Author Topic: Drag Racing  (Read 173039 times)

Re: Drag Racing
« Reply #300 on: September 23, 2015, 12:35:05 PM »
Another arse puckering moment for Moits Racing in the braking area.

http://www.dragnews.com.au/index.php/news-all/local-news/3014-moits-smashes-turbo-record-and-then

Language warning  ;D

Just a little tank slapper that got away from him ;)

Offline vk2ss55

« Reply #301 on: September 25, 2015, 08:01:19 PM »
We used to go to Castlereagh dragway in the 70's . Back then it was said that 200MPH was the fastest ever possible , what is it now 330MPH or more ? I remember seeing a stock Yamaha TZ blow away a full on drag bike , what's this rice burner was the comment !
Cheers Ross
The following users thanked this post: Footy Shorts Shane

« Reply #302 on: November 11, 2015, 03:46:58 PM »
RIP Nelma Reed.

Passed away this morning.

« Reply #303 on: November 11, 2015, 04:02:37 PM »
She's been crook for a while. Sad news.

« Reply #304 on: November 20, 2015, 04:45:15 PM »
I see Brett got 13 years today.

« Reply #305 on: December 23, 2015, 09:04:48 AM »
The following users thanked this post: edz

« Reply #306 on: December 23, 2015, 11:00:14 AM »
Warts and all it should be preserved as is with just enough restoration to make it safe and usable ... What a great find and story that now lives because of it .. Just love stories about survivors ... :cup:
« Last Edit: December 23, 2015, 11:01:55 AM by edz »

« Reply #307 on: December 23, 2015, 11:13:48 AM »
How cool is this original barn find 60's Gasser.

http://www.hotrod.com/cars/featured/1512-field-find-time-capsule-1957-chevy-gasser-is-window-into-drag-racings-past/

Now that's cool  :cup:

Warts and all it should be preserved as is with just enough restoration to make it fast and usable ...

« Reply #308 on: December 23, 2015, 12:45:28 PM »
Ohh to have the room for it .. A barn find but not the drag race type, my SIL dads 1937 [ ?  ] old Maple leaf [ R.I.P. Jacky ]. Was used up until a couple of years ago to go out to get fire wood .
« Last Edit: December 23, 2015, 12:49:25 PM by edz »

« Reply #309 on: December 23, 2015, 01:26:44 PM »
Ummm, MAKE ROOM!!!

Looked at a 51-52 Hudson Pacemaker a little while ago. Complete car but needing full restoration. Was very hard to say no. I don't need any more projects  ;D

But that Chev would make a cool work truck  8)

« Reply #310 on: December 23, 2015, 01:48:22 PM »
Reckon It should be kept a time capsule.. Though it would be cool as this too if it were only a cab to be cleaned up .

« Reply #311 on: December 23, 2015, 03:58:41 PM »
Must have had some coin to spare back then to do that work to a almost new 57.

Very cool...... look good in a man cave, parked near a proper Xmas Tree......  ;D

« Reply #312 on: December 23, 2015, 04:11:57 PM »

.... look good in a man cave, parked near a proper Xmas Tree......  ;D

Look even better on a start line next to a proper Xmas tree  ;D

Cars like that were meant to be raced, not looked at......

« Reply #313 on: December 23, 2015, 04:39:56 PM »
yeah, ya right about that.

« Reply #314 on: February 01, 2016, 08:34:02 AM »
Sherman tank 1100 cube Allloy quad cam V8 powered Mustang http://www.amcarguide.com/custom/1969-mustang-fastback-with-tank-engine/   ;D ;D
« Last Edit: February 01, 2016, 08:39:07 AM by edz »
The following users thanked this post: Matto

Offline dlncooke

• 2014 Dmax LSU, Jayco Destiny & Oztent
« Reply #315 on: February 01, 2016, 02:38:36 PM »
Catch me if you can !
2014 Dmax, LS-U setup for outback touring.

« Reply #316 on: February 01, 2016, 03:29:57 PM »
I'd mow with it.

Most of my clients would love it. ;D

« Reply #317 on: February 03, 2016, 11:39:38 AM »
Not as pretty but atleast this one works https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dugEs2OfQtY
both Aussie mowers https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xcY8ruQK1QM
« Last Edit: February 03, 2016, 11:43:28 AM by edz »

« Reply #318 on: February 03, 2016, 02:08:46 PM »
Getting pretty excited about this:
http://www.springmountraceway.com/

:D :D :D

« Reply #319 on: February 03, 2016, 02:43:30 PM »
I am off to Willowbank tonight for bike night. will be a night of firsts... first time down a 1/4 mile....first time I will have given the bike some stick.... first time in dynamic mode (if I dont have to change my undies in Road mode....happy to leave the dynamic pro mode key at home) and chances are first time I have taken this bike over 200km/hr... well first time over that speed in 20yrs... should be fun. I am going to wear my heart monitor and track it on my sports watch just to see the stats. hopefully will be a lot of fun (cautious fun)

« Reply #320 on: February 03, 2016, 04:07:07 PM »
Good luck, take it easy for few check out runs...... then nail the fukker.

You'll love it.

« Reply #321 on: February 04, 2016, 09:47:51 AM »
Well that was a bit of a failure.
The default setting for the gear change light is 7000rpm so I changed this to 10,500 and kept the bike in ride mode which basically minimises wheel spin and wheelies.So off I went opened it up..hit 9000rpm and the rev limiter kicked in... this should have been disabled in the first service so changed to 2nd...hit the limiter so 3rd...limiter so backed off. ended up with 12.232 and 169.7km/hr.

was comfortable with the run so switched to dynamic mode for the 2nd run but then the heavens opened up and that was the end of that

Wasnt happy although loved the experience and will head back another time. Heading off to get the rev limiter removed next

« Reply #322 on: February 05, 2016, 10:53:59 AM »
Just stumbled across this pic again, so had to share  ;D

« Reply #323 on: February 05, 2016, 11:04:04 AM »
Quote from: Footy Shorts Shane
Just stumbled across this pic again, so had to share  ;D

Awesome shot!

« Reply #324 on: February 06, 2016, 12:58:03 AM »
Reckon it would have been a bit like this clip for tire shake https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kBatMJstBuk