Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 507339 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #425 on: June 19, 2017, 04:24:00 AM »
75 series Fleetwood..... a lot of car and such refined, modest and not too over the top styling.  :cup:

« Reply #426 on: June 24, 2017, 03:46:47 AM »
We are gathered here today to see the coming of one.
In the side driveway, in the morning sunshine and in the sight of God, I ask those present to witness the joining of these two  portions of Cadillac in holy matrimony.

Do you, Miss Fleetwood 1964, take Big Block 429 to be your lawful wedded engine?
To have and to hold with your front cross member, to care and to supply fuel, to accelerate sensibly when required, to use your brakes when danger appears, to cruise in Cadillac style from this day forward?

I Do.

Do you, Big Block 429 take Miss Fleetwood 1964 to be your lawful wedded body.
To have and to hold, with your warm exhaust manifolds, to never overheat and never over-rev.
To love and to cherish and to cruise in Cadillac style from this day forward?

I Do.

By the power vested in me (As long as my wife says yes) I now pronounce you a classic car.
You may now enter the bride.....

The bride looking lovely in white.

The groom is a bit blurry, but it was a big bucks night the day before. He does look handsome in a tailored blue suit.

You can see the brides veil pulled back by the mirror, as the groom moves in

A big round of applause please, the groom has entered the bride and shall be at one now for the rest of time.

« Last Edit: June 24, 2017, 03:56:25 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #427 on: June 24, 2017, 05:38:39 AM »
A big day!!  :cup:

When do you expect the consummation to take place Kev?

UIZ733

« Reply #428 on: June 24, 2017, 08:06:38 AM »
A big day!!  :cup:

When do you expect the consummation to take place Kev?
I hope he is not going to 'root it' on his first drive!  ;D

Offline lukeycat

« Reply #429 on: June 24, 2017, 09:21:44 AM »

One of my close mates just picked up this needs a little work but hasn't done any miles in last 33 years but still runs ;)

Offline paul.o

« Reply #430 on: June 24, 2017, 10:15:56 AM »
Super Sweet Monaro!

« Reply #431 on: June 24, 2017, 11:08:41 AM »
[quote ]
Do you, Miss Fleetwood 1964, take Big Block 429 to be your lawful wedded engine
[/quote]
Cadzilla lives then .. Woohoo    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QuoKNZjr8_U  Ohh that feeling when you fire up a fresh engine for the first time .

« Reply #432 on: June 24, 2017, 01:15:14 PM »
Well, at 12:08 this afternoon, we fired the 64 into life and did the first 10 minute stint of the camshaft break-in procedure. She fired on the first revolution and was on song really nice.

It will get a second 10 minute stint in the morning.

The bloody O-Ring on the crossover/water pump connection was leaking.... bugger it.

Anyway, that the Caddy done for today, as I have to go and put a gearbox in a lawn mower now.... oh, joy oh joy

« Reply #433 on: June 24, 2017, 02:15:57 PM »
Great stuff, cam run in, retension head bolts,  triple check for leaks  and then the initial bed the rings run in drives and Endure the odd looks from passers by as you go past with a grin bigger than a Cheshire cats .. ;D

« Reply #434 on: June 25, 2017, 06:09:00 AM »
There are some very nice cars here at Laidley atm🤤

« Reply #435 on: June 25, 2017, 07:32:30 AM »
   http://shownshine.info/csqlcncrf.htm     ....    For those that might like a day out at Laidley ..

« Reply #436 on: June 25, 2017, 02:19:54 PM »
   http://shownshine.info/csqlcncrf.htm     ....    For those that might like a day out at Laidley ..

Yeah, we were hoping to get to that one, as we are due for a periodic inspection on our house about 30 klm from there. Could've claimed the trip and all the expenses.  :cup:

Unfortunately, while my mind is willing to work all day non stop, my body had made other arrangements.

We have now done the third and final 10 minute stint of breaking in the camshaft and able to go to an idle at last. Checked the timing, adjusted the idle again and the ol girl does sound crisp.... really good and even has a nice note out of the factory exhaust. Not loud of course, but a solid note that sounds just like they did in 1964. Gotta love that

« Reply #437 on: June 30, 2017, 03:32:59 AM »
TEST.

Online Moggy

« Reply #438 on: June 30, 2017, 03:53:14 AM »
ICLES

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

« Reply #439 on: July 02, 2017, 05:06:51 AM »
The guy who painted my engine bay left me his Stromberg carby for his HD Holden yesterday for an overhaul. Been a while since I've done one of those.
I had to dig out my main jet removal tool that I haven't used in around 30 years.

Lucky they are so easy to do...... ah, memories, from the corner of my........

« Reply #440 on: July 04, 2017, 05:13:48 AM »
I hope he is not going to 'root it' on his first drive!  ;D

No, not me, but a stupid cow turned directly in front of me on Sunday morning.
Going along the road from Tin Can to Gympie, we have a normal 4 way intersection and the dumb bitch was facing towards me.

I was about on top of her when she turned straight across my path.
I hit the picks and big ol girl was doing her best to stop, but I knew it was gunna be a big hit straight off.

I could see the woman's face and her look of horror, cause man, she knew as well what was about to take place.
Because the intersection has slight curve in it, the back of the car started to step out a tad and I figured a side on hit was better than a head on hit.

So I hooked the wheel to get the Caddy so slide, after all, its way narrower than is it is long. (sort of)
I knew the hit was inevitable..... but I tell ya what, everything sort of slowed down a tad like it was all gunna happen in slow motion.
i could see there was no cars coming the other way, so I got off the brakes and just ploughed nearly 19 feet and close to 2 and half ton of car to wrong side of the road and then hooked it back again.

I tell ya what, for a friggin big car, its response was pretty good.

Straight around BEHIND HER with about 3 feet or considerably less I reckon.
Corrected up the other side of her and was still travelling towards Gympie and quite frankly, fukkin amazed i'd just managed to miss her.
A huge wash of relieve passed over me for a moment.

About then, the pot boiled dry and at the first opportunity, (About 200 metres) I pulled a U-turn to off after her.

WRONG THING TO DO I know, but I had an overwhelming need to inflict serious injury's to her.
That fine line between sanity and flipping out I didn't just cross, I jumped over it.

As I came back up towards the intersection, the bloke who was behind me had a look of stunned amazement on his face while giving two thumbs up.
The engine only had about 25 miles on it and I did keep a cool enough head not to thrash the crap out of it

NOW, A REALLY GOOD THING HAPPENED..... I sedately cruised the area of Cooloola Cove and couldn't find the woman.
That was a very good thing, as I would've ended up arrested.

Edz and I were cruising around yesterday in the car..... he was stunned the tyre marks are actually in the intersection and how short they were when I showed him.

All in all, the Cadillac lived to cruise another day.  8)

I think Edz was suitably impressed yesterday at just how nice a 1964 model can drive too.
We looked like a couple old drug dealers cruising around.... :cup:

« Last Edit: July 04, 2017, 05:17:34 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #441 on: July 05, 2017, 09:45:38 AM »
The rarest of the rare 1966 Shelby Cobra 427 Super Snakes sells for millions.

https://www.facebook.com/carrollshelbyfans/videos/10155638441108258/

« Reply #442 on: July 17, 2017, 04:01:08 PM »
I knew Footy Shorts Shane works most Saturdays, so we swung by last Saturday for a surprise......  :D

The bastard took the day off......the big sh!t.

« Reply #443 on: July 17, 2017, 05:43:40 PM »
I think Edz was suitably impressed yesterday at just how nice a 1964 model can drive too.
We looked like a couple old drug dealers cruising around.... :cup:
Does a grin like a Cheshire cat every time I think of the cruize  around  Tin Can Bay sound like I'm impressed with Migaloo " YEP "   ;D
She just turns heads and turns people into smiling noddy dogs as she purrs on by " 2.5 tons of Total class " .

« Reply #444 on: July 19, 2017, 03:50:44 PM »
Project !  anyone .. Could be a nice starter for someone . Little Toyota shaggin wagon .on face crap today .

« Reply #445 on: July 19, 2017, 11:54:05 PM »

One of my close mates just picked up this needs a little work but hasn't done any miles in last 33 years but still runs ;)

Err...how much did he 'pick it up' for?

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/68-HOLDEN-HK-MONARO-307-saginaw-9-inch-gts-gear-suit-hg-ht-hq-le-ss-slr-torana-/232414763396
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

Offline lukeycat

« Reply #446 on: July 20, 2017, 07:20:26 AM »

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/68-HOLDEN-HK-MONARO-307-saginaw-9-inch-gts-gear-suit-hg-ht-hq-le-ss-slr-torana-/232414763396

In the low 70s. No rush and body is straight its going to get a pretty big resto too with a decent 6 figure budget. Oh to have spare coin laying around lol.

« Reply #447 on: July 20, 2017, 09:09:43 AM »

I never bid on hidden bid auctions..
"private listing - bidders' identities protected"
did couple of times in the past, but amazingly instant you bid someone bids it up 10 at a time to just boost the price... usually the sellers mate.

« Reply #448 on: July 20, 2017, 09:13:05 AM »
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/322600890872

28k for a HT wagon ??? Kill me now

« Reply #449 on: July 20, 2017, 11:12:20 AM »
This one is in my gumtree watch list in case of the extremely unlikely event that I somehow get some spare coin and time to finish it.

https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/mount-waverley/collectables/suzuki-lj80-completely-rust-free/1148468532