Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 511989 times)

Offline BS61

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #2275 on: May 17, 2020, 01:50:51 PM »
Been a while since I've logged in but picked this one up a year or 2 ago. Known history from new with me being the 3rd owner. It's been registered and on the road It's whole life so its little rough around the edges but very solid and a reliable cruiser after tidying a few little things up, fitting the cruising skirts and seatbelts/anchor points for the kiddos.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: May 17, 2020, 01:52:52 PM by BS61 »

« Reply #2276 on: May 17, 2020, 01:53:27 PM »
Did a lot of distance all over Oz in a two tone pink and white one of those when I was a kid  .nice .

« Reply #2277 on: May 17, 2020, 03:58:45 PM »
Nice car BS61

« Reply #2278 on: May 17, 2020, 06:35:21 PM »
Nice car BS61

x2, something a little different.

« Reply #2279 on: May 21, 2020, 09:42:41 AM »
These are a couple of service bulletins/videos from Cadillac in 1964.

These old cars have some wild stuff for the day.
Today, we have the Weather Forecast and the Private Eyes. (Our car has both)

Can somebody/anybody, touch up the link so it will play please. (Thank you in advance)
I can never remember what to do and ol Keithy will have a stroke if it's not right.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vSu3M-r5cII

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NgXGUlvyBBw
« Last Edit: May 21, 2020, 09:45:41 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #2280 on: May 21, 2020, 10:18:12 AM »
Jeeze mate, it aint that hard  ;D click on the little globe thing up the top and paste your "linkylinky" between the brackets.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vSu3M-r5cII
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NgXGUlvyBBw

« Reply #2281 on: May 21, 2020, 10:25:05 AM »
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qYcLO3jy9aQ

Cool, now I get it.  :cup: Hope it works.... ;D

I'd own one of these.  8)
« Last Edit: May 21, 2020, 10:32:27 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #2282 on: May 21, 2020, 01:20:31 PM »

Offline Champin

« Reply #2283 on: May 21, 2020, 03:57:52 PM »
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qYcLO3jy9aQ

I'd own one of these.  8)
Commonly described as an Oldsmobile sucking a lemon

Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #2284 on: May 21, 2020, 04:12:57 PM »
After watching quite a bit of each video JC, I can understand why my old man wanted a caddy back then :D :D. His only problem would have been keeping fuel in the thing, ahh, and the fact that it was bigger than our house at the time ;D ;D
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #2285 on: May 21, 2020, 04:29:11 PM »
Jeeze mate, it aint that hard  ;D click on the little globe thing up the top and paste your "linkylinky" between the brackets.

Or, copy and paste your link , then hit the globe thing. Same same but easier ( I think ).... :-*
The following users thanked this post: Spada

« Reply #2286 on: May 22, 2020, 04:36:05 AM »
After watching quite a bit of each video JC, I can understand why my old man wanted a caddy back then :D :D. His only problem would have been keeping fuel in the thing, ahh, and the fact that it was bigger than our house at the time ;D ;D

They are, a wickly nice car to  drive.  8)

Two biggest issues, is the length when looking for a parking spot.
1. It's pretty normal for me to have 12 inches hanging out most places I go.
2. The fuel consumption is fukkin awful. around the 8 mpg around town, but up to 10 mpg on the highway.

Mind you, they are heavy though, at 4,872lbs or 2,210kg. (base kurb weight)
We would come in a tiny bit heavier with the extra options she scored on the assembly line.

Have a read of the following link, then you will know, why  I own and love my Cadillac Fleetwood. (worth the read)

https://www.google.com.au/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=2ahUKEwi6j42WzMXpAhWawjgGHVzCBTMQFjAAegQIAxAB&url=https%3A%2F%2Fnotoriousluxury.com%2F2014%2F01%2F05%2F1964-cadillac-fleetwood-series-sixty-special%2F&usg=AOvVaw0mA7y9f5TtMJ3TFP1Wj-WH
« Last Edit: May 22, 2020, 04:38:54 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #2287 on: May 22, 2020, 04:50:25 AM »
Spotted this one driving into the big smoke yesterday.
Just for you Jeepers.
https://www.consignacar.com.au/pre_owned_cars_qld/view/1957-Cadillac-Coupe-Deville/20709156
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

« Reply #2288 on: May 22, 2020, 05:01:48 AM »

Not a colour I would paint a Cadillac.
57 was the last year of the big single headlights and had a nice style about them.

« Reply #2289 on: May 22, 2020, 09:47:23 AM »
Mate just sent me this ... I'd love it!

1941 Cadillac
Brisbane, QLD · 2 hours ago ·
$45,000
Solid 1941 Cadillac, series 61, coupe.
A factory 3 speed column manual box, mated with matching numbers  V8 346 ci (5.7Lt)  Flat Head motor.
Features, og Fulton visor, all steel og rims with caddy caps & emblems, white wall rag tyres also a set of 15 inch spoked  rims with radial tyres.  As shown in photos.
Runs 6volt system with 2 x 6 volt batteries to run rear air bag compressor & mod stereo. 
Front Spot lights,  fender guides, window shields, front light brow shields.
It is & has been on club rego since I imported the vehicle in 2014. A rebuild of the motor was completed in Early 2020. Runs smooth & reliable. All external chrome and strips in great condition.
It also comes with spats. They are not fitted just need a little work & paint to fit neatly.
I prefer to sell south east Qld at this stage due to the car having some work commitments coming up, which can be transferred to the new owner.

Please pm me for any real enquires for info or more photos.
Number Plates not included in the sale.
PS...the bags do not have a blue plate. It can be done. $$ or make it look more like a sled, no bags & back to spring n shocks

Online Fizzie

« Reply #2290 on: May 27, 2020, 02:02:03 PM »
Spotted this old beauty down at the BGS.

Couldn't tell you what it is, apart from being a Ford, but obviously deeply cared for ;D :cup:

« Reply #2291 on: May 27, 2020, 03:01:29 PM »
Mate just sent me this ... I'd love it!

Its a pretty god rig..... $45,000.... just buy the fukkin thing. Its only money, the banks have heaps.

« Reply #2292 on: May 29, 2020, 06:18:01 AM »
I figured this was the better place to run this than the smile thread. Below is my original thoughts.

"Thinking of a nice MK2 Zephyr sedan (59/60) in a nice light mint green colour.
Maybe throw a white roof on it and trim the insides pale green and white to suit.
Spats, venetians, white walls, steel sunvisor.... full grandpa spec.

Been talking to Footy Shorts Shane this morning, he agrees,
a turbo barra, 4 speed o/d auto..... a decent diff etc.
Little bit of mini tub work should see a 235 fit up its bum.
Should see a mid to high 9 second pass without too much bother at all."

OK, we are going a MK 2 Zephyr now for sure. I'm looking at 2 of them tomorrow.

Footy Shorts Shane, appears to have a donor vehicle for me already.
A BA Falcon one tonner.
We will raid this for its engine, trans, diff, tailshaft, trans tunnel, air conditioning, steering column, rear disc brakes, pedal box and just a whole host of stuff.
Shane will narrow the diff to suit and being a one tonner, it already is set up for leaf springs.... be it, everything in the wrong place for the moment.
Shane will raid the ute for a few bits he needs for himself, but nothing really that i need.... how cool is that.
I've got a pair of 245/50 x 15 tyres coming next week to use for set up purposes.
I am going to need to open up the inner wheel arches a tad to fit some boots under it.

I'll/we'll, use the motor and box to mock it all up before rebuilding everything later on. 

THIS ALL NOW SET IN CEMENT.
Upon completion, we will have a Turbo Barra engine, 4 speed auto (overdrive) and associated drive line, all locked and loaded into  a grandpa spec, Zephyr.
The finished product as I was thinking a few days ago.
It will be a pale mint green with a white roof.

We are going white venetians in back window, spats, white walls, 50's Dodge Lancer wheel trims, sun visor..... as stock looking as I can make it.
Interior will be light green, maybe a bit contrasting darker green to compliment everything.

Because the car will run deep in the 9's @ 140 mph plus, we do need to run a full roll cage and parachute.
The chrome moly cage will be hidden as best we can, using the venetians and sun visor to our advantage.
Even the turbo, will go up under a front mudguard to try and keep the engine bay as tidy as I can.
I'll bung a heavily braced and located towbar on the back and use that for a parachute anchor point.
Plus, doing events like Drag Challenge, means I can tow a box trailer full of any crap we might need. 

This build, should have excellent road manners too.
Astrid would be able to drive this as easy as.

Really, the only thing missing at the moment, is a car to fit the Shit too..... LOL  ;D
Fingers crossed, with the 2 Zephyr's tomorrow morning.
The only point I might have to concede, is running with a 57 or 58 year model with the slightly higher roofline and plain looking dash.
The little turds are thin on the ground these days.

So boys and girls, watch this space.  :cheers:
« Last Edit: May 29, 2020, 06:19:35 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #2293 on: May 29, 2020, 06:23:11 AM »
So boys and girls, watch this space.  :cheers:

This one will deserve it's own build thread Kev, for those of us with no skill to watch from the sidelines.  8)
The following users thanked this post: Jeepers Creepers

« Reply #2294 on: May 29, 2020, 09:04:19 AM »
This one will deserve it's own build thread Kev, for those of us with no skill to watch from the sidelines.  8)
Great idea

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk

« Reply #2295 on: May 29, 2020, 09:48:51 AM »
Sounds like a good idea Spada.... shall do.

Hey, last Friday when Doug was here, he dropped off a video tape.
I screen grabbed a few shots.

The car was finished on Xmas Eve 1991, this footage is 18/01/92.
Everyone said, you will never hook up on a 205 radial.

Oh man, that shiny white paint.
I was hoping the car when sorted, would run an 11:50
She went on to run a 10:61 @ 130mph.

« Last Edit: May 29, 2020, 09:50:53 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #2297 on: May 29, 2020, 09:52:27 AM »
NAN-747 is such a groovy little thing huh.  :cup:

« Reply #2298 on: May 29, 2020, 09:58:10 AM »
NAN-747 is such a groovy little thing huh.  :cup:
has traction issues, and this strange whistling sound.. trips to bowling will never be the same

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3j6J4Ctxw3A
pretty much stock Nissan VG30ET V6 on LPG and 26psi of boost.
« Last Edit: May 29, 2020, 10:00:10 AM by Bird »

« Reply #2299 on: May 29, 2020, 12:43:22 PM »
Modern technology mate, pretty awesome huh.

These Ford Barra engines, Ford had no idea what the hell they were making when they built them.
We have no intentions of turning ours this hard or with this much boost.
When he refers to removing the headlight, lots of folks do it get some fresh cold air into the turbo.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=017FeH3ZYyQ
« Last Edit: May 29, 2020, 12:50:45 PM by Jeepers Creepers »