 10mm steel.
Post by: paceman on June 17, 2020, 11:36:59 AM
What is it you want to do with the rope mate? Might be able to just tie a siezing old school style?

might be a bit weird, but i am looking to make dog leads (largely for medium to large dogs)...

the pic is of a dog lead that i have had for years... the lead has one of these clamps at each end...

it's strong, yet flexible and tidy and i wanted to make some more and maybe sell...

i know you can get plastic clamps with screws, but they can be dear and i thought i would see if i could get these clamps first...

tired of cheap, thin leads with crap fittings breaking.  i am considering using climbing rope as it is soft, but strong with larger diameters...

just thought if i could replicate that setup, it would go ok...
Post by: GBC on June 17, 2020, 12:13:00 PM
12mm rope swages and swaging tools on this page.

If you are handy with a die grinder you can make your own swaging tool out of some cheap bolt cutters.

With animals I’d think about putting some shrink wrap over it as well maybe to keep the sharp edges sorted?

Good luck.

https://wireindustrialmarine.com.au/products/ars-12-0-alloy-rope-swage?utm_medium=cpc&utm_source=google&utm_campaign=Google%20Shopping&gclid=CjwKCAjw26H3BRB2EiwAy32zhUc79RneAkkFpu0ME33olP9r6Be32nlXjmmSx9gHX7u4yn81utH0hhoCYisQAvD_BwE

Post by: austastar on June 17, 2020, 01:31:19 PM
   For small dial para cord etc I use a zigzag stitch up the two sides and then cover that with a whip.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Post by: Desert lover on June 22, 2020, 07:35:15 AM
If you are going to use a soft (double braid?) type rope... google eye splice.  Makes for a very neat finish and won't come apart.  We use splices like the eye splice for lots of points on our yachts.

How to Eye Splice double braid rope - The Coastal Passage
https://thecoastalpassage.com/eye_splice.html

Post by: bmwfreak on June 22, 2020, 08:43:38 AM
Hey DL, are your yachts on the Todd River ;D ;D
Post by: sharkcaver on June 22, 2020, 11:41:10 AM
really?  the exact one like in my pic?

can't seem to find them anywhere... unless i am calling them something different/wrong...

i know they have the smaller ones... for 6mm rope... but i am looking for bigger ones for 10mm rope and larger...

Sorry just seen your reply. yes, really. I cant find them in bcf online, but I have physically seen them instore with all their other superpeg stuff (rope. pegs etc)

https://supapeg.com.au/splice-clips/ (https://supapeg.com.au/splice-clips/)

edit: found them here:
https://www.bcf.com.au/p/gold-zinc-splice-clip/M114340.html#q=splice%2Bclips&lang=en_AU&start=1 (https://www.bcf.com.au/p/gold-zinc-splice-clip/M114340.html#q=splice%2Bclips&lang=en_AU&start=1)

says for 8mm rope, but I reckon for a dog lead, you will make it fit. you wont need a hydraulic crimper. Any waterpump plier or vice will swage it ok.
Post by: paceman on June 22, 2020, 12:09:17 PM
Sorry just seen your reply. yes, really. I cant find them in bcf online, but I have physically seen them instore with all their other superpeg stuff (rope. pegs etc)

https://supapeg.com.au/splice-clips/ (https://supapeg.com.au/splice-clips/)

edit: found them here:
https://www.bcf.com.au/p/gold-zinc-splice-clip/M114340.html#q=splice%2Bclips&lang=en_AU&start=1 (https://www.bcf.com.au/p/gold-zinc-splice-clip/M114340.html#q=splice%2Bclips&lang=en_AU&start=1)

says for 8mm rope, but I reckon for a dog lead, you will make it fit. you wont need a hydraulic crimper. Any waterpump plier or vice will swage it ok.

thanks, but those ones are different to the one in my pic... heaps smaller and they are rounded, where-as the one in my pic are squared off...

thanks anyways... i have some of those, but am looking for something bigger like my pic...

Post by: Paddler Ed on June 22, 2020, 03:02:27 PM
I've got some old 10.5mm/11mm climbing rope here (condemned rope because no history for it), which we use a 2m length of as a camp lead for the dog.

Things to think about:

You can find instructions on line of how to splice climbing rope (normally via an arborist's site) but in the climbing world, it's not done that often.

Hope that all helps,

Ed
Post by: Desert lover on June 23, 2020, 06:57:10 AM
Hey DL, are your yachts on the Todd River ;D ;D

At this particular moment I wish they were but nah, we are Mexicans so the Gippsland Lakes are our moat!  Used to spend the cold winters (and any other time we felt like a red dust 'hit') up in the Northern Territory chasing cattle, camels on a station.